Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playboy No Nudes No more

• 13-10-2015 2:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭

So it seems Playboy magazine is dropping nude models from there magazine,
    From March playboy will no longer feature nude pictures instead they will have provocatively posed ladies likely now only in lingerie .
    It's been decided nude picture's are passe in the Internet age .

This a sad day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I only ever read it for the articles anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Gatling wrote: »
    So it seems Playboy magazine is dropping nude models from there magazine,
    From March playboy will no longer feature nude pictures instead they will have provocatively posed ladies likely now only in lingerie .
    It's been decided nude picture's are passe in the Internet age .

This a sad day

Considering the amount of airbrushing, photoshopping and other crap they've been employing, one could argue they haven't be featuring actual nude women for many years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Nodin wrote: »
    Considering the amount of airbrushing, photoshopping and other crap they've been employing, one could argue they haven't be featuring actual nude women for many years now.

This is also true but the majority were nude when airbrushed .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Hentai all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who the fcuk still buys Playboy?

Bloody auto renewal subscriptions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus I never thought I would see the day that 'Merica would have clothed Playboy.

What next effective gun control laws :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,875 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Joke birthday gifts

Hentai all the way

Tentacle up the bum, no harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

#jesuisrosanna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

Wonder how their sales figures have looked over the past 10 years or so. With the explosion of easily available online porn (source: online news articles..) you'd wonder who buys the dirty mag anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I see a business opportunity here , an Irish version.

Buachaill sugartha ,

Suggestions on a postcard to your local sergeant, GP or school principal.

I'm going to suggest Twink first , well maybe not Twink .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Haven't even seen one since I was a kid.

Deathwish4 wrote: »
    Wonder how their sales figures have looked over the past 10 years or so. With the explosion of easily available online porn (source: online news articles..) you'd wonder who buys the dirty mag anymore.

There currently operating at a loss ,globally I believe there making money from TV and merchdise but the magazine is loosing profitability for a number of years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I see a business opportunity here , an Irish version.

Buachaill sugartha ,

Suggestions on a postcard to your local sergeant, GP or school principal.

I'm going to suggest Twink first , well maybe not Twink .

I wouldn't go searching for 'naked twink' or 'nude twink' if you're at work :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Does this mean they will not longer put playboy on the top shelf? Move it down to beside GQ magazine?

Menas wrote: »
    Does this mean they will not longer put playboy on the top shelf? Move it down to beside GQ magazine?

It's well a possibilty depending on future content

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Deathwish4 wrote: »
    Wonder how their sales figures have looked over the past 10 years or so.

I'd imagine most of their revenue comes via their website these days. And through merchandising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Fashion porn is where its at these days - smut in the name of art and design! (google agent provocateur fleurs du mal)

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    #jesuisrosanna

...if Jesus shone like a car that's just been waxed, ye'd be right on there. Personally I'd find pics of marble statues more warm looking that that particular photo shoot, but maybe that's age catching up on me.

Fashion porn is where its at these days - smut in the name of art and design! (google agent provocateur fleurs du mal)

I may, though purely for scientific and research purposes.

The US penthouse was good (this is going back to the late 80's/early 90's), but playboy was a tad tame and tended to feature "cheerleader" sorts a lot. For the discerning sleaze bucket it was a bit "meh".

valoren wrote: »
    I wouldn't go searching for 'naked twink' or 'nude twink' if you're at work :eek::eek::eek:

Aye. Its like searching for bears or downloading stuff just because it has BBC in the title - may come as a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Aye. Its like searching for bears or downloading stuff just because it has BBC in the title - may come as a shock.

Nothing like finding it out for yourself, eh ?

The US penthouse was good (this is going back to the late 80's/early 90's), but playboy was a tad tame and tended to feature "cheerleader" sorts a lot. For the discerning sleaze bucket it was a bit "meh".

Lol for some reason you made me laugh ,

Club international was more out there if I'm remembering correctly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Playboy (esp the US version) was surely the dullest "porn" publication ever and that was for a long time the secret of its success - you couldn't be considered a deviant really but maybe "misguided!" :D. Safe poses and vanilla models who looked increasingly like one another but the internet where "Hustler" and "Private" values flourished meant the airbrushed thing was doomed.

Nothing like finding it out for yourself, eh ?

"mind expanding" certainly. Wary of initials in the title definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I get it free every month and I generally just quickly flick thorough it. It will be even less interesting now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Tbh seeing twelve yr old girls with playboy pencil cases and bling kinda ruined it for me. It's had its day and doesn't really have a niche anymore.

Playboy (esp the US version) was surely the dullest "porn" publication ever and that was for a long time the secret of its success - you couldn't be considered a deviant really but maybe "misguided!" :D. Safe poses and vanilla models who looked increasingly like one another but the internet where "Hustler" and "Private" values flourished meant the airbrushed thing was doomed.

Indeed - Barbie dolls eventually all fading into one indistinguishable silicon bosomed white toothed all-American type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

No doubt this latest forced retreat from red-blooded-maleness was surreptitiously engineered by the combined-command-cabal leadership of feminists, the PC brigade, 'lefties', pink-marshmallow fanciers, gays, thespians and whatever other group the good ol boys have decided to blame for their inadequacies and insecurities.

jester77 wrote: »
    I get it free every month and I generally just quickly flick thorough it. It will be even less interesting now.

But there'll be aspirational lifestyle articles and stuff about expensive junk....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Aw shucks, reminds me of how my friend brought me in a Playboy magazine from the 90s to entertain myself when I was in hospital as he'd guessed (correctly) that porn sites were blocked by the hospital wifi :pac: I didn't even recognise Pamela Anderson! I was shocked by all of the bush though, so glad that most women shave these days :D

No doubt this latest forced retreat from red-blooded-maleness was surreptitiously engineered by the combined-command-cabal leadership of feminists, the PC brigade, 'lefties', pink-marshmallow fanciers, gays, thespians and whatever other group the good ol boys have decided to blame for their inadequacies and insecurities.

I think it's more to do with falling sales and a desire to rebrand as a legitimate publication. The last few years the quality of the writing has improved but with its dirty mag image they struggle to be taken seriously. I don't think you can blame feminists for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

eviltwin wrote: »
    I think it's more to do with falling sales and a desire to rebrand as a legitimate publication. The last few years the quality of the writing has improved but with its dirty mag image they struggle to be taken seriously. I don't think you can blame feminists for this one.

Yeah, I was being facetious.

Oops :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I'd give it five more years before they're pulling the shutters down on the whole operation. Unless they can find another angle to work off of.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

you can download it here http://www.archive.org/stream/playboybraile00nlsu#page/n0/mode/2up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

What's the "playboy"?

Is that the fabled Nintendo Sony collaboration discovered recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

This just means they are going back to the 60s and 70s Playboy as there was no real nudity then either.

Pubic Hair Monthly would have been a more apt title.

I'd give it five more years before they're pulling the shutters down on the whole operation. Unless they can find another angle to work off of.

The magazine yeah it will be a GQ / Original FHM type publication online only for the most part the brand is still making money including the hardcore side ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

It makes sense to me ,most people have smart phones ,tablets .
    IF they want to see nude models there,s the web.
    There were pretty good articles in playboy ,music ,film reviews,interviews .They dont just employ interns to write articles like certain websites .
    This gives them acess to a wider market,
    so it makes sense .
    I think it was about 12 years ago playboy was first sold legally in irish newsagent,s .
    It was funny cos certain models and actress,s would appear in playboy
    to give their career a boost .
    Maybe when they needed the money ,
    a few years after the peak of their career .
    It,s like reading a real book ,vs an ebook on a phone .
    i,d prefer to read a real book on a train vs reading an ebook.
    You could say why does anyone buy rolling stone , hot press etc
    when all the articles are avaidable to read on the website free .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Well "thumbed" by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

SFW

https://media.giphy.com/media/l0O9yRyXKG3YU1tEA/giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,548 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭jeremymurphy

Playboy? Nudes? Lads there were football matches on tonight. And you lot are worried about nudes!!!!😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Suprised it's still on sale tbh. Even in the late '90s you could get porn for free and it was easy to find (ah, worldsex.com - which still exists and looks almost the same, interestingly) you just needed some patience with the aul 56k modem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,548 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Saucy git :p

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.