Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social welfare roadside inspections-Legal?

• 10-10-2015 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭

Ok,so a mate of mine has just posted on facebook pictures of a Garda checkpoint today,where the snakeuponsyas were stopping cars so that the "social welfare inspectors" could interrogate people.
    This is unbelievable,is it even legal?
    12079128_892858124136801_1371093129706414702_n.jpg?oh=ed407f647195d1ee00634831c5ca09cc&oe=56D14B2E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I have no idea but it's interesting.. Can you clarify 1) how dos your friend know they were from DSP and 2) what exactly were they looking for/ asking ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There stopping people whom they have received information about claiming benefits and working undeclared there not just random stops

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭Mr.Carter

Yes they can...been doing it for years, mainly on routes to the North.
    They even hit the Airports now and then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Caovyn Lineah

They'll stop people in vans who look like they are on the way to work who may also be claiming welfare payments.

Gatling wrote: »
    There stopping people whom they have received information about claiming benefits and working undeclared there not just random stops

That makes sense- if they are aware a crime may be committed. I can't imagine them having checkpoints to check everyone who passes by to ascertain if they are on social welfare and they are claiming properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

I remember years(15 years) ago this going on.
    They would arrive on site and look for you pps number employer address etc. I know a few others over the years having the same checks but never heard of anyone getting done because of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭lotmc

I presume they are frying to detect welfare fraud i.e. Theft from the state.

Isnt that what the Gardai are supposed to be doing, or do you think fraud / theft from the state is OK?

Sala wrote: »
    That makes sense- if they are aware a crime may be committed. I can't imagine them having checkpoints to check everyone who passes by to ascertain if they are on social welfare and they are claiming properly

It's been run for the last 2 years to a fair amount of success if reports are true ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Why wouldn't they be legal. Not declaring what you earn & claiming the dole is fraud

I remember a load of "welfare tourists" got caught when that volcano thing when off a few years ago and flights where cancelled everywhere in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Could you just give your details to the Gardai and refuse to speak to the DSP lads? I have no dealings with them, so I wouldn't be inclined to be giving them my details.

Folllowing on from that, would the Gardai have the right to pass my info onto them?

pablo128 wrote: »
    Could you just give your details to the Gardai and refuse to speak to the DSP lads? I have no dealings with them, so I wouldn't be inclined to be giving them my details.

Folllowing on from that, would the Gardai have the right to pass my info onto them?

If you have nothing to hide what is the problem giving them your information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭mulbot

It a shared post so i dont think was his pics,but i'll put up what was written

It's been run for the last 2 years to a fair amount of success if reports are true ,

Sorry what has been run? General checkpoints to stop everyone, or just people they know are on welfare and may be working?

12080243_892857840803496_1239828517457295592_o.jpg

Sure the Gardai will give the details to the DSP anyway....no foul, no harm....you'll never hear from them but if you're up to something expect a visit

Sala wrote: »
    Sorry what has been run? General checkpoints to stop everyone, or just people they know are on welfare and may be working?
    The new garda /welfare inspection checkpoints set up across the country not just one or two areas but every county

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/social-welfare-fraud-squad-lies-in-wait-for-white-van-man-1.2173193

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-to-join-battle-against-social-welfare-fraud-265511.html

".The garda stopping so the social welfare can interrogate you....actually, I was told a member of the RSA, who were also at the checkpoint, wanted to have a word with me but when I asked them they said no, nothing to do with them, I got out of my van to call the garda to ask what's up and when I rounded the back of my van I realized this one from the social welfare had my passenger door open and had taken a private letter which was protruding from my glove box and retrieved my information from it ... Is this legal here?"

That's what was posted with about 6 pictures

mulbot wrote: »
    ".The garda stopping so the social welfare can interrogate you....actually, I was told a member of the RSA, who were also at the checkpoint, wanted to have a word with me but when I asked them they said no, nothing to do with them, I got out of my van to call the garda to ask what's up and when I rounded the back of my van I realized this one from the social welfare had my passenger door open and had taken a private letter which was protruding from my glove box and retrieved my information from it ... Is this legal here?"

If it's on Facebook it's usually not always true it's been doing rounds since yesterday

If it's on Facebook it's usually not always true

I don't think this is fake

12109903_892858347470112_3219664081662105710_o.jpg

I don't think this is fake

I'd say he was stopped alright anything after is anyone's guess if it happened they way the poster claimed

Sure you used to bring back cars for an extra few bob...maybe you do have to worry ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Completely illegal search. A decent lawyer would have a field day with that and rightfully so.

If as the previous poster said,that the whole scenario is as described,you would think it's illegal,it seems there are a few vehicles too,so looks like a random stop and not targeted,but who knows

Seems they can.
    Would a privately owned company vehicle be considered a premises .

http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/SWI---Powers-of-Social-Welfare-Inspectors.aspx

If you count a work van as a workplace, then yes, but going by the piece you linked, they can't go near a private vehicle.

Edited my post .that's my thinking

Actually if I was in one of the work vans, I would give them my details no problem, but not if I was in my own car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭cork2

This is happening with a long time. There are two points on roads in Cork where I have come across these checkpoints every 3 or 4 months. Sometimes Customs are there too to dip you tank for green diesel. They're looking for people on the dole who are working, the revenue are doing the same by doing spot checks on building sites. To be honest it's a good thing. There's way too many people working and drawing the dole, it's a joke the way they get away with it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Mate of mine on PAYE driving unmarked jeep belonging to his work company was stopped randomly at a checkpoint. Asked who he worked for, where he was going, who owned the vehicle, his pps and how much he earned. All this with fellow staff member in seat beside him.
    Disgraceful carry on. I'm all for stopping suspect people who may be working while on dole but surely ID, PPS and stating that you are in fact employed would be sufficient in all cases.
    On a separate note, I personally experienced 2 inspectors run into my self build house building project, run in the door, up ladder with zero protective clothing etc. Highly illegal imo.
    All very disappointed to find only myself there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

As the state can decide what is legal, thus actions by its servants could generally be supposed to be lawful. Whether or not it is right or even effective, given the kabuki nature of law & order theatre that support both the welfare state and security state, the fact in might inconience the general public is of course of little matter to them ....

cork2 wrote: »
    This is happening with a long time. There are two points on roads in Cork where I have come across these checkpoints every 3 or 4 months. Sometimes Customs are there too to dip you tank for green diesel. They're looking for people on the dole who are working, the revenue are doing the same by doing spot checks on building sites. To be honest it's a good thing. There's way too many people working and drawing the dole, it's a joke the way they get away with it!!

Totally agree with you have come across a few off them as well. Customs social welfare & Gardai doing the MAT. Don't see why anyone would have a problem with them.

mickdw wrote: »
    Mate of mine on PAYE driving unmarked jeep belonging to his work company was stopped randomly at a checkpoint. Asked who he worked for, where he was going, who owned the vehicle, his pps and how much he earned. All this with fellow staff member in seat beside him.
    Disgraceful carry on. I'm all for stopping suspect people who may be working while on dole but surely ID, PPS and stating that you are in fact employed would be sufficient in all cases.
    On a separate note, I personally experienced 2 inspectors run into my self build house building project, run in the door, up ladder with zero protective clothing etc. Highly illegal imo.

Tbh in the instance of the self build that's not their usual form. I've met them on sites a lot and I've seen them approach the site from multiple directions to catch runners but always wearing all of their personal protective clothing and with safe pass cards on clear view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

Strange how the State has the resources to chase down those who may be on a few nixers, (chasing people on building sites etc) but can't ensure the building regs are adhered to in terms of fire safety etc.

SD

StudentDad wrote: »
    Strange how the State has the resources to chase down those who may be on a few nixers, but can't ensure the building regs are adhered to in terms of fire safety etc.

SD

Chase down those committing welfare fraud ,

building regulations totally separate issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

Chase down those committing welfare fraud ,

building regulations totally separate issue

Perhaps. Just highlights the priorities :)

SD

StudentDad wrote: »
    Strange how the State has the resources to chase down those who may be on a few nixers, (chasing people on building sites etc) but can't ensure the building regs are adhered to in terms of fire safety etc.

SD

If it were only " a few nixers " it wouldn't be too bad. It's happening on a way bigger scale though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Thomas OBrien01

Seen this happen a lot in mid Louth, Welfare interrogate lads with vans who park near welfare office on signing on day. Looks like the cops have no crime these days to chase. Welfare are like gestopo . Seen them making people open back of vans for inspection. If it were me I would say why and get a search warrant for private property.

Tbh in the instance of the self build that's not their usual form. I've met them on sites a lot and I've seen them approach the site from multiple directions to catch runners but always wearing all of their personal protective clothing and with safe pass cards on clear view.

Of late, I'm told that is very much the case yes.
    Still, I don't really see how even having their ppe and safe pass on display allows them to access a working site without site induction or else them being escorted around site by staff member.
    I'm not aware of any special provision that allows them access a site in a manner that contravenes HSA legislation.

Don't want to go too far off topic, but I presume this was a building project you were arranging yourself? Does the liability for social welfare/ revenue fraud lie with the builder/employees or could the householder who hired them be liable?

Of late, I'm told that is very much the case yes.
    Still, I don't really see how even having their ppe and safe pass on display allows them to access a working site without site induction or else them being escorted around site by staff member.
    I'm not aware of any special provision that allows them access a site in a manner that contravenes HSA legislation.

Mick, the link in post #27 by Gatling gives the info as to where they can legally enter unannounced, and the workplace is one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I thought legally you were only obliged to give give your name and address to a guard. If they ask you where you are going and what are doing, you can legally state that this is a free country and unless you are under suspicion of commiting a crime then you don't have to tell them anything. They can then let you on your way or arrest you and allow you to get a lawyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Multi agency checkpoints have being going on for years. The Gardaí, Customs, Revenue, DSP, RSA, the kitchen sink etc sometimes all join in together at various checkpoint sites as one of the agencies normally gets a hit off one or more vehicles stopped. It's a useful exercise in interdepartmental cooperation and looks good. People complain they want agencies to cooperate and share information but give out when it happens. Can they ever win?

If anyone stopped and interviewed by any of the agencies wants to complain about how they were dealt with and/or issues with legalities then follow up with the agencies complaints procedures.

Maybe it's possible to refuse the entry, I don't know. As for induction, let's be realistic, yes they should do it but it's never ever going to happen. The last time I met them on site I was the senior member of staff onsite. They were directed to me, they showed me the safe passes, explained their intent and asked me to get everyone together for about ten minutes. Once this was done I walked the site with them while they looked for lads dodging them, they handed everyone a form to fill up, collected them up thanked everyone for their cooperation and left. It took very little time and we're a very busy company. There's nothing whatsoever to hide and health and safety or revenue are welcome anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 danswivme

It's getting more like Nazi Germany every day !

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,434 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

JillyQ wrote: »
    If you have noting to hide what is the problem giving them your information

Someone always says this :)
    Why not put cameras in everyone's house?

If you have nothing to hide what is the problem??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

danswivme wrote: »

/thread Godwin

Maybe it's possible to refuse the entry, I don't know. As for induction, let's be realistic, yes they should do it but it's never ever going to happen. The last time I met them on site I was the senior member of staff onsite. They were directed to me, they showed me the safe passes, explained their intent and asked me to get everyone together for about ten minutes. Once this was done I walked the site with them while they looked for lads dodging them, they handed everyone a form to fill up, collected them up thanked everyone for their cooperation and left. It took very little time and we're a very busy company. There's nothing whatsoever to hide and health and safety or revenue are welcome anytime.

But what you have explained is 100 percent how things should happen. They don't need induction or safe pass if escorted by staff as you did.
    My issue is with them running all over sites unsupervised and in all seriousness it can be dangerous. It is more of an issue on small sites.
    I have also dealt with them on a commercial site as the site manager for the main contractor at the time. They accessed the site office as all visitors were advised to do and stated their case.
    They did not attempt to enter the site and run up scaffolds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

danswivme wrote: »

First they came for the welfare cheats, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a welfare cheat.