Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is hypnosis real, or is it Bull****?

• 09-10-2015 2:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 89 ✭✭

What's the deal with hypnosis? Is there something to it, or is it a load of nonsense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

The latter.

Next question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

I don't know tis a tough one.. Got it done years ago but as such I didn't want it to work so it didn't, did relax you but that's it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

For the likes of dealing with a fear it seems to have results. The lads on TV making people think they're chickens? Doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Most people will rightly say it's all bullcrap nonsense.

I'm sure there'll be a small fraction who think they've they've the inside view will come in saying "the shows are all nonsense, but you know real hypnosis is different, it helps you give up cigarettes", etc.

If I was picked out on one of those shows I would say I felt nothing, I would say it was all nonsense. I would rather kill myself than play along with their lies.

It works if you allow it to. Open your mind and all that business.

Had it done to me years ago were the guy had me dancing like Michael Jackson and singing "I'm a little teapot".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Yeah I think you have to be up for it as in like total open to it.. Much like something else but im not going there haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Stage hypnosis. Nonsense, but harmless.
    Past life regression. Nonsense
    Hypnotherapy. Dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Yes it's real but most common depictions of it on tv are bullsht. Think of it like crime procedural image enhancement techniques where they can identify a killer from the reflection in the victim's eye that was caught by a CCTV camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Quack quack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

Heard of someone heading to the post office on a monday morning to register a leprechaun after being at a hypno gig on Saturday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Flatzie_poo

Quack quack.

*clicks fingers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

If I was picked out on one of those shows I would say I felt nothing, I would say it was all nonsense. I would rather kill myself than play along with their lies.

Those demanding audiences up at the Hackney Empire can get nasty alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Look into my eyes, the eyes, the eyes, not around the eyes, the eyes....

3...2..1.. you're back in the room

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Turtwig wrote: »
    Yes it's real but most common depictions of it on tv are bullsht. Think of it like crime procedural image enhancement techniques where they can identify a killer from the reflection in the victim's eye that was caught by a CCTV camera.
    I love that CSI meme

http://images-cdn.9gag.com/photo/2078832_700b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think the general theory behind it, about a semi-sleep state where someone is suggestible, is pretty solid. We've all been in half-asleep states where we don't know if we're coming or going.

The only stage show I saw was in college. where the hypnotist does a few exercises with the audience to try and gauge who's most suggestible, then spent about ten minutes kicking people off the stage because he though they were taking the piss. Whether the people left up there were in on it themselves is hard to tell. None of those who ended up on stage were known to be messers or attention seekers, one of them was a pretty quiet guy. It would be pretty hard to get otherwise "normal" people to just turn on a performance like that in front of their classmates, no matter how much money was on offer.

In terms of getting people to relieve fears or quit smoking, a large part of that is just a modified kind of therapy session where someone chills the **** out and has a nice chat with an impartial 3rd party. That alone can be good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

It's bullshít.

But I'm a Libra, and so, a total skeptic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

It's bullshít.

But I'm a Libra, and so, a total skeptic.

Haha. I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Listen to "Jackpot: No Hands" with headphones and then decide for yourself ;)

Firmly a believer after that experience :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

It's utter crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Plenty of people have experienced positive results from hypnotherapy.

That is a fact which is not a matter of opinion nor is it up for debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

DareGod wrote: »
    Plenty of people have experienced positive results from hypnotherapy.

That is a fact which is not a matter of opinion nor is it up for debate.
    Yeah my best friend did give up the smokes (although went back on them after six months, but stopping smoking cold turkey was something he'd never have considered possible, let alone for six months). I wonder how it worked though - was it the placebo effect? The work he put in himself after? (They give you exercises to do - breathing and thinking patterns). I doubt it was just the hypnosis process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

It's a load a balls.

(Keyword activated)

Bok....bok..... Bok.....bok awkk!!!

It's actually true, but doesn't work on everyone. I don't mean the stuff you see on TV, but the actual professionals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

It is not bull**** from what I can tell.

Why:

On America's got talent a stage hypnotist hypnotized one of the judges. This judges name was Howie Mandell.
    Mr Mandell suffers/suffered chronic obsessive compulsive disorder.

This condition was evidenced well before this performer came into his life, or indeed the show even existed. He'd been treated for it and his family were familiar with it.

It was also mentioned in an interview with fellow judge Howard Stern some time previously.
    Stern is about one of the most critical people in public media due to his small penis and I don't believe he would conspire, and put his reputation as a caller of bullsht on the line over something so small and inconsequential.

After being hypnotized Mandell can be seen performing acts his OCD would never have allowed him to such as shaking hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I don't get that people don't think stage hypnosis is fake. They are real people in the audience. Getting hypnotised.

Is that true? Mandell is indeed a pretty famous germaphobe.

Hatless wrote: »
    Yeah my best friend did give up the smokes (although went back on them after six months, but stopping smoking cold turkey was something he'd never have considered possible, let alone for six months). I wonder how it worked though - was it the placebo effect? The work he put in himself after? (They give you exercises to do - breathing and thinking patterns). I doubt it was just the hypnosis process.

Hmm. Since the placebo effect is a form of suggestion why wouldn't hypnosis also work.

I personally don't get hypnotised. Not at stage shows anyway where if asked to put my hands together and told they are stuck I routinely pry them apart and therefore never get picked. A friend of mine was hyponotised at a show we were at though. No plant he.

Here's an interesting question. Derren Brown was wondering in one of his books whether hypnotised people are just playing along or actually see what they are told. A friend of his (whom he routinely hypnotised via a phrase to think Derren was invisible) rang him up one day and said that he wished Derren hadn't done that trick again on him the day before in London. Derren hadn't been in London. His friend has heard his name being called out, turned around to see nobody, and assumed Derren was playing his game.

So Brown wonders if in fact if this guy really doesn't see him under hypnosis and isn't just playing along. It obviously affects some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Well a hypnotist made my brother speak Chinese, act like a jockey on a horse and other crazy stuff on stage when on holidays. I still find it ridicilous to believe but he was hypnotised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I don't get that people don't think stage hypnosis is fake.

This sentence hurts my face.

It is not bull**** from what I can tell.

Why:

On America's got talent a stage hypnotist hypnotized one of the judges. This judges name was Howie Mandell.
    Mr Mandell suffers/suffered chronic obsessive compulsive disorder.

This condition was evidenced well before this performer came into his life, or indeed the show even existed. He'd been treated for it and his family were familiar with it.

It was also mentioned in an interview with fellow judge Howard Stern some time previously.
    Stern is about one of the most critical people in public media due to his small penis and I don't believe he would conspire, and put his reputation as a caller of bullsht on the line over something so small and inconsequential.

After being hypnotized Mandell can be seen performing acts his OCD would never have allowed him to such as shaking hands.

A Judge on that fine documentary, America's Got Talent, would never put his reputation for honesty on the line for a few more viewers. Never ever ever. Never. Especially not a Judge who has spoken about his small penis. How much more integrity do you want? All the great people with integrity, from Francis of Assisi up to Gandhi, would go on and on about their penis.

3, 2, 1...you're back on the planet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I'm not trying to be a smart-hole but "It's a load of bollocks" on its own isn't very strong stuff! Why is it bollocks? I don't know either way but I do know people who say it worked for them. I'd be interested to know how it works or if it works, and if it doesn't work, what's actually happening for those who reckon it worked for them? Etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Now and again I use self hypnosis sessions from Youtube. Some of them have worked really well.. one session in particular I went right under for 30 minutes. I felt great when I came round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

One of my buddies was on holidays with his girlfriend in Spain and shoved a bottle up his ass pretending to be hypnotised.he got a free bottle of wine for his troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I think it only works on people that are wrecked tired and need to go on auto-pilot for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

My dad was a heavy smoker and gave up with no cravings after a hypnosis session. Went back on them after a few years but it still suggests there's something more than just bollix to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

"The fact is, however, that hypnosis is a genuine psychological phenomenon that has valid uses in clinical practice. Simply put, hypnosis is a state of highly focused attention or concentration, often associated with relaxation, and heightened suggestibility". (Ref psychologytoday.com 2013) I'm a skeptic and I never believed in hypnosis until I spoke to a psychologist who told me he went through it. He thought it was bullshít too so was too happy volunteer. I can't remember all the details but he basically said he closed his eyes and opened them 45 minutes later thinking only a few seconds had passed. Apparently there's an almost drug like feeling of euphoria after it and that is when people are prone to suggestibility...

That's how it's used in a professional manner. Don't ask me about those shady fúckers in Benidorm though.

Edit: By the way, the reference I used is a well respected, peer reviewed site so it is very trustworthy.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    This sentence hurts my face.

The sentence was wrong but don't let double negatives scare you.

Hatless has a good point. To those who say it's bollocks can you explain your reasoning?

GerB40 wrote: »
    That's how it's used in a professional manner. Don't ask me about those shady fúckers in Benidorm though.

Unless the people in the audience are plants or actors then that must be the same thing as clinical hypnosis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's real alright just look around you when you're driving and take note of the amount of drivers in a trance. They are physically driving but their minds are elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

How can people say it's not real?

Everyone knows someone who was hypnotised at a show..i don't like to accept that it's real but i seen it with my own eyes. It didn't work on me but it worked on my brother. He's one who can nod off within minutes and doesn't wake up easily.

The hypnotised only got me to put my arms up but I was aware of it. Its hard to explain...but yeah, my brother was legit hypnotised.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Unless the people in the audience are plants or actors then that must be the same thing as clinical hypnosis
    Not necessarily. There would be some overlap with a clinical setting, but some people are naturally extremely suggestible and over eager to please, compliant types. Add in an authority figure and an audience and you can see how that might work with stage mesmerism with the right individuals.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Not necessarily. There would be some overlap with a clinical setting, but some people are naturally extremely suggestible and over eager to please, compliant types. Add in an authority figure and an audience and you can see how that might work with stage mesmerism with the right individuals.

But Hypnotism is all about suggestion and authority. Nobody says it isn't in the mind.

People playing along are clearly suggestible to playing along. However many people go beyond that and if told to chase imaginary chickens actually "see" the imaginary chickens. To others it's probably more like a reversion to child hood, where kids day dream castles and armies when playing knights.

Most people who go on stage ( who are of course selected because they were suggestible) seem to be the former

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

A Judge on that fine documentary, America's Got Talent, would never put his reputation for honesty on the line for a few more viewers. Never ever ever. Never. Especially not a Judge who has spoken about his small penis. How much more integrity do you want? All the great people with integrity, from Francis of Assisi up to Gandhi, would go on and on about their penis.

3, 2, 1...you're back on the planet...

the guy built a separate house to stay away from germs years prior to the show being commissioned, and is on tape avoiding shaking hands.
    Plus they're both minted already.

So I doubt they both conspired for years just to big up some random performer years later.

I wouldn't doubt that there are plants in the audience. It's simple herd mentality, if one or two (paid) people 'go under', others will subconsciously follow. But the dodgy bastards that get women to undress in a group of maybe 150+ is something I don't understand. Firstly, it can't be legal. Secondly, how would these "hypnotists" manage to pick out people so easily influenced that they'll do things they would supposedly never do.

I'm not an expert but from my perspective I see hypnosis in two forms. Psychotherapy and entertainment. And I honestly don't have a clue about the entertainment aspect of it.. I'm reminded of a joke by the hilarious Stewart Francis that goes "My uncle was actually a hypnotist [suddenly enters a robotic trance] WHO NEVER INAPPROPRIATELY TOUCHED ME!].

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

As real as WWE

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It's real alright just look around you when you're driving and take note of the amount of drivers in a trance. They are physically driving but their minds are elsewhere.

That has to do with Freud's "Conscious, Subconscious and Unconscious". A great example is if you're driving home and you have to pass through a village. You could find yourself at home without any recollection of driving through the village but you're perfectly aware you weren't a danger to other road users.

Unconsciously you were always aware of other drivers and pedestrians. Subconsciously you were in full control of your car and you're surroundings. Consciously you notice signs/landmarks and know you're getting closer to home and to your dinner...

You said other drivers minds are elsewhere but our brains are wired in such a way that that shouldn't be much of a problem*.

*With everything and everyone there are exceptions (especially dealing with Freud). Some drivers minds might be elsewhere because of things like bereavement, stress, or they just might be shyte drivers. There's certainly no shortage of fúckers I wouldn't let play with toy cars, let alone real ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Nothing like what people think it is. All smoke and mirrors. Went on stage years ago. I played along with the act for a while. He had me pretend to be a boxer. When you weren't "under" you were seating towards the back of the stage. I got bored and wanted a pint so got up part way through his act and walk off the stage. He didn't notice I was gone till about 10 minutes later. I'm convinced that everyone who goes on stage is just playing along, but just doesn't want to admit to it, somewhere along the line of someone blaming their action on drink or drugs. "It was completely out, of character, your honor, I was out of mind on drink and drugs" said the defendant on his 20th charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭j80ezgvc3p92xu

Hypnosis, from what I gather, is an occult practice that does not come from God. Heard some distrubing stories about people under hypnosis that I will not share with you on account of the hour. Bottom line: stay away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

I will not share with you on account of the hour.

When is it a good hour for such a thing?