Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things in Rugby that grind your gears...

• 04-10-2015 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

Inspired by the fellas over in 151, i'll start.

Hearing commentators talk about "Gaelic Football skills" whenever an Irish player makes an overhead catch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Irelands call that horrible fake anthem, our national anthem is Amhran Na Fhiann and that is that.

Ireland's Call is a team anthem, not a national anthem. They aren't the same thing.

- Music being belted out at matches during play stoppages
    - Far too many uncontested scrums where it ends in a ref decision, it's something that has to be looked at. I feel a poor scrum is too harshly punished and it has too big an influence in games (see Lions 3rd test).
    - The close up camera on coaches during matches, it's a very unfair intrusion and should be banned.
    - Player agents involved in punditry/analysis (thanks for that ceadog!) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Ad breaks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Ceadog

Frankie Sheahan giving MOTM to every player he represents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Irish fans doing mexican waves at every game in this world cup is starting to really annoy me..

I suppose it's unlikely to be the same people but still if you were involved in any of them I hold an intense dislike for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭coco0981

Irelands call that horrible fake anthem, our national anthem is Amhran Na Fhiann and that is that.

Not for majority of people from Northern Ireland it's not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

The camera in the dressing room huddle before the game.

The excessive gentlemanship and respect for the opponent.

The respect for the haka by the opposing team.

There just seems to be no tribal battle, like in GAA or soccer. You can't imagine a Keane/Vieira tunnel tussle in rugby and it suffers for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

Referees going over the top on 'tip' tackles.

These days player's are literally lifted off the ground and 9/10 a YC is issued. There's tackled players actually diving into positions that tip the tackle more IMO in order to get the tackler sent off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭noway12345

chupacabra wrote: »
    Inspired by the fellas over in 151, i'll start.

Hearing commentators talk about "Gaelic Football skills" whenever an Irish player makes an overhead catch.

Didn't many learn those skills playing Gaelic football though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭ulster_Beef

I thought Ireland was all one team, no? Hmm. Stop getting a pathetic dig in, it's sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

There just seems to be no tribal battle, like in GAA or soccer. You can't imagine a Keane/Vieira tunnel tussle in rugby and it suffers for it.

The sport is all the better for all those points!
    Maybe agree with you a bit on the Haka!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

Are you joking?

The great Contepomi vs ROG and ROG v Sexton battles?

Contepomi running over ROG in the semi final springs to mind.
    Or in the first few minutes of Sexton's first game in Thomond he found a lovely touch and gave ROG a slap on the arse as he ran past.
    ROG always riling up Contepomi with DOC alongside him was comedy gold for years and years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

Use it, use it, use it, (no whistle), use it, (still no whistle), ball away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Irish fans doing mexican waves at every game in this world cup is starting to really annoy me..

I suppose it's unlikely to be the same people but still if you were involved in any of them I hold an intense dislike for you.

Agreed, I was at the first 2 games and resolutely refused to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Is that serious? Tunnel tussle? A lot more than that in rugby..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

coco1981 wrote: »
    Not for majority of people from Northern Ireland it's not

if they feel that strongly about it let them play for England or soneone else,its a horrible fake anthem end of story.

The price of tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The whole anthem drama that seems to surface when you get a big occasion, that and the petty provincial bullsheet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

• Stadiums trying to create artificial atmospheres (ie, music blaring constantly, in Glasgow they did it few times when ref went to TMO :confused:)
    • Cameras on the Coaches when a team concedes - it is pointless and cruel
    • People at matches who have no clue of the laws but shout at ref regardless
    • People who shout "Specsavers" at a ref - neither funny or original
    • When a game descends into aimless Kick Tennis
    • Provincial BS that goes on at times
    noway12345 wrote: »
    Didn't many learn those skills playing Gaelic football though?

Well it is a skill needed in Rugby aswell, a lad for Tonga today caught ball like that - can be annoying when people think we have an advantage due to GAA

wp_rathead wrote: »
    • Stadiums trying to create artificial atmospheres (ie, music blaring constantly, in Glasgow they did it few times when ref went to TMO :confused:)
    • Cameras on the Coaches when a team concedes - it is pointless and cruel
    • People at matches who have no clue of the laws but shout at ref regardless
    • People who shout "Specsavers" at a ref - neither funny or original
    • When a game descends into aimless Kick Tennis
    • Provincial BS that goes on at times

Well it is a skill needed in Rugby aswell, a lad for Tonga today caught ball like that - can be annoying when people think we have an advantage due to GAA

Maybe the Tonga player played GAA also. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

if they feel that strongly about it let them play for England or soneone else,its a horrible fake anthem end of story.

nah, you'll just have to get over it. end of story :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭TOMP

Bradley waits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭coco0981

Why would someone from northern ireland play for England. The Irish rugby team represents the island of Ireland not the Republic of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'm just thankful Amhran Na Fhiann is a sacred anthem handed by the gods to the first custodian of Ireland to be held sacred for ever more and not just a song written by a bloke within, say, the last 110 years. Otherwise this whole thing might seem a bit ridiculous.

I like Irelands Call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

they aren't eligible to play for england as they aren't english.
    That said Irelands call is a terrible song and I would rather something else.
    Hate that diving is starting to sneak in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

People making more noise sushing people than the people that are making the noise when kickers kick! Their angry little frowns with their fingers to their mouths and overly exaggerated shushing! SHHHHHHH!

It's more funny than annoying actually.

People wearing proudly wearing club/province jerseys to international matches.

Again, more funny than annoying.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    People making more noise sushing people than the people that are making the noise when kickers kick! Their angry little frowns with their fingers to their mouths and overly exaggerated shushing! SHHHHHHH!

It's more funny than annoying actually.

People wearing proudly wearing club/province jerseys to international matches.

Again, more funny than annoying.

crap can't believe I forgot both those things although I would rate both annoying more than funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Know-it-alls in the pub or stadium making sure that everyone can hear their analysis, even if they're right it's the manner of it that's very annoying.

Even worse, people with no active interest in the game who talk about it very authoritatively during big tournaments. Often crazy stuff... "That Sexton's useless!"

Or being told "shhh" during kicks in the pub. I know usually it's just a joke, but sometimes they're fecking serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

salmocab wrote: »
    Hate that diving is starting to sneak in

Fair play to Niger Owens for calling out that dive yesterday.

I like Irelands call.

crap can't believe I forgot both those things although I would rate both annoying more than funny

You're probably a more serious fan than me Salmocab! The SHHHH! Thing can be hilarious though. I've got a few belly laughs out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Think of any dictator from any corrupt country and nothing they have done has matched the torture that is the Aviva P.A monster.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    You're probably a more serious fan than me Salmocab! The SHHHH! Thing can be hilarious though. I've got a few belly laughs out of it.

Its every ****ing game I go to gets old very quickly

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

People calling the laws of the game rules, they're f**king laws and open to interpretation.

Its every ****ing game I go to gets old very quickly

You should Shush them.

Actually don't.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Ooooh, I've a few more

Pub supporters who have never been to or played a game.
    Supporters who feel the need to provide a running commentary.
    Pub supporters "shushing" for kick.
    Stuff like "RoG would have gotten that" when Sexton misses a kick.
    Provincial cr@p for international games.
    Club cr@p for provincial games.
    Rugby is better than GAA/Soccer/Athletics/whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

It seems to have disappeared over the last season or two but i hate it...

... when teams are deep in their own territory and they go through phases and phases of pick and go's, only to get over their own 22, then they kick! Why not kick from inside the 22 when kicking for touch was an option? Does the last meter or two actually mean so much that it's worth limiting your kicking options and risking losing possession?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Fairweather fans who can't shut the hell up.

I get that all sports have blown-in fans for the big tournaments and that's great, it builds atmosphere and a lot of people don't have time for full on supporting, but the ones who watch about 4 or 5 games a year, turn up at pubs or grounds and start shouting out like the know the game inside out, only reference about 5 players they know, harp on about BOD and that rugby will never be the same again without him. Sat next to one lad during the Six Nations who couldn't get his head around why Donncha O'Callaghan wasn't in the team and who was this Iain Henderson.

Thankfully a lot of these people have upped and left the RDS but they still turn up at the big Leinster games and in the pubs for the Ireland games.

I'm a huge and longtime rugby fan and STH but still a lot of ref calls I still don't fully recognise on first glance but I keep quiet, compared to the árseholes behind me who shout at the ref every time a call is made against Ireland or Leinster even though they've no idea what's going on.

Grinds me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bmm

Referees like Wayne Barnes. He knows nothing about playing advantage, loves blowing his whistle so he can get his face on the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

I swear this is genuine and not a reaction to prior posts: nothing in rugby pisses me off as much as people giving out about the use of Ireland's Call ahead of Amhran na bhFiann. Amhran na bhFiann is the national anthem of the Republic of Ireland. The Republic of Ireland does not have a national rugby team. This is not that complicated.

Yet they're happy to have the Ulster players in the team... :rolleyes:

People thinking that all Ulster players are Northern Irish

Clareman wrote: »

Never said they were but pretty sure all but Tommy Bowe are... (including Payne by naturalisation)

The whole Northern Irish flag and generalisation of the province as being Northern Ireland just grinds my gears to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 The Pharmacist on the Moon

Clive Woodward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I play with the odd Cavan man and I'd gladly cast them off to the UK permenantly :D

I've said too much , one is lurking on here :p

I play with the odd Cavan man and I'd gladly cast them off to the UK permenantly :D

I've said too much , one is lurking on here :p

Munster being only Limerick, Leinster being only Dublin and Connacht being only Galway also really grinds my gears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

The persistent use of the term 'the Sexton loop' ......

Makes me laugh as an ex fly-half.

Along with the switch it was the first running move budding Barry John wannabes learnt back in my time.

By the time we were 15 every 10 in my old town had that one in their locker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

The persistent use of the term 'the Sexton loop' ......

Makes me laugh as an ex fly-half.

Along with the switch it was the first running move budding Barry John wannabes learnt back in my time.

By the time we were 15 every 10 in my old town had that one in their locker.

Ah here, I don't think the implication is that Sexton invented the move

Respect the kicker, specifically people militantly enforcing this tradition.

Its just that, a tradition. I will scream and shout at a Rugby match if I want to. I personally don't scream and shout during a kick, but if somebody wants to they can go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

People calling the laws of the game rules, they're f**king laws and open to interpretation.

People banging on about the laws of the game to make it sound like they have the inside track. Who gives a flying damn what they're called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The fact that we've to watch TV3 present another world cup. Mind you they're not half as bad as the last time but it's the difference between **** and ****e.