Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm Dog

• 03-10-2015 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭

What kind of a dog(s) do you keep on your farm?

I always had border collies here but I'm considering getting German Shepard, with all the robberies in rural Ireland the visual presence of a German Shepard would surly be better than any alarm etc.

Any one have a German Shepard on the farm are they suited to being on a farm?.

I always have a love the black and white collie at the same time - good temper, extremely faithful etc.

So I'm still sure what dog to get next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

We always used to have collies too. We have one collie and two kelpies. I find the kelpie a great dual purpose dog. Good at sheep, and looks the part to strangers entering the property whilst having the ferocity if needed to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

The right German Shepherd is a great dog, but by Jaysus it's hard to get the right one. The country's full of nervous, hump backed, or temperamental dogs that I wouldn't let around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Have a jack Russell here. Great craic watching her scurry around after the mice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

Iv always kept shepherds,the bitch I have now is great with animals hens goats sheep cows horses etc one exception is cats..they are highly intelligent like the collie and love been worked.
    Personally I think they are just a beefier collie after all that's what they were bred for.
    For security you won't get better the size of them alone is enough to put people off never mind the bark.

There's a old guy that trains collies near me and he says it's never the dog that's stupid it's the owner.

As said finding a good one is hard but make sure you can see the parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭josephsoap

Thanks for the replies folks,

Having never had a G Shepard before I was just a bit precarious about purchasing one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

Not much help to you but I have a spaniel who would lick any burglar to death and a collie pup who would probably just crap into the burglars shoes. (Snapshot of my daily life just there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Have two collies and ya wouldn't come into the yard or stop at end of lane without them knowing, can b e annoying sometimes but good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Have a German Shepherd here great dog looks the part anyone she not used to she will not let inside the gate and fantastic with the kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭mattP

josephsoap wrote:
    Any one have a German Shepard on the farm are they suited to being on a farm?.

No. I have one and the **** is mad for killing. Hes killed every hen that has escaped the run in his year here, and I've caught him trying to break into it a few times aswell. I would not trust him around lambs or sheep at all, he's just too unpredictable. He chased all my incalf heifers, he wouldn't stop for anything once he's in the zone! I was hoping one would give him a fine big hoof into the face, no luck though :( Hes very clever too, knows exactly when he does something he shouldn't have because when you catch him out he comes crawling to you on his belly.

Despite all that... he's a real old pet and loves rubs. He's always on alert, if he hears something when he's resting he always gets up to investigate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

i used to teach in a prison years ago, and asked the lads what was the best burglar alarm for my inner city cottage. They said a small, loud, yappy dog. I was surprised, and asked would a big Aller not be more to the point, and they said no, they'd just see that as a challenge. A small loud dog would put them off, and they'd go on to an easier place.

From (city again) experience with a sweet-natured and loyal collie who lives indoors and is an old softie, she'd knock the door down, screaming and raging, if anyone tried to get in, and if she doesn't like someone who comes to the door she'll stand behind whatever member of the family has answered it, lip lifted and a low continuous growl rumbling. Every collie I know regards itself as the protector of its 'pack', and if indoors will sleep either against the front door, halfway between front and back door, or at the top of the stairs outside the bedrooms.

We used to have an alsatian/german shepherd (same thing), and it wasn't any more of a guard dog than any other dog. Lovely dog, though.
    As said finding a good one is hard but make sure you can see the parents

And make sure you see the pup with the mother and its litter mates. A friend bought a pup accidentally from a puppy farm - she'd seen "happy family" pictures of a bitch and pups, but the pup was delivered in a car park, and turned out to have been heavily sedated: it was a crazy animal and brought nothing but sorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Have an old sheepdog and a german shepherd, the shepherd is like a lamb compared to the collie... if youre a stranger and dont pay heed to the first growl then he goes for your ankles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

If it was me I'd be staying away from the breeds on the restricted breed list. Had a lab collie cross here who was an excellent guard dog, she would bark (a good booming bark) like mad at strangers while backing away from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

We've a jack Russell here. Really only a house dog. Lovely dog, great around kids. Not the brightest, seen him spend over a hour barking at a cat up a tree.
    He loves to come up the fields with me when I count the cattle.
    We've an older terrier cross too who was a great guard dog in his time. Saw him go for a guys throat once, no kidding. He jumped that high off the ground. Fierce clever dog, but he can hardly walk now. Think he's 16 years now.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 227 ✭✭Dubs1990

If getting a shepherd get a working line tend to be healthier , great breed of dog have a working line pup at the moment , land sharks as pups but grow to be very loyal dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 ruben37

Have two fenlanders in the yard they are a cross by Weimaraner and english springer spaniel super looking dogs. Excellent with animals and the family's kids they seem to know who is friends and who is not, very territorial you would have to be very game to enter also very hardy health wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I have a fox terrierXjack russell and 2 rottweilers, all bitches. The rotties are great with the cattle, herding, moving and unloading them. We mostly rear calves to beef (bulls) but we also keep a few cows.
    They are excellent guard dogs and visitors to the yard will not leave their vehicle.
    All three dogs are family pets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

A builder in my locality had a big problem of stuff being lifted on him. Oil burners especially.

So brainwave.. A German Shepard gaurddog was sourced for site he was working on. 2nd night , radiators, insulation, fireplace and

gaurddog were lifted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

To be honest I noticed the main people put off by dogs aren't those that are there to rob the place. Have herd of plenty of cases of dogs poisoned or locked out the way The best dog may not be the biggest but the noisiest. If someone thinks that they've been heard they'll leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭MANSFIELD

Collie and Kerry blue - both great watch dogs .The Kerry blue is pretty cross with strangers but at least they let you know when someone is about .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭arthur daly

ganmo wrote: »
    If it was me I'd be staying away from the breeds on the restricted breed list. Had a lab collie cross here who was an excellent guard dog, she would bark (a good booming bark) like mad at strangers while backing away from them

Out of curiosity why would you stay away from dogs on the list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

the extra responsibility of staying within the law.
    what you want in a guard dog(loyalty, territorial + vocal) can be found in non list breeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭ALANC81

I have 4 pit bull terriers here and they love everyone, no harm what so ever in them and don't bother stock but strangers won't come into the yard when there out and about. They just look mean and that's enough.

If you are getting a German Shepherd make sure and get a working line pup please don't support the show lines they are a destroyed dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Have two atm - both as old and as banjaxed as myself and each other lol. Have had both of them a long time and they are well looked after- just old age has caught up with them both. Vet was of the opinion that at least one might be better pts as joints are nearly gone. Trouble is the other will most likley pine if / when that is to happen :/ ..

What's the best does anyone reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

German sheperd 11 yrs old and collie 3 yrs old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Have two collies and look out any stranger that tries to enter the yard....they bark but would bite too !! Get the right collie and you will be sorted !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Will you be getting another dog? Perhaps if you are if you could pick one up first, may allow the other dog to have company and a bond made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mooooo wrote: »
    Will you be getting another dog? Perhaps if you are if you could pick one up first, may allow the other dog to have company and a bond made.

Our two 'farm' dogs are 11 and 9 and seriously slowing down. We got a Yorkshire terrier last Summer and all of a sudden the two older ones seem to have a new burst of energy and follow me when I'm checking cattle and sheep again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭older by the day

I've no dog at the moment, I had a cattle dog from hell. I get grey hairs thinking about him. If he went after cattle the houre would send them the opposite direction. I'd end up doing the walking and then he'd block them at the gap and not let them out. Wat neighbours mud guards and bumpers he pulled off. I was running after cyclists roaring "come back here ya **** " they taught I was mad. But he would sneak out and try and knock them off the bike, he bit a neighbour, they didn't mention it till he had died. There was a celebration in the town land when I ran him over with the tractor. He was trying to eat the tyre, he punctured the postmans van weekly. This time the Goodyear won.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I currently have an aged Labrador, he's still an active dog but the years are taking there toll. My partner has 2 Jack Russell's and another Labrador cross so I'm considering something different as my next dog.

Has anyone any experience of a British bulldog? I understand that they can suffer from multiple health problems and are quite expensive at least as a purebred. My current lab is a total outdoor dog and spends his time around the yard, I'd expect the same of the bulldog although I wouldn't mind him travelling around with me in the Jeep.

Any dog would have to capable of living outdoors, be reasonably low maintenance and have some sense of self preservation. I think a collie or similar would require more stimulation and become bored quickly. A laid-back type companion dog is all that I need, I haven't sufficient work for a herding breed. The ability to mix with other dogs would also be a must, my partner is canine mad and would have her own version of 101 dalmatians given the chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I've no dog at the moment, I had a cattle dog from hell. I get grey hairs thinking about him. If he went after cattle the houre would send them the opposite direction. I'd end up doing the walking and then he'd block them at the gap and not let them out. Wat neighbours mud guards and bumpers he pulled off. I was running after cyclists roaring "come back here ya **** " they taught I was mad. But he would sneak out and try and knock them off the bike, he bit a neighbour, they didn't mention it till he had died. There was a celebration in the town land when I ran him over with the tractor. He was trying to eat the tyre, he punctured the postmans van weekly. This time the Goodyear won.

Thanks for that 😂😂😂

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Another Lab , Albert.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I currently have an aged Labrador, he's still an active dog but the years are taking there toll. My partner has 2 Jack Russell's and another Labrador cross so I'm considering something different as my next dog.

Has anyone any experience of a British bulldog? I understand that they can suffer from multiple health problems and are quite expensive at least as a purebred. My current lab is a total outdoor dog and spends his time around the yard, I'd expect the same of the bulldog although I wouldn't mind him travelling around with me in the Jeep.

Any dog would have to capable of living outdoors, be reasonably low maintenance and have some sense of self preservation. I think a collie or similar would require more stimulation and become bored quickly. A laid-back type companion dog is all that I need, I haven't sufficient work for a herding breed. The ability to mix with other dogs would also be a must, my partner is canine mad and would have her own version of 101 dalmatians given the chance!

The bulldogs are a disaster.a pup would cost you a grand and they don’t live long.multiple health problems and they’re lazy as the day is long.
    They are a breed that are so genetically fcuked up they shouldn’t exist.
    They have to be ai”d to breed and c section delivery.nice to look at but a fcukin disaster as a breed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Have a Rottweiler around the house. His quiet as a mouse and is just there for show. Have a sheep dog aswell in the yard. Still trying to train him but is very energetic

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Have a Rottweiler around the house. His quiet as a mouse and is just there for show. Have a sheep dog aswell in the yard. Still trying to train him but is very energetic

Had one years ago. A big eejit of a dog with family. Though no stranger would pass him.

gozunda wrote: »
    Had one years ago. A big eejit of a dog with family. Though no stranger would pass him.

Same. Got this fella off DD. A family wanted to get rid of him as he kept going’s out on the road. They gave €650 for him as a pup and i gave them €100 as a 2 year old dog. I’d say he got hit by a car because for the first few months he was very nervous of people and cars. Took some time to win his trust but now is happy out and has the life of Reilly.

That’s him on the left with my sisters dog. I put a shock collar on him as with the previous dog. Cuts out the problem of him straying straight away

He's some dog all right. Have a photo somewhere of the one we had. Like yours he was big but a complete eejit otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

ganmo wrote: »

the extra responsibility of staying within the law.
    what you want in a guard dog(loyalty, territorial + vocal) can be found in non list breeds

And they arent covered under the house insurance. If they cause an accident or bite someone, you will be personally liable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Norwegian elkhound and a Lab.
    Lab is a generic Lab. Elkhound wouldnt be hyper sociable like the lab though would be friendly and a great family pet. Wouldn't think twice of ruining someones day if they thought it required and would be extremely noisy towards people until they knew who it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

A local farmers has a Tibetan spaniel and will bark at the slightest stranger or noise.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I appreciate the comments re a British bulldog, a quick search online has thrown up a lot of negativity towards the breed regarding health problems etc. A high maintenance dog or one with ongoing health problems wouldn't be suitable or fair for either the dog or myself. I did however like the look of them but that's not a sufficient reason to base owning one on.

Any suggestions on a smaller dog that would be capable of being a farm dog? I don't like Jack Russell's that much and I already have to contend with 2 of them at the moment. I'm also not interested in long haired breeds or "feminine" type breeds. Any dog would need to be something suited to an outdoors type man.

Another Labrador is an option, my current dog is a great companion and guard dog. I'd just like a smaller more compact dog that could come with me during the day. Maybe I'm asking a lot and should stick with my current breed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭AgriLad

I appreciate the comments re a British bulldog, a quick search online has thrown up a lot of negativity towards the breed regarding health problems etc. A high maintenance dog or one with ongoing health problems wouldn't be suitable or fair for either the dog or myself. I did however like the look of them but that's not a sufficient reason to base owning one on.

Any suggestions on a smaller dog that would be capable of being a farm dog? I don't like Jack Russell's that much and I already have to contend with 2 of them at the moment. I'm also not interested in long haired breeds or "feminine" type breeds. Any dog would need to be something suited to an outdoors type man.

Another Labrador is an option, my current dog is a great companion and guard dog. I'd just like a smaller more compact dog that could come with me during the day. Maybe I'm asking a lot and should stick with my current breed?

Maybe a Shiba Inu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Any suggestions on a smaller dog that would be capable of being a farm dog? I don't like Jack Russell's that much and I already have to contend with 2 of them at the moment. I'm also not interested in long haired breeds or "feminine" type breeds. Any dog would need to be something suited to an outdoors type man.?

Wheaten Terrier. Or to give them their full title,
    Irish Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I always liked the springer spaniel.
    I had one here and she was a miller on rats with a brilliant loveable temperament.

https://www.donedeal.ie/dogs?words=Springer

I have a Fox beagle here atm but I wouldn't trust the chap with children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Well, don't ask me anyway. The last farm dog we got, a collie, ended up being a house dog. We then got a Yorkshire terrier for the house and she can't be kept away from the yard:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭bb12

have always had collies but the last one is now 13 years old and tends to sleep all day. they've been great guard dogs and would try to nip if strangers walked into the yard. i now have 3 two year old sisters..their mother was a collie-lab cross and the dad was a rottweiler. they won't let anyone cross the gateway and their barks are deep and intimidating yet they are the biggest pets to me and good around sheep and horses. i sleep soundly at night with them around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Norwegian elkhound and a Lab.
    Lab is a generic Lab. Elkhound wouldnt be hyper sociable like the lab though would be friendly and a great family pet. Wouldn't think twice of ruining someones day if they thought it required and would be extremely noisy towards people until they knew who it was.

Any problems with incessant barking from the Elkhound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Iwouldinmesack

West Highland Terrier. Funny and stubborn. Brave and hardy as fcuk. Suspicious of strangers. Loves both outdoors and indoors. Good with kids and animals. Rat/mice catcher. You can tell I'm a fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Bob/Bobby/ya bollo* :D here. Looks like a black Lab but bigger frame and more wirey. Great watch dog. Can tell if a vehicle is coming down the lane. Would make a great cattle dog if trained as he has great speed and fearless but he just runs after them barking and ends up shattering them hence Bob ya bollxx. This time of the year he's a liability around as he goes after the calves. He sheds hair at certain times which is another pita.
    His 2 passions are travelling and food. Drools like Homer Simpson if he's watching someone eating. Gets so bad there'd be bubbles around his mouth and pools on the floor. As for travelling he jumps in the drivers window of the jeep during the summer and sits waiting. Jumped into the oil lorry before xmas while driver was filling the tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

This has givin me a right laugh. Have a collie here myself that I inherited with the farm. My uncle got him from a man who was going to put him down as he had bittin a few ppl at that stage and thought it better get rid of him. So low and behold the uncle takes him. He always and ever had a cross dog around the place. He has nipped all before and after him since he landed in the yard, torn mudflaps from strangers cars that would pull into the yard chased the few ppl that did arrive on bikes, and even went for my own bike on one occasion and is generally be a nightmare to handle.the only good thing about him is if travelling sales men call to let him out and watch them scramble back into there hiaces. I can't bring myself to putting him down, but I won't be sorry when the day comes that he dies.