Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boyzone

• 30-09-2015 2:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭

I think Boyzone is one of those things that are popular to dislike either that or people just don't want to admit they like them.They did some nice tunes and their nice humble lad's unlike certain members in Westlife (no offence intended to Westlife fans!) and other pop acts.No Matter What is one of the most touching songs of all time.What really strikes you in that song is how Ronan Keating and Stephen Gately were the two most dominant vocalists and talented members of the group although Keith Duffy and Mickey Graham are nice lad's.So let's give Boyzone their dues and Stephen Gately is a national hero.

I remember the time Stephen said that he was gay my brother told me this story about how people in his class reacted.When the topic was bought up they just started laughing and snigering.The way the media reacted to it showed just what an inherently homophobic country Ireland was that time.But times have changed in Ireland and Stephen would have been so happy and proud when our nation decided that you can marry and love whoever you want earlier this year.Please god we will get to a stage where homosexuality can be discussed in a class room without people sniggering and laughing.Anyway fcuk the begrudgers as they say in Liverpool Boyzone are boss.:)

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Popular to dislike them? It's only popular to dislike them because their music is atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I think Boyzone is one of those things that are popular to dislike either that or people just don't want to admit they like them.They did some nice tunes and their nice humble lad's unlike certain members in Westlife (no offence intended to Westlife fans!) and other pop acts.No Matter What is one of the most touching songs of all time.What really strikes you in that song is how Ronan Keating and Stephen Gately were the two most dominant vocalists and talented members of the group although Keith Duffy and Mickey Graham are nice lad's.So let's give Boyzone their dues and Stephen Gately is a national hero.

I remember the time Stephen said that he was gay my brother told me this story about how people in his class reacted.When the topic was bought up they just started laughing and snigering.The way the media reacted to it showed just what an inherently homophobic country Ireland was that time.But times have changed in Ireland and Stephen would have been so happy and proud when our nation decided that you can marry and love whoever you want earlier this year.Please god we will get to a stage where homosexuality can be discussed in a class room without people sniggering.Anyway fcuk the begrudgers as they say in Liverpool Boyzone are boss.:)

Boyzone et al do not 'come out with some nice tunes ' - they copy others people's tunes and pretend they're being creative.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Are you from the past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

You're right, it is a far less homophobic country than it once was.

Unfortunately though, being a fan of Boyzone still carries with it huge stigma and so from this point on I'm afraid I'm will no longer be able to converse with you.

Take care dude. In some ways, I'd admire you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I brought my boy and girl to see Boyzone pretty soon after ''that Late Late''

I knew they'd be big :D

My 30 year old son still hasn't forgiven me :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Weren't great really.Had one or two vaguely catchy tunes.
    Take That had good upbeat pop songs.The current trend seems to be for soppy love songs that only appeal to young girls,completely unremarkable and forgettable for everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Pink Lemons

Apt avatar for the username for the thread. Good job on hitting that rare trifecta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I don't think i posted anything outrageous and i see some people want to make it personal.I just said Boyzone are sound decent lad's and they did some nice tunes.I see nothing wrong with expressing such a thought.Yeah they didn't write their own music but neither do lot's of pop acts.They don't deserve to be treated with the disdain that people treat them with as illustrated by some of the posts on here.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Chucken wrote: »
    I brought my boy and girl to see Boyzone pretty soon after ''that Late Late''

I knew they'd be big :D

My 30 year old son still hasn't forgiven me :cool:
    I don't think i posted anything outrageous and i see some people want to make it personal.I just said Boyzone are sound decent lad's and they did some nice tunes.I see nothing wrong with expressing such a thought.Yeah they didn't write their own music but neither do lot's of pop acts.They don't deserve to be treated with the disdain that people treat them with as illustrated by some of the posts on here.

Sure I loved them from the start :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

Boyzone are what I would consider a product more so than a band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

Listening to "No matter what" now. Very strange lyrics. I like it.

(edit) Listening to the Best of Boyzone on Youtube. It's quiet nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Take That OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

realies wrote: »
    Take That OP

Gives you your coat :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

They were a half decent covers band....thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Morning Mikey........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Never said you did. But you opened up a topic on a discussion forum, so you're going to get different points of view.

Also - what's wrong with asking for a bit of originality? Or at least do somethign original with the source material. Case in point: uptown girl - almost indestinguishable from the original. Compare to Marilyn Manson's cover of Personal Jesus or Sweet Dreams.

Yester wrote: »

(edit) Listening to the Best of Boyzone on Youtube. It's quiet nice.

The Meat Loaf version was better: more passion, more depth. Proabbyl not surprising considering the story was co-written by Jim Stenman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

those product placements started the rot that has destroyed popular music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Was always a strange name for a group with it sounding like a gay phone service and all.

Also, How about this Britpop battle? I think Oasis will win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Don't love me for fun Girl
    Let me be the one girl
    Love me for a reason
    And let the reason be love

Up there with other 90s lyrics like

No No, no no no no, no no no no, no no THERE@S NO LIMIT
    (techno techno techno techno)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Akrasia wrote: »
    Don't love me for fun Girl
    Let me be the one girl
    Love me for a reason
    And let the reason be love

Up there with other 90s lyrics like

No No, no no no no, no no no no, no no THERE@S NO LIMIT
    (techno techno techno techno)
    That was Donny Osmond.

I always say, if you're going to cover something, cover the best.

What now?

cml387 wrote: »

What now?

Circle jerk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Menas wrote: »
    They were a half decent covers band....thats it.

Shorry, is all that he can, shay!

I can't tell the difference between a Boyzone and a Westlife song and am struggling to remember a single one by the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Yester wrote: »

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No_Matter_What_(Boyzone_song)
    The recording was written and produced by Andrew Lloyd Webber, Jim Steinman, Nigel Wright
    Steinman wrote and composed all of "bat out of hell".

Surprised they let boyzone make a mess of it, especially keating doing his textbook nasally whatever the fcuk it is "you shay it beshhht, when you shay noshing ash all"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Remember the time Mikey Graham beat the tar out of someone outside his house and then fled to Spain? Nice lad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Is it 1995 again? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

They got Louis Walsh out of his Hiace van touring the country.
    Ronan Keating is a fúcking eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

Louis Walsh. Some promoter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

This wasn't a hit of any sort, but wasn't as bad as most of what they produced - Most of it was terrible this was just fairly bad
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9n8fxrejX78

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Stevecw wrote: »
    This wasn't a hit of any sort, but wasn't as bad as most of what they produced - Most of it was terrible this was just fairly bad
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9n8fxrejX78

Actually in fairness to them they seem to all have maintained a good friendship and support of one another throughout all the years, maybe most evident when Stephen died. I thought the way they rallied around his family and each other and honoured his memory at that time was particularly poignant.

Rare for most flash-in-the-pan boybands to stay in each others' lives like that these days really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

I remember the time Stephen said that he was gay my brother told me this story about how people in his class reacted.When the topic was bought up they just started laughing and snigering.The way the media reacted to it showed just what an inherently homophobic country Ireland was that time.But times have changed in Ireland and Stephen would have been so happy and proud when our nation decided that you can marry and love whoever you want earlier this year.Please god we will get to a stage where homosexuality can be discussed in a class room without people sniggering and laughing.Anyway fcuk the begrudgers as they say in Liverpool Boyzone are boss.:)
    But there are people who genuinely just really dislike that type of music - it's not always that they say so because it's popular to dislike it or that they don't want to admit they like it! You might like it, but that doesn't mean others do - songs being nice isn't always enough cause to like them. Others find such songs bland.
    I'm sure they are lovely guys but how does that make the music good? :)

I don't remember any overriding homophobia when Stephen died either - I just remember the media reflecting people being really saddened by his death. There was some dopey Daily Mail journalist in Britain all right who seemed to be trying to wind people up about him but she was roundly condemned. It was only 2009 - I don't think attitudes towards gay people were particularly different just six years ago. Young lads laughing at homosexuality is just awkwardness and immaturity - it doesn't mean they're raging homophobes.