Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rust hole in sump - oil dripping. '04 Almera

• 24-09-2015 4:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭

I have an 04 petrol almera. Got it's NCT there Saturday, all good.

But anyway, I noticed oil spots in the yard where I normally park up and on sliding underneath I notices that the back of the sump was rusty with oil weeping from one spot. I poked around a bit and knocked off some loose stuff and then the weep became a steady drip. Shag it anyway!

So I've drained the oil now, probably needed changing anyway, bought last summer, never changed, black as fúck. I sure as hell am not paying out for a new sump or anything after having to shell out for 2 new shock absorbers and a tyre last week. So I'm wondering if I that 2 part putty stuff that comes in a log that knead would patch up this hole or would the oil cause it to detach in use. Obviously, I would clean down and degrease the area around the hole before I stick the stuff on.
    Anyone else tried this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

how did it manage to pass the NCT like that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

I don't know but it did. It was probably just a small weep. Only started dripping when I poked at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Now that's where Irish motoring gets it's bad name.

Get a clean second hand sump and a tube of RTV silicone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,288 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I have an 04 petrol almera. Got it's NCT there Saturday, all good.

But anyway, I noticed oil spots in the yard where I normally park up and on sliding underneath I notices that the back of the sump was rusty with oil weeping from one spot. I poked around a bit and knocked off some loose stuff and then the weep became a steady drip. Shag it anyway!

So I've drained the oil now, probably needed changing anyway, bought last summer, never changed, black as fúck. I sure as hell am not paying out for a new sump or anything after having to shell out for 2 new shock absorbers and a tyre last week. So I'm wondering if I that 2 part putty stuff that comes in a log that knead would patch up this hole or would the oil cause it to detach in use. Obviously, I would clean down and degrease the area around the hole before I stick the stuff on.
    Anyone else tried this?

that metal epoxy putty should work, I used it a temporary fix on a diesel tank

the temporary fix was about 4 years ago & is still leak proof :rolleyes:

Now that's where Irish motoring gets it's bad name.

Get a clean second hand sump and a tube of RTV silicone.

+1 on this. A new sump is cheap enough and they dont look difficult to change.

Thanks, but no, I don't want the expense and hassle of flute acting around with a replacement sump. Only the last week I've had to pay for a tyre, shock absorber, NCT fee and now a gallon of oil too on top of it all.
    I know it's a bodge but I'm not looking for a rolls royce job, just a quick fix that'll last a good while to keep me going.

fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

The cheapest and easiest fix is a new sump, don't waste your time with anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Only the last week I've had to pay for a tyre, shock absorber

/facepalm

orm0nd wrote: »
    that metal epoxy putty should work, I used it a temporary fix on a diesel tank

the temporary fix was about 4 years ago & is still leak proof :rolleyes:

Thanks man. I'll give it a try so this evening if I can get a tube of that stuff.

I know a s/h sump will be cheap but I just can't be bothered with the hassle of traipsing around breakers yards looking for one and then all the messing & fluting around with spanners and sockets to change it. (used to do all my own repairs, sick of that sh!te now though at this point in life) And I don't want the expense of paying a mechanic. I've spent enough on this car.

I'm thinking just wire brush it well, bit of sandpaper maybe, then degrease with petrol on a rag and mash on a blob of epoxy stuff and fire in the gallon of oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

Thanks man. I'll give it a try so this evening if I can get a tube of that stuff.

I know a s/h sump will be cheap but I just can't be bothered with the hassle of traipsing around breakers yards looking for one and then all the messing & fluting around with spanners and sockets to change it. (used to do all my own repairs, sick of that sh!te now though at this point in life) And I don't want the expense of paying a mechanic. I've spent enough on this car.

I'm thinking just wire brush it well, bit of sandpaper maybe, then degrease with petrol on a rag and mash on a blob of epoxy stuff and fire in the gallon of oil.

Cars aren't something you "decide" to stop spending money on, they need what they need and that's it.

Thanks, but no, I don't want the expense and hassle of flute acting around with a replacement sump. Only the last week I've had to pay for a tyre, shock absorber, NCT fee and now a gallon of oil too on top of it all.
    I know it's a bodge but I'm not looking for a rolls royce job, just a quick fix that'll last a good while to keep me going.

Ah you're desperate. You are flute acting around using putty to bandage together a rotten sump because you feel aggreived because you had to buy shocks and tyres for the NCT :rolleyes:

Did you not know that running a car costs money?

You'l probably pay a tenner for that ****ty putty and you're taking a gamble that it could fail and cost you your engine.

You could get a second hand sump for around €20 and a sealant for a fiver... good sound job, not a "Hail Mary" job.

I dont want to come across as all high and mighty, I am far from loaded myself. I'd just be pissed if you dropped your sump on the motorway in front of me and caused me to crash... and you to lose your engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

This lad smothered his sump in gasket sealer. Ingenious use of a shop vac to stop the oil leaking while preparing the sump.
    Though for the OP a 2nd hand sump would probably be cheaper than all that gasket sealer.

TFB, sure look I know you're right in what you say in fairness, but I just have better things I'd like to be spending my money on than the feckin car.
    Of course, I know a sump and silicone would be cheap (€20-30) but I have no interest anymore in ripping at engines, at 29 I feel I'm just gone beyond that stage in life to be bothered running around to scrap yards, looking at yolks with fellas & saying is this one right, is that one right, model year, shapes blah blah blah.
    And paying a mechanic to do it will just make the cost mushroom altogether.

The sump is sound enough, just rusted in one spot about the size of a euro with a pinhole in the centre. The engine isn't going to fall off! LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

+1 on the liquid metal roll of stuff.

I had a similar issue with the sump on my merc 2 years ago, used that stuff and its still not failed me. The hole that was in my sump was big enough to put your baby finger in.
    The reason I went that route was the key on my car stopped working and I shelled out 250 for it to be fixed a week before hand. It was supposed to be a temporary fix but... I'm just plain lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

That putty could fail in the future in which you'll be back to square one. As others have said a good second hand sump is the best option. It's not really a difficult job either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

rex-x wrote: »
    Cars aren't something you "decide" to stop spending money on, they need what they need and that's it.

Not really. I think he can mend this with some putty

Jesus. wrote: »
    Not really. I think he can mend this with some putty

Does putty reverse corrosion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

go for the putty , cheap and cheerful fix. Will definitely do the job

Is the metal around the putty not compromised with corrosion? Will the putty not create crevaces that will trap dirt and water to promote further corrosion?

only one way to find out!

Its an 11 year old Almera Fanboi not a Lambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Superwofy

I bet you're the type of guy to secure CV boots with zip ties.

and the type to use gunk to fix a head gasket tbf

Jesus. wrote: »
    Its an 11 year old Almera Fanboi not a Lambo

And it's my funeral if I slip on his oil slick.

Drama alert!

And it's my funeral if I slip on his oil slick.

oh wow. Just wow:pac:

no, seriously.

i usually stay away from these kind of arguements, but **** me.

the standard of car maintenance in Ireland is a pure joke and this has a direct relationship to road safety.

they say "speed kills" but i firmly believe "skrimping on maintenance kills". far far more people would avoid death and serious injury if they were doing 120km/h in the rain on 4 Uniroyals as opposed to one brand new Landsail and 3 1.2mm Triangles.

this chap is aggrieved because he's had to buy 1 linglong tyre last week to scrape through the NCT and doesn't want to have to shell out anymore money but has been forced into action because his sump has rusted through.

now, he can spend €10 and do an outrageously bodged job, risking his entire engine and the safety of himself and other road users. or he can spend €25 and do the job right.

and he's going for the tenner option :rolleyes: penny wise, pound foolish springs to mind.

glad you got that off your chest, champ

Id say that the cheap option on this occasion will suffice. If not he can always go down the scrap route alternative.

Either way I dont think anyone will die.

glad you got that off your chest, champ

Id say that the cheap option on this occasion will suffice. If not he can always go down the scrap route alternative.

Either way I dont think anyone will die.

ignorance is bliss and all that :)

Never a truer word typed

Amen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

no, seriously.

i usually stay away from these kind of arguements, but **** me.

the standard of car maintenance in Ireland is a pure joke and this has a direct relationship to road safety.

they say "speed kills" but i firmly believe "skrimping on maintenance kills". this chap is aggrieved because he's had to buy 1 linglong tyre last week to scrape through the NCT and doesn't want to have to shell out anymore money but has been forced into action because his sump has rusted through.

now, he can spend €10 and do an outrageously bodged job, risking his entire engine and the safety of himself and other road users. or he can spend €25 and do the job right.

and he's going for the tenner option :rolleyes: penny wise, pound foolish springs to mind.

So most accidents you believe are maintenance related? Id say driver error is a far higher factor.

Id say leaking sumps account for far more deaths than drink drivers, drug driving, speeding and just careless driving

No, actually I dont think that

Tfb, as I said, the issue here is not really that it will be expensive, like you say its prob €25 or so all in, I just can't be bothered with spanners & sockets & oil everywhere & cleaning gasket faces etc etc. I don't want a mexhanic charging me €€€ either for the privilege.
    I just want a quick fix that will last and it seems that epoxy putty will do the trick according to other posters.
    The surrounding metal is fine. I'll get good coverage on it. Who cares if it rusts through again in 3 years., its an aul Almera ffs, not a Ferrari.

Lob in some chape oil and drive on. And FYI, the linglong (or whatever he put on) passed nct fine. It clearly meets some standard to pass. I've drove on cheapest available rubber for 10 yrs now and never spin yet.

Unlike some fanatics on this sub forum, I see my car as a means to get from A to B and I don't want to be wasting money I don't have to on it.

Bruthal wrote: »
    So most accidents you believe are maintenance related? Id say driver error is a far higher factor.

i never said most, but i'd say if the stats were correctly dissected that a reasonable amount of accidents could be attributed to vehicle failure due to poor maintenance, yes, that is my opinion.

when you see garages making facebook posts like this. i understand i've made a few tyre related comments, but it's more just the generally ignorant attitude most people have to the link between vehicular maintenance and safety.

Capture.png

Id say leaking sumps account for far more deaths than drink drivers, drug driving, speeding and just careless driving

No, actually I dont think that

good, nor do i. in fact i don't think that was every in question. ever.

glad you got that off your chest though, champ.

would either of you be happy to fly on a plane, who's engine block had rusted through, was repaired with putty and that putty hadn't been inspected at all after it was applied?

facebook pics and strange unrelated questions about planes :confused:

Anyways..... yeah Id go for the filler option on the sump

would either of you be happy to fly on a plane, who's engine block had rusted through, was repaired with putty and that putty hadn't been inspected at all after it was applied?

Would you fly on a plane with a 1.4L engine?

No. But then cars don't fall 35k feet if the engine packs up do they?

Anyway it is done now. Sump cleaned back, degreased, putty shlaped on and the oil id back in.
    It mightn't be to tfb's liking, but sure it'll do.

Would you fly on a plane with a 1.4L engine?

would i travel in a plane with a car engine? no. i'm pretty sure that that wouldn't work.

what i was asking, that both of you managed to avoid answering was, would you travel in a plane where the sump had rusted through and was bunged up with putty?

anyway it's done now. Sump cleaned back, degreased, putty shlapped on and oil put back in.
    Mightn't be to tfb's taste but it'll do sure.

they do travel frequently at 33 meters per second approx. 500mm away from concrete walls etc, so there is a decent risk there, we are just complacent.

Well if it engine is shagged up it won't be will it?

Get over yourself lad. Relax, like.

Well if it engine is shagged up it won't be will it?

Get over yourself lad. Relax, like.

well if we are to get technical, if the putty fails at 120km/h, then i guess you will roll to a graceful stop, yes.

the car behind you that hasn't got time to avoid onto a freshly dispensed oil slick @120km/h, the one that could contain me, that's the one i'm worried about.

Drink anymore of that Koolaid Mr G. Byrne and you'll be so full of gas you'll explode :p

would i travel in a plane with a car engine? no. i'm pretty sure that that wouldn't work.
    I never said a car engine.
    what i was asking, that both of you managed to avoid answering was, would you travel in a plane where the sump had rusted through and was bunged up with putty?

Best analogy I seen in a while.

Mod, lock it up!

This is gone ridiculous. Thanks to those who shared their experience of successful putty repairs to sumps.

when you see garages making facebook posts like this
    I wonder why garages would be encouraging people to buy new tyres?

More Koolaid for the boy over here!
    Now I know you're having a laugh

I never said a car engine.

Best analogy I seen in a while.

no, but you were implying it.

it's an exact, like for like comparison of repairs. the only difference is one vehicle has a lot of complacency surrounding it's maintenance, the other hasn't.

and you still havn't answered the question. you should get into politics.

no, but you were implying it.
    No, you assumed it. You assume a 1.4 litre engine cant power a plane.
    it's an exact, like for like comparison of repairs. the only difference is one vehicle has a lot of complacency surrounding it's maintenance, the other hasn't.
    No, it is not remotely the same.

But lets assume they are the same because you think they are. Which would you prefer to be on. A plane with engine failure, or in your car with engine failure?
    and you still havn't answered the question. you should get into politics.
    No, politicians fool the people. But you comparing engine failure on a plane to engine failure on a car and claiming they are like for like, is fooling yourself.

Yawn