Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 90's

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Links234 wrote: »

The amount of metal fans who'd pop a gasket over that statement!

I suppose gothic metal was better but I can't think of any good bands as I am not a Metallica fan you see. I would associate bands like System of a Down more with the 2000's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

kneemos wrote: »
    Was there anything remarkable about the 90's?
    Seems like the invention of the Playstation and the internet resulted in the most nondescript decade ever.

Why are you not using your own thread for your questions?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why are you not using your own thread for your questions?

It's closed for essential maintenance.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

We no more came of age... more like the Celtic Tiger cubs pulled off their dirty nappies and waved them about the place all throughout the 90's, making shìt of the place! :pac:

Every generation thinks it's the one that came of age. Look at how the recent referendum was passed - "We're now a modern country in 2015..."

We were always a modern country, right down to when we swapped boiling cloth diapers for disposable nappies. It's come full circle again now with more and more people boiling reusable diapers instead of trying to dispose of environmentally unfriendly disposable nappies that aren't so disposable!

Jaysis that's an awful lot of shyte talk :pac:

90's, like any other decade, was whatever the person themselves made of it.

I literally couldn't disagree with you more. We were in NO way a modern country not too long ago. Even the change in Ireland from the 80's through to today is monumental, sure, people are still people, and accents are pretty similar but almost everything else has changed.

If we take the 90's as the benchmark for how things were different before and after here are just a few things that are different, that you don't seem to be aware of for some reason.

It was illegal to be gay.
    Our national roads were insanely bad, they were of the same standard as country roads today.
    Our immigrants are not all thickos sent to work as labourers in England, they have degrees, skills and knowledge and many leave to earn big salaries, that was never the case before.
    We shipped unmarried mothers into Magdelane Laundries.
    Bastard children were sold to America.
    Paedophile Priests raped and beat thousands of young boys for decades, and were protected.
    You could drive after a bottle of whiskey.
    If you wanted to book a flight it cost a small fortune which many couldn't afford.
    The only tv was one channel that only aired at certain times.
    The only radio was severely limited sh1te.
    TVs were small and expensive.
    Music was expensive to listen to.
    Restaurants were of a poor standard.
    Everyone ate potatoes every goddam day for dinner.
    You had to wait weeks, even months to get a phone line installed for your home from our telecom monopoly.
    Taxes were higher then.
    ECT ect ect
    I could literally keep going with this list for an hour.

Arse biscuits to you if you think nothings changed in this country! Fecking arse biscuits!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

RayM wrote: »
    It was a good decade. I always feel that everything (and I mean everything) started going wrong after the '90s. Although I'm not sure how much of that is just me being nostalgic.
    The world became a sh1ttier place when Bush junior came to power and has been on a downward spiral since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

Just watch Trainspotting. That's why none of us remember the 90's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

So an iPhone then :p

one of these yokes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Compared to the originality of the 60's and 70's the 90's were dull as dishwater.
    Don't remember any decent films or music from the 90's.Likewise popular movements.
    Are you dead inside?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 1,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭ChopShop

Links234 wrote: »

The amount of metal fans who'd pop a gasket over that statement!

'Wahhh Slayer is crap now, and it's all Kerry King's fault.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

Compared to the originality of the 60's and 70's the 90's were dull as dishwater.
    Don't remember any decent films or music from the 90's.Likewise popular movements.

I think your argument is invalid....

http://www.imdb.com/search/title/?release_date=1990,1999&title_type=feature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

She looks like a proper 90s yoke alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Twas the golden age of hip-hop

• Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

eezipc wrote: »

It was more social change and world events I had in mind when I started the thread.
    Even cinema and music in the sixties and seventies was a giant leap in relation to what came before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

You could get a sniff-bang for 50p (once you got your deposit back).

You could get bags of coke for 50p back in the 90's? Was this the 1890's?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

That phone in the photo would be late 80s, early 90s as in 1994/95 this was the size of mobile phone available

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=nokia+2110&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAWoVChMIr6i5goKDyAIVCQQaCh2ltwAS&biw=1242&bih=606

You don't remember.....

Goodfellas "go get a shiny new box"
    Pulp Fiction "and you will remember my name as Lord"
    Reservoir Dogs "really big penis, hence like a virgin"
    Casino "you made pop yo eye outta ya head"
    Schindler's List "let my people gooooo"
    Trainspotting "get a job, get a tv, get a sofa etc...."
    Cape Fear "muhahahahahahahahaha Councillor "
    Terminator 2 "i'll be back (several more times)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

I used to like The Eurovision in the 90s.

The point system seemed to be fair well compared to now and Ireland won it 4 times in the 90s.

I used to like The Eurovision in the 90s.

The point system seemed to be fair well compared to now and Ireland won it 4 times in the 90s.

Me to. The 90's had to be the most proudest decade to be Irish, with the 2 football World Cups, the 3 Olympic gold medals, the Eurovision wins like you mentioned, The Good Friday Agreement.

We got so much done in the 90's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Me to. The 90's had to be the most proudest decade to be Irish, with the 2 football World Cups, the 3 Olympic gold medals, the Eurovision wins like you mentioned, The Good Friday Agreement.

We got so much done in the 90's.

I always remember World Cup 1994.

Me and my pals were going to be staying in a tent in the back garden. Ireland were playing Italy and we heard them score and went to run into the house but i tripped and landed on the stake in the ground supporting the tent and hurt my knee. I still have the scar!

My mother used to get so emotional over the eurovision. She used to be welling up and shed say "your so lucky, we never used to win when i was growing up" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Blur V Oasis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I think the 90s happened during one of my boozy blackouts.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think if you left school in Ireland anywhere from the mid to late 90's you'd look back fondly on that time. Just a few years before, everyone was going straight out of school into work or apprenticeships, from '96 on and the abolition of fees the first wave of regular joes started going to 3rd level, me included. I remember a few of my mates all ending up in the same college, they shared a house and the craic was mighty that first year. The economy was taking off, there were great job prospects, it was just wall to wall upbeat it seemed to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

I literally couldn't disagree with you more. We were in NO way a modern country not too long ago. Even the change in Ireland from the 80's through to today is monumental, sure, people are still people, and accents are pretty similar but almost everything else has changed.

If we take the 90's as the benchmark for how things were different before and after here are just a few things that are different, that you don't seem to be aware of for some reason.

It was illegal to be gay.
    Our national roads were insanely bad, they were of the same standard as country roads today.
    Our immigrants are not all thickos sent to work as labourers in England, they have degrees, skills and knowledge and many leave to earn big salaries, that was never the case before.
    We shipped unmarried mothers into Magdelane Laundries.
    Bastard children were sold to America.
    Paedophile Priests raped and beat thousands of young boys for decades, and were protected.
    You could drive after a bottle of whiskey.
    If you wanted to book a flight it cost a small fortune which many couldn't afford.
    The only tv was one channel that only aired at certain times.
    The only radio was severely limited sh1te.
    TVs were small and expensive.
    Music was expensive to listen to.
    Restaurants were of a poor standard.
    Everyone ate potatoes every goddam day for dinner.
    You had to wait weeks, even months to get a phone line installed for your home from our telecom monopoly.
    Taxes were higher then.
    ECT ect ect
    I could literally keep going with this list for an hour.

Arse biscuits to you if you think nothings changed in this country! Fecking arse biscuits!

Ah they were simpler times!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,850 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

You don't remember.....

Goodfellas "go get a shiny new box"
    Pulp Fiction "and you will remember my name as Lord"
    Reservoir Dogs "really big penis, hence like a virgin"
    Casino "you made pop yo eye outta ya head"
    Schindler's List "let my people gooooo"
    Trainspotting "get a job, get a tv, get a sofa etc...."
    Cape Fear "muhahahahahahahahaha Councillor "
    Terminator 2 "i'll be back (several more times)"

The Shawshank Redemption
    The 6th Sense
    12 Monkeys
    Seven
    Jurassic Park
    The Matrix

Probably loads more too, but that's off the top of my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

The 90s was a great decade. Technology was making breakthroughs but not invasive like today.
    Cold War ended, progress in NI. Seemed like world problems were being solved.
    Last decade pop music actually meant something. Last hurrah for the charts. Brit pop etc.
    Football was moving away from the grimey hooliganism of the 80s. Money was making it glamours but not obnoxious like today. Internationals weren't moaned at by PL fanboys like today.
    Rugby went pro.
    GAA was just bonkers. Felt like anyone could win.
    CGI made the T-Rex come alive in Jurassic Park but CGI wasn't the movie itself. Then George Lucas ruined it with the prequels. Least we got The Matrix.

Oh and Fr. Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Pulp Fiction, Schindler's List, Goodfellas, Terminator 2, The Matrix (original only!), Fargo, Toy Story, The Big Lebowski, Unforgiven, LA Confidential, Leon, Trainspotting, The Usual Suspects, Casino, Princess Mononoke, The Three Colours trilogy, Chungking Express, Life is Beautiful, La Haine... the list goes on and on. The 1990s was a great decade in film.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 113 ✭✭joe_six_cans

I heart TV wrote: »
    The internet was invented in the 60s not the 90s

and the motor car was invented about seven decades before most people could afford one

the nineties was when the internet became familiar to the average person , in fact i knew nobody who had it before around 1996 , we got it in 1999 and didnt get broadband until ten years ago

It depends what age you were, if you were a young fellow or just born in the decade it seems like it was a very fashionable time with want of a better word, I was born in 92 but to someone my parents age who were in their 30's at the time it was just a decade filled with work and raising children. I am sure someone who was born in early 2000's would think the 2000's were great because they were children at the time and had no worries.

For people who say the music was better, that depends what music you like as metal music is better now than it ever was, in terms of films, it was just the Disney movies that were better, hollywood films are actually better now.

hollywood today is about endless sequels , remakes of old tv series began in the mid nineties but the nineties was a great decade for blockbusters and orignal ones

brit pop
    dance music went mainstream
    hip hop went sort of mainstream but was still fresh ( unlike today where all pop music has some element of hip hop )
    alternative rock went mainstream

the nineties was a very indie decade compared to the very conservative eighties ( which i love BTW but it was very conformist musically in the main )

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭arcticmonkeys

I loved the nineties but find it kind of disturbing that I cant remember ever listing to any of the grunge bands at the time Nirvana Pearl Jam Alice in Chains or Pixies bands which I love now but have a perfect recollection listening to the Spice Girls Aqua and Backstreet Boys.