Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can one become better looking ?

• 18-09-2015 11:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭

Or is one who isn't to great looking like that for life ? Can a clean diet and bit of auld cardio in the gym make you look better ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Of course people can become better looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

No. Everyone looks the same always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Well I know of some who have gotten ugly as they've gotten older, so I'm sure it's possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I went to the gym for 6 months, shaved my head, started going regularly to the sunbed and drank 8 pints every night. I didnt look any better but I didnt care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

If one has money they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Links234 wrote: »
    Of course people can become better looking.

How though ? If your a woman well then yeah you can alter your appearance with cosmetics etc. But all a man can do is grow a beard and that's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Or is one who isn't to great looking like that for life ? Can a clean diet and bit of auld cardio in the gym make you look better ?

Depends what you mean by "look better". The gym won't change yer face.

Nodin wrote: »

But would a good body make up for an average looking face ?

That's one that the individual wimminz would have to answer I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

People are also attracted by charisma and confidence.. if youre in shape and have a pleasant expression on top of this, your on a winner.

How though ? If your a woman well then yeah you can alter your appearance with cosmetics etc. But all a man can do is grow a beard and that's about it.

Well it depends on how you define 'looking better' but sure if you're a bit flabby, tone up a bit in the gym or do some running, etc. If your skin ain't so great, try get into the habit of a decent skincare regime, not talking American Psycho levels here, just sort out the blackheads and a bit of moisturizer and SPF regularly can do a lot of good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

The old acronym for that used to be BOBFOC - body off baywatch, face off crimewatch

Well it depends on how you define 'looking better' but sure if you're a bit flabby, tone up a bit in the gym or do some running, etc. If your skin ain't so great, try get into the habit of a decent skincare regime, not talking American Psycho levels here, just sort out the blackheads and a bit of moisturizer and SPF regularly can do a lot of good.

?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Yes it will. Being fit and healthy will make you more confident and happy, it will put a smile on your face.

?????

Sorry, sunscreen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

?????

It stands for sun protection factor.

?????

Sun protection factor me thinks. But then being pale as a ghost isn't really considered attractive either. I know ye women love a man with a tan :pac:

Calvin Harris

before and after clean eating, gym going, hair cut, and generally looking after himself...

http://ll-media.tmz.com/2015/04/07/0407-calvin-harris-getty-5.jpg

Oh, and don't do meth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Plastic surgery helps, but people will know that you were an ugly c*nt before, so I don't think it'd change much.

You'd be surprised what a decent haircut, braces and (for some, not all, men) facial hair can do to improve someone's looks.

Calvin Harris

before and after clean eating, gym going, hair cut, and generally looking after himself...

Good call, but not everyone has his bank balance, access to the best personal trainers, expensive skincare products and hair stylists. Plus he was never really that unattractive to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

You'd be surprised what a decent haircut, braces and (for some, not all, men) facial hair can do to improve someone's looks.

This. A bit of grooming goes a LONG way. Wardrobe is a big factor too. And yes, teeth. I can't stress this enough.

Plastic surgery helps, but people will know that you were an ugly c*nt before, so I don't think it'd change much.

The ones in your mouth or the ones Patrick Bateman wears ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Clothes maketh the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Losing weight usually helps.

Speaking for myself, I always find I look better if I take the time to have a shower, shave and dress well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

What one person may consider attractive, another person may not.

You can always improve upon yourself, but only do it for yourself, because if you were to base your standards upon everyone else's opinions of what they consider attractive, you'll never be the best version of yourself.

Pictures of celebrities are at best divisive, because not everyone will agree that the after is more attractive than the before, or indeed vice versa.

....jaysus be with the days you just had to beat dinner and a few enemies to death to pull the wimmin.

I don't see much wrong with him in that photo tbh other than being very skinny and wearing clothes that are to big for him. I guess being to thin ain't to appealing either eh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭brevity

Good call, but not everyone has his bank balance, access to the best personal trainers, expensive skincare products and hair stylists. Plus he was never really that unattractive to begin with.

Start somewhere though...rather than focusing on what's unattractive, find things that you think are attractive and build on those. Even if its just one thing.

A good attitude is half the battle.

You can start doing stuff at home, change your diet, do 30 mins home workout - push up's, squats etc...couch to 5k app...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Ive read of a lot of men who lift weights, have noticed slight facial changes, could be from a loss in fat or tensing facial muscles while lifting

Ah sure it didn't take long to say it's his money.

Yeh, he probably paid for personal trainers but anyone can get buff in a Ben Dunne gym if they put the hard work in - Personal Trainers don't get you fit, you get yourself fit. Hairstylists? really? He got a haircut, plenty of lads go around with a similar haircut from a barber.

You asked could you get better looking with clean eating, and the gym. You can, of course. Money or no money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 230 ✭✭garrixfan

TBH women find the majority of men ugly anyway, yo have to have high social status to be seen as desirable. I always use the Irish rugby team as an example, ugly mostly but becoz they are rugby players they are 'heartthrobs'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not if you're from Bray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

Calvin Harris

The thread is about being better looking not gayer looking:)

Yea, yea I'm jealous, sue me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 230 ✭✭garrixfan

TBH women find the majority of men ugly anyway, yo have to have high social status to be seen as desirable. I always use the Irish rugby team as an example, ugly mostly but becoz they are rugby players they are 'heartthrobs'.

The standards you must reach as a guy to be SEEN as hot are way higher than women.

The gym is all well and good but there is no gym for the face...or for social status.

Without status, I think a man must be a 7/10 MINIMUM to be admired for looks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Brian im starting to get worried about you and these threads.

Who is this deceitful makeup wearing overweight bad looking person thay you keep starting threads about?

Yeh, he probably paid for personal trainers but anyone can get buff in a Ben Dunne gym if they put the hard work in - Personal Trainers don't get you fit, you get yourself fit. Hairstylists? really? He got a haircut, plenty of lads go around with a similar haircut from a barber.

You asked could you get better looking with clean eating, and the gym. You can, of course. Money or no money.

But what if you are not 6 feet tall and don't have a great hairline ?

garrixfan wrote: »
    TBH women find the majority of men ugly anyway, yo have to have high social status to be seen as desirable

I don't agree with this. I think some people are attracted to success (not necessarily a bad thing) but others mostly just want to be around someone that is nice to them and that they have things in common with them.

Brian im starting to get worried about you and these threads.

Who is this deceitful makeup wearing overweight bad looking person thay you keep starting threads about?

:o

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Exercise, diet (vitimans) and sleep can improve your skin and brighten your eyes. Moisturise as well.
    Exercise may reduce the wobbly bits and tighten up your skin. It will also make clothes hang better on your body.
    Decent haircut.
    Decent clothes and footwear.

It may not make you better looking, but it will defintely accentuate visible features and appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

But what if you are not 6 feet tall and don't have a great hairline ?

It really doesn't matter. Women are far more forgiving on looks than men are. If you dress well, look after your shape, and are well groomed you can be considered attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

I've spent most of my life as an unpopular weirdo without two penny's to rub together and I haven't slept alone in my bed two nights in a row since it was shaped like a tiny little race car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Well one is from a photoshoot which has the best lighting photoshop etc

I think a change as shown in those pictures would be very hard to achieve for most people

OneOfThem wrote: »
    I've spent most of my life as an unpopular weirdo without two penny's to rub together and I haven't slept alone in my bed two nights in a row since it was shaped like a tiny little race car.

You brought your teddy with you?

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Well one is from a photoshoot which has the best lighting photoshop etc

I think a change as shown in those pictures would be very hard to achieve for most people

Spot on and probably airbrushed to the max as well.

OneOfThem wrote: »

What's the secret to your success ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

What's the secret to your success ?

I'm pretty and a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

I always use the Irish rugby team as an example, ugly mostly but becoz they are rugby players they are 'heartthrobs'.

Ugly ****s in fairness.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BLbQSQcCIAAiRGs.jpg:large

Do you think giving up the smokes and booze would improve ones appearance ?

Not sure what is to "make up for" therefore? If it is "average" then that by definition means its on par with the majority of other people. So why would anyone need to "make up for" this?

Do you feel some compulsion to excel and be better than most people in some way - and your failure to attain this is bringing you down? Why do you need to be better than everyone else?