Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2015: Round 13 - Singapore GP

• 16-09-2015 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭

F1 visits the streets of Singapore for the Grand Prix this weekend.

marina-bay-street-circuit.jpg

It will be the eighth Grand Prix at Singapore this weekend.

Fernando Alonso won the first Grand Prix here in 2008 driving for Renault and won in 2010 driving for Ferrari.

Other winners are Lewis Hamilton who won in 2009 driving for McLaren and 2014 driving for Mercedes.

Sebastian Vettel won in 2011, 2012 and 2013 driving for Red Bull.

Rosberg has to win this race if he wants to have a chance to win the championship IMO. He is 53 points behind Lewis at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Smog is clearing up now, so no worry for that affecting the race.

There does look like a chance of some rain though, which would be nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Not just any rain, acid rain. :D If only F1 was more greener. They should invent engines that use less fuel. Oh wait...

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

If only people realized that making F1 cars "greener" isn't going to solve global warming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Sauber will be using a new shorter nose this weekend:

Sauber-GP-Singapur-Formel-1-fotoshowImage-38315ed9-896910.jpg

Old nose is on the left and new nose is on the right in this pic:

Sauber-GP-Singapur-Formel-1-fotoshowImage-b6017641-896853.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Gintonious wrote: »
    If only people realized that making F1 cars "greener" isn't going to solve global warming.

I'd love if there was a total carbon footprint record for 2013 (V8 era), & 2014 (Hybrid era)...I'd be shocked if 2014 was lower than 2013 all things considered (manufacturing, shipping, logistics etc). But hey, we use a bit less fuel in the races now so all is good with the world

Myrddin wrote: »
    I'd love if there was a total carbon footprint record for 2013 (V8 era), & 2014 (Hybrid era)...I'd be shocked if 2014 was lower than 2013 all things considered (manufacturing, shipping, logistics etc). But hey, we use a bit less fuel in the races now so all is good with the world

I remember reading that shipping the cargo for the Williams team to the first race in Oz, used up more fuel than all the cars put together for a whole year.

*I know this reads like a silly Father Ted quote, but I genuinely did read that. And it wouldn't surprise me.

Never mind getting 100k+ people moved around for 3-5 days straight. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Rossi hits the wall in FP1... bit of a moronic decision to make an F1 rookie's first drive on a tight street circuit.

https://twitter.com/F1/status/644835513141174273

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Well, Rossi's car number is 53, so his backup car is standing by:

https://twitter.com/AlexanderRossi/status/644471511076732928

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

Are the Mercs sandbagging, they both seem out of position looking at the results of FP1/2? Either that, or the slow, tight nature of this track exposes them a little?

Ferrari seem to have genuine pace here... hopefully they can lock out the first row of the grid. Also RedBull up there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Bit strange to see Mercedes so poor, nice to see the Ferraris up front.

Vettel has this in the bag I think

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

McLarens seem to have a bit of pace. 1.1 seconds off the top time with 5 minutes of Q1 to go.

Q1: Hamilton did a really slow lap first, was pushed down to P16, came out and took P1 on super-soft, and was immediately topped by Kvyat.

(I'm watching this in NBCSN in the USA: makes me wish I could get the BBC feed here. They stopped coverage in the middle of Q1, to show commercials and an interview wil Alexander Rossi. He's P20 (a.k.a. last), but the car surived, so they're calling it a good job. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Be some laugh if a red bull got pole, would they thank Renault!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Interesting how the Mercs are struggling

Sainz clattered the wall and shed a lot of carbon fibre, but thankfully so late in Q2 as to make little difference. Bottas might have improved his time, but he's in to Q3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

Stunning lap from Vettel

That was something alright. Merc's nowhere today. Ferrari are doing a good job.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Some lap that was, only man in the 43's. Awesome from Vettel. Hamo 5th, the top Merc 1.5s back I think it was. Roll on tomorrow. :)

That was some lap from Vettel. Verstappen with the tank slapper on the final corner was great!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Mercedes suddenly not able to get the tyres into working window as soon as tyre pressure rules are tightened up.
    Have they been taking the piss with pressures all year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Great qualifying session but not nearly as good as last year.

*Because I was at it :(

mickdw wrote: »
    Mercedes suddenly not able to get the tyres into working window as soon as tyre pressure rules are tightened up.
    Have they been taking the piss with pressures all year?

Nah, it's the dynamics of the track...sure look at Red Bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I dont mean to be nasty but its great not to see the Mercs at the front. Well done to Vettel and Ricky.

Ham in great form after. I suppose once hes in front of Rosberg at this stage, thats all that matters and the points down there are small anyway.

Mind u I cant believe while watching the qualifying I missed seeing Japan beating SA in the rugby!!

CFlat wrote: »
    I dont mean to be nasty but its great not to see the Mercs at the front. Well done to Vettel and Ricky.

Seb was on fire today, immense quali lap - & Ricciardo too was mighty quick. Should be interesting to see what happens at lights out tomorrow :)
    Ham in great form after. I suppose once hes in front of Rosberg at this stage, thats all that matters and the points down there are small anyway.

Exactly, he knows Nico, no matter what happens, won't make any huge grounds points wise tomorrow...& by Japan, it'll be back to business as usual for Mercedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Myrddin wrote: »
    Nah, it's the dynamics of the track...sure look at Red Bull.

Yes not an absolute power circuit but mercedes have a great chassis so they clearly are way off in terms of getting the tyres to work.
    If given a free hand pressure wise, I don't believe we would have seen what we saw today.

mickdw wrote: »
    Yes not an absolute power circuit but mercedes have a great chassis so they clearly are way off in terms of getting the tyres to work.
    If given a free hand pressure wise, I don't believe we would have seen what we saw today.

I'm not convinced the tire pressure thing has anything to do with it (yet), the gains Red Bull have made seem to suggest this track is highlighting chassis differential more than anything else. If all Red Bull needed to be battling with Ferrari was some psi trickery, it wouldn't have taken them this long to be competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Was great to see Vettel and Ferrari get pole today. Was an awesome lap from Vettel. This was one of the most exciting and maybe the best qualifying session all season. Can,t wait for the race tomorrow should be good. Id say Vettel will do his best to win this now and is not going to make it easy for anyone else.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

The Singapore quali is very like Formula E. If you were excited by it, try out Formula E for this season!

This should be interesting, hopefully a fight on for the win

I wonder is the fuel efficiency negated by the cost of running the street lights at the race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Has there actually been any overtakes since this race started? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

antodeco wrote: »
    I wonder is the fuel efficiency negated by the cost of running the street lights at the race

I don,t think so. Have you ever been to Singapore its a beautiful city but quiet artificial too. They are going to have street lights on that part of the road at night if there is a race there or not only real difference being the lights they are using for the race are no doubt a lot more powerful and much brighter than normal street lights. Also I suppose it depends on how Singapore produces its power too. Is it from a coal powered station or from gas or Nuclear?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I think if the fuel efficent engine technology gets transferred to road cars down the line its positive for environment. Can't just look at as 20 cars saving fuel

Wonder will Massa get penalty for that, bit of a racing incident

You can feel that this is building up to something fantastic! All just waiting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Thidp

Hamilton in trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Looks similar to Rosberg in Abu Dhabi last year

Delighted honestly, championship needed it.

Only positive for Hamilton is that Rosberg only fourth

Yeah he's picked the right race to have a failure. Rosberg can't fully capitalise. Only on for 12 points at the moment. Gap down to 41

Forget sprinklers Bernie, all you need is an EMP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Rossi overtakes Hamilton in his first race! :D

Probably the last time that he is ever going to overtake him.

Maldonado has been too quiet. He's due to do something ridiculous.

Like Hockenheim back in the day and that Priest at Silverstone

Hope that doesn't spoil the race, will close things up I guess but no more pitstops

Looks like Fr Horan's son turned up for the race this year.

Don't panic lads, he was just trying to spice up the race a bit :D