Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Dates

• 15-09-2015 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

I was watching that TV programme 'first dates' and couldnt get over the awkwardness of them aswell as the stupid things people say when they're nervous and dont know what to say.It got me thinking, have people had worse dates than just the really awkward ones? Lets hear your worst date stories :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Medjool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Went out with someone that didn't know how to use the 'Search' function. Was mortified for both of us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Went out for a drink, woke up in hospital after drunkenly falling and knocking myself out. Was a boardsie too :pac:

One where he did a runner at the end of the night, leaving me with the bill. Texted me later that night to say he got a dodgy stomach and was sorry and could we meet again.

One spent the time talking about his ex, then when I texted him after to say I didn't see it working, I got the 'but I'm falling for you' spiel.

One dude I went on two dates with. He was much too intense, non-stop texts, trying to plan a night to fcuk me when I said I didn't want to! Told him I wasn't comfortable. Was told he'd text me in a few weeks because he needed space because he was in love with me and I crushed his heart and trampled on it. :pac:

I'm so glad I never went on a date with my OH before we actually got together :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'm so glad I never went on a date with my OH before we actually got together :pac:

:confused: I'm confused!

kfallon wrote: »
    :confused: I'm confused!

We drunkenly hooked up after a long-ish friendship. So no dates that could potentially be a disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Do you want to be buried with my people?

We drunkenly hooked up after a long-ish friendship. So no dates that could potentially be a disaster!

He got himself out of the Friend Zone and into your End Zone :pac:

kfallon wrote: »
    He got himself out of the Friend Zone and into your End Zone :pac:

:pac: Never heard that one before! Well played :D

I put it as nicely as I could :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I was watching that TV programme 'first dates' and couldnt get over the awkwardness of them aswell as the stupid things people say when they're nervous and dont know what to say.It got me thinking, have people had worse dates than just the really awkward ones? Lets hear your worst date stories :)

3 hours in and you still haven't told us your own story.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭What are those?

johnayo wrote: »
    3 hours in and you still haven't told us your own story.:rolleyes:
    Dont really have any thank god,im only early twenties so its all ahead of me
    unforchunately. Only one I can think of is a date with a spanish girl but her english was awful and couldnt string a sentence together let alone understand me.:D

Dont really have any thank god,im only early twenties so its all ahead of me
    unforchunately. Only one I can think of is a date with a spanish girl but her english was awful and couldnt string a sentence together let alone understand me.:D

As long as she was fluent in the 'Language of love' everything should have been ok!

Unless of course she couldn't understand the slang when you told her you wanted to destroy her chocolate fudge canal with your flute :pac:

We planned to take a walk down Dun Laoghaire pier on a sunny day. I had only met her once at a house party and agreed to meet her after a bit of texting. I was studying for exams at the time so wanted to avoid the usual drinks-date. I was in my early 20's, she was about 4 years older than me I think.

We grab an ice-cream and start walking down. She starts off by going on about how she completely fell for me the moment she saw me across that kitchen, got lost in my eyes, the most handsome man she's ever seen etc. insanely full on. I'm thinking wtf have I got myself into here. I barely respond to this, awkwardly saying thanks and laughing it off. She then starts into how we are at different stages of our lives and that it will never work, that we both want different things, pointing to the small age difference. I don't even know this girl at all. She doesn't know me. This was supposed to be a nice break from the study. I distinctly remember looking up at this point and realising I still have to walk all the way down this ****ing pier and back up again.

We ended up moving the conversation to more pedestrian stuff and she was sound enough, but she brought up the "different stages in our lives" thing again. In hindsight I figure she was being defensive, fear of being rejected so she rejected herself first. I just had to be honest with her at this point and told her that she's being very intense for a first date. She took it well. We made a bit of a joke out of the thing (as best I could). We never met again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

My worst was the woman who started balling crying on the way home because 'You must think I am a tramp for going home with you on the first date'.

We did not make it home together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

One spent the time talking about his ex, then when I texted him after to say I didn't see it working, I got the 'but I'm falling for you' spiel.
    :

This exact same thing happened to me. Went on one date and he went on about being in love with his ex the whole time. I told him to his face that night that it wouldnt work out and best of luck. Then he kept texting me for about a year later even though I never responded.

He would text about what he was doing with his day, starting a new job and stuff like that. It was strange. I dont know it was like therepy or a diary for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I went on a date with a Polish girl who had very little English at the time. We went into a pub, got the drinks in and took a seat. She had to keep referring to her phrase book whenever she wanted to say something to me. There was a fish tank behind us where we were sitting. I said "Ohh they're nice fish aren't they." I don't know if it was just me being nervous or if I was trying to fill the void but I must have spent the next 20 minutes talking about fish. Every type of fish from bio-illuminating fish to smoked salmon.

Anyway she eventually grabbed me and went in for the shift. She either found me irresistible or she just wanted me to shut the fcuk up. :) That was grand but when we went back to my car she started crying. She had some personal stuff going on apparently. She just apologised and then left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I went on a date with a Polish girl who had very little English at the time. We went into a pub, got the drinks in and took a seat. She had to keep referring to her phrase book whenever she wanted to say something to me. There was a fish tank behind us where we were sitting. I said "Ohh they're nice fish aren't they." I don't know if it was just me being nervous or if I was trying to fill the void but I must have spent the next 20 minutes talking about fish. Every type of fish from bio-illuminating fish to smoked salmon.

Anyway she eventually grabbed me and went in for the shift. She either found me irresistible or she just wanted me to shut the fcuk up. :) That was grand but when we went back to my car she started crying. She had some personal stuff going on apparently. She just apologised and then left.
    Id read this story back and wonder did she start a thread on boards about the worst story on a first date that i had to leave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

She had fishues.

I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I go to my first dates drunk ,or close to, so I don't have to face the awkwardness of meeting people for the first time ! Ive been asked out again after every date Ive been on so I must been doing something right! So Ive never had an awkward first date thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Never had a proper first date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Not my story but I txt one of the lads who was out to see how his date was going, heard nothing back for ages. He was waiting for her to go to the jacks so he could txt back. So she headed off to the jacks and he seized the opportunity to txt me, he said the date was awful and that he couldn't stand the girl, couldn't listen to her voice any more and that he needed an escape route. He sent the message to HER, he foolishly waited for her to come back and she fuc*ed her drink over him.

I would have left as soon as the message was sent personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

Specialun wrote: »
    Never had a proper first date

Really? That's kind of mad. Are you quite young by any chance? Genuinely curious.

You hear a lot of coverage in american media about the "death of romance" and hookup culture etc. but I would have thought much of that wouldn't apply here.

I've never had a really bad first date I don't think. I've had dates where there was clearly no chemistry etc and we both walked away from, but no craziness as such..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Really? That's kind of mad. Are you quite young by any chance? Genuinely curious.

You hear a lot of coverage in american media about the "death of romance" and hookup culture etc. but I would have thought much of that wouldn't apply here.

I've never had a really bad first date I don't think. I've had dates where there was clearly no chemistry etc and we both walked away from, but no craziness as such..

Nope..by that i mean a proper first date..as in first time meeting on the date

Specialun wrote: »
    Nope..by that i mean a proper first date..as in first time meeting on the date

Ah gotcha! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Not a first date, but was seeing this girl for an month or 2, casually enough years ago, and we were to meet up for lunch on a Thursday ad she was going home to limerick for Xmas and we wouldn't see each other for a while. I went out the night before, got hammered, was dying in work the next morning so looking forward to respite at lunch. Went to meet her, I was late, and she was not happy I was stinking of booze. To make matters worse, she had gotten me a dvd for an Xmas gift and I had completely forgotten to get her anything. I apoloigized for making such a fcukup, but she was indifferent at this stage. To top it all off, I had to go back to work early so we said our goodbyes, I apologized again, and said we would talk to each other over Xmas. It was only when I got back to work I realised I never paid for my lunch nor did I leave any money for the bill, so had left her to foot it. I never heard from her again.

Strangely enough, a few months later there is a running car outside my house for an hr or so and I am sure that it is her in the drivers seat. I went out to investigate but it sped off.

Again, never heard nor saw her again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Some people don't schedule an official first date..sometimes you can get close to a person who you meet in college or whatever and you might end up getting to like them. You might meet with friends one day and they all go and its just you two left or something and you get on well and meet again etc..can develop into relationships or whatever without having a date

Ah I get that alright. I guess I would probably be the type to ask someone on a date if that were happening to me though.

I just like going out for a meal really... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I went on a date with a Polish girl who had very little English at the time. We went into a pub, got the drinks in and took a seat. She had to keep referring to her phrase book whenever she wanted to say something to me.
    Something similar for me, with a Japanese girl, many years ago.

It wasn't phrasebook levels of bad Japanese on my part, but it was fairly halting stuff at times. That in itself wasn't so bad, but the painful part was the people at the table next to us kept listening in on our conversation and having a good laugh at the worst parts of it.

The worst part was that while the girl was fairly oblivious to it, I was getting pretty self-conscious about being listened to (and laughed at), so ended up getting really quiet and coming across as a bit surly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Met with a Colombian woman through a mutual friend in London. Met her outside the main gates of our university. We were both doing postgrad at the time but different depts. We went for a coffee and she kept telling me how amazing we were together etc. This was about 15 minutes in. The thing was weird. We met at 6 and were going to meet our mutual friend at 7.30 for a comedy show. At exactly 7pm she proposed. Big ben was ringing. Literally. I started to laugh as we were walking through a park at this stage near the British Museum. I thought she was joking. Then she started to cry. No word of a lie some American tourists came over and started talking to her. One man told me to do "the honourable thing". Eventually got her away from the tourists and went to the theatre. When she went to the bathroom I said it to my friend and she said, "Yeah ****** can be too emotional sometimes. It's just she really wants to stay in Europe but she has to go at the end of September."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

For me first date is usually worst date. It's all uphill from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Rackstar wrote: »
    Not my story but I txt one of the lads who was out to see how his date was going, heard nothing back for ages. He was waiting for her to go to the jacks so he could txt back. So she headed off to the jacks and he seized the opportunity to txt me, he said the date was awful and that he couldn't stand the girl, couldn't listen to her voice any more and that he needed an escape route. He sent the message to HER, he foolishly waited for her to come back and she fuc*ed her drink over him.

You should send this story to david o doherty....he might write a song about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

My worst date only got bad after the date had ended.

Met a guy for coffee, he seemed nice, a bit quiet, shy. Not really my type personality wise but we chatted a bit, then he walked me to the luas, we hugged and parted ways. Nice guy, absolutely zero spark.

So, we had a bit of chat over text in the following days, I made sure to keep it strictly friendly. On about the 3rd day I got this book of a text saying that he thought I was a lovely girl, funny, beautiful, blah blah blah and he really can't wait to do it again. I very nicely told him that while I think he's a very nice guy i don't think it's gonna go anywhere....he did not take it well. He basically started fighting with me over text, saying that I was wrong and I'm making a huge mistake.

That was about 4 months ago. About once a fortnight I get a text apologizing and basically rehashing the initial book message. I haven't replied to a single message. Once a bloody fortnight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

joeguevara wrote: »
    You should send this story to david o doherty....he might write a song about it!

Song about the same thing? It's not the first time it's happened or the last...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The worst dates are blind dates imo. I mean they can go any way but with a girl you ask out, there's at least the initial attraction. With one picked out for you there's no such guarantee. And you have to explain yourself to the person who did the setting up. Never again.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Many many years ago I was abut 17..went on date, she was nervous and necked a naggin of vodka prior to meeting me....two hours later I'm in a ambulance taking her to hospital. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Last date I was on the girl I met up with proceeded to tell me how she had an affair with a married man,roared and shouted at staff in a take-away,then proceeded to get sick over herself as her grand finale.....so yeah that was a no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

slightly off topic, but my ex told me on our 2nd date that her last fella was some guy she was riding on the school bus,i enquired as to how the bus driver would allow such a thing to happen , laughing it off
    i misheard,
    she was riding the school bus driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭lameusername

1st date. Went to the pictures. Saw saving private Ryan.
    2 odd hrs of horrible war slaughter. With a couple of the lads along for good measure. Classy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Her Da caught me siphoning diesel out of his Standard tractor because she lived in the backarse of nowhere and gallant me offered to leave her home in my wee Escort van at the time with the fuel light on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Mine was partly my own fault as unbeknownst to myself I was coming down with a really bad flu the night I went out with him. We went to a small pokey restuarant where we had to sit very close. He was doused in a very strong aftershave and I found it incredibly overwhelming, like my eyes were watering and I found it hard to breath, I was fighting the urge to wretch all night, I just could not find a breath of clear air in his presence at all,even outside. He was also pretty nervous and compensated by talking REALLY LOUDLY right into my ear, loud enough that everyone was looking at us. He was very nice but he was just a full scale assault on all my senses that night.
    Maybe because I was getting ill it was all so much more intense,I felt like the smell lingered in my nose for a week. It's the one night I look back on and can remember the distinct overwhelming odour and feel the swimming nausea it induced and I'm afraid I could not get over it and see him again. Even now if someone wears that aftershave it conjures up that night and the whole week of awful flu after it.

I should say I felt bad about it, like I didn't give him a fair shot, but I just had a physical reaction to the whole thing I couldn't control.
    Moral of the story, go easy on the smell stuff people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Rackstar wrote: »

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Buckfast W

I dunno if this is my worst date but its the worst I can remember for now. Got set up with a girl on a blind date from a friend. She was nice and everything seemed to be going well. We went for a few drinks and then the cinema everything was grand. After that I walked her to the bus stop and before the bus came she wore the face off me. Lovely I thought she must be into me. Headed back home and managed to make last orders with the lads, text yer wan and said I had a good time blah blah nothing to full on (like it puts the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again). She text me back saying something like she didn't think we hit it off yada yada. So not exactly a worst date for me as I thought everything was fine more so for her.
    Still cant figure out why she kissed me though, I mean she practically lunged at me.
    #BitchesBeCrazy :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

wasnt a date as such

but i had met this girl a few times . Then all of a sudden i stopped getting texts off her, figured it was how the cool kids played it so i just left it after one or two texts to her. I didnt ring cos I figured she'd text if interested.

about 6 months later i was playing with my phone on the bus and found a folder of blocked texts. In it was about 10 texts from her wondering why i was ignoring her and not taking her calls.
    Started fiddling with my phone and realised I'd accidentally blocked her number months ago.

I felt guilty but I never contacted her again cos my excuse sounded so stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Irish people don't date, they shift. ;) I'm sure there are plenty of people in this country who haven't been on a proper date. Anyone who met their partner before social media became popular for example. Back in the day you'd approach the young lady in a marquee after a skin full of ale.
    osarusan wrote: »
    Something similar for me, with a Japanese girl, many years ago.

It wasn't phrasebook levels of bad Japanese on my part, but it was fairly halting stuff at times. That in itself wasn't so bad, but the painful part was the people at the table next to us kept listening in on our conversation and having a good laugh at the worst parts of it.

The worst part was that while the girl was fairly oblivious to it, I was getting pretty self-conscious about being listened to (and laughed at), so ended up getting really quiet and coming across as a bit surly.

The audacity of those bastids.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Buckfast W wrote: »
    I dunno if this is my worst date but its the worst I can remember for now. Got set up with a girl on a blind date from a friend. She was nice and everything seemed to be going well. We went for a few drinks and then the cinema everything was grand. After that I walked her to the bus stop and before the bus came she wore the face off me. Lovely I thought she must be into me. Headed back home and managed to make last orders with the lads, text yer wan and said I had a good time blah blah nothing to full on (like it puts the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again). She text me back saying something like she didn't think we hit it off yada yada. So not exactly a worst date for me as I thought everything was fine more so for her.
    Still cant figure out why she kissed me though, I mean she practically lunged at me.

Well she probably guessed you couldn't give a flying fck which is what I gather from all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

She did not turn up..... :(

That was a pretty bad date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

She was probably temporarily overcome by the magical stench of your Buckfast love potion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

I am that girl (well I mean I've been on the other side of the same situation).

Generally shift the face off someone if I find them hot but the date was a bit crap and wouldn't fancy seeing them again. If I really liked them and wanted a second date they wouldn't get the shift on the first

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

My worst date only got bad after the date had ended.

Met a guy for coffee, he seemed nice, a bit quiet, shy. Not really my type personality wise but we chatted a bit, then he walked me to the luas, we hugged and parted ways. Nice guy, absolutely zero spark.

So, we had a bit of chat over text in the following days, I made sure to keep it strictly friendly. On about the 3rd day I got this book of a text saying that he thought I was a lovely girl, funny, beautiful, blah blah blah and he really can't wait to do it again. I very nicely told him that while I think he's a very nice guy i don't think it's gonna go anywhere....he did not take it well. He basically started fighting with me over text, saying that I was wrong and I'm making a huge mistake.

That was about 4 months ago. About once a fortnight I get a text apologizing and basically rehashing the initial book message. I haven't replied to a single message. Once a bloody fortnight!
    If this is online dating then you made a mistake in fairness, if you're not interested in the other person after the first date then either tell them that outright, or reduce contact immediately so they can figure it out for themselves. A few days of friendly texting will give the wrong impression. Not that his response was warranted though.

Anyway, my worst first date was when she turned out to be a (former) he. This was no actually confirmed by me but it simply must have been the case!