Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Memory foam mattress

• 11-09-2015 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭

I don't know where to put this post.

But i need a new mattress this weekend. But i dont know where to go. Im going for a memory foam because they are rolled up and you can carry them home with you. Otherwise you would be waiting for a delivery. Which i really can't. I have woken up with bad back pain twice during the week.

Does anyone own a memory foam mattress and are they comfortable? Would they hold the shape of my ass if i was to sit up in bed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I got an erection in the bed once and the mattress never recovered, to this day there's a 3 inch pin hole in the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Never buy a memory foam mattress.

I had a new girlfriend recently and when I got up and went to the jacks in the middle of the night, the fcuker went and told her what I'd been up to the week before with her sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

I got an erection in the bed once and the mattress never recovered, to this day there's a 3 inch pin hole in the bed.

A ha ha ha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Notavirus.exe

Does anyone own a memory foam mattress and are they comfortable?

I have a nice mattress and there's room for one more... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

I have a nice mattress and there's room for one more... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Memory foam mattress are useless Buy a decent one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Whats good for me may not be good for you. Go to a showroom and try out some different types. Don't restrict yourself to memory foam either. Good luck.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,201 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Memory foam is crap. Slept on one once, awful nights sleep. Normally I'm a great sleeper.

Not your typical AH answer...

I got one in IKEA not too long ago. Just be aware that when you unwrap it, it takes a day or two to expand and settle, and it smells quite bad for that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Mattress Mick, yer only man ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Mattresses are like assholes...

Karsini wrote: »

I got one in IKEA not too long ago. Just be aware that when you unwrap it, it takes a day or two to expand and settle, and it smells quite bad for that time.

Oh right, so it might be better getting one delivered if i have to wait anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

kneemos wrote: »

they have to be flipped over every now and again

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What you want is a memory foam mattress topper.
    it'll let you test out memory foam and might sort out your problem. You basically put the topper on top of your existing matress.

If your existing matress looks like it should be on a bonfire or on the side of the road around the back of the airport, then go for a proper matress.

Go to shops, lie down, try them out, have a jump on some beds. That's all you can do.

My personal advice is go expensive. You spend what, 40% of your day on the matress, it's important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Memory foam mattress are useless Buy a decent one.

Second this. Waste of money. A good firm mattress is what you need. If you are really keen to try memory foam, you could try out one of the mattress toppers at a fraction of the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

EZ Living Furniture have a sale on orthopaedic mattresses at the moment OP

http://www.ezlivingfurniture.ie/209-the-respa-collection

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    EZ Living Furniture have a sale on orthopaedic mattresses at the moment OP

http://www.ezlivingfurniture.ie/209-the-respa-collection

Thank you

Now, what do i do.

I'm renting... Do i haul the mattress along with me every time i move. Let a landlord pick a crappy one. So crappy and old that i googled the name on the tag and nothing comes up. You can normally find the name online, so its pretty old, if nothing is coming up.

Or memory foam, where at least it can be rolled up and brought along with me again.

As said already...memory foam mattresses are terrible. Buy a pocket sprung one instead

TheTorment wrote: »
    As said already...memory foam mattresses are terrible. Buy a pocket sprung one instead

I'll try them in the shop first.

I've a pillowtop support mattress with a feather topper about 3 inches thick, so comfortable and soft. You just need to shake out the topper every week when you change your bedding, as it does compress over the week. The mattress isn't mine but the topper can go with you when you move.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Would you ask your Landlord for a mattress cos mine is gone completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

kneemos wrote: »

Guinness Book of Records lists Kim Kardashian as being the person with the largest of both?

I'll try them in the shop first.

That's what suckered me.

I lay on a mattress in a shop for a few minutes and seemed fine. Paid around €700 for it. Within a week I knew Id made a mistake.

Have it a year now. I'm kinda used to it but it makes me horribly hot so I sweat something terrible (cue the AH witty jokes) but the wife hates it. She has back pain from sleeping on it. We are changing it at the end of the month.

If you're near Wexford you can have it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

^^^^. My back pain got worse with a memory foam mattress. Worst investment ever :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Was it your own erection or someone's else's ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,637 ✭✭✭TheBody

Lots of people recommend Big Mickey over here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057307031&page=12

I have one in my room in my Mother's house. Hated it when I first got it. But was great after I got used to it! I look forward to going home to that bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

73Cat wrote: »
    ^^^^. My back pain got worse with a memory foam mattress. Worst investment ever :(

For you. It really is a personal preference

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I got this one in Ikea, and I know it looks really thin and crappy, but it's honestly the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on. I love my mattress! Although my husband wasn't keen on it initially - it took him a good while to get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Mammys advice - always spend the extra to buy a decent bed and a decent pair of shoes cos if you're not in one, you're in the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

But i need a new mattress this weekend. But i dont know where to go. Im going for a memory foam because they are rolled up and you can carry them home with you. Otherwise you would be waiting for a delivery. Which i really can't. I have woken up with bad back pain twice during the week.

Does anyone own a memory foam mattress and are they comfortable? Would they hold the shape of my ass if i was to sit up in bed?

I remember getting mine around 9 months ago from Argos. The one I got was 20cm thick and was 279 euros or so.

There are more luxurious mattresses out there but this is decent and gets good reviews. There's a new 15cm thick one which is just too thin.

It's served me well so far, medium to firm, good for sleeping, respectable for love making with someone special. (Which I know is of concern to someone with a username such as yours)

It replaced a mattress which you had to lie gently on or you'd sink through to the Base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Took a while to get used to but very nice now.

Same the gf. She loves it when she's over

I'll go testing some out tomorrow. Some mixed reviews about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

BBDBB wrote: »
    Mammys advice - always spend the extra to buy a decent bed and a decent pair of shoes cos if you're not in one, you're in the other

Was going to quick reply to OP with the exact same thing. Is so true. But still more important to have a good mattress because if you wake up with a bad back, good shoes won't fix the problem.

Thanks for the replies.

I think i figured my problem and i need to see a doctor and maybe a bed shop too. I've been waking up with a full bladder which is giving the back pain and disappears after i pee. I don't think that is normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

Thank you

Now, what do i do.

I'm renting... Do i haul the mattress along with me every time i move. Let a landlord pick a crappy one. So crappy and old that i googled the name on the tag and nothing comes up. You can normally find the name online, so its pretty old, if nothing is coming up.

Or memory foam, where at least it can be rolled up and brought along with me again.

Yeah this is one of the joys of renting, sleeping on a crappy old mattress that's been sweated into by God knows how many people before you (not to mention other kinds of fluids) or having your own and taking it with you when you move, which some people do (I would, if I had to, but it depends on whether you're willing to go through the hassle. I'd be getting a man-with-a-van anyway so it would make no difference to me).

I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that the landlord is supposed to provide a new mattress for each tenant, but I could be wrong about that, and let's face it even if it's true we all know it's not happening. But if you do move into a flat and the mattress looks like it could've come off a skip, you can always ask the ll to replace it as part of normal upkeep of the flat. He or she is responsible for it (otherwise rented properties wouldn't have mattresses in them). I asked my last landlord to replace the mattress and headboard (an ancient looking padded pink thing that had gone grey with dirt) and he did it immediately, but he was one of the decent ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭starling

Thanks for the replies.

I think i figured my problem and i need to see a doctor and maybe a bed shop too. I've been waking up with a full bladder which is giving the back pain and disappears after i pee. I don't think that is normal.

Dunno what age you are DB but that can just be a symptom of being over 30, so try not to panic.

starling wrote: »
    Dunno what age you are DB but that can just be a symptom of being over 30, so try not to panic.

Old age it is.

I'm still going mattress shopping though. Cause feck it... All i have is a mattress protector to protect me from the old mattress and god knows who else slept on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

Karsini wrote: »

That sounds like an objection to wearing a condom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭shugy

best memory foam matress are well over 2000 euro, anything cheaper wont be up to much

shugy wrote: »
    best memory foam matress are well over 2000 euro, anything cheaper wont be up to much

Great. I'm thinking more 300-400 euro.

I don't know if its the mattress but I'm fecked and sore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Never buy a memory foam mattress.

I had a new girlfriend recently and when I got up and went to the jacks in the middle of the night, the fcuker went and told her what I'd been up to the week before with her sister.

Should boards have an annual award ceremony for best worst jokes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Great. I'm thinking more 300-400 euro.

I don't know if its the mattress but I'm fecked and sore.

I got a latex one in IKEA for like €200-250. I have had it for 6/7 years and its still completely perfect. The cover is removable, so you can wash it in the machine if it gets dirty. It has a 20 year guarantee. Honestly its the best mattress I have every slept on. Its firm, but moulds slightly with your body. Which is excellent because I sleep on my side.

A €2000 mattress is mainly marketing and the margin to the store. A mattress that costs ten times, the price of an IKEA one, wont last 10 times as long or be 10 times higher quality. I

Go to IKEA and spend 10 mins lying on the beds. You will find out pretty quickly which one you want. They come in a vacuum sealed bag. So most of them will fit into your boot. Honestly I wouldnt touch a spring mattress again. I find no matter how good the quality is. After 10 to 15 years, the springs are coming though the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

starling wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that the landlord is supposed to provide a new mattress for each tenant, but I could be wrong about that, and let's face it even if it's true we all know it's not happening

Why would a LL have to do this? Do you get a new mattress everytime you sleep in a Hotel? Its extremely wasteful to be dumping a mattress once or twice a year. Would you expect a LL to buy quality mattress, if they basically have to be disposable? Even in hotels, they just treat mattress when there is a bed bug infestation

Here is a handy tip for renting. Buy a mattress protector. Its like a plastic bed sheet. Its a barrier between you and mattress. It will stop the landlord saying you pissed the bed or split water on it. It also puts a layer between you and the mattress, if your not happy with the cleanliness of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Hello landlord.
    newacc2015 wrote: »
    Why would a LL have to do this? Do you get a new mattress everytime you sleep in a Hotel? Its extremely wasteful to be dumping a mattress once or twice a year. Would you expect a LL to buy quality mattress, if they basically have to be disposable? Even in hotels, they just treat mattress when there is a bed bug infestation

Here is a handy tip for renting. Buy a mattress protector. Its like a plastic bed sheet. Its a barrier between you and mattress. It will stop the landlord saying you pissed the bed or split water on it. It also puts a layer between you and the mattress, if your not happy with the cleanliness of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

pile of nonsense, our ancestors slept in caves.

This made me laugh so much. What am i meant to do, sleep in a cave for back problems?

I've been waking up every night for the past two weeks with a sore back. As far as i know the mattress i've got is about 5 years old. So its definitely time for a new mattress.

I got a new memory foam mattress topper during the week, thinking it might give some relief after waking up. It doesnt solve much except it makes the mattress more comfortable. I can lie down on it and nap for a while before my alarm goes. Whereas i couldn't get into a comfortable position after waking before getting it.

I went mattress shopping today but there is so little shops to choose from. I'm going mental.

• Site Banned Posts: 205 ✭✭Datallus

Why don't you just turn over the mattress you have already?

Datallus wrote: »
    Why don't you just turn over the mattress you have already?

Tried that

Flipped it over
    Slept upside down in the bed
    Slept on the other side of a double bed

• Site Banned Posts: 205 ✭✭Datallus

Hmmmmm.

Maybe the problem is your pillows?

Have you tried changing them.

How many pillows do you have under your head when you sleep?