Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ospreys vs Munster, Sun 13 Sept 2:30pm; S4C/TG4

• 11-09-2015 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

Ospreys:
    15 Dan Evans
    14 Kristian Phillips
    13 Jonathan Spratt
    12 Owen Watkin
    11 Hanno Dirksen
    10 Sam Davies
    9 Brendon Leonard

1 Nicky Smith
    2 Sam Parry
    3 Dmitri Arhip
    4 Lloyd Ashley (Capt)
    5 Rory Thornton
    6 Joe Bearman
    7 Sam Underhill
    8 Dan Baker

REPLACEMENTS

16 Scott Otten
    17 Marc Thomas
    18 Cai Griffiths
    19 De Kock Steenkamp
    20 Olly Cracknell
    21 Tom Habberfield
    22 Aled Jenkins
    23 Richard Fussell

Munster:
    Felix Jones Capt.; Andrew Conway, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Stephen Fitzgerald; Tyler Bleyendaal, Cathal Sheridan;
    Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer; Mark Chisholm, Dave Foley; Dave O'Callaghan, Jack O'Donoghue, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, BJ Botha, Jordan Coghlan, CJ Stander, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, David Johnston.

Who will win? 8 votes

Ospreys
    0% 0 votes
    Munster
    25% 2 votes
    Warren Gatland
    75% 6 votes

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Jones(c); Conway, Saili, Scannell, Fitzgerald; Tyler, Sheridan; Killer, Sherry, Archer; Chisholm, Foley; DaveO’C, JO’D, Robin

Subs: Casey, Cronin, BJ, Coghlan, CJ, Williams, Keatley, Johnston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Quite a few changes from last week.

I'm expecting a big performance from Kilcoyne who was unlucky to miss out on RWC selection. CJ being dropped is a surprise, his only blip last week was that awful missed tackle for a Treviso try but other than that he was his usual self. I'd have him as one player who you don't drop unless you are rotating but with no games following Sunday for two weeks there's no benefit resting a player.

The 10-12-13 combination is very exciting!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'm expecting a big performance from Kilcoyne who was unlucky to miss out on RWC selection. CJ being dropped is a surprise, his only blip last week was that awful missed tackle for a Treviso try but other than that he was his usual self. I'd have him as one player who you don't drop unless you are rotating but with no games following Sunday for two weeks there's no benefit resting a player.

CJ hasn't been dropped. He's merely starting from the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Didn't they say something at the start of the week that CJ had sat out training because he was a bit overworked or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Is that a debut for Fitzgerald?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

shuffol wrote: »
    Is that a debut for Fitzgerald?
    competitive yes. Played a pre season game against Gloucester at start of last season

jm08 wrote: »
    Didn't they say something at the start of the week that CJ had sat out training because he was a bit overworked or something?

Ah good point. Forgot about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,974 ✭✭✭✭phog

CJ hasn't been dropped. He's merely starting from the bench.

It's game two of the league and Foley is right to be trying various players he has available.

It's nonsense to be talking of dropping anyone at this stage of the season.

phog wrote: »
    It's game two of the league and Foley is right to be trying various players he has available.

It's nonsense to be talking of dropping anyone at this stage of the season.

I forgot he didn't fully train this week. So no not dropped.

Anyone know the craic with GVDH? I haven't heard anything about an injury from squad updates so is he just not selected? He played in pre-season so he has returned after knee surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭the_blackstuff

Looking for to seeing Saili and Tyler start together. Hopefully they can get some good ball. Sheridan should be able to get the ball out that bit quicker as well

I forgot he didn't fully train this week. So no not dropped.

Whether he did or didn't fully train it's mad to be talking of him being dropped especially this early in the season.

This is a hypothetical argument since we know CJ didn't fully train but if he was 100% fit and not starting I would consider him dropped. It's not a dirty word and it's not a slight on a player. If there were games coming up then yes there's a need for rotation. Since there isn't a game for two weeks I would expect a key player like him to start both games. There were 3 pre-season games to rotate players.

All hypothetical anyway. Fair enough if you disagree.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

This is a hypothetical argument since we know CJ didn't fully train but if he was 100% fit and not starting I would consider him dropped. It's not a dirty word and it's not a slight on a player. If there were games coming up then yes there's a need for rotation. Since there isn't a game for two weeks I would expect a key player like him to start both games. There were 3 pre-season games to rotate players.

Another way of looking at it is, we don't have another game for 3 weeks so he's trying to give everyone some game time. If Foley showed anything last season, it's that he likes to rotate. Except where JJ was involved obviously :D

This is a hypothetical argument since we know CJ didn't fully train but if he was 100% fit and not starting I would consider him dropped. It's not a dirty word and it's not a slight on a player. If there were games coming up then yes there's a need for rotation. Since there isn't a game for two weeks I would expect a key player like him to start both games..

There's eight changes from last week which indicates to me that Foley wants to try new combinations. At the start of a season you'd expect a coach to use rotation to give his players gametime. Pre-season games are used for more than just giving a large group of players a gametime.

With that sort of rotation between two early season games it's mad to be talking of players being dropped.
    There were 3 pre-season games to rotate players

Are you suggesting Foley or any coach should use the same 15 for the first two games on the league?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 NaaMonu

There's eight changes from last week which indicates to me that Foley wants to try new combinations. At the start of a season you'd expect a coach to use rotation to give his players gametime. Pre-season games are used for more than just giving a large group of players a gametime.

With that sort of rotation between two early season games it's mad to be talking of players being dropped.

Are you suggesting Foley or any coach should use the same 15 for the first two games on the league?

Now now, don't be arguing. Could be worse, could be giving us a team based on a bibwatch.

If CJ was 100% fit I would be shocked if he had not started, as in I would consider him dropped. I don't think, given the two week break, you 'rotate' a top player out of the team. There's also the opposition to consider, one of the toughest in the league. That's what my OP was based on. I subsequently was told that CJ had not fully trained, rendering my OP irrelevant.

This is all ifs and buts given he's not 100% fit so all this discussion is pointless. I don't think it's worth derailing the thread over this. So can we leave it?

If CJ was 100% fit I would be shocked if he had not started, as in I would consider him dropped. I don't think, given the two week break, you 'rotate' a top player out of the team. There's also the opposition to consider, one of the toughest in the league. That's what my OP was based on. I subsequently was told that CJ had not fully trained, rendering my OP irrelevant.

This is all ifs and buts given he's not 100% fit so all this discussion is pointless. I don't think it's worth derailing the thread over this. So can we leave it?

CJ is almost qualified to play for Ireland, he could well be in Irish Camp for the Xmas and 6Ns camps, Foley could be using the early part of the season to see what his options are without CJ.

From MR
    The Munster squad will join Ospreys Rugby in honouring the memory of former player Jerry Collins on Sunday at the Liberty Stadium.

Jerry Collins died in tragic circumstances, along with his wife Alana, following a road traffic accident in France at the start of June. The couple's young daughter, Ayla, survived, albeit it with ongoing medical issues, and is now being cared for in Canada by Alana's family.

Sunday's game will mark the first occasion that the Ospreys have played at the Liberty Stadium since the accident, and plans are in place to celebrate Jerry's life and career.

There will be a minute's silence and the Welsh club will be retiring the No.6 jersey, synonymous with Collins, for the fixture.

Players from both squads will also lay a wreath pitch-side before the match kicks off and there will be a collection on the day to raise funds for the Jerry Collins Memorial Fund, the proceeds of which will go into a Trust for Ayla's future.

#JC6

CJ is almost qualified to play for Ireland, he could well be in Irish Camp for the Xmas and 6Ns camps, Foley could be using the early part of the season to see what his options are without CJ.

No, as has been pointed out, the reason he's not starting is he's not 100%. If CJ was fit he would be starting, no question.

Nice tribute to Jerry Collins. Unfortunately it sounds like the daughter is going to need a lot of medical care. I'll try to find a link if people want to donate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

No, as has been pointed out, the reason he's not starting is he's not 100%. If CJ was fit he would be starting, no question.

Absolutely. Copeland isn't in the same class at all.

What's more significant for me is Bleyendall ahead of Keatley, will be interesting to see how that plays out over the season.

Nice tribute to Jerry Collins. Unfortunately it sounds like the daughter is going to need a lot of medical care. I'll try to find a link if people want to donate.

But CJ is on the bench.

He's fit but Foley is giving Copeland a game at 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Absolutely. Copeland isn't in the same class at all.

What's more significant for me is Bleyendall ahead of Keatley, will be interesting to see how that plays out over the season.

I think Axel (and munster) has shown a load of faith in Tyler and prob see him as the no1 choice for the season. Probably a huge factor in JJ moving to Northampton imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

But CJ is on the bench.

He's fit but Foley is giving Copeland a game at 8.

He's fit enough for the bench possibly but not a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Can't wait to see Saili & Bleyendaal. And Chisholm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Wish Axel would move Keatley to 12 so he can play some rugby and not have to worry about kicking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Exciting looking backline. Slot Earls Zebo back into that and it looks great. Providing Tyler and Saili do well of course.

Pack looks decent too. I think Foley has done a decent job of the squad for the season. Early days of course though.

Link to donate to the JC fund: https://givealittle.co.nz/project/ayla

I don't recognise half the Munster backline, nevermind know their names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭letowski

Nice play by Saili for Munster's first pen.

I don't recognise half the Munster backline, nevermind know their names

They're doing well though, Fitz is looking promising

Leonard has been brilliant for Ospreys.

Munster's defence has been great in their 22.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Leonard has been brilliant for Ospreys.

Sheridan has been poor what a signing Leonard was for the ospreys

Monster kick to touch from TB. Now for some rugby in their half please.

Interfence maybe?

Ospreys hooker did very well to get back.

Forward pass to Spratt?

Rubbish throw, but it worked out well......cunning plan :)

Wang King wrote: »
    Rubbish throw, but it worked out well......cunning plan :)

And another one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Anatidaephobia

Munster miss a lineout, Ospreys 10 kicks it out on the full then Munster mess up the second lineout. Awful.

Copeland worked himself into a great position and then blew it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Anatidaephobia

That was a try if Copeland passed.

Ah feck it good break comes to nothing.

G'wan da Felix!

Wang King, calm yourself! Great catch from Felix. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Well done Tyler looking good so far very composed with his kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Thought the Baker tackle on Kilcoyne was questionable.

Minimal use of arms if any.

Nice kick to go 6-3 up.

Tyler kicking well from distance.

Saili a bit rusty there, thank fck it went dead