Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipp Tractor crash - lucky no one injured

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

To say the driver was shaken is a bit of an understatement. luckily no one killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    To say the driver was shaken is a bit of an understatement. luckily no one killed.

Were you there Pedigree??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Panch18 wrote: »
    Were you there Pedigree??

Oh god no, just from seeing the pictures. I've had my fair share of accidents and I can only imagine how the driver is this evening. Anyway nobody hurt. Lots of brandy for the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bellview wrote: »
    I was killing some time and came across this

Luckily no one injured or hurt but looking at photo's if anyone had been in a car it would have been a bad news story
    http://www.farmersjournal.ie/serious-tractor-collision-in-ardfinnan-co-tipperary-189496/

simple message never take on a JD

The auld 6900

Reggie. wrote: »
    The auld 6900

7600 :D

7600 :D

Ah whatever :D

An absolute tank

Its surprising it stopped at all

An absolute tank

Its surprising it stopped at all

Well it took 2 cars :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

😵 could have been a lot worse
    Eek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Apparently the brakes failed, another reason to avoid jds :d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was it loaded ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

Wow! Some damage!

That first photo is the perfect answer to the question "Is it OK to leave my child in its car seat while I just pop into the post office to get a stamp - the car will be in my sight at all times?!

GrumpyMe wrote: »
    Wow! Some damage!

That first photo is the perfect answer to the question "Is it OK to leave my child in its car seat while I just pop into the post office to get a stamp - the car will be in my sight at all times?!

It could happen just as much if your in the car with them just parked up sure

That's true! So what would be your answer to the question:
    Is it OK to leave my child in its car seat while I just pop into the post office to get a stamp - the car will be in my sight at all times?
    I still think the first photo is a perfect answer to that particular question!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

That's true! So what would be your answer to the question:
    Is it OK to leave my child in its car seat while I just pop into the post office to get a stamp - the car will be in my sight at all times?
    I still think the first photo is a perfect answer to that particular question!;)

And you needed a photo of a crash to get your answer ??

2 kiddies burned in a car 10 miles from hear when I was young, parents left them in car and went back into house to find something, returned to an inferno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was it loaded ?

no empty trailer according to reports on twitter

_Brian wrote: »
    And you needed a photo of a crash to get your answer ??...
    Eh I think you're getting the wrong impression! I would never dream of leaving a kid in a car!
    But when [other] people keep asking the question or when others state that they do leave kids in the car - I think a graphic example, a picture, speaks a thousand words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Eh I think you're getting the wrong impression! I would never dream of leaving a kid in a car!
    But when [other] people keep asking the question or when others state that they do leave kids in the car - I think a graphic example, a picture, speaks a thousand words!

Kids should be layered in bubble wrap and not left outside the house. And breastfed until 18.

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    Kids should be layered in bubble wrap and not left outside the house. And breastfed until 18.

what, and turn out like reggie? :D

I'm a fine figure of a man I'll let ya know :D

come on, stop telling porkies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

kay 9 wrote: »

Or maybe no trailer brakes to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,216 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Another reason to have some sort of roadworthy ness test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭alps

Wow! Some damage!

We may have to close the post offices....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

That'll open a whole new can of worms. Tractor on road accidents are a rarity I believe but when one does happen, like the one in tipp it makes headlines. I know our yokes wouldn't pass any test but they're not used on road.

systems fail.

look at the BA boeing in Los Vegas. A system failed.

You will always have people jumping up and down after accidents looking for this and that.

you need a safepass and a special ticket and cpc now to take a piss in this country, but only after you carry out a safety statement and have a method statement also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I remember back in the day when the parents would leave us on occasion in the car in the carpark, to go in and do the big grocery shop in Dunnes or the likes.

You had to make your own fun. So we used to write little notes like " sorry for damaging your car. Please ring me on (fake name and number)." Then we'd leave it under the wiper of a car a row or two away...... and wait. We'd see the owner coming back, reading the note and circling the car. We Not a mark on the car and he scratching the head. No mobiles in them days.

We were some little toe rags when I think of it. But sure twas harmless fun.

you need a safepass and a special ticket and cpc now to take a piss in this country, but only after you carry out a safety statement and have a method statement also

No offence intended but I hate this sort of shiite talk regarding safety..

Construction and manufacturing industries have taken huge measures to improve their safety records and as a result the fatalities have fallen significantly..

Agriculture could be making much better inroads on farm safety and fatalities.. there is no acceptable level. The biggest problem I see is attitude and lack of belief that safety systems save lives.

These are UK statistics but relevant anyway..

construction.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Muckit wrote: »
    I remember back in the day when the parents would leave us on occasion in the car in the carpark, to go in and do the big grocery shop in Dunnes or the likes.

You had to make your own fun. So we used to write little notes like " sorry for damaging your car. Please ring me on (fake name and number)." Then we'd leave it under the wiper of a car a row or two away...... and wait. We'd see the owner coming back, reading the note and circling the car. We Not a mark on the car and he scratching the head. No mobiles in them days.

that's the funniest thing, I never laughed as hard!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Construction and manufacturing industries have taken huge measures to improve their safety records and as a result the fatalities have fallen significantly..

Agriculture could be making much better inroads on farm safety and fatalities.. there is no acceptable level. The biggest problem I see is attitude and lack of belief that safety systems save lives.

construction.gif
    empty trailer, it was just probly speed that did it.

probably so...
    I was referring to Agriculture overall..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

And you needed a photo of a crash to get your answer ??

2 kiddies burned in a car 10 miles from hear when I was young, parents left them in car and went back into house to find something, returned to an inferno.

Jesus, what happened? Was the car running?

I wouldn't ever leave em in the car when I was going into a shop or the likes, but I would have run back into the house like that often (before the car would be started, just when you'd be packing up to go somewhere, and the kids would be in their seats)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's beyond redicolus the amount of badly maintained tractors and trailers on the road
    Afaik there was a weight and speed requirement for trailers tO have proper air brakes fitted..(think above 40K or 8 ton)....not a day too soon....

It'll be interesting to see will it be properly enforced....or will they wait until there's a bad crash with multiple deaths (could easily have happened in tipp)....brakes don't just fail they'll screth/grind for ages before glazing
    First thing the Rsa should do is take in that john deere and off with the half axle to show up that they didn't just fail...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Thanks be to god no one was in the cars.....hope the farmer will be alrite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Muckit wrote: »

When we were left in the car in the local village we would be swinging out the windows. My mother used to say that she was going to the creamery for a bag of mail (meal) one day in the village there was a local woman passing the car when she walked on a bit we shouted after her hello bag of mail, she whipped round with a very cross look on her face:D

Sam Kade wrote: »
    When we were left in the car in the local village we would be swinging out the windows. My mother used to say that she was going to the creamery for a bag of mail (meal) one day in the village there was a local woman passing the car when she walked on a bit we shouted after her hello bag of mail, she whipped round with a very cross look on her face:D

LOL!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

lad in the local town bought a 2012 VW Sirocco in July, A diesel one.
    Three weeks ago he went to buy a pup from a man, and parked it at the end of the mans house, and walked down the yard. Literally 60 seconds later they looked around and it was on fire, Burned to a shell, despite all their efforts, burned the facia and wall plate off the mans house as well.
    If a child had been in it they would never have got it out.
    Some management box under the back set went on fire.
    Car was stopped at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

construction.gif

Don't get me wrong I'm all for health and safety. However I run a busy dairy farm with lots of machinery operating throughout the year ect ect and if I were to abide by the same health and safety standards as let's say the construction industry quite frankly I'd go broke. If it's what the HSA want then the cost of it will have to come from somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong I'm all for health and safety. However I run a busy dairy farm with lots of machinery operating throughout the year ect ect and if I were to abide by the same health and safety standards as let's say the construction industry quite frankly I'd go broke. If it's what the HSA want then the cost of it will have to come from somewhere else.

Plus one on that, in a perfect world farmers would have the money to adhere to everything and have the place up to hsa standards but where's it ment to come from, costs are rising all the time while incomes are getting decimated more and more every year, renewed the insurance on farm and tractor the other day was just shy of 5 grand, I'd of loved to of put that towards upgrading health and safety on the farm but it had to go on that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Jesus, what happened? Was the car running?

I wouldn't ever leave em in the car when I was going into a shop or the likes, but I would have run back into the house like that often (before the car would be started, just when you'd be packing up to go somewhere, and the kids would be in their seats)

If I remember correctly it was an electronic fault. Did the kids manage to lock the doors too or was that a separate incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    lad in the local town bought a 2012 VW Sirocco in July, A diesel one.
    Three weeks ago he went to buy a pup from a man, and parked it at the end of the mans house, and walked down the yard. Literally 60 seconds later they looked around and it was on fire, Burned to a shell, despite all their efforts, burned the facia and wall plate off the mans house as well.
    If a child had been in it they would never have got it out.
    Some management box under the back set went on fire.
    Car was stopped at the time.

The very same thing happened a neighbour of mine, only he wasn't buying a pup and the car was a Polo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

The very same thing happened a neighbour of mine, only he wasn't buying a pup and the car was a Polo.

Funny that, VW told him it had never happened before!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Plus one on that, in a perfect world farmers would have the money to adhere to everything and have the place up to hsa standards but where's it ment to come from, costs are rising all the time while incomes are getting decimated more and more every year, renewed the insurance on farm and tractor the other day was just shy of 5 grand, I'd of loved to of put that towards upgrading health and safety on the farm but it had to go on that

But Jesus the amount of lads with no/broken pto covers/missing chains etc is criminal
    Sending young lads 14/15 off with trailers etc no matter how steady/good they are is plain wrong
    And nothing will ever convince me that tractors and trailers invovled in roadwork shouldn't be tested....amount of trailers with crap brakes is a disaster waiting to happen and a lot of lads don't bother to plug in the brakes and hitches hanging out of tractors!!

Look it...no one is saying spend a fortune...even small things like when we young and lads In around the place with machinery working we'd be hunted in/out watching cartoons....I was in a lads yard there last week and they stacking bales and a child around 9/10 wandering around the yard watching him....lad in tractor hadn't a clue as to exactly where he was...and was rushing a pure accident waiting to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Met a tractor with full trailer of silage 2 yrs ago on a quiet country road. Young fella on it going flat out . He was about 16 id say and only i had a gap to pull into he would have went straight over me and the baby i had with me.
    Luckily it was on a straight where we could see each other .
    If we met 15 seconds earlier i shudder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

construction.gif

Accidents happen always have always will, statistics never tell the full story either. Of course fatalities dropped in manufacturing and construction over the years in the uk and health and safety is not the main reason, the advancement in technology is. Machinery such as cranes diggers etc are all way safer then the were back in the 70's also the amount of dangerous heavy manufacturing which takes place in the uk has drastically reduced and being overtaken by IT manufacturing which is by nature much safer. Sure health and safety is important in all walks of life but I despise the way everyone goes on a health and safety campaign almost immediately after a freak accident, health and safety needs to be instilled methodically and progressively not rolled out by the new time just because of one dreadful event.

On a completely unrelated note I'm really shocked by the widespread general reaction of the none farming community who without having any knowledge of the facts surrounding the accident are spouting rubbish like "this is what happens when kids drive tractors" or "oh farmers always drive too fast through built up areas and always over load" (even though it was an empty trailer!) it's almost akin to the reaction you see when a young fella crashes a Japanese car the usual think of the children brigade roll out with their speed kills mantra even though the accident may have been completely unrelated to speed. When I was younger I always assumed farmers were well liked and respected by non farming folk especially in Ireland but in the last 10 years my eyes have been opened to a rather worrying negative under tone directed towards farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

you forgot a site specific risk assessment also! :-)
    systems fail.

look at the BA boeing in Los Vegas. A system failed.

You will always have people jumping up and down after accidents looking for this and that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

cjmc wrote: »
    Met a tractor with full trailer of silage 2 yrs ago on a quiet country road. Young fella on it going flat out . He was about 16 id say and only i had a gap to pull into he would have went straight over me and the baby i had with me.
    Luckily it was on a straight where we could see each other .
    If we met 15 seconds earlier i shudder

They shouldn't be drawing silage at that age , very few of them have enough experience to know the damage a big tractor and trailer full of silage can do .
    A few years ago a young lad drawing bales on the hard shoulder decided for the craic when I was passing him to push me across the middle line of the road , I lost my passenger wing mirror to his back wheel and two cars coming against me lost their mirrors to my wing . I had to follow him to the yard and he was still laughing ! I was shook after how close it was and he didn't realise what nearly happened . He didn't drive for the summer after it though , or the guards would've been phoned everyttime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭sucklerlover

My contractor has john deere s.he had a mishap one day cos the engine stalled and he had no brakes. Is this a flaw n Deere s. Could be a likely cause of this accident.

Accidents happen always have always will, statistics never tell the full story either. Of course fatalities dropped in manufacturing and construction over the years in the uk and health and safety is not the main reason, the advancement in technology is. Machinery such as cranes diggers etc are all way safer then the were back in the 70's also the amount of dangerous heavy manufacturing which takes place in the uk has drastically reduced and being overtaken by IT manufacturing which is by nature much safer. Sure health and safety is important in all walks of life but I despise the way everyone goes on a health and safety campaign almost immediately after a freak accident, health and safety needs to be instilled methodically and progressively not rolled out by the new time just because of one dreadful event.

On a completely unrelated note I'm really shocked by the widespread general reaction of the none farming community who without having any knowledge of the facts surrounding the accident are spouting rubbish like "this is what happens when kids drive tractors" or "oh farmers always drive too fast through built up areas and always over load" (even though it was an empty trailer!) it's almost akin to the reaction you see when a young fella crashes a Japanese car the usual think of the children brigade roll out with their speed kills mantra even though the accident may have been completely unrelated to speed. When I was younger I always assumed farmers were well liked and respected by non farming folk especially in Ireland but in the last 10 years my eyes have been opened to a rather worrying negative under tone directed towards farmers.
    and it wasn't a young lad drivin it

No it wasnt speed

this guy is 60 and as steady and dependable as you're likely to meet anywhere

it definately wasnt speed

and the trailer wasnt empty, 3 or 4 ton in it