Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cannonball - All this weekend - Sep 11th-13th

• 08-09-2015 11:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭

http://cannonball.ie/

Great to look at if you're near one of the stops, think theirs a Zonda at it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Some gorgeous motors at this last year, I'll def be at one of the stops again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Damnit, the one holiday I take a year! Fantastic cars this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Daycent lawd, it passes through where I live! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

Anyone know where in Killarney they are taking of from?

Edit: NVM zooming into map shows the Malton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Ah feck, got all excited but then I see they are leaving Dublin Friday morning while I'm still in work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Can't wait for the tirade of complaints from people saying they were 'late to show up' and 'left the kids in the cold for hours' Fair play to the organisers for putting up with the numpties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Passing by the bottom of my road. Must have a gawp :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭Crumbs868

ironclaw wrote: »
    Can't wait for the tirade of complaints from people saying they were 'late to show up' and 'left the kids in the cold for hours' Fair play to the organisers for putting up with the numpties.

What interaction do the organisers have with the 'numpties'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Not coming to cork this year so will have to take a spin to mallow would love to hear the carrera gt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Where ya going?

I'll be heading to Cahir :D it's not far from me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Was at it in Cahir myself last year. Still think the S8 was star of the show. Had one of those life moments in the i8 when a gorgeous blonde Sat in beside me and asked her right where we headed? Oh yes please she says to which I just fluffed and blubbed my lines to an embarrassing exit:-(

Nah for me it was the Mustangs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'm helping out this year. Can't wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

2,100 quids to drive on a public road and sleep in a normal hotel for a few days. Holy sh1te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

2,100 quids to drive on a public road and sleep in a normal hotel for a few days. Holy sh1te

In previous years a small part of Georgia Salpas bare upper thigh may have made brief gentle contact with your leather seat. I guess she's off the market this year so who will be getting the snedgers to part with their money this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Bullrun is $50k and Gumball 3000 is similar money, but you have to be invited to the latter. GoldRush comes in around the same bracket. Remembering you still have to pay for fuel and tickets. Its actually decent value all told. A little tame by comparison to the others but honestly some of the best craic I've had has been on these types of rallies. ModBall is worth considering for anyone who wants the best of both worlds, I've heard good things of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭MargeS

Is there anyway of knowing what time they might pass through a town, and do the cars keep together or get strung out between start/finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Greg81

First car just arrived.

Red Ferrari 360 Spyder. UK reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Shane it's kicking off in the city centre on a Friday morning when most people are working.

Went the year it kicked off in Mondello and enjoyed it.

Are they all gathering at the point tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

MargeS wrote: »
    Is there anyway of knowing what time they might pass through a town, and do the cars keep together or get strung out between start/finish?

From A to B to C to D times are on the site, just use Google map directions from whatever letter to wherever they'll be passing you and you'll have a guide time.

Expect them to be late and strung out unless you're at an official stop where they'll bunch up out the road first.

Are they all gathering at the point tonight?

Yes.

Few cars were on a ferry from UK today. Black "TRON" Aventador looks good.

https://www.facebook.com/cannonball.ie

Lots of pics up. Most are crap though, Zonda pics are awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

ironclaw wrote: »

I take it you didn't have to try a keep a kid entertained for hours in the cold with complaints of "I'm bored", "I'm hungry", "are they nearly here yet" - and that was me and the hubbie!!

Pity the routes have changed - I suppose they would get bored driving the same route each year. It was handy for us the last few years that it stopped in Tullamore - apart from last year the hubbie and son had a brilliant time getting a good look around these fantastic cars. Trying to decide which was your favourite, which you would buy when you won the euro millions etc!!

Had a mad notion to collect the young lad straight after school today and peg it up the road to Carrick to catch them before the left for Sligo but it's such miserable weather here I don't fancy the drive or getting drenched looking at the cars. But there's wet gear and a change of clothes in the car just in case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I take it you didn't have to try a keep a kid entertained for hours in the cold with complaints of "I'm bored", "I'm hungry", "are they nearly here yet" - and that was me and the hubbie!!

Stuff like this can never be expected to run to a straight schedule, on the third day last year most of the problem was caused by crowds, they couldn't get away as far as i remember.

Too many possible hold ups, that can only ever be a guideline time.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Stuff like this can never be expected to run to a straight schedule, on the third day last year most of the problem was caused by crowds, they couldn't get away as far as i remember.

Tis true! I suppose the increased attention and publicity has that knock-on effect. In the previous years they were more to schedule and they landed in daylight which was great for getting a good nose around the motors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Cycled into town this morning before work....these were my favourite :)
    z13VbF8.jpg
    dEBwPzC.jpg
    dKD1Dm8.jpg
    JHie8HI.jpg
    MgIcBPg.jpg
    z6n3MNH.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

YbFocus wrote: »

True. Killaloe is a bottleneck at the best of times. I can only imagine its going to be mayhem tomorrow.

Husband was tempted to nip across to Galway tomorrow - they will be passing near his sister's house but you couldn't predict what time to be there for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

They're in carrick-on Shannon now.

bop1977 wrote: »
    They're in carrick-on Shannon now.
    Are they?? Pics or GTFO! ;)
    Cos they posted photos on fb 10/15 mins ago to say they are in Mullingar and Carrick on Shannon council (or something) posted that the cars are expected to arrive at 2.30.

I'm stuck on the Sligo side and haven't reached the landmark hotel. Traffic is wedged. Since my last post I've only gone as far as the bridge in carrick.

Saw the Zonda and a huge amount of Smokies all along the M4 from Liffey Valley to Kilcock out trying to catch JJ and Jackie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 96YNWA96

right weekend for petrol heads in wexford this weekend..

wexford rally and supercars .all it needs now is a cruise and every petrol head in ireland would be in wexford

Just few. Enjoy.

DSC_4082_zpssvr9omqw.jpg DSC_4078_zpsrtnl4cng.jpg DSC_4149_zpsmtoutcmo.jpg DSC_9440_zpstmdrq4gp.jpg DSC_9443_zpsqhmycogw.jpgDSC_4178_zpsvl5yrerx.jpg DSC_4229_zpsp9phfiz6.jpg

DSC_0423_zpsxcdg09ox.jpg DSC_4053_zps5yrfnzkc.jpg DSC_4042_zpsob927bfx.jpg DSC_4021_zpsdgcpoiij.jpg DSC_3970_zpsdo3owgfy.jpg DSC_3944_zpspbiu1fah.jpg DSC_9315_zps92zhgiw0.jpg DSC_3938_zpsy5lhs26c.jpg DSC_3936_zps3agnhjgz.jpg

DSC_0440_zpst9byi13e.jpgDSC_9483_zpsbost5xe3.jpg DSC_0429_zpsjgxpr8fr.jpg DSC_9560_zps8o9pvkuf.jpg DSC_0461_zpsv6ianptr.jpg DSC_0452_zpsdbzxhvyw.jpg

And bonus

DSC_0466_zps88wopzyf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Just had the pleasure of getting stuck in the Carrick on Shannon traffic jam. I'd say only about a 3rd of them were road legal, most had front windows tinted nearly black and others had strobes/sirens or illegal plates, yet the Gardai didn't do a thing bar stop the legal traffic. Just shows that money makes the law go away, as normal motorists driving like they where would be in front of a judge.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Just had the pleasure of getting stuck in the Carrick on Shannon traffic jam. I'd say only about a 3rd of them were road legal, most had front windows tinted nearly black and others had strobes/sirens or illegal plates, yet the Gardai didn't do a thing bar stop the legal traffic. Just shows that money makes the law go away, as normal motorists driving like they where would be in front of a judge.

I'd imagine all that's fine as part of an event, very few had tint, I was peeping in all of them.

Zonda isint very nice at all considering the mental price of it.

McLaren and the Lambos are beauties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Great to see the carrera,zonda and koenigsegg on this years as none have been before afaik.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Just had the pleasure of getting stuck in the Carrick on Shannon traffic jam. I'd say only about a 3rd of them were road legal, most had front windows tinted nearly black and others had strobes/sirens or illegal plates, yet the Gardai didn't do a thing.

There's always one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 96YNWA96

look at the above pics,how many have "front" tinted windows?

suppose they have no insurance either !!!

I have to say, feck the legality of some of the cars.

I thourghly enjoyed seeing the cars and hearing them being revved in Carrick.

Also the drivers opened the cars to all the kids and got them in the driver seat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭AG918

Quick video of all the cars leaving Dublin today.

AG918 wrote: »
    Quick video of all the cars leaving Dublin today.

That velcro porsche :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

String wrote: »
    That velcro porsche :pac:

Velcro or suede? Horrible yoke

Mc Love wrote: »
    Velcro or suede? Horrible yoke

Suede** Don't know shy I said velcro, that would be interesting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

String wrote: »
    Suede** Don't know shy I said velcro, that would be interesting though.

Industrial strength would be hilarious