Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sam Smith to sing the new Bond theme?

• 07-09-2015 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭

Hells to the no!

Unless the beige one pulls something spectacular out of the bag, that would be a frickin' disaster. I've always thought Muse would do a brilliant Bond theme myself.

Who would all you wise music aficionados on AH choose to do justice to the legacy of the Bond theme?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Who ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Is he related to Sam Spudz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Is she any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Hells to the no!

Unless the beige one pulls something spectacular out of the bag, that would be a frickin' disaster. I've always thought Muse would do a brilliant Bond theme myself.

Who would all you wise music aficionados on AH choose to do justice to the legacy of the Bond theme?
    Limp Bizkit did a good Mission Impossible, maybe them?*

*I may be out of touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I simply don't believe you are all this behind on the musical trends of today's youth.

Sam Smith like. You know, the guy who sings those songs in the charts.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Is he the really whiney guy?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Who ?

Sam Brown.

KungPao wrote: »
    Limp Bizkit did a good Mission Impossible, maybe them?*

*I may be out of touch

Did they?

I don't think I've ever heard a Limp Bizkit song in my life, so I'm even more out of touch than you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Extremely disappointing news. I imagine there is a lot of anger about this in the James Bond community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Sam Smith is dreadful, but his whiny voice might be ok for the melodrama of a Bond song. And while his voice really is unbearably whiny, the lad can sing, and hit those high notes.

I'd like a Bond theme song by Bjork. Although she did a very Bond-esque song, Play Dead, from a film called The Young Americans (the song was produced by David Arnold, who is a film soundtrack composer and worked on Bond films).

Sinead O'Connor could belt out a Bond theme song brilliantly too. As could Bono. And David Gahan from Depeche Mode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nobody does it better

I fecking love James Bond theme songs - was just thinking about this topic yesterday when Tomorrow Never Dies was on TV; cracking number by Sheryl Crowe.

Good call Dark Crystal!

My fave is Licence To Kill by Gladys Knight & The Pips. That Adele number is class too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Muse are the beigest of the beige!

I could see Florence Welch being good. The song would need to suit her voice though, sometimes she sounds terrible.

Amy Winehouse would have been perfect for singing a Bond theme song. :(

I fecking love James Bond theme songs - was just thinking about this topic yesterday when Tomorrow Never Dies was on TV; cracking number by Sheryl Crowe.

Good call Dark Crystal!

My fave is Licence To Kill by Gladys Knight & The Pips. That Adele number is class too.

I love those two themes. Skyfall may actually have nudged it past Goldfinger as my favourite Bond theme.

Live and Let Die, Nobody Does It Better and Diamonds Are Forever would probably round out my top five. There are very few duff ones though. Lulu's Man With the Golden Gun and Sheena Easton's For Your Eyes Only are pretty dire and I thought yer man from The White Stripes duet with Alicia Keys was awful too.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Have no interest in Bond tunes, but I might if they used Hanger 18.. Old song but still!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Did they?

I don't think I've ever heard a Limp Bizkit song in my life, so I'm even more out of touch than you :P
    Ya. It was just before people realised they were utter garbage riding on the waves of Eminem and Korn.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Muse are the beigest of the beige!

Ah here, on what planet could Muse be described as beige??
    I could see Florence Welch being good. The song would need to suit her voice though, sometimes she sounds terrible.

She's worse than Sam Smith at the whining!

Edit: Just saw the Amy Winehouse comment and I'm totally with you there. She would have done an amazing job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Does the song really matter? It's still gonna be a Shiite film like every other bond film

I've always thought Louis Armsrong's song used in On Her Majesty's Secret Service was the most apt Bond song.

I find them fantastically dull myself. They want to edgy but they just aren't. A very pedestrian rock group.

Does the song really matter? It's still gonna be a Shiite film like every other bond film

Now now dodderangler, don't be coming in and raining on my parade - now there's a tune - Streisand would have belted out a Bond number like no one's business.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Their last few albums have been pretty uninspiring tbf. Muse of old would have made a good bond tune though.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I find them fantastically dull myself. They want to edgy but they just aren't. A very pedestrian rock group.

If they were in your living room right now would you horse them out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I always liked Garbage's Bond theme.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Who ?

He fills in for Vincent Brown whenever the latter has had too many jars that afternoon.

Duran Duran - View To A Kill... quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Arctic Monkeys recent style would suit a Bond theme imo.

Duran Duran - View To A Kill... quality!

Oh yeah, that was a good one. Shite Bond film, but great theme. I quite liked the A-Ha one too.

If they were in your living room right now would you horse them out?

I would probably, though I can't imagine myself not offering them a tea or coffee or a drink. :pac:

"Scorpio!
    He'll sting you with his dreams of power and wealth.
    Beware of Scorpio!
    His twisted twin obsessions are his plot to rule the world
    And his employees' health.
    He'll welcome you into his lair
    Like the nobleman welcomes his guest
    With free dental care and a stock plan that helps you invest!
    But beware of his generous pensions
    Plus three weeks' paid vacation each year
    And on Fridays, the lunchroom serves hot dogs and burgers and beer!
    He loves German beer!"

Wait, did Amy Winehouse do a Bond theme tune before her death? :confused:

Oh yeah, that was a good one. Shite Bond film, but great theme. I quite liked the A-Ha one too.
    Like that one too. Really like Goldeneye by Tina Turner also.

Had a look there: all the 60s ones were excellent in my opinion. From the 70s they were mixed, but mostly really good. I think the crap ones have all been mentioned. And Moonraker would be Shirley Bassey's weakest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Like that one too. Really like Goldeneye by Tina Turner also.

Had a look there: all the 60s ones were excellent in my opinion. From the 70s they were mixed, but mostly really good. I think the crap ones have all been mentioned. And Moonraker would be Shirley Bassey's weakest.

I forgot Goldeneye! I'll knock Carly Simon's one out of my top five for Turner. Brilliant tune.

You knock Carly Simon, you're knocking me!!:(

I really like For Your Eyes Only too, powerful song.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Links234 wrote: »

"Take on Me" would be a good theme tune for the more ridiculously OTT Roger Moore Bond movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I wonder if Tom Petty know he's written the new Bond theme?

"Take on Me" would be a good theme tune for the more ridiculously OTT Roger Moore Bond movies.
    The Bond always shows on ITV.

Greatest song they never wrote:pac:

endacl wrote: »
    I wonder if Tom Petty know he's written the new Bond theme?
    Why do you care?

You don't know how it feels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Yakult wrote: »
    Have no interest in Bond tunes, but I might if they used Hanger 18.. Old song but still!

Possibly I've seen too much :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

the beige one

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I've always thought Louis Armsrong's song used in On Her Majesty's Secret Service was the most apt Bond song.
    Yeah beautifully judged use of music there. Particularly as his lovely new wife is killed...really feeds into Bonds damaged antihero character. A very underrated Bond installment, George Lazenby and Telly Savalas were great IMO. Louis Armstrong adding the bittersweet theme was the icing on the cake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Absolutely terrible choice if true. Very overrated singer.

I'd rather Adele have another go, or Emile Sande. It's best to have a girl with a bit of soul to open a Bond film, not some whiney fat bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Absolutely terrible choice if true. Very overrated singer.

I'd rather Adele have another go, or Emile Sande. It's best to have a girl with a girl with a bit of soul to open a Bond film, not some whiney fat bloke.

I'm sure Tom Jones will be delighted with that comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

I've always thought Muse would do a brilliant Bond theme myself.

Apparently "Supremacy" was originally written for submission as the theme for Skyfall. Love that song but the better one won there.

I always thought it was a shame Queen never did one in the 80s.

As for now, I'd pick Lady Gaga.

Yeah, go on, get your digs in. I'm bulletproof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

The official 007 twitter has confirmed it's Sam Smith. The song is called "Writing's on the Wall".

Edit:
    It's written by Thomas Newman, who wrote Skyfall. So that's a good sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,799 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Kev W wrote: »
    Apparently "Supremacy" was originally written for submission as the theme for Skyfall. Love that song but the better one won there.

I always thought it was a shame Queen never did one in the 80s.

As for now, I'd pick Lady Gaga.

Yeah, go on, get your digs in. I'm bulletproof.

I was going to say Supremacy sounded like an audition for a Bond song.

If they were given it, they'd blow it out of the park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I read some comment about Sam Smith's album saying "whomever the guy was Sam Smith's album is about, I can only presume it drove him further away". He's popular don't get me wrong but the voice doesn't suit.

If they were going for flavour of the month I'd almost like someone along the lines of Jess Glynn to have a go at it.

Or let's just revisit the 70s and 80s and have Mary Byrne do it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Lana Del Ray would have been a good choice. She could have doubled up as a Bond girl as well, get their money's worth.