Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rude people

• 04-09-2015 11:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

I was out this evening having a few pints with a friend when these group of men, about 40s well dressed,asked if they could join us, we said no problem as there was room around the table.

They then initiated small talk, fair enough, I wanted to watch the game but was polite in my response. However, one of them asked where I got my shoes (converse)? What make was my watch? Etc in a real condescending way. Everything he said was with a smirk.

When the game was over we were leaving, but he then went on to say to me stay off the doughnuts. I was shocked and left. I've put on a bit of weight, but definitely not over weight, but not as fit as I was. How rude was that? Why would somebody be such a dick? Didn't realise there's still horrible people out there

I went back 5 mins later , tapped him on the shoulder to clarify what he said. He was so shocked and denied it all. Would never usually do such a thing but thought I couldn't let him away with it. Any other experiences like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

I was out this evening having a few pints with a friend when these group of men, about 40s well dressed men asked if they could join us, we said no problem as there was room around the table.

They then initiated small talk, fair enough, I wanted to watch the game but was polite in my response. However, one of them asked where I got my shoes (converse)? What make was my watch? Etc in a real condescending way. Everything he said was with a smirk.

When the game was over we left, but then went on to say to me stay off the doughnuts. I was shocked and left. I've put on a bit of weight, but definitely not over weight, but not as fit as I was. How rude was that? Why would somebody be such a dick? Didn't realise there's still horrible people out there

The world is full of tossers, especially drunk middle aged men in pubs.

Who knew :eek:

Anyway, as per above, they're tossers, ignore and move on :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

That's mean of them. They obviously wanted to make you uncomfortable so they could take your seat. Don't let it get to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Watch out for that rude man who shushes, he's an asshole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Bad things happen to good people.

Both you and the people of Syria can pull through these cataclysmic time

Links234 wrote: »
    Watch out for that rude man who shushes, he's an asshole.

Sssshhhh now :o

When the game was over we left, but then went on to say to me stay off the doughnuts. I was shocked and left.

In all fairness - if you are big enough to leave - and then leave again - you need to expect at least one comment. Mainly from physicists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Le Surge Eyed Amant

Didn't realise there's still horrible people out there

Where did you think they had gone to? :P

Anyway, I wouldn't waste any time thinking about it tbh.

In all fairness - if you are big enough to leave - and then leave again - you need to expect at least one comment. Mainly from physicists.

Maybe one of her doughnuts had gone off and she was hallucinating

Perhaps she is a sensitive he :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Would love a doughnut now actually

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

You'd right to go in bare back op.

Specialun wrote: »
    Would love a doughnut now actually

Jam or ring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The sad reality of life is that most people in this world are a$$holes, op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Deank wrote: »
    Sssshhhh now :o

Careful now, next person you do that to could have a fist full of hammers and a trunk full of duct tape and cable ties!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

There are tons of fake Converse and watches out there.. (or replicas as the have them on Adverts.ie).. Replica Nike... Nope fakes..

OP, They might have been concerned that they had spent money on a fake..

Links234 wrote: »
    Careful now, next person you do that to could have a fist full of hammers and a trunk full of duct tape and cable ties!

Sounds like a good night in :pac:

Fresh jam doughnuts.
    Wolf down about three with a mug of coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You'd right to go in bare back op.
    First time I've seen you. Are you like a tribute poster?

The Backwards original is funnier...

endacl wrote: »
    First time I've seen you. Are you like a tribute poster?

The Backwards original is funnier...

He was the one Ma Backwards kept under the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Sometimes with the Irish male smirking, laughing at you, saying sarcastic and offensive things is actually their way of initiating a conversation after a more conventional sideways glance, then look away, attempt at conveying interest has failed.

Among the things I have heard men say to women they fancy :
    "You have a really funny shaped head"
    "You remind of spock with that eye shadow on"
    "Were you dropped on your head as a child or something because if you think that you must be pure stupid"
    "I nearly pissed myself laughing when you fell yesterday"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

“Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

I was out this evening having a few pints with a friend when these group of men, about 40s well dressed,asked if they could join us, we said no problem as there was room around the table.

When the game was over we were leaving, but he then went on to say to me stay off the doughnuts. I was shocked and left. I've put on a bit of weight, but definitely not over weight, but not as fit as I was. How rude was that? Why would somebody be such a dick? Didn't realise there's still horrible people out there

I went back 5 mins later , tapped him on the shoulder to clarify what he said. He was so shocked and denied it all. Would never usually do such a thing but thought I couldn't let him away with it. Any other experiences like this?

I usually entertain people like that, find out what they do etc where they work, go for a slash, quick google about the company and get a directors name. Head back, ask for a business card as you're interested in what they do and drop a directors name saying they do xyz for you.

little overweight wearing converse and a bit scruffy but as far as they know, you're bloody minted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

circadian wrote: »
    I usually entertain people like that, find out what they do etc where they work, go for a slash, quick google about the company and get a directors name. Head back, ask for a business card as you're interested in what they do and drop a directors name saying they do xyz for you.

little overweight wearing converse and a bit scruffy but as far as they know, you're bloody minted.

I am liking your work sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,955 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

in a customer service role you meet a lot of them

some guys and girls are just jerks in pub areas and try to get a laugh at peoples expense so they show off in front of there friends.

i have a personal problems that was caused with things of rude customers/people siad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Sometimes with the Irish male smirking, laughing at you, saying sarcastic and offensive things is actually their way of initiating a conversation after a more conventional sideways glance, then look away, attempt at conveying interest has failed.

Among the things I have heard men say to women they fancy :
    "You have a really funny shaped head"
    "You remind of spock with that eye shadow on"
    "Were you dropped on your head as a child or something because if you think that you must be pure stupid"
    "I nearly pissed myself laughing when you fell yesterday"

That's all well and good, except the OP is male...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

OP, sounds like they (or at least the rude guy) were just trying to provoke you. It's usually people with a big inferiority complex who feel the need to do things like that, so you should actually feel proud that you seem to have threatened him in some way. Maybe you were just having a good time and seemed confident so he felt the need to destroy it to look like a tough guy, you'll never know.

Actually, it would have been great fun had you gotten a doughnut somewhere and gone to smash it on his head when you went back in. After all, you were just following his advise and getting rid of the stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

That was nasty of him, OP.
    Rude people never cease to amaze me.

My other half and I were visiting his elderly Aunt a few months back and she looked my other half up and down at the door and said "You're piling on a few pounds, aren't you?"

I was gobsmacked.. He was actually trying his hardest to lose weight and I wanted to tell her to shut her fcuking mouth but I just said "Actually he's losing weight at the moment" and gave her a dirty look.
    My other half isn't thin skinned, so he just laughed it off.

What astounds me is when people (and it's a lot of older people too) feel they can just say what they like.
    Or people who say "I just tell it like it is, that's me."
    No, it's not. It's you being downright rude.

I would never dream of telling someone they'd put on weight.
    What's to gain from telling them?
    Hurt them? Give them a complex?
    No way.

Rude people are everywhere,OP, but if you've got good mates and a great family around you, you really don't need to worry about the losers of this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Is the OP a male?

If so,man up ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

fussyonion wrote: »
    That was nasty of him, OP.
    Rude people never cease to amaze me.

My other half and I were visiting his elderly Aunt a few months back and she looked my other half up and down at the door and said "You're piling on a few pounds, aren't you?"

I was gobsmacked.. He was actually trying his hardest to lose weight and I wanted to tell her to shut her fcuking mouth but I just said "Actually he's losing weight at the moment" and gave her a dirty look.
    My other half isn't thin skinned, so he just laughed it off.

What astounds me is when people (and it's a lot of older people too) feel they can just say what they like.
    Or people who say "I just tell it like it is, that's me."
    No, it's not. It's you being downright rude.

I would never dream of telling someone they'd put on weight.
    What's to gain from telling them?
    Hurt them? Give them a complex?
    No way.

Rude people are everywhere,OP, but if you've got good mates and a great family around you, you really don't need to worry about the losers of this world.

That seems to be an older woman thing alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Is the OP a male?

If so,man up ffs.

He did. He went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Plenty of well to do folk wear exactly what you were wearing not that that has anything to do with it but alot of rich people aren't flashy.i can never understand why people are pissed off or argumentative on nights out.its the most fun part of the week,why ruin it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

When the game was over we were leaving, but he then went on to say to me stay off the doughnuts. I was shocked and left.

I went back 5 mins later , tapped him on the shoulder to clarify what he said. He was so shocked and denied it all. Would never usually do such a thing but thought I couldn't let him away with it.
    Is the OP a male?

If so,man up ffs.
    He did. He went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd be dumbfounded if some middle aged tosser who I don't know sat down beside me and started making critical remarks. What kind of an asshole gets off on doing that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

@ OP

Take some solace from the fact he'll likely say something similar to the wrong person at some stage, who'll put manners on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

He did. He went back.
    Yes,but hes on here crying about being called fat.
    C'mon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Maybe you were a bit too big for his tiny micro penis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

C'mon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

That's pretty abominably rude, OP, and I can't blame you for being pissed off at all! I'd have been pretty damn mad if someone started talking to me like that. (And if someone tried to point out that Irish males do that to open conversations with women, I'd be inclined to point out that so do five year old boys, but they tend to be trained out of it!)

Personally, I think the absolute least self-aware of rude people are indeed those that "call a spade a spade", "say it like it is", "if you don't like me at my worst, you don't deserve me at my best".
    Ignorant tossers. They'd be more honest if they just said "I'm rude and abrasive but I don't like the idea of training myself to act with some semblance of common decency, so I'll put the blame on you instead because you were hurt or offended by my being a ravening cow."

Sadly, society bends to bullies, so that concept of "It's your fault for being offended" is strengthening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

fullstop wrote: »
    That's all well and good, except the OP is male...

And? Lads can like lads now. It's in the constitution.

That said, the OP going back into the bar had me imagining this

Hank didn't take no crap OP. Neither should you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Shock horror as auld pissed git made a "joke" to get some guffaws of his mates.

Rather than go home and bitch on the internet a better response would have been to fire of an insult straight back at him. Woulda stunned the dopey git and knocked smile of his face. Or let him have a laugh at ya and you just slink off the interwebz quitely. You showed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Munstermissy

“Rudeness is the weak man's imitation of strength.”

Must remember above, I work with a person that's is the personification of Rude and this describes them down to a tee!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

C'mon.

That's not how I read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Reiver wrote: »

Hank didn't take no crap OP. Neither should you!

in reality Hank would've got his ass kicked, he's 5 foot nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Sparklygirl

You were right to go back, he was incredibly rude.

It is no surprise to me though, I go out rarely but the odd time I do go out a man would be rude to me or one of my friends. It would normally be a rude comment about our appearance etc. I look them straight in the eye and say- you are very rude, please leave our company and then continue on as if they are gone. It sounds like nothing but it always shocks them and they leave embarrassed. It works every time. I think it works because you are being straight with them and not lowering yourself to their standards. It embarrasses them. If you told them to F off (even though you may feel like it) it would not have the same effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

why ?? what is it about your appearance ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

You should have bought him a pint op, anybody that has to put a stranger down to big up themselves has a serious flaw, when I see this behaviour a big siren goes off in my head, this lad needs a hug probably cries himself to sleep poor guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Standing in the Que in Aldi in one item working my way up to the register, about 10 people behind me similar lines on the other 2 open registers. When some cheeky fecker run through with with 3 items and asks the lady in front of me in she can go first. Far as I am concerned: you can only let someone in front of you if no is behind you. I waited my turn my like everyone else. Wasn't the only peed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭tempnam

Samaris wrote: »
    Personally, I think the absolute least self-aware of rude people are indeed those that "call a spade a spade", "say it like it is", "if you don't like me at my worst, you don't deserve me at my best".
    Ignorant tossers. They'd be more honest if they just said "I'm rude and abrasive but I don't like the idea of training myself to act with some semblance of common decency, so I'll put the blame on you instead because you were hurt or offended by my being a ravening cow."

The people who you've described there need to be told straight exactly what people think of them when they're 'telling it like it is'

"Oh, so you think it's OK to just say whatever you want as 'that's just you'? - grand so; you won't mind me telling you what I honestly think of you then, will ya?...." and then let them have it. Might shut them up for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

fryup wrote: »
    in reality Hank would've got his ass kicked, he's 5 foot nothing

Dude's got a gun man. Don't underestimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Next time "accidentally" knock his pint over his crotch. Make a massive deal of how sorry you are and offer to buy him another one