Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you on the bog-standard typical Irish young person's life path, so far?

• 04-09-2015 5:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭

From what I've witnessed over the years, the modern steps for your bog standard typical Irish young person are as follows:

(In order)
    1. School
    2. College
    3. Travelling
    4. Permanent Job
    5. Long term relationship
    6. Marriage
    7. Kids
    8. "Mam" haircut / "Dad" bod
    9. Death

Are you currently on the above path? If not, how is your path different?

I'm not on it, for many reasons. Sometimes I feel like an outsider. Sometimes I wouldn't mind having my life laid in front of me like that. Other times, I'm relieved and delighted to be pretty damn lost in life.

Does this path describe your life, more or less? 27 votes

Yep, that's more or less me!
    0% 0 votes
    No, I'm not on that path at all.
    100% 27 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Everyone's life is the same, nobody is special.

Born
    Live
    Die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Pink Lemons

Everyone's life if the same, nobody is special.

Born
    Live
    Die

Except for our Lord and savour Jesus Christ.

Born
    Live
    Die
    Rise Again

A true hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

As I say to the hens

Life's a cnut and then you're someone's Rogan Josh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

How many young people are married, have kids, and have a middle aged figure?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Does anyone follow the traditional path anymore?

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭Some Yoke

Travel section wouldn't be bog standard these days, the lucky ones who can afford it.. Maybe in the Celtic tiger days!

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

School yes
    College no
    Travelling no
    Permanent Job yes
    Long term relationship yes
    Marriage no
    Kids yes
    "Mam" haircut / "Dad" bod no
    Death maybe

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Strange post. Haven't done 6, 8 or 9. 6 & 8 well prob never happen, 9 can't really be avoided yet. Can't rule out going back to college and I will always be traveling.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,453 ✭✭✭✭kippy

DareGod wrote: »
    From what I've witnessed over the years, the modern steps for your bog standard typical Irish young person are as follows:

(In order)
    1. School
    2. College
    3. Travelling
    4. Permanent Job
    6. Marriage
    7. Kids
    9. Death

Are you currently on the above path? If not, how is your path different?

I'm not on it, for many reasons. Sometimes I feel like an outsider. Sometimes I wouldn't mind having my life laid in front of me like that. Other times, I'm relieved and delighted to be pretty damn lost in life.

Most people in the developed world are on that path although maybe not in that exact order. I assume you are hoping someone asks you why yours is so different.
    I won't as it doesn't interest me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

(In order)
    1. School
    2. College
    3. Travelling
    4. Permanent Job
    6. Marriage
    7. Kids
    9. Death

Are you currently on the above path?

Yes, but I decided to jump right from point 1 to point 8 for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I'm skipping 9. We can skip stuff right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

eviltwin wrote: »
    Does anyone follow the traditional path anymore?
    kippy wrote: »
    Most people in the developed world are on that path

WHICH IS IT, LADS.

kippy wrote: »
    I assume you are hoping someone asks you why yours is so different.
    I won't as it doesn't interest me.

Anyway...

jester77 wrote: »
    Strange post. Haven't done 6, 8 or 9.

If you're saying you've done

1. School
    2. College
    3. Travelling
    4. Permanent Job
    7. Kids

then you would qualify as a yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's not the path you take, it's the shoes you wear for the hike.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

The path you listed is certainly not unique to Irish people. The tone also suggests you think it's a bad thing. No doubt some people aimlessly go down this route as they feel they should but for others if it's what they genuinely want, so be it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,453 ✭✭✭✭kippy

WHICH IS IT, LADS.

Anyway...
    You are still desperately hoping someone asks you what makes you special.
    You 're the same as the rest of us, just seeking a bit more attention.

Sugar Free wrote: »
    The path you listed is certainly not unique to Irish people. The tone also suggests you think it's a bad thing. No doubt some people aimlessly go down this route as they feel they should but for others if it's what they genuinely want, so be it

I assume you mean that the tone you interpret suggests to you that I think it's a bad thing...

All I'll say is, if anyone takes offence to my post, that's on them, not me. Whether I think this path is good or bad shouldn't really affect anyone else and nobody needs to defend it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

School
    Work
    Dole
    Work
    Dole
    Work
    Engaged

Just waiting for the death bit :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

School yes
    College yes
    Travelling no
    Permanent Job yes
    Long term relationship no
    Marriage yes
    Kids yes
    "Mam" haircut / "Dad" bod no
    Death not yet and a whole lot more to be experienced yet.

You can sum up any life in bland stages like that. Depressing to think anyone would think that's all there is to life. Thankfully they would be very wrong.

The op is a special butterfly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'm 35, am I still a young person?

OP is renegade!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

School: Yes
    College: Yes
    Travelling: Ran away to Germany
    Permanent Job: Yes, beat up a German and stole it as immigrants are apparently wont to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

If you're saying you've done

1. School
    2. College
    3. Travelling
    4. Permanent Job
    7. Kids

then you would qualify as a yes.

If yes to 66% qualifies as a yes then there should be very little nos.

The fact that you haven't got fat, had a wedding or died, doesn't disqualify you from being more or less on the Yes side.

(In order)
    1. School
    2. College
    3. Travelling
    4. Permanent Job
    6. Marriage
    7. Kids
    9. Death

Are you currently on the above path? If not, how is your path different

Retweet for "am on this path". Favourite for "am not on this path".

The fact that you haven't got fat, had a wedding or died, doesn't disqualify you from being more or less on the Yes side.

I don't think the dead are going to answer your quiz. You might want to remove 9. And since 8 doesn't apply to young people, that should go too.

efb wrote: »
    I'm 35, am I still a young person?

You've got a year. Two tops.

To live? Urgh

As a young person? :-)

young person
    nounLAW
    noun: young person; plural noun: young people; plural noun: young persons
    (in the UK) a person generally from 14 to 17 years of age.

I'm over twice the UK top age :(