Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you work in a sex shop?

• 02-09-2015 12:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

Obviously work is hard to come by nowadays. If you were on the dole and offered a job in a sex shop, would you take it and would you tell people where you worked?

I'd work there not a bother, but I'm not sure it's the type of thing I'd feel comfortable telling granny about or putting up on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Yeah I think that would be a fairly cool job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'd work in a sex shop, in another county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Where I come from, sex is something you put potatoes in.

So yeah, I would. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

No problem with it. Dildos as presents for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Would I get a staff discount?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Wonder would you be turned on all day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭fed up sick and tired

biko wrote: »
    I'd work in a sex shop, in another county.

You mean you'd move to Clare to work at the mart ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

You hear horror stories from regular retail employees so I cannot imagine what kind of stories sex shop employees would have to share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I wouldn't. I wouldn't work in any sort of shop. People go into shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Phwoarr! yeah!!

Phwoar!....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Wouldn't want to clean the bathrooms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Wouldn't want to clean the bathrooms

Or deal with returns.

endacl wrote: »
    Or deal with returns.

What about if they want to leave a deposit on something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭themissymoo

endacl wrote: »
    Or deal with returns.

I've heard of places where they make you open the product before leaving, just to prove it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Only if I get to dress up as a priest freak the punters out a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Obviously work is hard to come by nowadays.

Heh heh.

I'm so immature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Nope, you're guaranteed to be dealing with **** all day.

Your username... :eek: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Boring sensible answer alert!

Was talking about this very subject yesterday.
    We have a brother in law who is a programmer but has been out of work for the last 18 months. He is looking for work, but only one that allows him to work from home.
    But he has 3 kids to care for. Myself and other family members are providing funding for the kids....but it is absolutely infuriating that he will not just get off his arse and get a job, any job, to keep his family afloat. They don't live in Ireland so social benefits less than here.

If work was hard to come by I would work in a sex shop, bin lorry or in a sewer..whoever would hire me. Just to be sure there was food on the table.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Would you put it on a future CV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭SteM

A good friend of mine managed one for years. It seemed like a good idea at the time. Back in the day (before the obvious websites that you can use now) those shops were selling videos for €30 or €40 a pop depending on the video. His shop did a returns system where someone could buy a video for €40, return it at any point in the future and they could get another video for €30. So the customer got €10 off their next video but the shop got the original video back which they then re-sold for €40. Many of these were copied videos, not even originals. That along with the mags and other tat meant the place was making money hand over fist. Nothing was done on the books so the money they took couldn't be accounted for apart from a ledger where staff were supposed to write all sales down. He knew staff were skimming off the top even though they were well paid but his rational was that the whole industry was dodgy so he let stuff go. They used to do test buys where he would send friends in to buy certain items and then check the ledger the next day to see if the items were noted in the ledger.

The tax man came after him, he had a huge hole in his CV and it definitely 'changed' him while he worked there. It really was the seediest thing to be around and although he has some great stories and made incredible money from his time there (a lot of which he lost to the revenue down the line) he said himself that he'd never do it again. I don't know how the shops in Dublin are still open now to be honest considering everything is available for free in the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Id rather work on a sex farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Would be the only Shop I'd work in.

Only place you could treat customers badly and they wouldn't ring Joe Duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

No problem with it. Dildos as presents for everyone.

I bought a dildo as a present for the wife, but she's done nothing but moan ever since ;)

If someone doesnt like getting a dildo as a present they can go **** themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

You hear horror stories from regular retail employees so I cannot imagine what kind of stories sex shop employees would have to share.
    I worked the door of a sex shop in London for a while, never had any bother, actually had a laugh with a lot of the patrons.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Id rather work on a sex farm
    Sex farm woman, I'm gonna mow you down
    Sex farm woman, I'll rake and hoe you down
    Sex farm woman, don't you see my silo rising high?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Friend of mine worked as security in one, which meant his job was merely keeping scumbag kids out. Said it was great craic. Loads of female customers were chatting him up which is pretty remarkable considering he's ginger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I would if there was plenty of sex, it would need to be well stocked.

Sex farm woman, I'm gonna mow you down
    Sex farm woman, I'll rake and hoe you down
    Sex farm woman, don't you see my silo rising high?

That's riffalicious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Friend of mine worked as security in one, which meant his job was merely keeping scumbag kids out. Said it was great craic. Loads of female customers were chatting him up which is pretty remarkable considering he's ginger.

That's a better fire crotch than you would expect them to get from a sex shop.

It isn't the career dreams are made of, but if I had no other options then I don't see why not, it's honest work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Really I don't the stigma is there anymore or that sex shops are the dirty mac brigade haunts they once were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Obviously work is hard to come by nowadays. If you were on the dole and offered a job in a sex shop, would you take it and would you tell people where you worked?

Why? You got some connections? I could use a new job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

I used to work in one in the UK. Completely opposite of what you might think in terms of punters. Had some really tasty girls coming in asking about dildo's and other toys. Then you'd get the middle aged business woman types as well. No inhibitions really... Half the time you just felt like offering your nob to them FOC of course!!

Not a bad job to have really as a young (ish) lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

The only reason I wouldn't want to work in a sex shop is because I wouldn't like to work in retail anyway, I'd rather not deal with ranting customers. Then again, maybe most people would be so self-conscious being in the sex shop that they wouldn't dare give out to me that their blow-up doll didn't 'live up to' their expectations :D

I wouldn't be too keen on cleaning the private booths either though, I can imagine what you'd find with one of those UV lights :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Dealing with people returning faulty dildos, or strange blokes wanting to get measured for a cock ring. Or "I bought this butt plug here and now I can't get it out of my arse", or "I need to have someone test this whip out on me to make sure it's right before I buy".

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

If you were on the dole and offered a job in a sex shop, would you take it

When it comes to sex, I never take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I certainly would do it, don't see why not.

I could give 'em the benefit of my experience ;-)

Mandatory reporting of the illegal goes without saying (and I would do it, too) but legitimate play and entertainment for adults, nothing wrong with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I'd work there not a bother, but I'm not sure it's the type of thing I'd feel comfortable telling granny about or putting up on Facebook.

I was offered a part time job in one during college. The money on offer was amazing for such a menial job. Then I told someone about the offer and the thankfully pointed out that the shop had, em, **** booths. So who would be tasked with cleaning them?

I politely declined the offer.

Saipanne wrote: »
    I was offered a part time job in one during college. The money on offer was amazing for such a menial job. Then I told someone about the offer and the thankfully pointed out that the shop had, em, **** booths. So who would be tasked with cleaning them?

I politely declined the offer.

Yep. Give me a manual job over a menial job any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I would want to be really hard up to want to work in a sex shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    I worked the door of a sex shop in London for a while, never had any bother, actually had a laugh with a lot of the patrons.

A sex shop with a doorman? Havnt seen that before, was it just to keep kids out or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If you start work in a sex shop do you literally have to do a 'week in hand'? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Used to work in the packaging dept of a porn mail order company in Germany. They paid brilliant wages (about 20 quid an hour, back in '97), and at the end of the week you had your pick of the returns bin :D seen some filthy stuff but after a few weeks you don't really care anymore (although granny porn mag covers is still something i would like to erase from my brain forever).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

Back in the Mid-eighties I sold copies of sex videos that I bought in Amsterdam. I bought one of the first ever mobile phones sold in the UK which cost about 3,000 pounds sterling and I took the calls in my car and delivered the videos direct to customers houses. It was a 'grey area' as obscenity laws were very vague.

In about a year I made a profit of about £30,000 and then got my house raided by the UK customs at 6.00 am one morning. I opted for a jury trial and the judge threw the case out before it even started as it was 'Not in the public interest'.

I never got the videos back though :(

Nomis21 wrote: »
    Back in the Mid-eighties I sold copies of sex videos that I bought in Amsterdam. I bought one of the first ever mobile phones sold in the UK which cost about 3,000 pounds sterling and I took the calls in my car and delivered the videos direct to customers houses. It was a 'grey area' as obscenity laws were very vague.

In about a year I made a profit of about £30,000 and then got my house raided by the UK customs at 6.00 am one morning. I opted for a jury trial and the judge threw the case out before it even started as it was 'Not in the public interest'.

Potential for a Breaking Bad style series there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Yep. Give me a manual job over a menial job any day.

Hold that till it gets hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Not unless there was no other option. It'd be weird putting it on my CV, the booths aspect, and the awkwardness there'd be from some customers - it'd attract weirdos too I'd say. I'd bet it would be mostly grand, but the above list would still be enough to put me off it. Mainly the CV aspect.
    Although I know someone who worked in a head-shop and then worked in a solicitor's office. :pac:

Nomis21 wrote: »

Best. Post. EVER.