Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WTD: Irish Singlet for Berlin 2015

• 31-08-2015 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭

anyone point me in the direction of a Irish Singlet for Berlin?
    Emerald green akin to the asics team ireland issue would be great!
    thanks
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

seanin4711 wrote: »
    thanks
    John

I couldn't get an official one, got one off Irish fit with the tri colors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

I couldn't get an official one, got one off Irish fit with the tri colors

dont like the look of that one.
    might just get a green one and get Ireland printed on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

The oneills green boxing vest might be just what your looking for. Very light material, identical to their range of running singlets i.e. not gaa jersey material

4KGxSam.png

f60R4Kw.png

Only 25 euros
    https://www.oneills.com/knockout-boxing-3-stripe-vest-green-wht.html

If you want to have a look at it before you buy call into the shop on the Long Mile Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Ceepo wrote: »
    Who in there right mind would sell a Irish vest. ?

And who would be sad enough to pay for and wear a vest they are not entitled to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

And who would be sad enough to pay for and wear a vest they are not entitled to!

You don't have to 'earn' an Irish singlet. They were handing them out like sweets at National Masters ahead of World Masters to people who won't get within an asses roar of being picked for Ireland at the Gerry Farnan.

OP is going to Berlin I think? Each year your get 5000+ Danish there all in their national gear. Looks great. AI should just sell the stuff. Make a few quid and make athletics more visible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

You don't have to 'earn' an Irish singlet. They were handing them out like sweets at National Masters ahead of World Masters to people who won't get within an asses roar of being picked for Ireland at the Gerry Farnan.

OP is going to Berlin I think? Each year your get 5000+ Danish there all in their national gear. Looks great. AI should just sell the stuff. Make a few quid and make athletics more visible.

happygoose wrote: »

The 100, 200, 400, 800, 1500m plus the field events guys and gals can go to these Champs as well. It's not about the XC or distance events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

The 100, 200, 400, 800, 1500m plus the field events guys and gals can go to these Champs as well. It's not about the XC or distance events.

I think the point he was making is that there are no qualifying times for these championships. You just fill in a form declaring your interest and you will more than likely get to go.

I'd have no issues if singlets/shorts were sold. A lot of other European federations do this. I bought the Spanish kit a few years ago while racing over there. Like buying a Barcelona/Real Madrid kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I bought the Spanish kit a few years ago while racing over there

And then persuaded your club to use the same colours? :D

yaboya1 wrote: »
    And then persuaded your club to use the same colours? :D

I actually changed clubs to a club that had similar colours :)

I think the point he was making is that there are no qualifying times for these championships. You just fill in a form declaring your interest and you will more than likely get to go.

I know that. I was just making that point as well. You don't have to quality for the sprint races or field events.

My other point was. If you had an Irish vest would you sell it ?.
    Would you wear it a local road race if you did buy one and didn't wear it at a international event ( senior or masters ) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

What's the difference between this and wearing a premiership or national team Jersey while playing 5 a side?

My other point was. If you had an Irish vest would you sell it ?.

No

Would you wear it a local road race if you did buy one and didn't wear it at a international event ( senior or masters ) ?

Not sure exactly what you mean. If I had an Irish international vest I wouldn't wear it a local road race. Reason being is that you'd be asking some buck to put a target on your back and give you a whooping :)

Sorry should have been clearer. If you bought it of eBay., donedeal, etc would you wear it at a local race.

I know I wouldn't. Nor would u wear it locally if I did compete for Ireland.

While there is a argument for AI to sell them to the public there is also an argument not to.
    Some belive it would devalue it.
    Horses for courses I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

AAI could sell a vest that has 'Ireland' and a big shamrock on it, not a vest that matches the competition singlet used by international athletes.
    Of course, anyone who sells running gear could do that.

The in-laws were on holiday in Turkey, about 20 years ago, and FIL was talking to a guy wearing a Turkish football jersey. But it looked much better than the strips sold in the markets, and even though FIL isn't a football fan he asked where he could buy one.
    "This? No, you don't buy this... if you're on the team they give you one"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

I can't remember when English football teams started selling "merchandise" - maybe 30 years ago ? International football teams were around the same time. The GAA started selling replica county shirts more recently afaik.

Yes, it's an honour to be selected for your country but no one is doing it for the shirt. I don't know why some runners or AI would be so precious about the Irish running vest. For the AI it's probably because there is a very limited market - ie almost no one wants to buy it unless you want to look like a d1ck at the local 5K.

It's the stuck up attitude of the AAI not to sell these. God forbid they make some money from merchandise

They're not set up to sell gear. Not worth it to them to get into that business either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

dna_leri wrote: »
    I can't remember when English football teams started selling "merchandise" - maybe 30 years ago ? International football teams were around the same time. The GAA started selling replica county shirts more recently afaik.

Yes, it's an honour to be selected for your country but no one is doing it for the shirt. I don't know why some runners or AI would be so precious about the Irish running vest. For the AI it's probably because there is a very limited market - ie almost no one wants to buy it unless you want to look like a d1ck at the local 5K.

You think that's bad, I was reading a thread on an Australian athletics forum on Facebook where there were actual Olympians, along with wannabe Olympians who have no real hope of doing so, all having hissy fits about some guy they didn't know getting the Olympic Rings tattoo. They have some mad notion that only Olympians are allowed an Olympic Rings tattoo, and anyone else who gets one is a sad fraud of a human being! Clowns.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    You think that's bad, I was reading a thread on an Australian athletics forum on Facebook where there were actual Olympians, along with wannabe Olympians who have no real hope of doing so, all having hissy fits about some guy they didn't know getting the Olympic Rings tattoo. They have some mad notion that only Olympians are allowed an Olympic Rings tattoo, and anyone else who gets one is a sad fraud of a human being! Clowns.

ha ha, I can kind of see their point. Only people I've ever seen with the Olympic tattoos were all Olympians. Guess, if I seen someone I didn't know sporting such a tattoo I'd just assume they were an Olympian too. I know there's nothing to stop someone getting the rings but let's be honest. It is a bit sad.

Somebody who was a broadcaster at the Olympics all their life would be entitled to one. Or somebody who lost a loved one who had a close affinity to the Games and got a rings tattoo in their memory. Somebody who met their SO at the Games while volunteering would be another solid reason.

Tattoos are silly anyway. :)

pac_man wrote: »
    Why would it be a taboo to wear one of them national singlets at a local 5k? Is this an Irish belief or a universal attitude within Athletics?

Because you'd look like a knob running a parkrun in 25 minutes wearing the same vest as Mark English, Thomas Barr and the like.

Why would I look like a knob? What's the difference between wearing the Irish singlet while running a race and wearing an Ireland football jersey down in the astro?

The fact they are not for sale to the general public. If they were available in Elvery Sports, Lifestyle or wherever then that would be grand, but they are not.

How about this one complete with olympic rings. :D

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Asics-Ireland-Track-Field-Olympic-Singlet-Jersey-Running-/251809291111?nma=true&si=XQIwxser1HFyc58RXGuxCR40KnA%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

rom wrote: »
    A brand-new, unused, and unworn item (including handmade items) that is not in original packaging or may be missing original packaging materials (such as the original box or bag). The original tags may not be attached.

Cathal Lombard?

Nah its a 2012 one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Everyone else thinks runners dress like knobs anyway, what difference does a few more make.

Is the reason they're not for sale based on demand or is the singlet affiliated with the notion of something that has to be achieved?

Put it this way. If you played in a Sunday league football team and your club opted to wear the Irish football strip in a competitive match you'd look like a bunch of clowns. It's no difference in a race. If you show up to run in a local 5k race, you'd look stupid wearing one. You aren't representing Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Everyone else thinks runners dress like knobs anyway, what difference does a few more make.

Excellent point, thank god for cyclists tho or we would be the laughing stock.

In our club recently, someone wanted to replace the club crest with one based on the Olympic torch. Really, wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

RayCun wrote: »
    In our club recently, someone wanted to replace the club crest with one based on the Olympic torch. Really, wtf?

Yea, somebody wanted to put a Christian Cross right bang in the middle of ours. Nutters! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Yea, somebody wanted to put a Christian Cross right bang in the middle of ours. Nutters! :)

I think this merits further investigation...
    Do you allow non-Christians in your club, are they forced to wear the crucifix?
    Maybe it's time to move out of the medieval ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

menoscemo wrote: »
    What's the difference between this and wearing a premiership or national team Jersey while playing 5 a side?

The premier league jersey is sold as merchandise. The Irish singlet is not. That's the difference.

Wearing a premier league jersey means you support the club in question. Wearing a Irish singlet that you bought off ebay means you're pretending to be an international runner when you're not.

I have been wondering for years why the AAI don't sell replica jerseys. Then again, considering how useless they are in general yet another missed opportunity is hardly a surprise.

Re wearing of Irish vest.
    It is my understanding that at one stage you could not wear them outside of competing at an international event. Not sure if this is still the case. (I may be wrong here).

I know a few lads who have competed International over the year, and while I have seen them training and racing in Irish shorts they will never race with there Irish vest on.

I have been wondering for years why the AAI don't sell replica jerseys. Then again, considering how useless they are in general yet another missed opportunity is hardly a surprise.

I honestly don't think there is enough demand for replica kit to make it worth their while setting up a shop. They don't sell anything at the moment, so they don't have the infrastructure to handle taking and delivering orders.

Maybe one of the Irish running gear suppliers could talk to them and New Balance about selling Irish kit under licence, but again, is it worth the trouble? I know people racing abroad like to wear things that say, "I'm Irish", but replica singlets?

Put it this way. If you played in a Sunday league football team and your club opted to wear the Irish football strip in a competitive match you'd look like a bunch of clowns. It's no difference in a race. If you show up to run in a local 5k race, you'd look stupid wearing one. You aren't representing Ireland.

What about the people that play 5 aside indoor or on the grass area outside their house in the Ireland top, are they knobs?

I honestly don't think there is enough demand for replica kit to make it worth their while setting up a shop. They don't sell anything at the moment, so they don't have the infrastructure to handle taking and delivering orders.

Maybe one of the Irish running gear suppliers could talk to them and New Balance about selling Irish kit under licence, but again, is it worth the trouble? I know people racing abroad like to wear things that say, "I'm Irish", but replica singlets?

Why not let a running shop do it for them?

yeah, they might be open to it if a running shop approached them and said they'd like to sell replica singlets.

You'd be surprised. My work and similar other companies down these parts would get a singlet produced just for their BHAA team in a standard similar to the following and that might be for 10 people. I know a lot of people who have put an Irish badge on their club singlet when racing overseas.

http://www.jakroo.com/custom-products/apex-run-singlet/

There was nothing as impressive when I ran Berlin that a bus full of Danish runners of all abilities were all sporting similar singlet through it was very clear that it was not an official international one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭EauRouge79

Wearing a premier league jersey means you support the club in question. Wearing a Irish singlet that you bought off ebay means you're pretending to be an international runner when you're not.

This.

Each to their own but I think the wearing of the green jersey is something that should be earned and they should never be put on general sale.

EauRouge79 wrote: »
    This.

Each to their own but I think the wearing of the green jersey is something that should be earned and they should never be put on general sale.

Do you feel the same about the Munster Rugby top, irish top etc?

It's a stupid argument as our national vest is not on public sale. The only people who therefore have one are those who have competed for Ireland. So if some punter rocks up to a local 5k wearing one, he/she is giving off the impression that he/she has represented Ireland before. This is fairly sad.

Wearing a Munster jersey on the other hand doesn't as it is for public sale.

I'd like to see a replica or recreational vest for public sale where Irish people racing abroad can use if they so wish. Even something as simple as the AAI selling their t-shirts and hoodies in bloody green to show that we are Irish when wearing them. Not sure if they even sell t-shirts or hoodies any more but when they did they were in red. Ridiculous really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭rodneyTrotter.

It went unsold on Ebay

No surprise really with somebody looking for 85euro that they got free .

seanin4711 wrote: »
    thanks
    John

like the Ireland singlet NOT The Ireland Singlet!
    read the post!!!

cunavalos wrote: »
    The oneills green boxing vest might be just what your looking for. Very light material, identical to their range of running singlets i.e. not gaa jersey material

4KGxSam.png

f60R4Kw.png

Only 25 euros
    https://www.oneills.com/knockout-boxing-3-stripe-vest-green-wht.html

If you want to have a look at it before you buy call into the shop on the Long Mile Road.

that looks class!
    but according to sum on here I may have to wear boxing gloves and boots while running it!
    jeez!

http://www.myprotein.com/sports-vests/myprotein-men-s-racer-back-running-vest-green/11045229.html

cheap and cheerful name and Ireland printed on front!
    job done!