Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Urgent advice needed about flatmate

• 28-08-2015 1:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

I moved in with a guy in July sharing a two bedroom flat. Found it on daft, the ad looked perfect as I have a dog and the place was pet friendly. The ad stated that it was owner occupied, I asked him and yes he said he was the owner. So after I moved in all my stuff (including a sofa I found on adverts), we started talking and it turned out he wasn't the owner and he was subletting the room. At this point I realise I'm stuck as I can't find another place so easily that's pet friendly so I decided to stick it until something comes available.

Over the next few weeks the relationship went from friendly to just two people sharing the same house. I had some expensive car trouble, so to offset the damage I told him I was gonna have to sell the sofa. He did not react to this well, saying it was "our" sofa repeatedly. He then sent me an incredibly threatening message about it saying basically there was no way in hell that he was going to let me sell it.

I came home from work that night to a major confrontation. He told me he wanted me out, I said fair enough I'll leave when I can. I asked him about the message, and he flipped completely. Started screaming and shouting at me, kicked in a door, scared the **** out of my girlfriend. His friend who was downstairs took him aside, calmed him down. Didn't see him the rest of the night. Yesterday he apologised, I told him today I'll be out before the end of next month, so use the deposit as the last months rent. He was fine with that until again tonight I come home and he's aggressive with me again telling me he wants me gone by the 1st.

Obviously I know my rights are limited here but what can I do? Can I contact the guards? I seriously doubt he has the deposit too. I am seriously stuck here as I don't have basically anywhere to go, considering I have the dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

You may get rid of the dog(find a home for it and quickly!) as no landlord will move you in with a dog!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

You are a licensee and have little rights here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 acidbotti

I can't do anything about the threatening behaviour? He is being hostile, refusing to let me do what I want with my belongings, he is openly doing drugs in the house too. If I am going to leave I won't go quietly. I'm sure his landlord would like to know he's been breaking his tenancy agreement and doing all the above...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

acidbotti wrote: »
    I can't do anything about the threatening behaviour? He is being hostile, refusing to let me do what I want with my belongings, he is openly doing drugs in the house too. If I am going to leave I won't go quietly. I'm sure his landlord would like to know he's been breaking his tenancy agreement and doing all the above...

If you are not named on the lease you are a licencsee and he can literally tell you to move out tomorrow.

Same as renting a room from an owner.

If he is doing drugs etc, report him to the police, but have somewhere to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Put the dog in kennels.

Find yourself somewhere short term (Air BnB springs to mind). Put your stuff in storage if necessary.

Get out today/tomorrow.

Then work on finding somewhere permanent to go to.

Okay.

Anything I can do if he acts up with the deposit?

Okay.

Anything I can do if he acts up with the deposit?

No tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

foggy_lad wrote: »
    You may get rid of the dog(find a home for it and quickly!) as no landlord will move you in with a dog!

Not true at all. I was looking recently and there were a number or properties that mentioned allowing pets.

Also if OP gets a studio or something could just move the pet in after all the business with the landlord.

OP is the couch your own purchase? Not clear on that.

If he's openly doing drugs, down the police station you pop. Explain the threats and see if you can get them to come round and do a search. Explain he's not the landlord but is acting like it, and is withholding return of deposit. Nothing might come of that though.

Wright wrote: »
    Not true at all. I was looking recently and there were a number or properties that mentioned allowing pets.

Also if OP gets a studio or something could just move the pet in after all the business with the landlord.

OP is the couch your own purchase? Not clear on that.

I'm in Cork city and there is a serious lack of places that allow pets. Yeah the couch is mine, got it for free. It's in decent enough shape, that's why I reckoned I'd be able to get a few quid for it.

He wants to keep the sofa for himself.

I'm in Cork city and there is a serious lack of places that allow pets. Yeah the couch is mine, got it for free. It's in decent enough shape, that's why I reckoned I'd be able to get a few quid for it.

He wants to keep the sofa for himself.

There will be other couches.

I'd just cut your losses and find somewhere safe to live if I were you.

If it means putting the dog in kennels for a couple of weeks, and staying in a hostel till you find somewhere it's probably worth it. It's a horrible situation to be in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I moved in with a guy in July sharing a two bedroom flat. Found it on daft, the ad looked perfect as I have a dog and the place was pet friendly. The ad stated that it was owner occupied,

foggy_lad wrote: »

What am I missing?

Chucken wrote: »
    What am I missing?

the guy who was advertising was a tenant and not a landlord and sublet without permission?

What am I missing?

The guy is not the owner of the place, he just said he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Honestly the guy sounds mentally unstable. If he is freaking out at minor things. I wouldnt leave him alone with your dog.

I would call what he did as fraud. He lied to you about the rental agreement for his own gain. Is it criminal so you can go to the gardai? Extremely unlikely. If he doesn't give you back your deposit. I imagine you it will be very difficult to get your deposit back. I don't think there is a whole load you can do. You can go to a solicitor. But the legal fees will probably be more than the rent or deposit. Ask your bank is there a possible way to reverse last month's payment. But I doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

The guy is not the owner of the place, he just said he was.

He cant call the shots then?

He can as he's named on the lease and OP is not :(

The guy has a massive chip on his shoulder, desperately wants people to take him seriously. He said he was "putting his foot down" in regards to the couch. I don't think he's mentally unstable, but I do think he has a learning disability. Said he had meningitis as a kid, was in a special needs class, was told he'd never make it in life etc. He's tall and skinny. Goes to the gym now, I get the feeling he wants to be seen as a tough guy who can intimidate people as a means of being listened to.

I would have thought it was fraudulent to claim that myself about being the owner, but I think that's irrelevant at this stage.

The guy has a massive chip on his shoulder, desperately wants people to take him seriously. He said he was "putting his foot down" in regards to the couch. I don't think he's mentally unstable, but I do think he has a learning disability. Said he had meningitis as a kid, was in a special needs class, was told he'd never make it in life etc. He's tall and skinny. Goes to the gym now, I get the feeling he wants to be seen as a tough guy who can intimidate people as a means of being listened to.

I would have thought it was fraudulent to claim that myself about being the owner.

Again that's something for the police, and probably not something they will be bothered about.

There really is little you can do here.

Move one and get yourself somewhere safe to stay

Yeah, I've a few calls to make in the morning I guess.

Thanks everyone so much for the advice, it has been most helpful.

Cheers!

Free? Ditch it or sell it to him maybe. Cut your losses.

Asking him to buy it was what started all the aggression!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Stheno wrote: »
    the guy who was advertising was a tenant and not a landlord and sublet without permission?

He's also seriously looped and gets aggressive and is argumentative and takes drugs which is most likely the cause of his mood swings. He has told the op to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭hanna200

actually most of respondents here are incorrect.

Yes you may report him to Gardai (police), yes you can report fraud and forgery. Ask police to write a statement and come down to the house and to contact landlord.

Be ready to take things from there i.e. have an alternative accommodation arranged and have a witness with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

hanna200 wrote: »
    actually most of respondents here are incorrect.

Yes you may report him to Gardai (police), yes you can report fraud and forgery. Ask police to write a statement and come down to the house and to contact landlord.

Be ready to take things from there i.e. have an alternative accommodation arranged and have a witness with you.

While you are legally correct, practically you are setting yourself up for a world of problems if you do this. Cork is a small city - do you want to go everywhere looking over your shoulder from here on? If he's a native he's probably got lots of brothers / "friends" only too happy to beat the crap out of you.

Someone like this has no money so is for all intents and purposes outside the law and will get 100 warnings in court until they kill someone. The guards probably know him on a first name basis. I've seen this kind of thing first hand when a teenage family member was attacked unprovoked in broad daylight with several witnesses by an 18 year old off his head on drugs.

I would walk away, go into a hostel or AirBNB as someone else said, while I get things sorted, and you'll probably have to get rid of the dog.

You've been conned my friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭karenalot

Wish people would stop saying "get rid of the dog" like its the same thing as the sofa.

OP there are plenty of animal rescues in Cork that may be able to help you get a temporary foster place for your dog till you sort yourself out. PM me if you need names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭gl0Rob

Unfortunately you have been unlucky with your choice of house mate. As others have suggested I would seek alternative accommodation. Clearly staying isn't a long term solution.

I guess you don't know who the landlord is. The landlord could be close family so the whole sublet/rent a room thing could be a very grey area.

I would also be taking my sofa with me. I have no time for the bullying behavior shown by your house mate. I would be straight onto the guards if I was prevented from removing it from the house. Have some proof of ownership ready.

Threshold are a charity you can contact and they would be able to provide good advice.

I wouldn't give him the satisfaction of keeping it. If it meant throwing it straight in a skip somewhere I would rather that than let him keep it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

karenalot wrote: »
    Wish people would stop saying "get rid of the dog" like its the same thing as the sofa.

OP there are plenty of animal rescues in Cork that may be able to help you get a temporary foster place for your dog till you sort yourself out. PM me if you need names.
    In fairness, renting and pet ownership are not compatible. Surrendering the dog is probably the OPs only real option if he wants to find somewhere else given how tight the rental market is.

It may sound harsh, but it is the most pragmatic.

professore wrote: »
    While you are legally correct, practically you are setting yourself up for a world of problems if you do this. Cork is a small city - do you want to go everywhere looking over your shoulder from here on? If he's a native he's probably got lots of brothers / "friends" only too happy to beat the crap out of you.

He is not a local, he is English. Okay so right now I am scouting for somewhere to move into. I will contact the guards as soon as I have somewhere to move to.

He is not a local, he is English. Okay so right now I am scouting for somewhere to move into. I will contact the guards as soon as I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Fair point

Okay thanks going to message you now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Don't forget the relationship with your Girlfriend. Move out asap OP

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    Don't forget the relationship with your Girlfriend. Move out asap OP

This whole situation is a mess. We're moving in together but the plan was to do so at the end of next month. She went back to Spain yesterday morning to sort out work things so she's gone for 2 weeks! Just gotta find somewhere. Anywhere. Soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

could a family member or gf look after the dog? in the short term until you have found somewhere that is dog friendly? or even if you cant, until you do in the longer term?

Idbatterim wrote: »
    could a family member or gf look after the dog? in the short term until you have found somewhere that is dog friendly? or even if you cant, until you do in the longer term?

I'm working here in Cork but from Naas, so no unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Just an aside comment;Do not inform him in any way shape or form that you will shop him to the Gardai or landlord. Not even in an attempt to bargain your way into a perceivedly better situation. You don't know who he knows.

Just get yourself & your dog safely away from him. Then shop him to both Gardai & landlord anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

In fairness, renting and pet ownership are not compatible. Surrendering the dog is probably the OPs only real option if he wants to find somewhere else given how tight the rental market is.

It may sound harsh, but it is the most pragmatic.

It might be more difficult but's not impossible. I'm renting a house and my dog is here with me, and my flatmate has a dog and a cat here too. My work colleague is doing it with 2 cats, 1 dog and a spider:-). I could give you a pretty long list of people renting with animals because I'm a vet nurse and most of my former college friends are both renters and pet owners.

Its getting much harder now though as LL's can pick who they want and they rightly don't want people with pets as why would you when you can have someone without them.

Nowadays anyone would be advised not to get a pet or get rid of it if they are going to start renting or are looking for a new place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

My wife and myself are renting with our dog for the last four and a half years (brought the dog with us from abroad). In fact we just found a place again this week to move. Its incredibly hard with a dog but doable, just limits your options. A lot depends on the type of dog and type of person you are as well. Once landlords meet you, see previous references, know that the dog is non destructive then they are reassured and many consent. Apartments less so but some do. My advice would be not to get a pet until you are settled or own a house as it can limit your options and tie you down a lot but if you already have a dog like the OP then its really annoying hearing people here say give up the dog. They are part of your family, not an accessory / toy.

@OP - Is leaving the dog in Naas for a while not an option?

This is bad advice. If you actually have a case with the Gardai, then by all means pursue it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

It's different for long term renters, especially those who took out a lease during the recession - landlords were desperate for tenants.

There are three options for people with pets at the moment: they can give them up, they can keep them but realise their search will be an order of magnitude longer or they can move to a place with low demand for rental housing.

August, September and October are the worst three months to be looking for a place, especially so in the tight market that exists at the moment. The only practical advice to someone who is in a hurry to find somewhere else in Dublin, Cork or Galway at the moment is to give up the pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭quietsailor

OP try contacting Bowe properties in Ballincollig as the owner (Brendan I think) is a dog lover. You'd see his dog Baxter in any newspaper article I read about the company.

Also try a FB page called "People in Cork with Dogs" I've seen people ask for help on there and others have pointed them towards Landlords that allow pets.

One final thing :o - I've a friend with a staffordshire terrier and she was able to rent. She viewed as many houses as possible and talked to the landlords so they would get a sense of her - then at the end of the conversation she'd say something like "I don't want to mess you around, I really like the house and want to take it but I have a dog - I've references from previous LLs mentioning the dog and she has never been in any trouble"

It's worth a shot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

It's different for long term renters, especially those who took out a lease during the recession - landlords were desperate for tenants.

I moved in there last October so hardly a long term renter. And since I'm not that long out of college the people I mentioned as renting with pets weren't dealing with desperate landlords either.

There is NO basis for him 'giving up the pet'. Just get a place, sign the lease, set up a direct debit, say arivaderci to the landlord, move the pet in. Simple.

And get evicted shortly after for breaking the terms of the lease.

If I were a LL and someone moved in a pet without my consent the tenant would be out the door sharpish and be given a bad reference or none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Where did she say she moved in during the recession?

There is NO basis for him 'giving up the pet'. Just get a place, sign the lease, set up a direct debit, say arivaderci to the landlord, move the pet in. Simple.

Are you freaking serious? Perfect grounds for eviction right there.

<mod snip>

It doesn't matter how trivial you think it is if a LL doesn't want pets (which most don't) then they are perfectly entitled to evict you. You are in someone else's property and they set the rules.

As for how will they find out, well it will be discovered very fast on an inspection. You might hide the dog but you can't hide the smell of a dog that will be noticed immediately. Even if you the LL doesn't want to say anything then a few drives passed the house will soon catch you brining your dog out for a walk and the it's game over, bye bye and try to find a new place with a bad or no reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

<mod snip>

Most likely when the neighbours ring him/her up to complain. Or at the quarterly inspection which any competent LL does.

<mod snip>

How is not allowing pets unreasonable? It's a perfectly reasonable stance for a Ll to take. Why would you want all the extra wear and tear, damage and smells that go with pets along with the possible hassle with neighbours from barking dogs or cats dirtying their gardens etc when you can have your choice of someone else in the queue for the house who doesn't have a pet.

You are talking total nonsense and giving advice that could see a person evicted.

Also inspecting a house isn't being a stalker at all and doing a bit of extra ground work is being a smart landlord if you suspect the tenant is breaking rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

<mod snip>

I think the post was saying that during the recession landlords in general were more agreeable to pets as there was more supply than demand- but not so much now-
    On just moving your dog in without telling landlord -it's dodgy - say your in house with your dog in mid October and neighbour complains to landlord about a barking dog- you could be out for Christmas-

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦