Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

La Vuelta a España - Stage 6 - Cordoba to Cazorla *SPOILERS*

• 26-08-2015 7:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭

PROFIL.png

PROFILKMS.png

Two Cat 3 climbs means we should have a more interesting stage to watch tomorrow. Not exactly a killer stage, but there is enough here for the GC guys to think about making some tactically significant attacks either early or late in the stage. That said, this is stage one for the stagaires - Martin, Roche, Valverde, Rodriguez, and Moreno should have a bit of a shoot-out. Esteban Chaves too if he has something left in the legs. Not a big shout for a breakaway day in my opinion.
    General Classification standings

1. Tom Dumoulin
    2. Esteban Chaves (+1)
    3. Nicolas Roche (+16)
    4. Daniel Martin (+25)
    5. Alejandro Valverde (+29)
    6. Daniel Moreno (+31)
    7. Christopher Froome (+35)
    8. Joaquin Rodriguez (+36)
    9. Nairo Quintana (+37)
    10. Fabio Aru (+48)

Oddschecker: Valverde 5/2, Moreno 13/2, Rodriguez 13/2, Martin 11/1, Chaves 18/1, Roche 18/1

Stage Winner 25 votes

Alejandro Valverde
    0%
    Dani Moreno
    32%
    Brian?pumbahpetethedrummerRobFowlJoe ExoticletapeRambling ManSausageDogDave 8 votes
    Joaquin Rodriguez
    0%
    Daniel Martin
    8%
    John McClaneFigsy32 2 votes
    Nicolas Roche
    28%
    steclearyodyssey06Gallant_JJDon't Chute!KoobcamMrMischiefGlass Prison 1214 7 votes
    Esteban Chaves
    20%
    [Deleted User]QueensGaelMelodeonTrev De revboydkev 5 votes
    Domenico Pozzovivo
    0%
    Nairo Quintana
    0%
    Sergio Henao
    4%
    68 lost souls 1 vote
    Rafal Majka
    0%
    The Field
    4%
    g0g 1 vote
    Melodeon's previews
    4%
    Pudsy33 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Nico ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Would love to see Nico taking the red jersey tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Melodeon's previews
    I think you meant Punchuers, not stagiares :P

Good chance for Martin and Roche to possible take red. Might be a decent chance for a break too, loom for Caja Rural and Colombia to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

Nicolas Roche
    Fancy Dan to do better than Nico but dont think he will be nine seconds better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Are we gone back in time? Martin, Roche, Valverde, Purito and Moreno are stagiaires? :p

Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Are we gone back in time? Martin, Roche, Valverde, Purito and Moreno are stagaires? :p

Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads.

:(

I have failed you all with my poor nomenclature.

*bans self*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Dani Moreno
    Looks like it's made for Valverde or Rodriguez. Roche is looking bang in form though, could do it.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭MrMischief

Nicolas Roche
    Fingers crossed for Roche but he'll be marked the whole way up that finish so he wont be let off the leash by the other GC contenders and he's not strong enough to drop them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭unichall

MrMischief wrote: »
    Fingers crossed for Roche but he'll be marked the whole way up that finish so he wont be let off the leash by the other GC contenders and he's not strong enough to drop them!

I don't think the GC contenders will worry about chasing Roche, in fact its perfect for them if he does take the Red Jersey as they know he will give it up in the next few days. Roche will be marked by Chavez and the other candidates capable of winning the stage but don't think the big GC guys will make too much of an effort for a handful of seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

THis satge maybe for the breakaway as don't see alot of teams chasing (well no SKY or Garim anyways)

As for the GC guys not making an effort for the win...disagree

Valverde & Purito wanted to win sage 2 as seen by having their teams on the front all day ...no different on this stage.

Nicolas Roche
    unichall wrote: »
    I don't think the GC contenders will worry about chasing Roche, in fact its perfect for them if he does take the Red Jersey as they know he will give it up in the next few days. Roche will be marked by Chavez and the other candidates capable of winning the stage but don't think the big GC guys will make too much of an effort for a handful of seconds

Can't see Valverde or Purito letting Roche go and I think they'll be contending GC.

Nicolas Roche
    MPFGLB wrote: »
    THis satge maybe for the breakaway as don't see alot of teams chasing (well no SKY or Garim anyways)

As for the GC guys not making an effort for the win...disagree

Valverde & Purito wanted to win sage 2 as seen by having their teams on the front all day ...no different on this stage.

Just saw your reply after I posted and completely agree!

Looks like Roche is not riding for himself today then...at least not for the stage win

SKY DS just now
    "Our goal is not to lose any time, Nico & Sergio will cover late attacks. Real mtns start tomorrow" #LaVuelta

Looks like Roche is not riding for himself today then...at least not for the stage win

SKY DS just now
    "Our goal is not to lose any time, Nico & Sergio will cover late attacks. Real mtns start tomorrow" #LaVuelta

Tomorrow has a Cat. 1 summit finish. So it'll be all hands on deck to support Froome.

Yes ...but that is tomorrow ....today is another thing all together...they could let him go for the win surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Does anyone really think a team gives away tactics during a race. #marginalgains

So there is no point interviewing them before or during the race then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

No point in taking what they say as gospel

Melodeon's previews

There isn't really, they'll just toe the party line to some degree. Sure yesterday OGE were all about protecting the jersey apparently.

Under 10km to go!

Melodeon's previews
    Can Cummings do it?

Kirby is always going on about how awful its going to be ...every race

He needs to wear one of those boards that says "The end is nigh"

Carlton loves Loius Meintjes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Nobody bothered chasing it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭REBELSAFC

I think Cummins has this

At last.....

Esteban Chaves
    Roche in a good position after Movistar put up the tempo

Jaysus that's steep.

Gooooo chaves!

Janey Dan does leave it late

Dan 2nd

Chaves wins by a fair margin, Dan and Dumoulin second and third respectively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭REBELSAFC

Dan leaves it too late again...pity

Chaves gambled and went for it early and it has paid off big time. Great ride by Dan with his 2nd place. Nico top ten as well.

Esteban Chaves
    Well done to Dan Martin. With time bonus he moves above Roche to 3rd in GC.

So far we've had Nico finishing 3rd (stage 2), 4th (stage 4) and 10th (stage 6) and Dan finishing 4th (stage 2) and 2nd (stage 6). Fantastic performances from the two lads in a Grand Tour.

Great ride by Dan Martin but he needs someone in his ear to say go now !!!

Nico attack was closed down by Movistar. But as said by DS was there to cover attacks as could be seen on the ride in

Think they think Chaves & Dumoulin are not threats ...wonder if they are right

So far we've had Nico finishing 3rd (stage 2), 4th (stage 4) and 10th (stage 6) and Dan finishing 4th (stage 2) and 2nd (stage 6). Fantastic performances from the two lads in a Grand Tour.

I know I should wait till tomorrow to see how it's panning out but I'm struggling to not get ahead of myself.

Melodeon's previews

Nico attack was closed down by Movistar. But as said by DS was there to cover attacks as could be seen on the ride in

Think they think Chaves & Dumoulin are not threats ...wonder if they are right

Dumoulin won't hang on in the mountains, but Chaves could surprise

It's hard to fathom that he was going for the stage win since he'd clearly left it way to late. I assumed he was going for GC time.

Chaves was 3'12" faster than Steve Cummings on the final climb :D

Ah poor old Steve Cumminmgs ...I though he'd have to get off and walk
    He rode so well ...all day out there

I am still confident for an Irish stage win yet

Its hard to believe Esteban Chaves is a married man :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

Nicolas Roche
    Surely chaves will be covered in every move he makes now? It's only the first week but if he keeps taking time bonuses he'll creep away with out people noticing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Nicolas Roche
    Brilliant Vuelta so far for the two lads. Only thing is though given their high GC pacing, a stage win might be harder to come by since they will both be marked men. Still, great to see both of them up there.

Its hard to believe Esteban Chaves is a married man :-)

Have you seen him in interviews?...... I don't find it hard to believe at all. ;)

happytramp wrote: »
    Have you seen him in interviews?...... I don't find it hard to believe at all. ;)

I meant age wise ...he looks 12
    Not his personality ...:confused:

Koobcam wrote: »
    Brilliant Vuelta so far for the two lads. Only thing is though given their high GC pacing, a stage win might be harder to come by since they will both be marked men. Still, great to see both of them up there.

Nico probably won't be contending for anymore stage victories because he'll be working for Froome.

Dan's best chance for a stage win would be if he has one bad day in the mountains that puts him out of GC contention. Obviously we don't want that to happen, but if he stays high up in GC, then he won't be allowed to go on the attack without being chased down quickly.

I think tomorrow & Sunday are still possibilities for both Irish lads for a stage win

After the rest day chances run out ..

Nico will be in the train and Dan won't be let off the hook

Unless one of them loses alot of time but high GC is still a very good bet for at least one of them