Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

La Vuelta a España - Stage 2 - Alhaurín de la Torre/Caminito del Rey *SPOILERS*

• 22-08-2015 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭

Type: Medium Mountains
    Distance: 158.7Km
    Start/Finish: Alhaurín de la Torre/Caminito del Rey

Stage map:
    359575.jpg

Profile:
    359576.png

Finale:
    359577.png

Preview (as robbed from cyclingnews.com):
    A spectacular backdrop for the first of nine summit finishes

Málaga is proud that it’s the first province to host four Vuelta stages in the same year, and particularly so of this one, which takes the race to one of the region’s most renowned sights.

Cut high into the cliff face in the early 20th century to allow workers access to hydroelectric installations, the Caminito del Rey (the king’s pathway) became a hotspot for climbers until it fell into disrepair. Now restored, it will provide a spectacular backdrop to the first of nine summit finishes.

The concluding ascent of the Alto de la Mesa is short but sharp. It extends to 2.5km at an average of almost nine per cent, with sections at 15 per cent. It will test the GC contenders’ mettle from the very start.

TV schedule:
    Eurosport 3.00pm

Stage Winner 14 votes

Alejandro Valverde
    0%
    Joaquin Rodriguez
    35%
    Darkglassesg0gletapegambeta_fcgreenwhale 5 votes
    Dani Moreno
    0%
    Sergio Henao
    0%
    Chris Froome
    0%
    Dan Martin
    0%
    Esteban Chavez
    57%
    Inquitusodyssey06ABEasyMelodeondastardly00Trev De revLusk_Doylekcera 8 votes
    Nairo Quintana
    0%
    Fabio Aru
    7%
    qwabercd 1 vote
    Vincenzo Nibali
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Joaquin Rodriguez
    Great preview Melodeon, I'll add a poll shortly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭ABEasy

Esteban Chavez
    Anyone have any idea at what time (generally speaking for a gt finish) they will close off the mountain/hill for the finish, planning a last minute trip to see danny take a stage (poll says he's 75% chance ATM!!!). Also what would the likely traffic be leaving, under orders to get back at reasonable hour!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭ABEasy

Esteban Chavez
    Plus how do yea reckon the stage will play out, break from the breakaway on the 1st climb maybe??

Joaquin Rodriguez
    ABEasy wrote: »
    Plus how do yea reckon the stage will play out, break from the breakaway on the 1st climb maybe??

I'd say it'll be a more standard early break reeled in towards the business end. It's a chance for a team to make an early statement in the GC competition - and while it might be a bit on the early side for a real contender like Quintana, Aru or Froome to want the jersey, someone like Majka or Rodriguez or even Talansky/Martin might want to get their hands on it early as the chance may not arise later. That said I think the stage best suits Valverde, so I pick him to win in a sprint finish vs. Rodriguez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Watched a bit of ITV4 interviews last night

(Very funny background stuff going on...During Chris Froomes interview a rather large lady in a swimsuit was stretching in the background and during Geraint Thomas's interview Kiryienka was gesticulating in the background about his bike (being no good) to a team SKY helper - a bit Carry On Cycling)

Its was evident to me that 5 riders appeared in the best form
    Aru, Quintana, Purito, Pozzovivo & TJ Van Garderen

(unless of course the others are bluffing)

Purito, Valverde, Henao or Dan Martin are it seems firm favourites today

I think there a few names missing from the poll (though not easy to get the definitive list)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Not the right forum I know (there isn't one) but I quite like the look of Sam Bennett today at Vattenfall Cyclassics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Esteban Chavez
    MPFGLB wrote: »
    Its was evident to me that 5 riders appeared in the best form
    Aru, Quintana, Purito, Pozzovivo & TJ Van Garderen

(unless of course the others are bluffing)

I presume that's based on no more than what has come out of their mouths? we'll know alot more at the end of today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Esteban Chavez
    MASSIVE crash.
    Astana seem to be worse affected.
    Sky, Movistar and Katusha seem to be pushing on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

That gorge with the walkway looks interesting

Esteban Chavez
    Come on Nico!!

Esteban Chavez
    Come on both Dan and Nico!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Come on Dan

There are going to be big gaps at the end of the day

Hope nico hangs in there and dan can get on

Esteban Chavez
    Nico 3rd and Dan 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

great finish well done to Nico and Dan

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

2 Irish lads in the first 4 - maybe it's time to draw a halt - no need to put everyone through another 3 weeks of hell:pac:

Chavez looks about 10 beside the 2 eurosport lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Was cheesed ITV4 or TG4 weren't showing this. It had a Nico stage written all over it. He really does love La Vuelta. Those kind of finishes definitely suit him and La Vuelta always seems to be full of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Great promising rides by the Irish lads. Interesting to see Nico allowed basically work with Quintana in that little break in the last few kms. Only saw last 10 km's or so. Sounds like it was a very big crash. With Nibali amongst those caught in it, did other big teams push on pretty hard as dastardly seems to say in earlier comment?

That lampre rider looked in a bad way

Esteban Chavez
    GetWithIt wrote: »
    Was cheesed ITV4 or TG4 weren't showing this. It had a Nico stage written all over it. He really does love La Vuelta. Those kind of finishes definitely suit him and La Vuelta always seems to be full of them.

Bit too steep for Nico in the end, perfect for Dan Martin only as usual he let the key move go up the road and ended up chasing, he looked really strong too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭mhiggy09

Cant wait for the highlights tonight sounds like it was a cracker quite literally :)

Talansky lost close to 3 minutes to Dan so not much contest for now in terms of hierarchy of the team.

Esteban Chavez
    Bit of a ridic sticky bottle here, deserves a decent sanction imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Sky, Movistar and Katusha really pushed on after the crash. It was horrible watching Tiralongo, blood all over his face, trying to catch up as they sped off.

Esteban Chavez
    Rumour Nibs is looking at a DQ and Astana are pleading for that to be mitigated to a 10 min penalty, we'll see if it has any truth later I am sure.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Inquitus wrote: »
    Rumour Nibs is looking at a DQ and Astana are pleading for that to be mitigated to a 10 min penalty, we'll see if it has any truth later I am sure.

for drafting?

Source, please.

Esteban Chavez
    godtabh wrote: »
    for drafting?

No, for the absolutely taking the píss sticky bottle that got.

Esteban Chavez
    godtabh wrote: »
    for drafting?

Watch the vid above.

Esteban Chavez
    Tiralongo's facial injuries :eek:

https://twitter.com/faustocoppi60/status/635517070684327936

Joaquin Rodriguez
    Nibali has to get DQ for that, and I think the team know it, hence the attempt at a bargain. If he doesn't go, its a disgrace really.

Just heard he has been sent home actually

Esteban Chavez
    Nibali DQ'd

Nibali DQ'd

And rightly so!

Wonder will we see something like the whinefest for Nibali's dq that greeted Porte's penalty in the Giro or will a bit more dignity prevail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭mhiggy09

nibali deserved that, although I think that's my velogames team out of it

I'm surprised. Sticky Bottle haven't reported this incident yet.

Esteban Chavez
    Eamonnator wrote: »
    I'm surprised. Sticky Bottle haven't reported this incident yet.

I mailed them the youtube clip when I posted it here, so they have no excuses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dodgydes

Anyone see what happened Meintjes? He was right up there at 2.2 km and then finished 20 minutes down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Maybe I'm blind but what did the clip show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Esteban Chavez
    Nibali was at the front of the group when the team car came up, and it accelerated away with him 'attached'.

Melodeon wrote: »
    Nibali was at the front of the group when the team car came up, and it accelerated away with him 'attached'.

I see it now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Bit of a ridic sticky bottle here, deserves a decent sanction imho.

Jaysus, I had to watch that a couple of times before I realised he was attached to the car when it sped off!

And I wouldn't be in a hurry to see Tiralongos surgeon, looks like an awful hatchet job. (I'm sure they're only temporary until he sees a specialist.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

mhiggy09 wrote: »
    nibali deserved that, although I think that's my velogames team out of it

Karma for stage 19 at TdF. 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Here is Nibali's (auto-translated........) explanation from his own Facebook page

For what happened yesterday really wonder at all the public apology, for anyone who is outraged and ashamed for me!! Many of you have never raced on bikes, others are big fans of any other pure passion, and still others have approached in recent years!! Cycling Bike is passion, love, days away from the grueling workouts with family, too many sacrifices that begin at the age of 16 years!! What happened today at the Vuelta happens in every race that does not have to prove that it is not wrong and have to remain unpunished!!! The punishment to be served the courts dictate. A year gone bad for a thousand reasons arrival at the Vuelta with the desire for redemption from a infamous season, I find myself apologizing stage the expression with the ass, aided by a mate increases hoping you didn't hurt, watch your wounds on him from the hot asphalt and looking for your bike which destroyed, panic and chaos in the Group late starting ... much ... Too much to the point that when I'm back on my bike I have a 1:20 delay, I sling the pursuit without fear, without water alone, slowly gain ground and find my teammates waiting long way, head thinking that I must go and I must stay ahead in the race for those people who look at me, for those who love me for my wife, daughter, and for those who will be wondering how I'm going to go ahead, to see that I didn't do anything until that mistake that costs me dear a 150 metres of driven, many of whom are ready to throw the mud, (came to which it is attached) none stresses that fell was attacked , is alone in pursuit against 18 runners pushing at full ahead! No gentlemen in cycling racing is racing nobody is waiting for you!! In episodes like these there are many more so after falling!! In the end all I thought to pay a hefty fine and a penalty as you do to stay out of!!! I would have also accepted a penalty ten minutes!! After all I will not be the first nor the last of this story. I apologize again for having stolen time and thanks for the support you give me or not!!! Good evening to you soon! Vince

Allowing for Italian emotion etc, he comes across as being under real stress in that team and making a decision that he knew would receive a penalty but never as servere as has happened. The sooner he gets a new team, probably the better for him.

Interesting that Team Astana also 'apologised'..... http://astanaproteam.kz/en/page/news/6899-st2-vuelta-a-espana-alhaurin-de-la-torre-caminito-del-rey-159km/ but in a "nothing to see here" sort of way. Business as usual for them........

Oleg was having a grand old pop off Martinelli and Co last night......