Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Clean Is Your House?

• 22-08-2015 5:51pm

Mine is spotless. It's tiny, so that helps.

The only things I can't stand doing are ironing and cleaning windows, but I do them anyway because I don't like dirt or untidiness. At all.

Other than that, I like a big therapeutic tidyup and scrub. I really hate the experience of walking through the door and being faced with anything less than absolute order. I will probably be single forever.

So how clean is your house? Are you more of a Monica than a Wayne or Waynetta Slob?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Not great.

You can come 'round and clean it if you like. You said you find it therapeutic. I won't even charge you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭rottie 11

Can I have your number ?

Not great.

You can come 'round and clean it if you like. You said you find it therapeutic. I won't even charge you.

See you later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Myself and the oh are hygiene freaks...but she is that but cleaner than I....And me that but tidier than her...So a good combo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Candie wrote: »
    Mine is spotless. It's tiny, so that helps.

I love tiny spotless houses... they're my favorite! :D

I tidy regularly. But probably once every two weeks, I like to get rid of stuff I'm not using - either by dumping or selling online.

It's crazy, I've been doing this for months - but my house still looks a bit cluttered. (Tidy & clean - but cluttered) lol

Menas wrote: »
    Myself and the oh are hygiene freaks...but she is that but cleaner than I....And me that but tidier than her...So a good combo.

The holy grail is a man who cleans like I do.

I'd never divorce Felix Unger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

clean enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Aye I'd be fairly fond of the oul housework alright. Usually try and do a big top to bottom scrub twice a week, floors and kitchen surfaces etc cleaned daily. Like most things, it's a hell of lot easier to do if you stay on top of it

I love tiny spotless houses... they're my favorite! :D

I tidy regularly. But probably once every two weeks, I like to get rid of stuff I'm not using - either by dumping or selling online.

It's crazy, I've been doing this for months - but my house still looks a bit cluttered. (Tidy & clean - but cluttered) lol

I'm afraid of hoarding. I'm very particular about what I buy, because I don't have room in my hobbit hole hovel for lots of things. When I'm temped to buy things, I ask myself what I'm replacing and if I can do without it. The fear is that when I get a bigger place, the unnecessary will expand to fill it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

I live in someone else's house illegally. They are a bit messy to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Feck it, it'll do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

If it's not good enough for you, the door is right there...

I was given tea in a dirty mug a while ago. The dribbles of tea from previous users were dried in, trailing down the outside. My host watched me hold it, and I pretended to sip when he lowered his eyes to look at something. But he knew, he knew. We both did. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Untidy rather than dirty. I try to keep on top of it, and get the hoover round once a week at least. Sometimes I'll take a fit and give the whole place a good scrub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Clean enough to be healthy but dirty enough to be happy.

Hey! I'm very happy in my pristine little home. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Well, in my house-share it's cleanish, as in no visible dirt on floor/tables etc. Little clutter. Not sure how clean is clean though as everyone has a level they are comfortable with.

My room is cleaned every 6 weeks or so when I have to put stuff away as I'm bad at sorting/organising things. My bed, for example, is also serving as a storage area...I sleep on half of it and the other half is covered in clothes/books/loose change and bits and pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

It's clean and I am the same that I like order and cleanliness, bit of a minimalist also, but, I can't stand cleaning. I hate it. If I was a millionaire the first thing I would hire would be a maid, and the second, a person to clean my house everyday. Or better still, I would live in a hotel so I don't have to think about such things. I bought of these a few weeks back to make cleaning easier, or maybe a little more fun but haven't used it yet, hope it does either, but both would be sweet.

My room is cleaned every 6 weeks or so when I have to put stuff away as I'm bad at sorting/organising things. My bed, for example, is also serving as a storage area...I sleep on half of it and the other half is covered in clothes/books/loose change and bits and pieces.

Ew. I'm guessing you sleep alone. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Ew. I'm guessing you sleep alone. :)

I shall stay silent and let everyone use their imaginations :eek::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

My house is currently bordering on being building site; the spare room and the main bathroom are full of rubble, because the landlord is doing work on them. On the other hand, I'm happy: we're not being charged rent, and the builders are good craic (sometimes too much crack).

Other than that, the place is clean; we're not home for most of the day, and there's no visible dirt. We're both naturally organised, and tidy up we go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I am pretty meticulous about cleaning and cleanliness. I can't stand clutter and stuff lying around the place.
    Kids are pretty good at keeping it tidy too, especially after I showed them some of the grossest episodes of the American version of Hoarders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

I try to keep on top of things but I don't like cleaning.

I never make the bed unless I've got visitors coming and have a bad habit of leaving clothes at my arse or piled in a chair. I only iron if something looks really dire.

I clean as I go when cooking so dishes never pile up. That's one thing I can't stand.

Also my hoover broke recently and it's amazing how much hair I shed in just a few days. A floorbrush just doesn't cut it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Mostly clean but...
    It permanently looks like a tip made up of cables and toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

My house is pretty spotless but it's a daily battle as I have a two year old who works through the house like a blender without it's lid on and a husband who is a chronic hoarder and thinks washing up is rinsing plates and leaving them on the draining board.

So I wait for everyone to go to bed and stay up cleaning the house, redoing the washing up, doing laundry and putting away toys (and throwing away random things my husband has snuck into the house. Otherwise my house would look like those houses you see on that extreme hoarding show). :mad:

Worth it to go to bed knowing the house is clean and will still kind of be when I get up in the morning for about ten minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

It's fairly clean; I really don't like mess and don't understand how people can live in unsanitary conditions.

I hoover every day, clean the counter-tops, sink area, bathroom etc and any tat, i.e leaflets, old papers, etc are immediately thrown out, even if nobody's read them.

I can't stand clutter and prefer the minimalist look.
    I clean my fridge once a week, do a clothes wash every two days, floors get steam-cleaned every few days and bedclothes are changed weekly.

I know a family who live like pigs.

Their floor is a minefield of dirt, wrappers, footprints, dog food and clothes, their windows look like they're made from frosted glass but it's just dirt; they regularly give the dog the leftover dinner FROM THE SAME PAN THEY COOKED IT IN; they use the floor as a bin and their cooker should be condemned.

And they're not even ashamed of the place when guests show up.

There's no excuse for dirt.

conorh91 wrote: »
    My house is currently bordering on being building site; the spare room and the main bathroom are full of rubble, because the landlord is doing work on them.

As a neatie the redecorating/renovating phases are a nightmare. All that dirt and dust everywhere...and staying on top of it is next to impossible.

But I have finally found a man who, when he works on our house, is really fussy about cleaning up after himself...or as he says 'Making sure you can live happily during the job'.
    He is deadly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Spotless. We have dogs that live inside, so the hoovering is done every day. Floors mopped quickly every day. It takes about 40 mins a day to give the place a general tidy, then on my days off, I'll do it properly, disinfect, clean windows/oven/microwave, wash down the tiles in the bathroom.

Nothing feels as good as a clean house.

I have lived in absolute squalor before, with ovens that had never been cleaned, and a bathroom that felt like you'd catch a disease in it, and it's made me uber paranoid.

Not great really, I live in a houseshare so no one has much interest in cleaning. I always tidy the kitchen after myself (and the others who never do) but the living room, stairs, hall way etc hasn't seen a hover in over a year. I keep My room tidy but I'm not the best for actual cleaning, probably hover and dust it about every 6 months (been longer than that now but I'm very lazy about it recently).

The bathroom got its annual clean there a few weeks ago.

If it was my own place (even renting alone rather than sharing) I'd be far more inclined to do regular cleaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭mark17j

it's Clean enough, but I like a spotless grease free oven, bothers me allot if it's dirty. Only thing I'm really fussy about. Don't know why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

There's places on the Gaza strip that got hit by artillery that are tidier. It's a home, full of dogs, kids, projects, hobbies, "works in progress". I'm not a neat freak, you wouldn't want to be, or you'd go nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I thought my place was clean enough until I read some of the posts on this thread. I like to keep my place tidy enough but my OH is quite messy so I have to keep on top of it. In fairness though, she's great with cleaning. I wipe down the kitchen and bathroom every few days and I give them a good clean once a week/every two weeks. The floors are hoovered and mopped once a week, though sometimes the mopping is done every two weeks. Dishwasher goes on every second day and so does the washing machine. I change the bedsheets every two weeks. The oven and the fridge are cleaned every six months. Windows....maybe once every three years when the OH decides to do it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

I'm pretty clean and tidy. My boyfriend thinks I'm a clean freak but that's because he doesn't know what a bin is for :pac:

The kitchen counters, sink etc. would be wiped and cleaned after every use (hate a dirty looking kitchen!). Floors would be swept or hoovered a few times a week, but I'm horrendously lazy about mopping! Bathroom would be fully cleaned once a week, or more if it looks visibly dirty e.g. soap scum around the sink or something. I like surfaces to be clear and clean, it adds a lot to a room i think.

Usually the first thing I do when I come in from work, or get up on a weekend is whizz around and do a general tidy while the kettle boils (the aforementioned boyfriend is a night owl too, so he can be up making a mess late at night!)
    If I'm really busy, the place always ends up untidy and cluttered looking which stresses me out, although the odd evening (shameful secret alert!:eek:)...I just revel in it, leave my dishes, don't tidy up, go to bed, and worry about it in the morning! It feels naughty...haha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

My wife is a bit of a clean and tidy freak and I'm a bit of a scruffbag so it's been a growing compromise: she's eased off ever so slightly and I've learned to contribute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Fairly messy. Mostly clutterologists live here. (But the inhabitants all revel in rude health.)

And I'm fussy about bathrooms, always cleaning those: my bathrooms sparkle and my hall always has flowers and a welcome. And kitchen surfaces are clean clean, because hygiene.

Not great really, I live in a houseshare so no one has much interest in cleaning. I always tidy the kitchen after myself (and the others who never do) but the living room, stairs, hall way etc hasn't seen a hover in over a year. I keep My room tidy but I'm not the best for actual cleaning, probably hover and dust it about every 6 months (been longer than that now but I'm very lazy about it recently).

The bathroom got its annual clean there a few weeks ago.

If it was my own place (even renting alone rather than sharing) I'd be far more inclined to do regular cleaning.

You can't be a real person. It's just not possible.

I doubt Kim and Aggie would go in there.
    Seriously nox, is there a smell in the place?

It has to smell. This thread reminds me of that debate where people said they showered every few days, and that their bedsheets only needed to be changed every month or two. It's manky

I still think people were messing in that thread when they said they only showered every few days.

Same poster, that's why I think he's winding us up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tis clean enough, have to give the bathroom a good clean this week tho, fúcking hate doing it but it has to be done!

I doubt Kim and Aggie would go in there.
    Seriously nox, is there a smell in the place?

Nox001 - putting the Nox into noxious.

Sounds like a biohazard. :)

It's the truth, the others won't do any cleaning and I won't volunteer to do it. I clean the kitchen regularly but it's probably been about 6 months actually (when people were viewing a room that was available) that the living room, hallway etc got a hover. Bedroom could do with a dusting and a hover too but I've been very lazy about doing it recently.

I was totally serious there too, it's very rarely I would shower two days in a row. Normally every second day and sometimes I might go 3 days, I stand by my opinion that people are totally shower obsessed in recent years and can't see that it's not actually necessary to have one everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

My house is very messy, but quite clean. My youngest sister leaves things lying about on all available surfaces, so it looks like a bomb would do 20k of improvements.

But, the counters, floors, curtains, windows, bathroom, bedrooms, etc are all spotless. Big clean up is done once a week, where I scrub everything in sight to within an inch of its life, and hoovering, cleaning down counters, tables, windows etc are done pretty much every day.

It's the truth, the others won't do any cleaning and I won't volunteer to do it. I clean the kitchen regularly but it's probably been about 6 months actually (when people were viewing a room that was available) that the living room, hallway etc got a hover. Bedroom could do with a dusting and a hover too but I've been very lazy about doing it recently.

I was totally serious there too, it's very rarely I would shower two days in a row. Normally every second day and sometimes I might go 3 days, I stand by my opinion that people are totally shower obsessed in recent years and can't see that it's not actually necessary to have one everyday.

This statement is making me feel itchy

You can't see it, everyone else can smell it.

Not that I believe any of this anymore.

Nox is taking inspiration from the queen a few hundred years back who bathed twice a year, whether she needed to or not.

See this is the nonsense, you don't automatically smell because you don't shower everyday. Ask anyone I work with or my gf etc they will tell you I smell just fine.

I also don't know why you don't believe me, I'm not even exaggerating never mind making things up.

See this is the nonsense, you don't automatically smell because you don't shower everyday. Ask anyone I work with or my gf etc they will tell you I smell just fine.

I also don't know why you don't believe me, I'm not even exaggerating never mind making things up.

The smell emanating from you is masked by the noxious fumes of the filth encrusted bathroom in your house. You stink if you don't wash for days.

A yearly clean. Of course, anything more is just fussy.

Not that any of it is true, nobody lives like you claim to in 2015.

My jack russell is washed more frequently than nox, and she cant even wash herself! :eek: