Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The neck of some people.

• 19-08-2015 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭

This is a bit of a rant but ye probably can see where I'm coming from.
    Some of my cows broke out one morning recently. A neighbour rang to say they were in a neighbours field. After getting them back in and repairing the Electric fence I went for a spin to check things.
    The neighbours fieldgate was wide open as is usually the case and had strong stemmy grass fit for baling. The cattle ran through it quick enough but didnt trample it too bad.
    They did however go onto a newly laid lawn in a new house farther on. Did some ploughing as it was a sloping site. Spoke with the owner and he wanted to get landscaper in to do repairs. He'd get onto him to get a rough cost. That evening he got back to me with a figure of €600. I was going to put it through my PL insurance. Final cost just in of €690. A bit high in my estimation for 2-3 days work and 4 tonne of topsoil but anyway. He has since put up his gates so fair play.
    4 days after the event another "neighbour" lands at 10pm in his BMW after seeing me passing. Starts off about damage to 6-7 shrubs and they'd have to be replaced. I couldnt picture where the shrubs were as its all manicured grass outside his gates(dyke of the road job!). I got fed up of him and told him that I'd take photos of the damage in the morning and get onto the ins co. He said it wouldnt cost much around €50 at most.
    The following morning when i went down to see I had to laugh. A few twigs cracked off a few Grissellina hedging plants outside his entrance. Probably the most vigorous and hardy plant you could set. Shrubs me hole! Fair enough my cattle did damage them but making an issue out of it is pathetic tbh. Haven't spoken to him since. Ins co. haven't heard anything back from him either. Ive shown the " damage" to a few people and they thought I was joking. This couple have fallen out with most of the people in the townland over petty sh1te and even getting the gardai involved on occasions. They're earning 150k+ between them 2 BMWs and want 50 quid off me for new hedging when a run of the hedgeclipper will sort it. The other neighbour wasnt in the slightest bit worried about his field of silage.
    I'll try to upload pic later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

id give them a belt of roundup!!!
    World is full of opportunistic arseholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,204 ✭✭✭amacca

Seems like you're a decent sort OP

On the other side of things a "Neighbour" of mine had about 20 of his stock burst into a meadow field of mine - tramped it...****ed up an electric fence I had in it (about 6 hours work in the pissing rain going round putting pigtails back in and collecting up fence wire and replacing the damaged/bent ones...he then burst the whole lot of them out through another ditch (leaving a gap about 12ft wide and and old admittedly fairly rickety fence destroyed, though it was doing the job mind - he has land the other side of mine so this was effectively a nice little shortcut for him too)....same lad hasn't said a word about it to me and its definitely his stock - left a hole where they came in too, unsurprising considering he was expecting them to survive on hedge clippings given how little grass was on it.

Say the tramping in the main was due to the cattle not being used to electric fence and running wild but still fairly disrespectful shoddy behaviour

Would have accepted even an acknowledgement it happened and an offer of a hand mending the gap........it'll be threats of a solicitor next time.

Disgusting that when a person does take responsibility for their stock without having to be dragged kicking and screaming some people take advantage - the same kind of people that would be letting them run wild if they had them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Mattie500

My house was new and the lawn was relatively new, was after putting down a lot of shrubs and a lovely beech hedge (about 300 4ft high plants) down the driveway. Neighbours cattle (40 in total) came racing in and had a grand ol' time before they were got to. Was looking at the damage when the farmer came along apologising and asking to get a price so the insurance would fix it. I looked around and while it looked awful, there wasn't much that was beyond repair. topsoil for the lawn which I had, replant the hedging that was knocked and get replacements for the broken ones,trim the shrubs and they would be grand. Told the farmer that it was fine and I fixed it myself. Sure he didn't mean it to happen and after a few weeks you wouldn't even know it was after happening. My view was that I might need help from him one of the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭patjack

Top man Mattie, thats the way lads should get on, too many people out there trying to get one up on others.

Live and let live, within reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Mattie500 wrote: »
    My house was new and the lawn was relatively new, was after putting down a lot of shrubs and a lovely beech hedge (about 300 4ft high plants) down the driveway. Neighbours cattle (40 in total) came racing in and had a grand ol' time before they were got to. Was looking at the damage when the farmer came along apologising and asking to get a price so the insurance would fix it. I looked around and while it looked awful, there wasn't much that was beyond repair. topsoil for the lawn which I had, replant the hedging that was knocked and get replacements for the broken ones,trim the shrubs and they would be grand. Told the farmer that it was fine and I fixed it myself. Sure he didn't mean it to happen and after a few weeks you wouldn't even know it was after happening. My view was that I might need help from him one of the days.

you cant beat having a neighbour like you. I have a few great neighbours. I could pick up the phone and ask for x,y,z and its no issue. But they also know if im asked for x,y,z I be the first to help them out.

I also have an absolute bxolix of a lad, but he is selling up thank god :D

Mattie500 wrote: »

fair play to you!! i once had a neighbour ring the guards cos my horse **** outside her gate (on the road) when i was riding by. not many like you about and i bet it didnt go unnoticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Tell him you had no cattle on the road. Tell him a badger or squerrel must have nibbled the shrub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

fair play to you!! i once had a neighbour ring the guards cos my horse **** outside her gate (on the road) when i was riding by. not many like you about and i bet it didnt go unnoticed.

"i bet it didnt go unnoticed"

No truer word will be spoken on this forum all month .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Had one a few years ago where a guy cycled down a hill into the T of a T junction, hit my sisters car in the tyre and back wing, while she was slowly moving through the top of the T junction. He was completely at fault.. He knocked himself out and nearly killed himself.

A few weeks later he rang the parish priest asking him to go to the sister to get a few pounds compensation for him for the trouble she caused him.... The priest politely declined the requests.

The sister should have gone after him for the panel damage to the car but it was pointless with the same fella.. he had a reputation for claiming but not a penny to his name.
    Some neck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

id give them a belt of roundup!!!
    World is full of opportunistic arseholes

I'd love to but he's a high ranking cop. If he comes back again he'll be told to take a hike. I'll put up my hands when I'm wrong but this is just taking the proverbial.
    For some reason my pic won't load. Have cropped it as much as i can down to 1.8mb but keep getting error 413 entity too large

I'd love to but he's a high ranking cop. If he comes back again he'll be told to take a hike. I'll put up my hands when I'm wrong but this is just taking the proverbial.
    For some reason my pic won't load. Have cropped it as much as i can down to 1.8mb but keep getting error 413 entity too large

a mod might help

Here's what my neighbour is making a fuss over.

lol imagine the insurance assessor calling out lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

This is a bit of a rant but ye probably can see where I'm coming from.
    Some of my cows broke out one morning recently. A neighbour rang to say they were in a neighbours field. After getting them back in and repairing the Electric fence I went for a spin to check things.
    The neighbours fieldgate was wide open as is usually the case and had strong stemmy grass fit for baling. The cattle ran through it quick enough but didnt trample it too bad.
    They did however go onto a newly laid lawn in a new house farther on. Did some ploughing as it was a sloping site. Spoke with the owner and he wanted to get landscaper in to do repairs. He'd get onto him to get a rough cost. That evening he got back to me with a figure of €600. I was going to put it through my PL insurance. Final cost just in of €690. A bit high in my estimation for 2-3 days work and 4 tonne of topsoil but anyway. He has since put up his gates so fair play.
    4 days after the event another "neighbour" lands at 10pm in his BMW after seeing me passing. Starts off about damage to 6-7 shrubs and they'd have to be replaced. I couldnt picture where the shrubs were as its all manicured grass outside his gates(dyke of the road job!). I got fed up of him and told him that I'd take photos of the damage in the morning and get onto the ins co. He said it wouldnt cost much around €50 at most.
    The following morning when i went down to see I had to laugh. A few twigs cracked off a few Grissellina hedging plants outside his entrance. Probably the most vigorous and hardy plant you could set. Shrubs me hole! Fair enough my cattle did damage them but making an issue out of it is pathetic tbh. Haven't spoken to him since. Ins co. haven't heard anything back from him either. Ive shown the " damage" to a few people and they thought I was joking. This couple have fallen out with most of the people in the townland over petty sh1te and even getting the gardai involved on occasions. They're earning 150k+ between them 2 BMWs and want 50 quid off me for new hedging when a run of the hedgeclipper will sort it. The other neighbour wasnt in the slightest bit worried about his field of silage.
    I'll try to upload pic later.

I usually just let the insurance deal with it. that's what you're paying for. The assessors don't take any rubbish and more importantly it's not your problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Your neighbour is a tosser. Tell him to jog on. Bloody shrub will be back in a week.

Had a horse in our garden about a year ago, he was a big bugger and the owner came in to get him, he pointed out the damage he had done to the lawn, a few hoof divots. Offered straight up to pay to get it fixed. I couldn't believe it. Told him it wasn't an issue, stuff grows back, I threw some compost in the holes that night and it was back to normal in a couple weeks.

Thread title is a winner OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Mattie500 wrote:

An awful lot to be said for good neighbours! Have a neighbour here and 2 or 3 times a handful of cattle might break in. No damage done and the way I see it no point in raising the blood pressure over it. To be fair he lets me bring 12 acres of silage out his passage so to be fair I'm probably doing well out of it!!!

Looking for recompense for this type of thing is just a tad silly. Its a commoner garden plant not what I'd class as a shrub. In 6 months it wont be spotted. Not conducive to neighbourliness and especially when they could overlook it and can well afford to replace it. Then again they've both fallen out with most of the people around here over petty things. He probably thought I'd throw him a 50 when he called into the yard that night. He thought wrong. I'd die first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Father always had a rule here if ever cattle got into garden. Always go to try and sort it out, but never go on the day it happens. People cool down a lot over 24 hrs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The farm here was divided back in the early 1900's between brother and sister. The first cousins never got along there was a court case over hens trespassing onto the others property. Hard to imagine this happening in the mid 1900's but there was bad blood between them for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The farm here was divided back in the early 1900's between brother and sister. The first cousins never got along there was a court case over hens trespassing onto the others property. Hard to imagine this happening in the mid 1900's but there was bad blood between them for years.

Must have been a BIG hen.

pedigree 6 wrote: »

In my fathers time he had a lot of brothers and sisters and neighbours were literally next door. I mean ourselves and neighbours milked under the one roof with a wall dividing them. Anyway if a hen wandered onto our property it never made it out again. The fox was busy in those days.

Jesus op thats a job for the special branch:D:D

Were they on a hen party.??

If it had of been a cock there could of been someone killed:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Mattie500

God almighty, that "shrub" will be grand in a matter of weeks. You are lucky the cow didn't crap alongside it.... You would be expected to pay for the extra cutting caused by the "Fertiliser".

What is it about the effin "hand-out for all you can grab" and blame culture that has developed in this country..... And I don't mean those looking to the government for assistance. I sure hope that individual never has any real problem to deal with if he feels aggrieved with such a trivial matter.... Who does he expect to pay when a slug eats his cabbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

First snow.. They'll be straight over for tugs! (not sexual ones) :)

mf240 wrote: »
    Jesus op thats a job for the special branch:D:D
    Bit of a joke in fairness.
    In all seriousness thank god they have electric gates and they were closed. If my cattle got into their garden I'd definitely be up sh1t creek. There'd be one hell of a claim with the insurance company and the abuse would be flying.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I've seen wind do more damage. He's some w4nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Couple of years ago I was moving cattle and let them into some land late in evening.Was big Char bull and a few cows and calves.Unbeknownst to me the oul lad had left a gate at far end of land open previous day.Following morning I get a 7am phonecall from a farming neighbour that our bull etc are out on road!....You never saw a man get dressed quicker!.....came across them in a newly moved into the area couples manicured lawn.TG the weather was very dry and they only left a few hoof prints on the lawn.The lady of couple was out in her nightie shooing the cows and (quiet) bull away from her car.She refused to listen when I offered to repair the lawn,said her hubbie would do it.I think she was more worried at fact I had seen her in the nightie than the damage on the lawn:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Was moving heifers the spring of the year up the road and passed this place that has two triangles of grass outside either side of drive outside the gates and walls the cattle walkes on it a little bit as they passed and your man camee out spittong fire and gave us a right going over and told us he was going to hit us with a big bill.went away and dida bit of homework and went back to him and told him that insurance company says that any ground outside the walls and gate is considered part of the public throughfare and no need to fix it.also those triangles according to the land.ie are outside his site boundry and are part of the road and he dosent even own them.finally I told him that if someone hits the stones that he has put out to keep trafficoff his grass and damages a tyre he is responsible. That quitened him .we have a big problem in the area lately with gates being open and cattle left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

I have a couple of stories one about a money grabbing miserable little man and 2 lovely couples. But they are simular stories to previous posts.
    Anyways there is only one word to sum up these situations KARMA.
    The nasty money grabbing people will need help someday and nobody will oblige them.
    The good people who were nice about the situations will need help and there will be plenty of people banging on their door to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

keep going wrote: »
    Was moving heifers the spring of the year up the road and passed this place that has two triangles of grass outside either side of drive outside the gates and walls the cattle walkes on it a little bit as they passed and your man camee out spittong fire and gave us a right going over and told us he was going to hit us with a big bill.went away and dida bit of homework and went back to him and told him that insurance company says that any ground outside the walls and gate is considered part of the public throughfare and no need to fix it.also those triangles according to the land.ie are outside his site boundry and are part of the road and he dosent even own them.finally I told him that if someone hits the stones that he has put out to keep trafficoff his grass and damages a tyre he is responsible. That quitened him .we have a big problem in the area lately with gates being open and cattle left out.

Padlock and hidden camera......

keep going wrote: »

Its amazing the amount of time and effort some people will spend on ground outside their own gate. Grass shrubs stones etc. I know of one lad who even put up road kerbs outside his grass right along the edge of the tarmac on a steep byroad. A lot of the time they don't have a claim on the ground they're maintaining.
    The crowd Im dealing with used to put small stones along the grass verge to keep cars from pulling in up on the grass. At night if i was coming home late Id clip them with the jeep or drive over them with the tractor. Used to get a crack out of seeing his wife the following day replacing them only fo me to send them flying again that night!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 gleNine

They're earning 150k+ between them 2 BMWs and want 50 quid off me for new hedging

I think your post makes some good points... but it lost credibility when you included this.
    How is this relevant?

gleNine wrote: »
    I think your post makes some good points... but it lost credibility when you included this.
    How is this relevant?

They're not short of cash both working in state jobs both driving modern cars with a 4x4 bought for the snow no kids a house that they had on the market last year with an asking price of nearly 600k but stopped due to a planning issue. And the Fxxxer lands at my door looking for a quick 50 over a few broken twigs on a glorified weed that he sat on the dyke of the road. I'd die before I'd do something like that. A small bit of cop on is what is needed. Nothing more. They're just taking advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Its amazing the amount of time and effort some people will spend on ground outside their own gate. Grass shrubs stones etc. I know of one lad who even put up road kerbs outside his grass right along the edge of the tarmac on a steep byroad. A lot of the time they don't have a claim on the ground they're maintaining.
    The crowd Im dealing with used to put small stones along the grass verge to keep cars from pulling in up on the grass. At night if i was coming home late Id clip them with the jeep or drive over them with the tractor. Used to get a crack out of seeing his wife the following day replacing them only fo me to send them flying again that night!!!

Why would you do that and then complain about bad neighbours?

The road is narrow enough without them putting more obstacles in the way. I wonder if i got a puncture could i call to his door looking for a quick 50 seeing as he put the damned stones there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Bit ironic to say the least.
    Was reading this thread last night and enjoying it have to say.
    Looked out the window this morning to check what sort of day it was and 20 bullocks 500 to 600 kg in the front lawn.
    Clean **** made of the place !
    Mixture of the fathers and a few of my own. Wonder could I hit him for 75% of the damage done ðŸ˜

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Bit ironic to say the least.
    Was reading this thread last night and enjoying it have to say.
    Looked out the window this morning to check what sort of day it was and 20 bullocks 500 to 600 kg in the front lawn.
    Clean **** made of the place !
    Mixture of the fathers and a few of my own. Wonder could I hit him for 75% of the damage done ðŸ˜

Don't worry there's people out there that wouldn't think twice about doing it. Doesn't do their reputation much good in the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭patjack

Do you think earning 150K and the stones constantly being moved they might have installed cctcv or a trail cam to catch the culprit and know its you. Hence the visit for the €50 re: the "shrub".

We had a problem with gates being opened and cattle let out on road. We had an idea who it was but couldn't prove it. Anyway my neighbour tells this guy that my father is waiting in the ditch at nightime with a loaded shotgun. Stopped after that. However we still talk to this man and salute him on the road, you should be the bigger man and be nice to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ya bastard :D

patjack wrote: »
    Do you think earning 150K and the stones constantly being moved they might have installed cctcv or a trail cam to catch the culprit and know its you. Hence the visit for the €50 re: the "shrub".

Na if that was the case the local seargent would be drafted in. As he has done on 2 occasions. Seargent laughs and tells the locals to take no notice. They're just 2 awkward people who like to throw their weight around and as a result have no one who'll go near them. I could spin loads more stories about them but im leaving it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Should have had a No Eggsit sign :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

Bought land about 10 years ago that needed a good bit of cleaning up. A lad from Dublin had bought the old farmhouse and a paddock that was for sale with the land, anyway he planted a lovely Leylandii hedge on the bounds. So the spring came and we started cleaning up the 4 or 5 years of scutch grass so naturally burnt it off with roundup and lit a match to it. Well the whole hedge went up in one huge blaze, anyone that has leylandiis, would know how quick the burn. All that was left were a few trigs.
    So your man comes out going balistic over the hedge which to be fair we were fairly sorry about at the time and told him to see how the go.
    Well they came back better then ever and up until the storm last year they were standin over 20 feet. During the storm about half them fell into his paddock and they have lay there ever since.

We had a problem with gates being opened and cattle let out on road. We had an idea who it was but couldn't prove it. Anyway my neighbour tells this guy that my father is waiting in the ditch at nightime with a loaded shotgun. Stopped after that. However we still talk to this man and salute him on the road, you should be the bigger man and be nice to them.

Thats all very well but when they make it blatantly obvious that they avoid you what do you do?
    When they moved in here they were nice as pie to everyone. I was often invited in for grub and i accepted. Used to meet and talk to them on the road. Then they fell out with a neighbouring family and i can only assume since i was friendly with the family they then started to shun me. Wife will turn her back to me if i pass her on the road now. Pathetic behaviour tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

If your cattle go onto someone's lawn, why don't ye allow the insurance company deal with it.

If someone's property is damaged through your negligence wouldn't be reasonable to assume you should reinstate.

Our cows got into my neighbours lawn after they had left mine and by Jesus did some damage. I rang ins company and all was sorted apart from my lawn. Relations perfect with neighbour ever since, well sorta! 20 of his cattle came into my new lawn that was laid in Sept and this was Feb. they went to the mabs in it and not one word from him.

I was horsing and am unfortunately very proud of my garden. He on the other hand wouldn't consider it as highly as I so probably thought it'd be ok. In any event it was ok after I put compost in the holes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

They're not short of cash both working in state jobs both driving modern cars with a 4x4 bought for the snow no kids a house that they had on the market last year with an asking price of nearly 600k but stopped due to a planning issue. And the Fxxxer lands at my door looking for a quick 50 over a few broken twigs on a glorified weed that he sat on the dyke of the road. I'd die before I'd do something like that. A small bit of cop on is what is needed. Nothing more. They're just taking advantage.

What has no kids got to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭White Clover

Reading this thread reminds me of an old saying around these parts which is so true, ''good fences make good neighbours''

If your cattle go onto someone's lawn, why don't ye allow the insurance company deal with it.

If someone's property is damaged through your negligence wouldn't be reasonable to assume you should reinstate.

They are dealing with it and i have no problem whatsoever with it. My cattle did damage no doubt about it. My thread came about from this so called neighbour calling and making a fuss over a few broken twigs on a grissellina hedge and looking for 50quid when any sane individual wouldn't give a flying fup about it. If the ins co pay for it fair enough. If not and he comes back he'll be told to cop himself on. He was actually talking about replacing the whole lot at one stage.
    Look at the photo again lads. In all honesty its a storm in a teacup. The lad whose lawn was destroyed was grand about it. Lawn repaired and has since put up a pair of entrance gates so fair dues to him.