Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I love my life!

• 18-08-2015 10:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

I have most of my turf home tonight, bit of a handling there on the last load, wheel bearing gone on the trailer, I was burning my way down the road.

But sure fcuk it, it's going to pish tomorrow so now I'm enjoying my own floury new spuds, my new flavoury garden peas, and Aldi's finest pork loin chops. And beer.

Why do you love your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

I don't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

I don't, it's sh!t...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I have most of my turf home tonight, bit of a handling there on the last load, wheel bearing gone on the trailer, I was burning my way down the road.

But sure fcuk it, it's going to pish tomorrow so now I'm enjoying my own floury new spuds, my new flavoury garden peas, and Aldi's finest pork loin chops. And beer.

Is it not Mondays you usually go on the pish and post nonsense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Stheno wrote: »
    Is it not Mondays you usually go on the pish and post nonsense?

Nonsense? I take it you don't cut turf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

Nice going OP, sounds like you are comfortable and happy.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Nonsense? I take it you don't cut turf?

I did as a child slave.

Many were the attempt to find a bog hole to end the misery :D

I did as a child slave.

Many were the attempt to find a bog hole to end the misery :D

Ah you were only young then, you wouldn't understand. To see the back wall of a shed almost busting at the foundation with dry black turf. . . better than sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

We had the same dinner as you OP but it all came from Dunnes. Everyone I love is healthy so I'm happy Thank God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Sounds like a replay of "The Quite Man".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

How much have you had to drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

I grew spuds this year & they'e brill. The fookin peas never took off though.

No bog to cut turf from.(more's the pity)

I have a can beside me though, so all good!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

Fair play to ye :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I love my life to ...

I grew spuds this year & they'e brill. The fookin peas never took off though.

No bog to cut turf from.(more's the pity)

I have a can beside me though, so all good!
    Aye for the bad year that was in it, my spuds are the best I've ever grown, wee bit small of themselve alright, but damn tasty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

So what you're saying is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Aye for the bad year that was in it, my spuds are the best I've ever grown, wee bit small of themselve alright, but damn tasty!

Spuds were first earlies (duke of something....)

Peas were Rondos. Thinking of using a different breed next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

What are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Impossible to get a tasty spud.
    Spent a fiver for a kilo of new potatoes the other day,turned out to be balls of slimey mess.
    The foreign ones seem the best.Even then it's hit and miss.

Spuds were first earlies (duke of something....)

Mine are Home Guards, dunno what my peas are to be honest, they are green and small and I shelled a bastard amount of them yesterday! :D

Ah you were only young then, you wouldn't understand. To see the back wall of a shed almost busting at the foundation with dry black turf. . . better than sex.

Actually my neighbours had a massive big shed and a bank at the back, I was prone to hiding once the first cut was blocking the view of the bank :D to avoid the bog misery
    How much have you had to drink?

Ah see now, usually tbm is having his Friday on a Monday, so he regales us then. Last week we were treated to the horrifying news that he considers drinking Tennants as the height of sophistication.

So given he's a day late, he's lined his stomach with a good dinner, and it's late, I'd say he's well past the twelve pint mark.

Just gettin started like.

kneemos wrote: »
    Impossible to get a tasty spud.
    Spent a fiver for a kilo of new potatoes the other day,turned out to be balls of slimey mess.
    The foreign ones seem the best.Even then it's hit and miss.

You're not getting mine kneemos. No siree Bob!

Oh and to answer the question, if I don't get a week off work soon I'm gonna go postal:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

To see the back wall of a shed almost busting at the foundation with dry black turf. . . better than sex.

I love my life because I've never had used the words turf and better than sex in same sentence..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

Cant beat the satisfaction of having a shed full of turf. As the OP said better than sex. Im not there yet have only half of the turf home. Sometimes its the simple things in life that make it all worthwhile.

mg1982 wrote: »
    Cant beat the satisfaction of having a shed full of turf. As the OP said better than sex. Im not there yet have only half of the turf home. Sometimes its the simple things in life that make it all worthwhile.

Are ye all in exempted areas from the turf cutting ban or just being culchie rebels?

I'm exempt and my turbary rights are in my deeds :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

No bans here yet so its all legal.

I'm exempt and my turbary rights are in my deeds :)
    mg1982 wrote: »
    No bans here yet so its all legal.

I thought the ban was all country until someone put me right, no maliciousness meant in the question, as I don't know what bits of the country are exempt :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

I quite liked the ol' turf, until it set my chimney on fire. Now I don't use the fire at all. Fireman said it leaves an oily residue on the inside of the chimney and so needs to be swept 3 times per year. First I'd heard of it. Still, I used to like the smell of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

'raised bogs' isnt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭umop apisdn

Get a job you scrounger

Eh, I believe he may have one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭umop apisdn

Then he should get a real one

Ah right, and what do you suggest?

There's always somebody with no turf that throws a spanner in the works. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I love turf... I dont miss the midges and cleggs though!

you selling any?

Na, nor my spuds either. But you're welcome to either in my house any time. :)

Well now, I generally love what I do and have a happy and fulfilling life.

However, I'm coming to the last half of my third year in a masters, so a thesis is looming, and I haven't been able to take time off work for about 8 months for more than a day or two (self employed contractor) so I'm dead tired.

On a normal day, I'd say I have a career I genuinely enjoy, and a good work life balance, but all of the above plus some other issues are currently making my life a bit of a slog :)

|At least there is no turf footing involved tho :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

dry black turf. . . better than sex.

You're doing it wrong :D

Maybe I am, but I've never had a shag that could run fifteen radiators yet!

15 radiators???? Are you in one of those mansions in the likes of the drive from Ramelton to Letterkenny?

Actually posting that has just reminded me I'm due to be exiled for a week in Letterkenny soon :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

Awww. Thought this could be a thread where I could boast about my amazing life and my boyfriends huge wily. Instead an existential discussion about turf is taking place :(

Tigger99 wrote: »
    Awww. Thought this could be a thread where I could boast about my amazing life and my boyfriends huge wily. Instead an existential discussion about turf is taking place :(

Now despite my hatred of the oul footing and all that shoite, there's nothing like a lavender and eucalyptus scented turf fire :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

There is nothing better than a dinner served with potatoes that you planted yourself.

Ah no. See you're too entrenched in that oual rural life.

Nothing better than a nice roast type dinner, with decent potatoes, some roast veg, and a roaring fire, throwing out the odd waft of essential oils.

Add in a few candles, and you'd be quids in.

You've been alone too long.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

Ah jesus, why in the name of god would you have smelly yokes in a turf fire? Would run the smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I'm not familiar with this turf talk....but I'm loving life tonight :)

30 days til my due date, going out with friends on Saturday, madly in love with my husband, first born is starting school in 2 weeks and the house is coming along nicely!

Now if only I could have this baby early, I'd be even happier!

Tigger99 wrote: »
    Ah jesus, why in the name of god would you have smelly yokes in a turf fire? Would run the smell.

Well I suffer a lot from sinusitis so eucalytpus and lavender essential oil make the air around me easier to breathe, it's the fire, or oil burners or whatever, just nice to combine it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 DetroitSpinR

Do you rent a room?

I play classical guitar, have enough cash to pay my way and drink like a fish.....but only beer (I'll bring my own).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Spuds were first earlies (duke of something....) Duke Of Earl:

Ronda? Help!