Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Few marks on car"

• 18-08-2015 2:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭

I hate seeing car ads saying stupid things like "Clean car inside and out, a few marks which is expected for the year but nothing major."

I dont expect there to be a few marks on car because of it age. Its more likely down to piss poor driving!

Anything else ye guys read in ads that are just stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

Stone chips etc are nothing to do with bad driving. I expect to see small marks, chips etc on cars of a certain age.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

"Genuine reason for selling as I'm due to emigrate.....might swap for a diesel "

"No dreamers or test pilots" - because I've always been dying to get behind the wheel of a 2004 1.9tdi Audi A4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

brembo26 wrote: »
    I hate seeing car ads saying stupid things like "Clean car inside and out, a few marks which is expected for the year but nothing major."

I dont expect there to be a few marks on car because of it age. Its more likely down to piss poor driving!

Don't be ridiculous, older cars will tend to have the odd stone chip and car park scratch, just because there's the odd mark doesn't mean it has anything to do with driving. If there's more serious marks /dents then they shouldn't have used the description in fairness, but most people who write that mean it as it should be taken, and not trying to mislead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

If I saw "a few marks which is expected for the year" I would be expecting things like the odd stone-chip or dents from other peoples car doors, not major damage from accidents or bad driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Think you need to lower your expectations.

After a few years it's inevitable that there will be some marks on a car, and a few small dents as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

rizzodun wrote: »
    Don't be ridiculous, older cars will tend to have the odd stone chip and car park scratch, just because there's the odd mark doesn't mean it has anything to do with driving. If there's more serious marks /dents then they shouldn't have used the description in fairness, but most people who write that mean it as it should be taken, and not trying to mislead.

Ya beat me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

"No offers", meaning "I've decided what this heap of furnace-slag and plastic is worth and everyone else can bugger off!" Yeah. Keep it, sham! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

xabi wrote: »
    Stone chips etc are nothing to do with bad driving. I expect to see small marks, chips etc on cars of a certain age.

Minor stone chips fair enough but I've seen pictures of dents and scratches on doors and wings which are certainly not down to the age of the car no matter how old it is :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

'Very clean car'

We washed the car but the gearbox will probably fall out.

Also "not pushed on selling, just testing the waters"

"Miser on juice"

"Lady driver" on a slammed 1993 Honda civic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

'Very clean car'

We washed the car but the gearbox will probably fall out.

"Fully refurbished interior" is one I saw once. (oh, reeeeeeallly....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

"Lady driver since new"

"Call JOHN"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭timaru89

"Interior as new" on a 15 year old car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Just about to post that one. It drives me fecking mad.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

"Miser on juice"

I know plenty of females who drive mid 90's Honda Civics.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

My biggest hate is "not pushed on selling"

So tell me you stupid fcuktard, why did you spend money to advertise your car if you're not pushed on selling it???

L@@K

*******PASSAT********

**KITTED**

G@LF

and the likes :mad:

"booked in for test will fly through"

barney 20v wrote: »
    I know plenty of females who drive mid 90's Honda Civics.....

I wouldnt class them as your usual "lady driver", I.E 40 year old accountant from ballsbridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

"booked in for test will fly through"

fly tru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,586 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Some twat in a car park smacks his door of yours - poor driving?

Pull in on a narrow country lane when meeting a car and a bush leaves a few scrapes - poor driving?

Stone chip - poor driving?

"Reduced for this weekend only"

on a private sale 15 year old hatchback.

love when they say brand new tyres and then take a picture of them and they turn out to be triangle's or sunny's :D

That puts me right off!

I wouldnt class them as your usual "lady driver", I.E 40 year old accountant from ballsbridge.

So an average lady driver is a 40 year old professional person from a suburb of Dublin according to you?
    I'd class young females driving small hatchbacks as average...

barney 20v wrote: »
    So an average lady driver is a 40 year old professional person from a suburb of Dublin according to you?
    I'd class young females driving small hatchbacks as average...
    If I was buying a car from a "lady driver" I'd expect a stock yaris or similar if I was looking at a hatchback.

Not a slammed and wrapped 1993 Honda civic with blacked out Windows and an exhaust that rattles doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

and on the other hand, buyers who travel to look at a €5000 car with €3000 'in their pocket'

can you not read?

If I was buying a car from a "lady driver" I'd expect a stock yaris or similar if I was looking at a hatchback.

Not a slammed and wrappes 1993 Honda civic with blacked out Windows and an exhaust that rattles doors.[/QUOTE

You never mentioned anything about "blacked out windows" or "exhaust that rattles doors" in your previous post. also what is wrappes ???

anyway back to the OP... you have an unrealistic conception of the realistic condition of used cars and /or the causes of marks to bodywork etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

"Clean car inside and out, a few marks which is expected for the year but nothing major."

I'd call this being honest, at least you don't go looking at something ''mint'' that's banged up.

The best line on done deal is ''don't be calling round here talkin S**** at me''. That boils my blood, who would want to deal with someone like that !!

but the done deal clown are off to better places, Car raffles Ireland is the new thing, they sell 45 raffle ticket @ 150E each for a car that's worth half that, look it up on facebook,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Slight damage to wing, roof, door etc but no actual picture of the damage.

M

miller_63 wrote: »
    and on the other hand, buyers who travel to look at a €5000 car with €3000 'in their pocket'

can you not read?

These are my favourite people to disappoint, I get pleasure in turning down their insufficient but large block of cash in the hand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

My pet hate is "first to see will buy"

Ginit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

My pet hate is "first to see will buy"

Ginit

Yeah as if there's a thousand people running to get the "BARGIN"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

and blah blah blah....lovely......clean.......bargain........just serviced....sail (like a yacht) thru NCT .....needs slight repair (head gasket) .......couldn't be bothered driving it out of my cattleshed/manky driveway/ illegally parked spot/sandwiched between 5 other private sale cars/.

out of focus shots, with dogs around the place, wheelie bins, ....
    Shots taken at the car wash with suds still on the ground :eek:

manky interiors, stuff on seats, people on seats, fluffy dice,

Dirty Dirty bodywork, alloys (esp.)

No mention of :
    number of owners
    Mileage
    Service history/documentation/receipts
    Reason for selling :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

A few dents on an older car is to be expected, especially if all the parking spaces in the local shopping centre involve cars parked parallel to one another so you're going to get people who park too close to you and then fling the door open because they're too lazy or stupid to do it carefully.

Well then surely you should be grateful when people state in the ad that there are dents on the car, so you can simply avoid them? If you want an immaculate secondhand car, go to a main dealer and pay their prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

List of features copied and pasted from a dealer website, with features that have been standard for the past 20 years - CD player, ABS, traction control, electric windows.

Power steering anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

Mint pre-accidental condition :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Very reliable never even needed a service :D

M

In great condition, needs engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Pov06 wrote: »
    "Lady driver since new"

"Call JOHN"

This^^^^

Lady driver to me means it hasn't been serviced on time....ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

"Miser on juice"

I only ever actually saw "Miser on juice" for the first time today. I thought it was hilarious.
    Worst of the lot is,
    "Test is out but it will fly through"
    If that's the case, then put it through the test yourself and increase the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

"If it doesn't sell by this weekend, I'm keeping it"

Oh no, please dont keep it, sell it or I'll be very upset!

Or another retarded one-

"Easy on juice, tenner does me all week"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

I hate the word 'mint'...

And first to see will buy...both of these were on an add for a passat a friend wanted to buy 2 weeks ago. I went with him, we were the first to see it. ....We didn't buy.

Manky interior, stains all over back seats, grass and leaves in the boot. And the engine was knocking slightly, only audible with the oil cap off, but ran a mile.

And he didn't want time wasters either...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I wouldn't think that at all. Quite the opposite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

coylemj wrote: »
    List of features copied and pasted from a dealer website, with features that have been standard for the past 20 years - CD player, ABS, traction control, electric windows.

Power steering anyone?

Well to be fair now, some of Irelands most popular cars did not have ABS as standard until 10 years ago and some of them probably still have keep fit windows in the back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

This^^^^

Don't tar us all with the same brush :P

M

ONE BAN GARDA OWNER FROM NEW, MINDED LIKE A BABY IN EXCELLENT CONDITION INSIDE AND OUT..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-3-series-316i-1-6-48-per-week-nct/10070816?offset=4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Everyone needs to buy a car of Mike. Great craic altogether so it is.

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna-renault-laguna-2-privile/9460870

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Everyone needs to buy a car of Mike. Great craic altogether so it is.

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna-renault-laguna-2-privile/9460870

Isn't that a top up oil warning on the picture of the odometer that alone says a lot :pac: I mean how is it a privalege to drive a 9 year old low powered petrol Laguna it's not exactly on top many peoples wish list of cars to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

Any ad that says L@@K is a sure loser. No test pilots/ tire kickers etc also pure bollocks. You can tell a genuine ad pretty easy enough, the rest are not worth 1 minute of your time let alone any effort to actually view it.

If a car had noticeable damage I would expect it to be mentioned in the ad, ie - a ding or mark. Anything else like the odd scratch or whatnot is par for the course on most second hand cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG