Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon, Half & 10k

• 18-08-2015 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭

Don't think there's a thread for this yet

Just about to register for the half. Saw that you can register through Precision Timing or Active Networks. What's the difference? Other than €1.50 transaction fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Hopefully they revert back to the 2013 hilly course for the half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

I didn't know there were different ways of registering. Could I see the links?

I was going to reg here: https://endurancecui.active.com/event-reg/select-race?e=11084052&int=29-110-2

The course: I was speaking to the organisers. It was unconfirmed when I asked in June, but I've messaged them again asking has there been an update. Will let you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Here's the link for precision timing. They've taken it down from the Clonakilty website and looks as though the reg on the website is closed. Maybe they sold all of their registrations

http://registration.precisiontiming.co.uk/events/preview?id=40&EventNAme=Clonakilty_Waterfront_Marathon_VI_2015

Guess that's my question answered anyway. Active networks it is then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Just signed up there now myself. Birthday weekend in Clonakilty - bring it on!

They told me they'll be finalizing the route by the end of this week all going well and will release more details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Sparkles2012

The new routes for this year are on the facebook page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭netmann

Thinking of doing this as a post DCM race. Anyone recommend it from previous experience? Website, new routes, medal and tops all look great but a fair trek from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Fiftyplus

Did Clonakilty in 2013 but gave it a miss last year when they changed the course. This year's course looks pretty much like the original, except the start and finish being at the Quality Hotel. Great course, a good bit of it along the coast, stiff enough (good bit more than Dublin) and good atmosphere around the town. Great place for a weekend, if you can get a bed! I plan on doing it after DCM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭raddo

Just registered for the half, looking forward to it already!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

I'm in too. Time to ramp up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭netmann

I've registered for the half.

Is this the new route or last year's route?

http://runclon.ie/full-marathon/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Fiftyplus

Not last year's route, thankfully. More like the old route, except the start/finish is at the Quality Hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭sibeen99

Just entered the full. It'll be my first marathon. #whathaveidone?! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Only a couple of days now, how's everyone fixed?

Supposed to be doing the half but left calf/ankle area hasn't been great since DCM. Pain is on the inside of my leg just above the ankle. Feels like it's the bone that's sore so am worried that it may be a stress fracture. I'm starting my next training cycle on the 12th for Rotterdam so might rest it until then. Will make a call on the day. Wasn't planning on racing it anyway. My OH is doing the 10k so might just cheer him on and enjoy the weekend away

Hopefully the weather will improve! It's some crappy day in Limerick today!

This is gonna be a wash out with 50mph gusts

Just the way I like it

Worryingly feel a bit of a flu coming on which is not good. I'll still run the marathon but may not enjoy it as much if symptoms persevere.

I'm hoping the weather eases up just a little. I'll take the rain if the wind stays away.

sibeen99 wrote: »
    I'm hoping the weather eases up just a little. I'll take the rain if the wind stays away.

Not if its blowing up your arse :)

Perhaps :)
    I'll just wait and see and hope so....

Any chance of this being due to the weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭TopOfTheHill

Still on, as of this afternoon ...

https://www.facebook.com/runclon/

Taken from their Facebook page..
    Race update,

Met Eireann has issued a orange rain and yellow wind warning for the WHOLE of Cork County. As of now the race is still GOING AHEAD as we have NOT been advised this will affect us directly in West Cork

Miles and Smiles travel safe The Clon Crew

Race is cancelled lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Race is cancelled lads

Nothing yet on Facebook or email, where did you get this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Triangla wrote: »

It's on the MCI FB page

Triangla wrote: »

I'm at the registration in the hotel

Disappointed that it's cancelled but the weather is ferocious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

I'm at the registration in the hotel

Cheers, crazy cancelling the morning of. I'm not that far away but still a pain in the backside to get there only to find out it's been cancelled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Should have been cancelled yesterday like Waterford. Clonakilty was singled out in some of the weather reports as being particularly bad, bad form on the organisers part.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

tang1 wrote: »
    Should have been cancelled yesterday like Waterford. Clonakilty was singled out in some of the weather reports as being particularly bad, bad form on the organisers part.

Commercial race...

Drove back the city. Hotel won't refund the cost of the room now either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Shane12

No Surprise this was cancelled I turned around when I got to Bandon, the most astonishing thing is that the authorities did not force them to cancel it yesterday. One would have to wonder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

Inevitable news, really unfair on paying customers.

Does anyone mind telling me how the road from Limerick to Cork is? And is cork city flooded. Have to go in that direction today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Having been stung by similar before the best rule of thumb is to only do races where there is an athletics club involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You called it yesterday Rom, exactly as it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

People have to stop supporting these races. Haven't there been many problems and complaints with Clon before?

Rom did indeed call it. Tough luck on Tomas and others like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭podgec10

I think the majority of the local running club don't support this race. It's a pity that it's not their race. They seem to be a good club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

A pretty shambolic showing from the Clon crew it has to be said. Looking at their FB page they announced on Friday afternoon that the race was definitely going ahead (how could they tell?) They then proceeded to ignore all the inquiries asking for an update before this morning posting at 8am (1 hour before the start) that the race had been called off at 6:45am!! No mention of dates or refunds, nothing
    Contrast that with Waterford AC who have already a refund, transfer and reregistration policy along with a new date since yesterday. It's like night and day and it's easy to see who is getting the good will.

Even the likes of parkrun events puts these commercial runs to shame. We had two posts up yesterday evening urging potential runners to keep an eye on the FB page this morning before heading to the run. Our RD got up early to check the course and posted at 7:30am (2 hours before the off) to confirm the run was going ahead. We got a total of 37 runners all for a fee of €0 while these jokers took in tens of thousands of Euros and haven't done a tap. I really hope this puts people off these kind of races in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

I know a sub 2:40 guy that got a job as a pacer here and all he was offered was free race entry. For a for profit event to offer that is all I needed to know. I hope the race organiser lost a packet.

rom wrote: »
    I know a sub 2:40 guy that got a job as a pacer here and all he was offered was free race entry. For a for profit event to offer that is all I needed to know. I hope the race organiser lost a packet.

They haven't even offered any refunds as of yet so they still hold all the money.
    There are no details of when there might be a rearranged event, no answers to anyone's questions since the event cancellation this morning.
    There are however plenty of FB pictures of the organisers socialising with the MCI crowd and at least they are 'liking' posts on their page defending their event so it's good to see they are still alive I guess ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Rick Ford

menoscemo wrote: »
    They haven't even offered any refunds as of yet so they still hold all the money.
    There are no details of when there might be a rearranged event, no answers to anyone's questions since the event cancellation this morning.
    There are however plenty of FB pictures of the organisers socialising with the MCI crowd and at least they are 'liking' posts on their page defending their event so it's good to see they are still alive I guess ;)
    Plenty of miles and smiles:)...,a fair few with no miles,no smiles and no refund...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭trailrunner

Two of my team mates travelled 3.5 hours drive to this to be told while getting out of the car that it was cancelled, that's a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm.!!! These people should never be let hold a race ever again !!!

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I went out and ran a good bit of the course yesterday, and for what its worth, it was the right call. Very tough going and you couldn't have marshals out in that. People would have got it done, but noone would have had a good day.

The issue I have is with communication. The decision was made far too late, and cost people money in hotel stays and travel. All facebook queries went unanswered. Thats not good enough. Since the cancellation Ive had one text from them that told me nothing. Again not good enough.

I wont be going back for a rescheduled run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Two of my team mates travelled 3.5 hours drive to this to be told while getting out of the car that it was cancelled, that's a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm.!!! These people should never be let hold a race ever again !!!

Anyone who makes a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm needs their head examined.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

They've put this up on their Facebook page now. No mention of refund. I'm shocked....

https://www.facebook.com/runclon/posts/919199554783427?fref=nf
    OFFICIAL STATEMENT REGARDING CANCELLATION OF CLONAKILTY WATERFRONT MARATHON VI
    The organisers of the Clonakility Waterfront Marathon would like to express our sincere disappointment at the cancellation of the Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon VI which was scheduled to take place on 5th December 2015.
    Every conceivable attempt was made in order to stage the event as planned. After course inspection and consultation with An Garda Siochana throughout Friday night 4th/5th December, the event was set to commence as planned at 9am on Saturday 5th December.
    Unfortunately, during the final course inspection with An Garda Siochana at 6:45am on race morning, the decision to cancel the event was regrettably taken on health & safety grounds due to flooding on several parts of the race course. In these instances, the well-being of all participants taking part and our support crew must be our first priority.
    Several dates are currently under consideration regarding the rescheduling of the event and a final decision will be taken shortly. Every entrant will then be contacted regarding that course of action. We acknowledge and appreciate all messages of frustration and support after the cancellation of the event and assure you that the organisation crew are as frustrated, after months of preparation.
    The Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon crew wish to thank our race headquarters the Quality Hotel, for their support in event preparation and welcome shown to everyone on race weekend. We also thank An Garda Siochana, the Irish Red Cross, Clonakilty Town and County Council, the people of Clonakilty and surrounding area, the Clonakilty Rugby Club for offer of the use of their facilities, all our marshals & Clon Crew and above all our runners, walkers and wheelchair participants for your support and dedication shown towards our event.
    PLEASE KEEP YOUR RACE NUMBER FOR THE RESCHEDULED EVENT.
    Yours Sincerely,
    Bob Hilliard and all the Clon Crew.

ger664 wrote: »
    Anyone who makes a 7 hour round trip in a code red storm needs their head examined.

Which is surely why the race should have been cancelled on Friday or at the very least a refund should have been publicly promised to people who were not willing to travel in those conditions.

Speaking of refunds, the Clon Crew have released a new statement just now and not one reference is made to anyone getting their money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Rick Ford

They've put this up on their Facebook page now. No mention of refund. I'm shocked....

https://www.facebook.com/runclon/posts/919199554783427?fref=nf
    No refund? Holy Jebus...though love all "if u were a true runner u understand ","nobody died"posts .....just recalled a race a couple of years ago that was cancelled,think it may of been a r.n.l.i. 10k in marley .They actually rang every entrant on the friday/sat to tell them it was cancelled.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

They had the ability to text everyone but didnt use it to advise of the cancellation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

It seems they rallied the troops before making the "rescheduling" announcement. One person made a well argued complaint and was told to take up table tennis instead by a guy who lives in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Which is surely why the race should have been cancelled on Friday or at the very least a refund should have been publicly promised to people who were not willing to travel in those conditions.

I 100% agree that the race should have been called off early on Friday.

We are talking about €60, is not worth risking life and limp for. Even if the race went ahead, and I was entered, I would not have traveled on the morning of the race.

Speaking of refunds, the Clon Crew have released a new statement just now and not one reference is made to anyone getting their money back.

I will hold judgement until there is an official statement on whether or not they will allow refunds.

Maybe some legal head could answer this.
    If the Race is rescheduled under sales of goods and services are they obliged to offer a refund ?