Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New way to avoid speed cameras?

• 13-08-2015 9:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭

Hi

I was down in Wexford over the weekend and noticed a car ahead of me had placed masking/tape across the middle of the rear and front number plates ( see my rough example pic ).

Is this a new way to avoid a speeding ticket though i do think that

1. not only is is a highly visible attempt to avoid the camera and easily spotted by Garda

2. its it not an offence to modify the reg plate.

interesting . ( the picture is not of the actual car )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

I have a bester way to avoid getting caught by the speed cameras, keep within the speed limit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Paulownia

SBPhoto wrote: »
    I have a bester way to avoid getting caught by the speed cameras, keep within the speed limit!

Take the bus! and what happened hitching, did it all the time when I was young, had some very interesting encounters too! Bester that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

totally illegal.

Might as well take off the plates altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Valetta wrote: »
    totally illegal.

Might as well take off the plates altogether.

This, and it won't work anyway. ANPR is actually fair sophisticated and can allow for partial / bad read. And it will be red-flagged anyone for a human review if it can't determine a good match. Same as the M50 toll.

You're also drawing unbelieveable attention to yourself from Traffic Corp. Its cheaper to slow down :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Heard years ago that wrapping a layer of cling film around the plate made them unreadable due to the glare.

Never tried it but sounds plausible and undetectable to the naked eye (unless you're stopped) - "But I'm just keeping it clean Guard"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

hang a cd from the rear view mirror, also good for keeping away sparrows:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

SBPhoto wrote: »

I doubt your high horse goes fast enough to break the limit so you are grand.

Coat22 wrote: »
    Heard years ago that wrapping a layer of cling film around the plate made them unreadable due to the glare.

Never tried it but sounds plausible

Will save you the time, won't work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

hang a cd from the rear view mirror, also good for keeping away sparrows:)

If you stick a CD License plate on the car it does work though..... maybe someone overheard something incorrectly :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I heard that smearing the plate with vaseline or the like will create a glare when the camera flashes especially at night, thus they won't be able to read the plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The speed camera takes a photo, if there was say a blue BMW 3 Series and they got the plate like that it wouldn't take long to manually detect the numbers against the database and send the full arm of the law to your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What an incredibly stupid ting to do. Garda will be on you like <something>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Coat22 wrote: »

Never tried it but sounds plausible and undetectable to the naked eye (unless you're stopped) - "But I'm just keeping it clean Guard"
    I heard that smearing the plate with vaseline or the like will create a glare when the camera flashes especially at night, thus they won't be able to read the plate.

Multi-purpose materials.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

was it an is250 sel by any chance? Were you getting really close to bask in the rarety of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

that's a ham fisted way of doing it....I'd suggest that would be a car that was uo on a trailer, common practise by recovery firms.

Far better to stick a random bit of stuff off a supermarket item (for instance) roughly over one or two numbers and claim it was " them meddling kids" surely. Dead give away if you do front and back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

was it an is250 sel by any chance? Were you getting really close to bask in the rarety of it?

toyotas are rare now ???????

what year is this ?

8093382f29782d597b2b98d6111394e2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

If you stick a CD License plate on the car it does work though..... maybe someone overheard something incorrectly :P

Speaking of diplomatic plates, there's been a surge of them in Dublin recently, all BMWs it seems.

Will save you the time, won't work :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

tossy wrote: »
    I doubt your high horse goes fast enough to break the limit so you are grand.

I know, who does he think he is? Next thing you know he'll be telling people not to throw their rubbish out on the side of the road, the cheeky fecker.

As if people had nothing better to be doing than going around not breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

ironclaw wrote: »
    This, and it won't work anyway. ANPR is actually fair sophisticated and can allow for partial / bad read. And it will be red-flagged anyone for a human review if it can't determine a good match. Same as the M50 toll.

You're also drawing unbelieveable attention to yourself from Traffic Corp. Its cheaper to slow down :rolleyes:

I see a lot of cars going around with reg plates almost 'scraped' off that are nearly unreadable, and first thought was folk trying to avoid M50 tolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Is there anything at all to be said for mounting a motorcycle tax-disc holder to one of the number-plate retainers and having it accidentally twist sideways to obscure one of the characters?? :pac:

Lucena wrote: »
    I know, who does he think he is? Next thing you know he'll be telling people not to throw their rubbish out on the side of the road, the cheeky fecker.

As if people had nothing better to be doing than going around not breaking the law.

Is this Moral high horse owned by a syndicate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

tossy wrote: »
    Is this Moral high horse owned by a syndicate?

If you mean does more than one person believe that staying under or at the speed limit is the correct way to drive, then the answer is yes.

Lucena wrote: »
    If you mean does more than one person believe that staying under or at the speed limit is the correct way to drive, then the answer is yes.

Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭jay48

What's the chance it was double sided tape that was holding on a new plate ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

jay48 wrote: »

now you have it I think.....false plates taped over real ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Not a hope I'd try it anyway. Imagine all the dirt and flies the sticky vaseline would attract, and trying to wash it off... eww.

Naa, I think I'll stick to the traditional "oh shyt" and lock on the brakes method :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,190 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Wouldn't be particularly hard for someone with a picture of the car from the camera and a copy of the NVDF to figure out exactly what car it is from the readable bits of the numbers, and send someone around to charge the registered keeper with perverting the course of justice (or the equivalent name here, as I think that's the UK name) as well as speeding.

There are very few cases of identical cars with very similar number plates that such a thing would cause a duplicate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭v240gltse

no it was a 2007 mini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭v240gltse

Sounds like a possible solution but why not just take off the old one and put on the new one ?
    jay48 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭jay48

As was said , false plates or maybe they had plates with their names on it for a wedding / birthday present . I dunno , as plausible as putting masking tape on to stop people reading the reg I suppose 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Paulownia wrote: »
    Take the bus! and what happened hitching, did it all the time when I was young, had some very interesting encounters too! Bester that!

Murderers and rapists happened. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Liam41105

Every 2 days spray hairspray over the plate. Not aldi stuff has to be top brand. Cause glare at night or bright days.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

My solution. Earlier.

gf1.gif

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Liam41105 wrote: »
    Every 2 days spray hairspray over the plate. Not aldi stuff has to be top brand. Cause glare at night or bright days.

Glitter nail varnish works too.

No, it doesn't.

The trick here is that a normal camera suffers 'white out'. You are not dealing with 'normal' cameras. A standard camera takes in a fairly narrow spectrum of light, basically the 'stuff' we can see. However, all speed cameras take in an extra bit of IR (To work at night) and a shade of UV. In technical terms, their cut filters are different. They also have some pretty sweet iris tech which allows them to very quickly adapt to incoming light (So that going from main to dipped beams or vice versa, still allows a photo to be taken)

So, when you add a little hairspray or glitter, yes the standard photo won't be readable to the human eye, but given they have a full frame, full spectrum photo, you can just overlay the IR and UV parts to read it anyway because your reflection won't cover the full band.

TL;DR, no matter what you do to your plate, it's likely still readable and there is ample evidence online to support this. The only question is whether someone will bother to do the extra analysis and processing even though its trivial to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Gas how someone mentions high horse and gets 30+ thanks when someone mentions sticking to the speed limit. God forbid people actually do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

Unusual to see a Donegal plate with proper sized letters and numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

josip wrote: »
    Unusual to see a Donegal plate with proper sized letters and numbers.

And white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

ironclaw wrote: »
    No, it doesn't.

The trick here is that a normal camera suffers 'white out'. You are not dealing with 'normal' cameras. A standard camera takes in a fairly narrow spectrum of light, basically the 'stuff' we can see. However, all speed cameras take in an extra bit of IR (To work at night) and a shade of UV. In technical terms, their cut filters are different. They also have some pretty sweet iris tech which allows them to very quickly adapt to incoming light (So that going from main to dipped beams or vice versa, still allows a photo to be taken)

So, when you add a little hairspray or glitter, yes the standard photo won't be readable to the human eye, but given they have a full frame, full spectrum photo, you can just overlay the IR and UV parts to read it anyway because your reflection won't cover the full band.

TL;DR, no matter what you do to your plate, it's likely still readable and there is ample evidence online to support this. The only question is whether someone will bother to do the extra analysis and processing even though its trivial to do.

Yup, mythbusters tested all of this a few years ago, including specially designed plates and not one of them worked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Stick the front number plate on the dashboard and cover it with your hand whenever passing a trap, no bother to you lawd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Lol, don't quit your day job there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Ancient thread with questionable content, locked.