Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back To bASICS

• 12-08-2015 9:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭

Bon Jovi folks,

I'm starting a log because being accountable to myself isn't exactly working out. I'm going backwards instead of forwards and training off the cuff instead of a structured programme.

My immediate aim is to do DCM this year and just enjoy it. Try to do it in a semi comfortable state with a longer view of reducing all my times. I know I'm cutting it too close to start things right and get a PB but better late than never.

My current level of fitness is pretty bad but it will get better over the next few weeks.

Last years PB's
    10km - 45:06 (Coney Island Challenge)
    10 mile - 1:20 (Sligo Coast to Coast)
    1/2 - 1:44 (Clontarf 1/2)
    Full - 4:09 (Run Clon)

Marathon times:
    Dublin 2014 - 4:29:28
    Clonakilty 2014 - 4:09:04
    Connemara 2015 - 5:13:10
    Belfast 2015 - 5:03:57

As you can see, the times are nothing to be proud of and have been getting worse. This is due to a few niggles but mostly to my own ignorance and lack of training.

The one thing I have noticed about myself is that I am solid for 21km, middling until 30km then I'm wrote off until the finish. My stamina isn't great. I'm hoping LSR's would sort that out.

My two big down falls are race nutrition (all stages) and zero LSR's.

Now, I have an experiment over the next few days. I'm doing the Donegal Quadrathon. It something I have booked for ages but at this stage I'm purely going to use it as a wake up call.

For the first one I will be sticking as close to 6:45 per km as I can, no faster and see how I fair out. Then the plan is to try to reduce it by 5 seconds per km each day.

As foolish as I am to be doing this, I'm quite happy just to plod along and enjoy the scenery for now. Il start training for DCM next week.

Training for the last week or so has been badly structured but it is what it is.

03/08
    10km in 57:34

04/08
    5km in 27:45

06/08
    10km in 58:12

07/08
    8km in 45:23

09/08
    10km in 57:46

10/08
    5km in 31:18

That's it for now, off to sunny Donegal. Il update after the first marathon tomorrow. Taking the early start option, 6hr cut off time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Are you planning on doing the 4 full marathons option ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Are you planning on doing the 4 full marathons option ?

Yeah that's the plan. If I suffer badly on day two, I will knock the next two back to half's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Just to clarify. You've recently run 5:03 for a marathon, haven't done any LSR's, and think it's a good idea to do 4 marathons in 4 days?

Have I got the above correct?

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Just to clarify. You've recently run 5:03 for a marathon, haven't done any LSR's, and think it's a good idea to do 4 marathons in 4 days?

Have I got the above correct?

All correct except the good idea bit. These are just going to be a slow drag. Dublin is where I will be putting a bit of effort in.

I'm not in an ideal situation right now but it is what it is.

What's the longest run you've done in last couple of months ?

30km is the longest, that was about 5 weeks ago (not for time). The rest has either been cycling 60km or gentle trots to a maximum of 12km.

It's been sparse for the last 3 months. I'm not worried about the next few days as I'm not going to push it.

I'm just going to focus on DCM and see what I can salvage time wise, to at least come in under 4:29.

All correct except the good idea bit. These are just going to be a slow drag. Dublin is where I will be putting a bit of effort in.

I'm not in an ideal situation right now but it is what it is.

Good to know you don't think it's a good idea anyway. Frankly it's a stupid idea. I can't even wish you the best of luck with it. I do wish you come out of it in one piece though. DCM may end up being a pipe dream after the weekend.

Yeah I agree that it's stupid but it's manageable stupid.

Y'know, every time I see your username it makes me want a packet of Chicatees.

Well, im just using the next few days as LSR's, nothing wrong with that. I'm sure I will be fine as I'm taking it easy. If I'm not, I'm not.

If I am, then great :).

Yeah I agree that it's stupid but it's manageable stupid.

Y'know, every time I see your username it makes me want a packet of Chicatees.

Well, im just using the next few days as LSR's, nothing wrong with that
    . I'm sure I will be fine as I'm taking it easy. If I'm not, I'm not.

If I am, then great :).

Plenty wrong with it. No serious marathon plan would have you do:

a) A LSR of 26.2 miles
    b) Do a long run of any distance 4 days in a row
    c) Let alone 4 marathon distances. Or 2 and 2 halves if that's how it works out.

Especially given that you haven't got a base LSR mileage to work from in the first place.

If you really want to do Dublin and that is your genuine focus the plan for this weekend is lunacy IMHO. Will be very interested to see how this goes !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Good man, I love the suck it and see attitude.

You're not trying to break any records, not trying to impress anyone, not trying to over exert etc

It's really just 4 long brisk walks on consecutive days.

Best of luck!!

How are things going ?

Hey Chivito....CHIVITO!

You were right, I'm a stupid fecker :)

Absolute disaster of a few days. I went up with 1 owie and came back with 4.

Thursday:
    Was taking it real easy on the first full. I felt great and comfortably got to the 10km mark in 56:02. Then I took a bad step into a shore at the 12km mark and jolted my dodgy knee. It's dodgy enough at the best of times coupled with having chronic patellar tendinitis but the shock from the bad step finished it off. 'Twas game over.

I managed to gimp my way to the halfway mark in 2hrs 30mins. Then had to walk to the finish in 6hrs 16mins or so. There were some monstrous inclines en route. Walking up it was a crease job never mind the feckers running up them.

Spent the night icing, elevating, foam rolling etc.

Friday:
    Woke up at 0400 to foam roll and ice a couple of times. Did the trick for the knee. Unfortunately somewhere along the way on Thursday I had now strained my hamstrings and a tendon in my foot. Walking was difficult and painful so I decided to drop down to the half distance and see how I faired out.

Went well for the first 11km then the pain killers must have worn off. All of a sudden the backs of my knee just didn't want to play anymore. They just started screaming. Then at 16km the foot started giving out more too. Any raising or lowering of the foot was painful. Shamefully limped across the line in 2hrs 44mins.

Stopped in Muff to get more painkillers and a few straps. Couldn't really bend the aul knees or place the foot down properly. Same again for the night, stretch, foam roll, ice.

Saturday:
    Woke up at 0400 again to ice etc. Took more than a minute to reach the door from the bed (8 steps). Decided to knock today on the head, walking was too difficult never mind running. Found a physio close by and spent 2 hours on the table. Result is Tibialis Anterior Tendonitis of my foot and Bicep Femoris Tendinopathy behind both knees. Nothing serious, thankfully.

Sunday:
    I was hoping to attempt to walk the full distance this morning or at least the half distance. Woke up at 0500 and it was clear that it wasn't going to happen. I'm better than yesterday but I'm not very mobile. There's no chance of a 5km never mind anything else.

Anyway I'm home now. I have learned that unless you are going to actually actively train for something, don't bother signing up for it. Intentions are great and yeah life gets in the way but having the "ah, be grand" attitude will work for a 10km but nothing more.

I learned It's a brilliant location for such an event. The organisers were great and I can't fault any of it. It was very well run and great fun. The medals for the full are outstanding. The other competitors were great craic and some of them are doing amazing things. I will be back next year....for revenge.

Ultimately, I'm disappointed. I am used to tipping away with a bad knee but the tendon stuff just grounded me. There was no fighting through that.

It's been a disappointing year, event wise for me. I seem to be getting Personal Worsts instead of Personal Bests :). That's all down to my attitude though and I realise that.

DCM this year is a no go as rightly pointed out. I'm just going to start from scratch and look after myself. I do have KAR in October but that will be a social race and not a crease job.

I'm going to tip away with mostly 5km / 10km trots for the rest of the year. Nothing further and I will look at signing up for something again after June 2016, if I'm able for it.

Now, feet up for a few days until this crap settles.....and also to get rid of that guy in my head that tells me I can do things that I actually can't. What a bastard!

How are things going ?

Oh it went spectacularly bad! :). You guys were spot on! I knew it too but though I'd get away with it.

Il be honest though, it's just what I needed. Iv had eye openers before but they always faded in my head in time. These few days won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

Oh it went spectacularly bad! :). You guys were spot on! I knew it too but though I'd get away with it.

Il be honest though, it's just what I needed. Iv had eye openers before but they always faded in my head in time. These few days won't.

There are different ways to rate experiences. How long they last in the memory is one. Ive done a mountain marathon off insifficient training. Thats two full days hill running/crawling. Wasnt the brightest idea with regard to training etc. Im delighted i did it though. Great experience and great memory to have in the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Ed Mc

Was beeping the early starters in buncrana on my way to work wondering were you one of them waving back.
    Apparently not.
    Recover well anyway. I'm planning this some day a beautiful scenic course.

You're story is similar to a lad heading out on the town in Rio de Janeiro with his wallet full of cash hanging on a chain around his neck. He knows he will get robbed rather easily, he knows the evening will be a disaster, but he is in search of that lesson which will teach him to cop on.

Anyway, I won't lecture you further as you know what you did was idiotic. My advice is to join a local club and get proper advice there. Whoever you are hanging around with in this sport are clearly bad influences and encouraging you (directly or indirectly) to do daft things.

demfad wrote: »
    There are different ways to rate experiences. How long they last in the memory is one. Ive done a mountain marathon off insifficient training. Thats two full days hill running/crawling. Wasnt the brightest idea with regard to training etc. Im delighted i did it though. Great experience and great memory to have in the head.

Very true. So you're saying I should sign up for the next 2 day mountain marathon! Let's do this!!! :)

I'd say that was torture, fair play for doing it! Yeah I'm happy I tried but annoyed I didn't prep for it. Ah well, there's always next year! Ya coming?

Ed Mc wrote: »
    Was beeping the early starters in buncrana on my way to work wondering were you one of them waving back.
    Apparently not.
    Recover well anyway. I'm planning this some day a beautiful scenic course.

Ah good man, it's always great to get a supportive beep. Buncrana is a lovely spot! No I wasn't there at that stage unfortunately but I would have waved back.....and maybe asked for a lift!

Thanks I'm sure il be fine. It's so beautiful once you get the weather. I'm sure you know that though.

Maybe we can cross the line together next year man!

You're story is similar to a lad heading out on the town in Rio de Janeiro with his wallet full of cash hanging on a chain around his neck. He knows he will get robbed rather easily, he knows the evening will be a disaster, but he is in search of that lesson which will teach him to cop on.

Anyway, I won't lecture you further as you know what you did was idiotic. My advice is to join a local club and get proper advice there. Whoever you are hanging around with in this sport are clearly bad influences and encouraging you (directly or indirectly) to do daft things.

Very apt example and well it did the trick. Sure we all do idiotic things once in a while. I learned more by following through the plan than if I hadn't.

Yeah il contact my local AC as you suggested. Il be better off than winging it all the time. Reading online is good but I'm sure a more hands on environment would be best.

Nope, this is all on me. Iv never needed any encouragement to do something stupid. It's quite the opposite. All I have is people asking why am I doing this or doing that.

Thanks for your posts.

Gavlor wrote: »
    Good man, I love the suck it and see attitude.

You're not trying to break any records, not trying to impress anyone, not trying to over exert etc

It's really just 4 long brisk walks on consecutive days.

Best of luck!!

Yeah I rightly messed it up :). It's well chalked down to experience. At least I can say I was in Muff a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Senor Fancy Pants....you are a breath of daft fresh air. I know it's all 'wrong' but I just love your attitude :D I hope you keep this log going, even when you join your local AC. Best of luck with everything, including getting your poor body back in one piece :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Senor Fancy Pants....you are a breath of daft fresh air. I know it's all 'wrong' but I just love your attitude :D I hope you keep this log going, even when you join your local AC. Best of luck with everything, including getting your poor body back in one piece :)

I'm all sorts of wrong Dubgal72! Like that time I did a 55km adventure race the day before Belfast. You're going to love me in here....... That was the old me though :)

Yeah il keep this log going anyway. Thanks for the post.

Nothing but foam rolling, light stretching and a bath with some Epsom salts today. I tried to kinesio tape my ankle tendon but might have made it slightly worse.

Anyway, roll on next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Maybe bite the bullet and see a physio, they might give a discount if you bring your own tape :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Senor Fancy Pants, I was wondering where you'd taken yourself off to. You're still taking on all sorts of mad adventures. Sorry to hear about the quadrathon, you should have been given the last two medals for enthusiasm though, you're a tough nut and I love your log.

Hope you're going to take the time to look after all them niggles and come back next year fighting fit and writing some epic race reports :) Keep us updated on your progress :)

Neady83 wrote: »
    Senor Fancy Pants, I was wondering where you'd taken yourself off to. You're still taking on all sorts of mad adventures. Sorry to hear about the quadrathon, you should have been given the last two medals for enthusiasm though, you're a tough nut and I love your log.

Hope you're going to take the time to look after all them niggles and come back next year fighting fit and writing some epic race reports :) Keep us updated on your progress :)

Ah howdy Neady!

Yeah I transferred to the dark side here in the hope a bit of straight talk will sort me out :)

I took a break for a few weeks to let things settle down. I'm not back 100% yet but I'm starting to twitch!

Today was starting from scratch. I warmed and stretched before I ran (can't believe it!)

Just did the 5km route in work. Nice and slow, finished in 29mins on the button. I'm not putting any pressure on myself at all for now.

I have dropped out of the Dublin HM and the Killarney Adventure Race as I know I'm not ready physically. Il be honest, dropping out hurts me more than any injuries I may pick up on them but my body isn't great this year.

I had intended on signing up for SCAR and DCM but have decided not to.

My immediate goal is to just get shuffling with minimum pain or niggles, improve my mobility and enjoy running again.

Long term goal of DCM 2016....long shot of a 3:45 time.....very ambitious but il work towards it anyway.

You must be in here too, I better stop by your log and see what madness you are up ya!

So far, you are my hero of the year!

Weight today 196lbs.

Today was another 5km lap in 32.15. Plenty of hamstring, glute and calf stretches.

I wake up and look forward to the lunchtime run, haven't in a long time.

I will see this week out with 5km's at lunch. This weekend is time to sort out a plan to start on Monday.

Cushy, cushy for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

I wake up and look forward to the lunchtime run, haven't in a long time.

I will see this week out with 5km's at lunch. This weekend is time to sort out a plan to start on Monday.

Cushy, cushy for now.

Best thing I've read on boards in ages SFP :) Delighted to hear that you're enjoying and looking forward to running again :)

I've put my hat in the ring for DCM. I've a new found respect for anyone who runs marathons, I've only clocked 20 miles as my longest but god, it's tough, really tough, both mentally and physically.

p.s. thanks for your kind words :):) I don't know a whole lot about this adventuring and running business but I'm throwing it all together and coming out with something :)

Neady83 wrote: »
    Best thing I've read on boards in ages SFP :) Delighted to hear that you're enjoying and looking forward to running again :)

I've put my hat in the ring for DCM. I've a new found respect for anyone who runs marathons, I've only clocked 20 miles as my longest but god, it's tough, really tough, both mentally and physically.

p.s. thanks for your kind words :):) I don't know a whole lot about this adventuring and running business but I'm throwing it all together and coming out with something :)

Thanks Neady :)

I took 15 thousand millions steps back again today. Came back too early it seems.

I did 2 x 5km's jogs at the weekend, nothing mental, nice and slow and kept my strides short so not to annoy my hamstrings. Felt a bit achey but carried on, stretched, iced etc later on.

Up at 0630 this morning for an 8km with 35lb weight on the back. Again, nice and slow but really annoyed the hamstrings so was glad to finish.

Planned on stretching at lunch but ended up being talked into an 8km run. I managed 3km and had to walk back. Back of the knees fupped again.

Physio booked for Thursday, I have all my training gear up on Adverts....I'm taking my ball and I'm going home! :(

I've been doing as little as possible for the last while but I'm going bananas.

Cycled to work and back to see how the hamstrings would hold out. They haven't got any worse anyway.

Jogged a very slow 8km at lunch. Took 56 minutes, stopped for a few light stretches here and there. My average 8km time is 42 minutes so it was nice to tip along.

Starting Pilates soon in the hope of injury prevention.

113km on the bike, 8km on the feet. Happy out.

Cycle in again tomorrow then chance a 5km trot.

Legs weren't great today, 56km cycle took 2hrs 50....25 mins more than usual.

"Ran" 8km at lunch. Took the first 2km nice and handy, upped the pace for the 3rd km then had to pull it right back again.

I kept the final 5km to 8:30kmh pace. Happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

People write lol all the time on these internets, I don't. But today I read your log and I literally laughed out loud. Thanks for the entertainment.

You seem like a sound, genuine guy but man, you take poor decision making to a whole other level. Fair play.

Have you ever considered dropping a really heavy weight on your foot? It might break a few bones and would hurt like hell but it'd be a really good way to learn not to drop heavy things on your foot. Worth it for the lesson, like.

Okay, please don't, I'd have it on my conscience but maybe you see what I'm getting at.
    Somethings it's good to think about things before you do them.