Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How should a Matchplay draw be made?

• 11-08-2015 10:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭

There is a new competition in Castleknock golf club called the Challenge Cup. It's a matchplay event for both 5 day and full members. There was a qualifier last Friday for the 5 day members, and Saturday for the full members. The top 64 were to qualify for the knockout stages. Round one was yesterday, round 2 today and each day right through till the final on Saturday, so it's pretty intensive. I've never played anything like this before and didn't really think it would work given the logistics of what is required from people who most likely have jobs, family, other commitments etc. Anyway, I decided I wouldn't tell the wife and entered anyway :D

So it seems as if I was right and there was not a full uptake and it resulted in the top 18 qualifiers getting a bye into round 2. I also spotted that yesterday there were a few extra byes given. I played well on Friday and scored 37 points which got me through to the second round.

Looking at the drawsheet, it appears that the top qualifiers who got byes play against other guys who got byes, so I know I'm playing someone else on form :( Following this, we are all on the same side of the draw, so will meet each other all the way to the semi finals. (each semi final will have a top qualifier and someone who had to go through round one). I would have thought the reward for being a top qualifier would have been to meet an opponent who had to come through round one and certainly not all have us all on the same side of the draw.

It should be said, I'm not giving out or complaining here, I'm just happy to be playing golf :D I'm just curious as to what you guys think of how the draw was done, and how you think it should have been done. I just think it doesn't appear to have had any real thought put into it and as a result there could be a very uneven set of semi finals. I would have much rathered an open draw for everyone, no byes by default, just by pot luck. Of course, golf is a funny aul game as we all know so form doesn't always mean it will lead into the next game, so all of the above means nothing really :rolleyes:

I'm playing against a lad today who I have to give 9 :eek: shots to. Maybe the only saving grace for me is that 3 of them will be on the last 3 holes, but sure it could be all over by then :rolleyes: If I survive the next 2 days, I'll probably meet the 10 handicapper who shot 46 points int he qualifier :eek::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Aimead

I’ve almost undoubtedly got this wrong since I know jack about golf, but here is a seeding template for 64 players (I don’t know if single elimination applies in your case):

http://www.printyourbrackets.com/64seeded.html

Rank how the people qualified and follow the way it is laid out in the picture.

If I was in your position I’d probably be disappointed too as it’s not that difficult to set up a basic seeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Seve OB wrote: »
    I'm playing against a lad today who I have to give 9 :eek: shots to. Maybe the only saving grace for me is that 3 of them will be on the last 3 holes, but sure it could be all over by then :rolleyes: If I survive the next 2 days, I'll probably meet the 10 handicapper who shot 46 points int he qualifier :eek::p

Wow, golf really is a sick game and although handicaps are meant to level the playing field at times I think they do everything but that. A 10 handicapper or any other handicapper for that matter shooting 46 points is just wrong, I hope at least the qualifier was a qualifying competition and he got justifying cut given his level par round.

Singles matchplay would I think be fairer with 3/4 handicap differences, in the first round of our club singles matchplay I was giving my opponent 15 shots, makes for demoralising golf when you have to try and birdie holes for a half.

With regards your matchplay competition it does sound like there has been no tought with regards the draw and it should have been seeded according to the qualifyier results as otherwise what was the point of the qualifier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Yea I see that chap was off 12 and was cut to 9.7 after his 46, but that is just savage scoring.

I think it's quite fair to play matchplay on full difference of handicaps.

It was a close run thing today but I came through in the end 3&1, so roll on tomorrow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Wow, golf really is a sick game and although handicaps are meant to level the playing field at times I think they do everything but that. A 10 handicapper or any other handicapper for that matter shooting 46 points is just wrong, I hope at least the qualifier was a qualifying competition and he got justifying cut given his level par round.

Singles matchplay would I think be fairer with 3/4 handicap differences, in the first round of our club singles matchplay I was giving my opponent 15 shots, makes for demoralising golf when you have to try and birdie holes for a half.

With regards your matchplay competition it does sound like there has been no tought with regards the draw and it should have been seeded according to the qualifyier results as otherwise what was the point of the qualifier?

Sorry Dr but that doesn't make any sense. A guy you'd give 15 shots won't have too many pars to begin with. If we apply 3/4 differences for matchplay whats the point of the handicap system then? You are 15 shots better than this guy after all.

As it happens I'm watching the matchplay closely myself this year (I'm still in the fourballs, last 8 now) and now that it comes to the latter stages its almost exclusively single digit or lower guys who are left in it. Can't be THAT unfair.

Boskowski wrote: »
    Sorry Dr but that doesn't make any sense. A guy you'd give 15 shots won't have too many pars to begin with. If we apply 3/4 differences for matchplay whats the point of the handicap system then? You are 15 shots better than this guy after all.

As it happens I'm watching the matchplay closely myself this year (I'm still in the fourballs, last 8 now) and now that it comes to the latter stages its almost exclusively single digit or lower guys who are left in it. Can't be THAT unfair.

True enough and there was a very good paper a couple of years back showing how statistically the lower handicap golfer is favoured in matchplay despite the full difference allowance. I guess my above comment was more a gripe at how unexpectedly well a lot of the higher handicapped opponents play. I would expect someone off 20+ handicap to gift holes with OBs, tops, duffs etc instead of consistently scoring pars and bogies so it's probably more a case of an incorrect handicap than a fault with the allowance in matchplay.

Separate question pertaining to matchplay and handicap allowances:
    Why can't the last hole on a course be index 1-4 in matchplay? A number of courses have tough finishes but they're a low index in normal play but a higher index for matchplay purposes to ensure the higher handicap golfer gets his full shot differencial before the completion of the game.

Separate question pertaining to matchplay and handicap allowances:
    Why can't the last hole on a course be index 1-4 in matchplay? A number of courses have tough finishes but they're a low index in normal play but a higher index for matchplay purposes to ensure the higher handicap golfer gets his full shot differencial before the completion of the game.

I've never heard of that. Any time I've played matchplay, it has always been from the index on the card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

I've never heard of that. Any time I've played matchplay, it has always been from the index on the card.

Some courses have different indexes for stableford and match play. Think the reason is more to make sure you are not giving away shots on the last 4 holes rather than making sure the person has their full allowance used.
    You would feel hard done by if the last 2 holes were index 1 and 3 if you were giving away only 3 shots.

mike12 wrote: »
    You would feel hard done by if the last 2 holes were index 1 and 3 if you were giving away only getting 3 shots.

FYP

As it happens, I think I am giving 3 shots today. Index 3 is the 17th.

Flip it though, and if the first hole is a low index say 4 and you are giving/getting 4 shots, and the match goes down 19, then the shot is received again... is that fair? I've lost a match for my club that way. Felt hard done by then I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

Ive never heard that the last hole cant be index 1-4, it certainly is on the course I play...

The other side is that if you are getting shots and only getting them on later holes, as said above game could be over without you getting this shot to use, so it can work both ways. It really is one of those things that can be viewed either way. Personally if I am getting shots, then I would like one later on in the game, so I can aim to get him to there and then try take advantage of the shot, but if there is a big gap of index holes to play without getting a shot then I am on the back foot, but if I am giving a shot away later then I would feel under pressure and rather to give it earlier in the round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

mike12 wrote: »
    Some courses have different indexes for stableford and match play. Think the reason is more to make sure you are not giving away shots on the last 4 holes rather than making sure the person has their full allowance used.
    You would feel hard done by if the last 2 holes were index 1 and 3 if you were giving away only 3 shots.

Our course wants to reverse the 9's meaning the current 9th hole would be the 18th, but that would mean the finishing hole is index 2 and that is the main reason they won't do it, too low an index hole for finishing matchplay games.

If they could just make up a new index system that isn't based on actually scoring (which I think it is) but just done to suit matchplay, could they use it in interclub games?

Won 5&4 today. Was only 1 up through 9, neither of us firing on all cylinders, but he had one shot on the front 9 and took advantage of it.
    My putter was hot today and I drained a few long ones, and was going very well on the back 9. He had a shot on the 14th but I got a par to his bogey to half the hole and close out the match.

Senna wrote: »
    Our course wants to reverse the 9's meaning the current 9th hole would be the 18th, but that would mean the finishing hole is index 2 and that is the main reason they won't do it, too low an index hole for finishing matchplay games.

If they could just make up a new index system that isn't based on actually scoring (which I think it is) but just done to suit matchplay, could they use it in interclub games?

I think the indexes are very much up to the club themselves and although they should be based on scoring it's obvioius this isn't always the case. For example the 18th in my home club statistically plays as index 1 in nearly all our club compeititions but yet the index of the hole is a ridiculous index 10. Anyone I've asked about the indexing of the hole keeps saying they can't have it as a low index because of matchplay.
    I think the indexes of the course should be based on scoring only, none of this odd and even indexes on prospective 9's or high indexes on the final hole or two regarless of difficulty. If I have a shot on someone in matchplay I want it on the most difficult hole in the course whether that is the 1st of 18th is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

FYP

As it happens, I think I am giving 3 shots today. Index 3 is the 17th.

Flip it though, and if the first hole is a low index say 4 and you are giving/getting 4 shots, and the match goes down 19, then the shot is received again... is that fair? I've lost a match for my club that way. Felt hard done by then I can tell you.

its the 4th hardest hole on the course. You should be able to score 1 shot better than your opponent if the handicap system is fair.

You have a great wife there Seve. I'd never get away with that sort of nonsense ;)

Rikand wrote: »
    You have a great wife there Seve. I'd never get away with that sort of nonsense ;)

she has had to give up her night out tonight :eek: in fairness though, i got home early yesterday :D

tough game tonight, tee off is 5.10 for some bizare reason, so I hope we have enough light. I'm playing the chap who had the 46 points last Saturday. He is fiving me three shots. 4th hole, 14th Hole & 17th hole.

I am traditionally a good bit better on the back 9 around Castleknock, so if I can make the turn all square I'll fancy my chances.

It was a late one last night. We teed off at 5.10, but thankfully nobody in front of us. We caught up with people on the 16th and had to wait there for maybe 5 minutes so we walked off the 18th at about 8.50...... straight down to the 19th.... then the 20th!!! It was getting quite dark and difficult to see balls going up there, so it was a case of getting a line on it and hoping for the best. It's a par 5, I sprayed my second well right, but still far enough down to leave me only a wedge to the green. My opponent was having a spot of bother and was only on in 5, about 20 foot away. I rolled my first from about 50-60 foot, down the hill, knowing 3 putts would possibly be enough. Not a great putt, pulled it and not hard enough to about 8 foot left of the hole, he missed his and that was good enough......

The nerves kicked in a bit last night and I felt I didn't play great, certainly wasn't striking it as well as I had been and my putting was weak with a good few 3 putts. However when I look back on it, I probably would have had close enough to 36 points so maybe not the worst after all!

Not sure, but I think I am giving 5 or 6 shots today. I am feeling quite drained and fairly knackered as I didn't sleep great last night. I've never made it to a semi-final before, never really played much matchplay to be honest so it's playing on my mind now! Got to figure out how to clam the nerves and block it out before tee off today at 14:40, and one way or another I'll be playing again tomorrow as there is also a 3rd & 4th place playoff. Feel like I need a caddy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Seve OB wrote:
    Got to figure out how to clam the nerves and block it out before tee off today at 14:40.

Bombing one down the middle on the first usually helps with my nerves :p haha...a bit of confidence and positive mental attitude whole way round no matter what the score is good too. Believe in yourself, you made semi final for a reason go on and win it out now :p

Try not to over think it, just do your same routine, and plenty fluids and hydration, makes a huge difference. Even flavoured water as opposed to really sugary drinks, and some nuts to snack on etc.

Also ask yourself, before it started did you think you would get this far? If you genuinely didnt (judging by your posts you didnt think you would as you have had to give shots to lads, including the in form players etc), then try get into the mindset of anything else is a bonus, it might take the nerves away a bit, and gives you confidence to believe in yourself as you have gotten this far, against some players you didnt think you would. Take it hole by hole, shot by shot and forget the bad shots after the hole, every hole is a new start and blank canvas.

Finally you dont have to play unreal golf, you just need to beat whats in front of you. That means bogeys on some holes will win, as you saw last night on the last. Just box clever and sensible, keep it in play is vital!! if he tees off first and finds trouble, you dont have to hit it 300 yards, just be sensible. Best of luck and keep us updated!

shaunac93 wrote: »
    Bombing one down the middle on the first usually helps with my nerves :p haha...a bit of confidence and positive mental attitude whole way round no matter what the score is good too. Believe in yourself, you made semi final for a reason go on and win it out now :p

Haha, I bombed a sensible 3 iron down the first yesterday straight into OB. My second went in the same place! Both well left. On the 19th I had it in my head and went so far right I ended up behind a tree and had to knock it back out sideways. Luckily he was the same!
    JIdontknow wrote: »
    Also ask yourself, before it started did you think you would get this far? If you genuinely didnt (judging by your posts you didnt think you would as you have had to give shots to lads, including the in form players etc), then try get into the mindset of anything else is a bonus, it might take the nerves away a bit, and gives you confidence to believe in yourself as you have gotten this far, against some players you didnt think you would.

Actually I only entered the comp as I knew I was playing well and felt I could go far in it. It was only after I seen the draw (which I thought was done unfairly) and realised I was on the tough side of it, that I fancied myself to just get through to the quarter final. I knew yesterday was going to be a really difficult match to win, against possibly the red hot favourite! It was tough, very tough, mentally and physically, and the lad I played was rock solid all the way. Few bad ones from each of us gifted holes to the others at times, but that's matchplay! So yes, it is a bonus to get this far :D
    Take it hole by hole, shot by shot and forget the bad shots after the hole, every hole is a new start and blank canvas.

Good advice, but not easy to heed! I suckerpunched him on 15 yesterday. It was all square and I pulled my tee shot so far left, I was nearly in the clubhouse bar! He went down the middle, and played his second to the back of the green. I stuck my second to 6 foot and slotted the birdy putt. So 1 up going down 16 (par 5), I pulled my tee shot, but it was fine, out in the middle of the next fairway. He was under a tree, had to knock out sideways and after four shots he is well right of the green in the thick rough. I'm just short in 2. He told me after, he was resigned at that stage as I had a shot on 17. Well I had the hole won in my head and was 2 up going down 17 with a shot! I then duly misread how hard I needed to hit my shot, was about 60 yards, and I must have gone 90, right though the green to leave myself with a horrible pitch shot back down a hill, pin on the right side with big break from the right! He sticks it to 2.5 feet. I duff my chip leaving it in the fringe and took 3 putts.

I was however able to bounce back on 17, and it was exactly like you said. I completely forgot about what happened on 16. He was in the middle and he hit the shot of the day and possibly his shot of a lifetime, 200+ yard 3 wood over the tree in the middle of the fairway to 2.5 foot!!!!! I was in the right rough, in an old divot hole and with the rough around the ball, made it difficult for me to get the club under the ball so my flight was not high enough to get over the tree, and I duely went straight into it. A decent chip however left me with an 8 foot putt, but it lipped the hole. I made him putt, a short one, but tricky, downhill with break. He missed! Hole halved, and momentum back with me!
    Finally you dont have to play unreal golf, you just need to beat whats in front of you. That means bogeys on some holes will win, as you saw last night on the last. Just box clever and sensible, keep it in play is vital!! if he tees off first and finds trouble, you dont have to hit it 300 yards, just be sensible. Best of luck and keep us updated!

So true, nobody else matters only your opposition! I often find though that playing safe can get me in trouble at times, as I am playing holes in ways I would not normally do and can make a bags of them! I know putting is the key today and if I putt like I did yesterday, I will not find it easy. I actually think I had 8 3 putts! :eek: I'll be off out early for a bit of practice!

Some amount of golf, have you the week of work to play?
    With the favourite, 46 point shooter, put to the sideline last night and you having come from the unfair side of the draw you're quids in to win this outright. Play well and claim victory

Not off work, but I am flexible enough. I took some home the other night and will be doing some more over the weekend also.
    I feel like I have more of a chance today allright after yesterdays victory.

Just realised I am the lowest handicaper left @ 13. Think I have to give 5 or 6 shots today and the other Semi Final has a 19 & 20 handicapper.

Could be a good thing, or a bad thing... you just never know. I'm gonna take it as a good thing though, I am the best golfer left in the tournament! :D

Thanks Kingswood.

Someone say something about nerves? What nerves? Nerves of steel I tell ya :)

Played much better today. Few silly mistakes which I thought might cost me but won and halved a couple of unlikely holes to get a couple up, and a great birdy on 15 to go dormy 3 up. A half 16 with pars was good enough. So roll on tomorrow.

Thanks Kingswood.

Someone say something about nerves? What nerves? Nerves of steel I tell ya :)

Played much better today. Few silly mistakes which I thought might cost me but won and halved a couple of unlikely holes to get a couple up, and a great birdy on 15 to go dormy 3 up. A half 16 with pars was good enough. So roll on tomorrow.

Fair play to you! Just shows its all about each hole as opposed to overall round. Best of luck tomorrow, you've the confidence and playing well to win it now. Your opponent is bound to be nervous too so you can deal with yours as you've shown today.

Thanks. Yes it really does come down to holes. We actually finished the last 2 holes, and to be fair I didn't play them as I would of if the match was still alive but he had 2 pars to my 2 bogeys. Over the 18 he had 39 points, I had 38.

Not sure how the other guys played but the winner was also 3&2. I'll be giving 6 or 7 shots tomorrow.

Funny, I was nowhere near as tired or nervous today as I was yesterday. Excited about tomorrow whatever way it pans out. I won't mind losing as long as I'm not trounced! But obviously it would be nicer to win :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Congrats SeveOB keep it going, you must be playing great. You can't win your own Capts day with board society!!! Shoe in for Carton

I hope you get a nice performance cut for this on general play ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Rikand wrote: »
    I hope you get a nice performance cut for this on general play ;)

I didn't think you could get cut when it involves matchplay due to the fact that not all shots are holed out. Gimme's and suchlike would surely prevent any cuts being considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Tommo 76

Macker1 wrote: »
    I didn't think you could get cut when it involves matchplay due to the fact that not all shots are holed out. Gimme's and suchlike would surely prevent any cuts being considered.

I know someone who got to final of club match play and got cut for it (general play adjustment).

Best of luck today seve!

7 games in 9 days. I'm knackered, but quite obviously delighted, not that it shows, but I am :D

20577689226_7ae0b68609_c.jpg

Savage stuff Seve, Congrats! Try give some of the rest of us a chance to get a few points on Saturday now will ya please!

Congrats on a great win and a gruelling week of golf.
    Do all those women outside taking photos not realise the champion is indoors with the trophy?

Savage stuff Seve, Congrats! Try give some of the rest of us a chance to get a few points on Saturday now will ya please!

Odds on to get about 25 points next Saturday! I did ok today, all week obviously. Never shot the lights out, no real poor rounds all into the 30's and the few good scores, 37, 38 would have included a lot of decent gimmes! So solid stuff all round, inside the buffer but there will be no cuts.

In fairness, this is not the main club matchplay, that's only for full embers. It's a new thing to get the 5day members involved alongside the full members, and is a tough week long event. Being run over a week, playing every day and winning through is great, and was bloody tough, but I am well aware there were plenty of the clubs best golfers not able to commit to such a week.

I am still the Champion though :D

7 games in 9 days. I'm knackered, but quite obviously delighted, not that it shows, but I am :D

20577689226_7ae0b68609_c.jpg

Fair play Seve, delighted you won!! Don't sell yourself short, by the sounds of things there was a very high calibre in it and you won it out... Lovely silverware to have with your name on it. You'll be surprised too might open other opportunities for inter club comps next year. Again fair play, delighted you won it out! How much Jaegermeister does it hold?? You can put the red bull in the lid of it!

won't get it for a few months! have to wait till a presentation night
    couldn't play interclub matches, i'm only a 5 day and it's not my main club. i am going to get into it though with Greystones next year where I am a full member. (Paul Dunne will be proud of me ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Congrats SeveOB, great win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Kingswood Rover

Well done, Seve may have our battles on here but delighted for a fellow boardsie, i will get to an outing soon to shake your hand pal, really enjoyed reading the thread as you battled your way through the comp.....book opportunity/film rights.

Didn't want to start a new thread so i'll just ask it here.

Is it tradition in all clubs that the losing matchplay player writes the name of the winner on the sheet for the next round?

Senna wrote:
    Is it tradition in all clubs that the losing matchplay player writes the name of the winner on the sheet for the next round?

Ours is the opposite, the winner writes their name on sheet for next round

Yeah its weird, its happened a few times now, the loser going into the clubhouse and almost seems surprised that the winner was writing their name down. I noticed it and then a friend of mine said it as well, he's new to the club too, didn't really pay much attension but when my friend said it, it got me thinking.
    Any other year when I was put out I would just hop in the car and head home, wouldn't cross my mind to go in and write the winners (not mine) name down.

Senna wrote: »
    Didn't want to start a new thread so i'll just ask it here.

I thought that was the tradition always. if I lose a match, I'd always write the name and if it's a mate of mine that beat me, I'd write something amusing beside it ;)

If I won the match, I'd give the losing player the opportunity to write it up, but if they hadn't written it up or made a commitment to me that they were going to write it up, I'd write it up myself before leaving the club

Didn't renew my membership last year in Castleknock so I wasn't in the comp but I'm back this year to give it another go. Qualifier for this was on Sunday gone and the club are making a big deal out of it this year bringing in MSL as a main sponsor so plenty of nice new shiny cars around the place on show.

I played really well on Sunday for the front 9 but fell off the boil after that, but still managed a solid 36 points to get me a bye through the first round and straight into Wednesday and the last 16. Then my opposition pulls out late Tusday so I get a walkover and into the quarter finals tonight. Tee off is 5pm and I'm up against the fella I beat in the final 2 years ago.... I think!!! weird because at first I was up against the other fella and then the names were changed this morning so I'm not sure what happened there (I'll find out later on)

I played 9 holes last night, was pretty poor, shot 15 points and will need better than that tonight I'm sure.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to putting up a defense of sorts and trying to get the trophy back, but I would have rathered not getting a free pass through the first 2 rounds :(

So I was 3 up after 4, but in fairness that flattered me. He missed a soft putt on the 2nd, a ball in the water on the 3rd & I sunk something close to 60ft on the 4th for a winning par (after being in the water with my tee shot). Then I was brought back down to earth and it was all square after 8th. I felt I wasn't playing well, lost a ball on 8. He goes in water on 9th, I stitch it to 10 foot, he doesn't get up and down and I drain my birdie. On 10th I play safe with a 5 iron off the tee, to safe, nearly OB but get lucky to then duff my second safe 6 iron shot, goes about 10 yards, an OK third, but in the rough about 150 out. A decent approach and 2 putts for 6. Not good enough surely, he has about 3 foot for par........he missees, miles past..... misses back...... 2 hole swing right there. 2 up, I have this! Then I have a disaster on 11th and go miles left, a decent chip but I leave it about a yard short for it to take the hill & roll down to the hole so I leave myself with a rotten putt, close but no banana so it's 4 for me. He was lucky, ball on the edge of the water, decent chip but still 15ft, he drains it. I make a clusterfkx of the 12th, so we are back to all square!

Crap, what am I up to! Another safe 5 iron mess up on 13th to leave me a long way out but a nice 7 iron gets me to the green, he rolls over the back and 2 putts is good ehough to win me the hole. I have a shot on the index 1 14th so play safe with 3 wood. Oh Oh, miles right in the junk, provo required, but luckily I find the first ball, deep so I can only hack out, he is about 20 yards short, but in a bunker. I go through the green, putting from the fringe, he is stone dead for 5 so about 50+ft for par, 2 putts to win now Seve, make sure you get it close.......boom, I drain it. 3 wood again on the short 15th, but it goes a bit further right than I want, crap is it in the bunker, maybe just over. Get up there, can't see it damn, must be in the water... but no, I hit it better than I thought, she is in a hollow, centre of fairway about 70 yards out, guess what, I duff it arghhhh. But he is in the greenside bunker, still I need to win this hole, he get well out, but 20ft+ away. I stitch my chip, 2 foot and when he misses it's dormy 3. He gave me the putt, I don't think I would have missed, but the was a little movement in it and the state the match was in, he should have made me take it. I play the 16th perfect, Driver down middle, 3 iron just short and a nice chip to leave me with 15ft for birdie, he is over the back in 3, has to hold it, goes miles past, misses his putt for par, makes me take my putt and I just roll it up close to win 4&2.

We played out 17 & 18 and I had 2 more pars, so I finished the round with 6 pars and really a game which I thought I wasn't playing to well, was in actual fact quite good. 39 points I think, but obviously a few gimmes in there.

I'm giving 14 shots tonight.... yes 14:eek::eek::eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Ronney

Great win well done.

On the talk of giving shots, one of my mates (3 h/c) played a 25 H/c in our club match play last night...giving 22 Shots! Match went to the 20th hole (index 4nd) where the 3 H/C's solid 2 putt from 15ft par lost out to an on 4 + 8ft Bogey with 2 shots for a Net Birdie...Its a cruel Game

Ronney wrote: »
    Great win well done.

On the talk of giving shots, one of my mates (3 h/c) played a 25 H/c in our club match play last night...giving 22 Shots! Match went to the 20th hole (index 4nd) where the 3 H/C's solid 2 putt from 15ft par lost out to an on 4 + 8ft Bogey with 2 shots for a Net Birdie...Its a cruel Game

it is.

I've no problem giving shots, thats what they are there for. Just not sure what to make of this one, Can't spot any scores for him on HDID so hard to judge. He is 28.0 so that could be someone new enough to the game who may be well able to play a lot better or it could be someone who needs and requires every one of the shots.

I think it does mean I will need a lot of pars tonight though and I really must win each hole where he won't have a shot.

Turns out he needed those shots.
    I played OK but sunk some really tasty putts. Another round with no 3 putts so turning a corner there. I won 7&5. But score wise, he just didn't play well, we played 2 more holes so for the 15 holes I was 29 points so solid.

Final on this evening at 16:50

He's only gone and done it again folks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Great stuff Seve. Where's the synopsis?

Will report tomorrow man..... I'm in the middle of getting drunk now :D

Well I started by skuttering a ball off the 1st, it barely went 100 yards, followed by a ball in the water, a drop then over the back so I had to chip in for a 5. He had a 20 footer for a par 4. I hit the pin but it stayed up, so 1 down. I got fortunate on the 2nd as he lost a ball off the tee so I won with a 6 to his 8. A nice up and down from the sand on the 3rd saw me go 1 up and quickly followed by a nice regulation par on the 4th as he had sand trouble, 2 up. A pair of pars halve the 5th.

He finds water with his tee shot on the 6th, but safe play gets me nowhere and I find sand with my second 80 yards out but I take it to clean and go over the back. He duffs a chip shot so I'm looking good.........till I can't find my ball, there is water over the back but also a lot of poxy rough and I can't say for sure my ball went in the drink so I have to go back to the sand :( which costs me the hole and I loose out to his 7 as I get an 8. Of course standing on the next tee.......I spot my ball just sitting in the rough beside tee box, I was sick. It must have taken a deflection off either the path or there is a big man hole where I figured it landed. Anyway, I hit an ok tee shot on the par 3 7th but a great chip to 12 inches. He is in water off the tee again and despite his best efforts can't get down for 5! :confused:

Holes 8,9&10 are halved as he finds his game and he kicks on to win 11th so only 1 in it now. On the 12th the match is ignited as he belts one down the middle and a snap hook from me is a lost ball. My Provo is a good one, safe line out on the other fairway, he goes in the greenside bunker and I hit a cracker to about 18 foot. His bunker shot it to big and goes through the green which he follows up with a poor chip to about 15 foot short. So we are both going for 5 and I drain it, he misses and is not happy about it and he lets the green know:mad:. A safe iron off the tee for me on the short 13th leaves me with a wedge in and I nail it. He finds sand and again goes over the back chips it to about 3 foot. I normally would have given it, but this guy has made me putt everything all day so I say nothing. I roll up to about 10 inches and mark up as he drains his 5. I don't miss.

The 14th is index 1 and the only shot between us and its for me. A pretty good feeling strike is trouble though as with a low rising sun I see none of it. He reckons I'm heading for the bunker on the right and he hits a safe one down just short of it. I hit a sweet Provo down the centre in case I can't find my ball. No sign of it down the right, but what is that way over there on the left, oh it's my ball:eek: a layup and a nice chip to 15 foot. He is on the back of the green in 3 and I can't remember if he putts or chips, but he gets it to about 4 foot with a good shot. I just roll past sniffing the edge but it was downhill and it keeps rolling..... firm and hard at the back of the cup gets me my 5 and we are dormie. So I've 4 holes to get a half, so play sensible and hit 3 wood down centre of the 15th and a good shot in to about 20 foot. His drive is 50 yards closer and a great approach shot looks all over it till we get up close and realise his ball kept rolling and he is away. A great putt nearly goes in and I concede the tap in from 18 inches. I roll one up and he shakes my hand.

It was nowhere near as competitive this year as it was first time around and not enough people in it, I think only 24 in it. I played a qualifier and 3 matches. Last time it was a qualifier and 5 matches. The final was possibly the toughest game I faced as he was a good golfer who hit it a long way. His bunker play let him down and it was probably the only difference between us, in fact when I think of it, poor bunker shots cost him 4 maybe 5 holes. Still, I had to beat what was put in front of me and I did :D

Champion again