Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this weird?

• 06-08-2015 12:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭

So, been seeing a guy I met online for 2/3 months. We've just become 'official'. He's lovely, kind, smart, funny, all the good things.

He told me a few weeks ago that a friend he's going away with this weekend is actually a girl he met online and they slept together once, then remained friends although the romance side fizzled out. I think he was telling me to be honest, as obviously I wouldn't be too thrilled if I found out after he got back.

I brushed it off at first and told him I appreciated his honesty, which is true, but as their trip gets closer I find myself feeling a bit jealous. I'm sure this is normal! I'm not a jealous person but surely no one would be 100% ok with this. They booked it a long time ago, before he and I ever met, so I'm pretty ok with it, as long as this didn't keep happening the more serious he and I got!

The thing is, he seems to have met quite a few women online in the last year or two, slept with them once and stayed friends?? I find this really odd as he is the first guy from an online dating website that I've ever really hit it off with. Up til now it's been a few bad first dates, which have never led to a second. When I'm done with someone I'm done, I don't use dating websites to make friends!

Anyone have any advice/similar experience or can at least tell me I'm not crazy to be dwelling on this a bit this week? Another lovely element of online dating I suppose... :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

Him being honest about it is good.

Him taking trips with her is really weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Odd alright, but hey as you said he is a nice guy. It's possible just because relationships don't work out with these girls that they can still appreciate that he is a genuine person.

What kind of trip is your boyfriend and ex sleeping partner going on?

Like I could understand if it was a friend he knew from college, but something don't smell right with this one.

It's a bit much calling her an "ex sleeping partner". They slept together once and it didn't work. I've ended up having great friendships after similar circumstances.

It's not that weird. The fact he was honest with you says to me that he's not doing anything to deceive you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I'd be questioning why he lied in the first place. I absolutely believe women and men can be friends, even if there was something there previously, but often one of them will be hoping for more. What kind of trip is it? Has he told you much detail? I would personally find it difficult to be ok with this as he lied to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Gongoozler wrote: »
    I'd be questioning why he lied in the first place. I absolutely believe women and men can be friends, even if there was something there previously, but often one of them will be hoping for more. What kind of trip is it? Has he told you much detail? I would personally find it difficult to be ok with this as he lied to begin with.

When did he lie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭prettyrestless

Honestly I find it quite weird. I generally don't stay friends with guys I've dated casually unless they were friends beforehand. The fact that he seems to have a collection of these online-dating-slept-with-once friends is really strange IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

I would be happy for them to stay friends but I wouldn't be happy about them taking a trip together just the 2 of them.

He may have booked it before you met but that doesn't matter - he is in a relationship with you now and you don't feel comfortable, which is completely normal and acceptable, I am surprised that he thinks it is OK to go away with her.

I would hate for my partner to go away for a weekend with someone he had previously slept with, he obviously finds her sexually attractive and the feeling is returned so I wouldn't like it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

When did he lie?

The way it's phrased makes it sound like she was at least led to believe that the friend was a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Jotunheim

Sorry, not buying this. How casual was it if they booked trips together months in advance? He keeps in touch with a few women with similar history? He's a player and he has a list of options.

The "honesty" is damage control in case he gets caught with a slip of the tongue or a pic on facebook or something.

If being "official" meant anything, he'd be cancelling the trip, not risking the relationship. He doesn't value the relationship enough to do that though, because he has fallbacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭liquoriceall

Im friends with 2 exs and we hang out, go drinking etc and there is no issues that Im aware of from current partners??
    I dont see why it would be less than legitamite?
    Maybe offer to drop them to the airport then the girl will know he has a gf?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Magicmatilda

Couple of questions:

Have you met her? Is he OK with introducing you to her? Has he asked you to go along? Is there any reason why you could not go along? Where are they going?

I think if he is not willing to introduce you and if he is not open to you joining (she could bring a friend also to even things out) then I would be very, very wary. The honesty could easily be damage control as Jotuntheim says. The thing is they are not exs. They did not gradually build up a bond. The met online (with a defined purpose of romance) shagged and stayed in contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,340 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Im friends with 2 exs and we hang out, go drinking etc and there is no issues that Im aware of from current partners??

Do you go on weekends away with them, just the two of you? I doubt it.

OP, are they sharing a room? That's the first thing I'd be finding out. But even if they're not, I personally wouldn't be comfortable with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭prettyrestless

Being friends with a genuine ex is fine. You had a relationship, you know each other, it's normal to maintain a friendship if you parted on good terms. Meeting someone online, going on a few dates then deciding you're not compatible but deciding to be besties is a tad unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭Shelga

OP again. They're going away to a comedy festival in another city (I live in the UK so you can probably guess which one)- and are sharing a room- twin or bunk beds, not sure yet. He seemed to get that this was weird and hurriedly reassured me.

He didn't lie- very early on when we met he mentioned he was going to this festival, and as the weeks went by he said it was with this girl. He hasn't asked me along but tbh I don't want to spend a weekend with him and his ex-fling/whatever- I want to spend it with him alone if we go away somewhere for the first time.

Reading the responses is letting me admit that this really bothers me. I don't have to constantly be 'the cool girl'- I think anyone would be bothered by this.

He also met this ex for drinks while I was away last week. It's the combination of everything that's bothering me. Yes, I'm glad he's open about it, but it does feel like he has a fallback list, as another poster pointed out. He broke up with someone around 18 months ago, same as me, and since then seems to have been throwing himself into meeting girls with gusto and gaining loads of confidence. Not a bad thing, but I think he needs to majorly pull back if we're to be together.

I've decided I'm going to have a chat with him about this and not keep brushing it off- but should I wait til after he comes back from this weekend? I don't see what purpose having a serious conversation would serve either of us just as the weekend is meant to begin. It just annoys me that it's going to be on my mind until I see him again next week.

Thanks for the replies so far- really helpful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

They're sharing a room?? No way would I be happy about that. They slept together once so there's obviously an attraction there, there's probably still chemistry, they're going away to a festival where they're going to likely be drinking...I'll be shocked if nothing happens between them on the weekend away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Magicmatilda

Does she know he has a girlfriend?

Has he asked you to go? I know you said you wouldn't but has he even suggested it, why would he not?

I would be uncomfortable in the extreme with this situation. Have you met this girl? I would tell him that you want to arrange a meeting/drinks with her for after they get back. Seeeing that they are such great friends - you should meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I wouldn't be happy about this at all. Sharing a room and having a cosy weekend away is just too intimate. I also find it extremely odd that he met her for drinks when you were away last week. Are you sure that SHE doesn't think she's his girlfriend too? Have you met her or is he keen to keep you both seperate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Yeah I'd say wait until after the weekend. This is a trip he had planned before he even met you. Bringing it up as an issue right before he goes would just be wrecking it on him tbh. Perfectly fine to say, when he gets back "yeah, I wouldn't be mad about you heading off and sharing a room with a girl you'd previously slept with again. I trust you and all, but it'd just make me a bit uncomfortable".

As to is it weird to stay friends with someone you've slept with but jot had a relationship with? I'm not sure if call it weird. But it's apparently unusual, in that most people don't. But I did regularly over the years. I'd tend to date and sleep with people I found fun and interesting and good craic to be around, people I liked, I didn't stop liking them or enjoying their company because we didn't start a relationship, or because we'd had sex. One of my girlfriends best friends is a guy she met on a dating site, but didn't have a relationship with. So yeah, it does happen that people make friends in that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

At best it's incredibly disrespectful.

There's no way I'd be happy with what you outlined.

Given they've previously slept together and are sharing a room on a weekend away, I'd be surprised if they don't end up having sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Hi OP,

I'm pretty shocked by this thread tbh. If my boyfriend told me he was going to go for a one-on-one weekend away with a female friend (let alone one he'd shagged!), I'd be letting him know in no uncertain terms that it was completely unaccaptable if he wanted to remain my boyfriend - and I'd then be letting him choose his path accordingly.

The same way I'd never in a million years go for a cosy trip away with any other man except my boyfriend. IMO it's just basic respect and consideration for the relationship you're in.

What is there even to discuss! The nerve of some people. Sheesh. :rolleyes:

(As an aside, your bf is bad news I'm afraid. Jotunheim is bang on the money, read that post very carefully, sign of things to come if you stay with this guy, I fear.)

Ah yeah but this is a trip away like. Just the two of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Speaking from a guys point of view who went on plenty of online dates last year and slept with a few of them just the once, it's very very weird to remain friends with them. Similarly I met a lot of people which built confidence that I didn't have before (as I'd lost loads of weight) which made me go on more dates but just nothing happened after the first or second dates. I certainly wasn't sleeping around or aiming for one night stands so there was never a bad intention in me. Staying friends with them though is not something I could even comprehend unless I still had some interest in them. Even if I was blissfully naive and had zero interest, I'd imagine the girl still had interest in me and was hoping for something had any 'friendship' remained.

If it was me being the bf, I would have cancelled the trip straight away as it's only reasonable. This other girl is hardly a lifetime friend, it's some blow-in from last year. And even if I absolutely could not cancel (which I can't see any reason why I wouldn't), I'd book a separate room regardless of the cost.

If you're now official, he should be cutting these deadwood ex-dates out of his life. If he's 100% innocent and naive, he could be going on holidays with this girl who's hoping to get him smashed drunk and make a move.

You keep these people in your life as options or fall-backs in case things go sour so you can make that call again. I kept a good few girls in my phonebook and chatted to them from time to time and met one or two when I was single or after a single date. That was for options. But I wasn't tied down in any regard. As soon as I started seriously dating someone at the end of last year, all those numbers were deleted out of my phone book straight away and that was the end of it.

Given that it's effectively Friday and he's going away tomorrow, it might be best to leave it until he gets back as he's not going to cancel and sending him away mid-argument is only going to increase any potential of an issue on holiday.

But honestly, if it was the one person I wouldn't be quick to judge and say he's 'definitely' going to sleep with them but you're saying there's 'quite a few' girls; to me that's bizarre. It's one thing hitting it off with someone and realising its entirely platonic, that can happen. But keeping all these ex-conquests around as well as an ex, big no no. He sounds like a guy who likes to keep his options open, because let's be honest, he can't suddenly have found so many best mates in the last year that he can't let go of.

I spoke with him this evening, couldn't keep it to myself.

Although it's them sharing a room, there are other people on the trip, which I wasn't aware of. He said I was welcome to come. He sent me screenshots of thw booking website, showing that prices have increased ~300% since they booked.

Still not happy, and feel this sets things off on the wrong foot. I told him he should be pulling way back on this type of thing; he agreed and said we should now be the ones to make each other happy.

I'm going to overlook this weekend and give it a shot. My instinct says he is being honest. I don't have a history of arseholes and things have usually ended amicably in the past; I'd like to think I can trust my instinct. They've been friends between one and two years.

We'll see what happens, I expect a certain standard from here on in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

If there's other people on the trip couldn't he swap with someone else? As in share with someone he hasn't slept with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Shelga wrote: »

Although it's them sharing a room, there are other people on the trip, which I wasn't aware of. He said I was welcome to come. He sent me screenshots of thw booking website, showing that prices have increased ~300% since they booked.

Still not happy, and feel this sets things off on the wrong foot. I told him he should be pulling way back on this type of thing; he agreed and said we should now be the ones to make each other happy.

I'm going to overlook this weekend and give it a shot. My instinct says he is being honest. I don't have a history of arseholes and things have usually ended amicably in the past; I'd like to think I can trust my instinct.

Your instinct is best and better than all of us here as you know the guy.

If he's agreed to pull way back then you can't really ask for much more on that front, just keep an eye on him to make sure he follows through and isn't all talk. It's very easy to appease someone, it's another to make good on that promise.

The only thing I would say is that if there are other people going on this trip, it would surely mean that he could pull out and he wouldn't be leaving her in the lurch as other people would be going. And saying that you could come after showing you that prices are now 300% higher is slightly disingenuous. It's a new relationship very much in the honeymoon stage, cancelling and spending the weekend with you should not a huge thing. I'd be happy to take that kind of hit for the sake of someone new I was mad about. He could at least swap rooms with someone else.

I still wouldn't be very happy (given that he can easily cancel) but you know the guy best and if you've good instinct, hopefully you're on the money with this one. :)

Although it's them sharing a room

ah here

He said I was welcome to come.

He had to say that to play it cool. If it was a serious offer he could have said it long ago when you could do something about it.

He sent me screenshots of thw booking website, showing that prices have increased ~300% since they booked.

And this shows just how insincere the offer was. "You're welcome to come, now here's all the reasons you shouldn't come".

You've been drip-fed information as it suits him, he's going away with a girl he previously had sex with and they're sharing a room, he recently met her for a drink while you were away. How many signs do you want that he is nothing but a player?

Send him a text or mail there and tell him great news, you're going along and you don't mind paying for a room for the two of you. Bet you next weeks wages he'll come back with some excuse why that can't happen and throws it back on you. "It wouldn't be fair on her....", "there won't be a room left, I've been looking for us", "You and I are good, do you not trust me?" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I'm going to overlook this weekend and give it a shot. My instinct says he is being honest. I don't have a history of arseholes and things have usually ended amicably in the past; I'd like to think I can trust my instinct. They've been friends between one and two years.

We'll see what happens, I expect a certain standard from here on in.

Why didn't he tell you about the other people on the trip until now? It's strange that he'd only tell you that when challenged. Are they all sharing a room (hostel type thing) or are they pairing off?

His withholding of information is highly suspicious. I think you're letting him off way too easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,612 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

His story evolves the more questions you ask

Why didn't he tell you about the other people on the trip until now? It's strange that he'd only tell you that when challenged. Are they all sharing a room (hostel type thing) or are they pairing off?

His withholding of information is highly suspicious. I think you're letting him off way too easy.

I disagree. If he was hiding anything he would have just said he was going with a group of friends from the start and left it at that. He didn't have to tell her this girl was even coming. He didn't have to say he'd be sharing a room with her. He didn't have to tell her he'd slept with her. It sou do like he's been nothing but honest and forthcoming from the outset. I think it's really unfair the guys getting hung out to dry here by people on the thread tbh. Why would anyone be honest and open about these kind of things when seemingly you just screw yourself over by doing so.

(this isn't the same girl that he went for a drink with while the OP was away for the people using that ad another reason to string him up btw. That was his ex girlfriend from 18 months ago. Different girl. Sounds like he was also open about that when he could have said nothing).

OP it sounds like he's been nothing but open and transparent with you. This is a good thing. It would have been easy for him to lie to you about these things. He chose to do the right thing. Don't punish him for it or he may chose to be less than forthcoming in the future, as honesty seemingly gets him no where if the responses in this thread are anything to go by.

This is a trip he booked and had planned from before he even knew you existed. He's done nothing wrong and gone above and beyond what a lot of guys would have done to ensure honesty and transparency with you. He's either a decent bloke who sees a real future with you and so is determined to be honest with you at all times, even when the far easier thing would be to keep his mouth shut. Or some machavelian mastermind constructing elaborate double bluffs left right and centre with maximum risk and minimal reward for doing so. I think the former seems the far more likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

When someone drip feeds you little bits of information only when you probe - they're hiding things from you.

He didn't initially ask you to come when you first discussed it. Now, he says you're welcome BUT...

There's other people going, and he chose to share a room with her? With someone he fcuked not too long ago? While he has a girlfriend? And could swap with someone else on the trip?

How is your gut not screaming at you to run?

You say you're just forgetting about it, and will now expect a certain standard from him. The standard you want is not the standard you'll get, because you've now said you're okay with him sharing a room with a girl he had sex with not long ago.

I mean this in the nicest way possible, but - you're being taken for a ride and you're crazy if you don't see that.

Thanks OneOfThem, your take on it is pretty much what I think, but maybe that's just wishful thinking. I really don't think he told me all of this as some elaborate double bluff that absolves him of all accountability because "he was honest".

You're right, the girl he met for a drink was his proper ex, they went out for about 2 years I think. He's been forthcoming about her too and I don't think they meet often.

It's the combination of it all that has my head fried- I don't want to be thinking about all of this stuff to do with former flings/girlfriends/faux friends 3 months in FFS!

He was sweet on the phone, rang me straight away as soon as I sent the "not happy about this" message. He said he hasn't met anyone he's wanted a relationship with until me, and that I would obviously be the default person to take these trips with in future. He said he would feel sick at the thought of cheating. It made me feel better but even as I type this I think it all sounds like such a cliche.

I'm not sure how many others are going on the trip or what the exact circumstances are. It was midnight and I wanted to sleep. Head is wrecked enough, gonna wait til I see him next week and suss out how I feel properly.

OneOfThem wrote: »

(this isn't the same girl that he went for a drink with while the OP was away for the people using that ad another reason to string him up btw. That was his ex girlfriend from 18 months ago. Different girl.

What she said was "He also met this ex for drinks while I was away last week" and then went on to mention that he had also broken up with someone 18 months ago. In the context she mentioned those things, she referred to the girl he's going away with as "the ex" and gave a clear impression that they are one in the same and the ex from 18 months ago is a third girl. It hardly matters though, the key fact is that as soon as the OP's back was turned, out he went with another girl he'd previously had sex with.

As to the honesty....please. It's not honesty, it damage control, so if he's seen or lets something slip he can say "well I did tell you....". If he was truly honest it'd be honesty of effort and commitment to the now "official" relationship, ie he wouldn't be heading off with a girl he had a fling with and meeting her or another girl for drinks behind the OP's back, whether it's one or two girls.

Jotunheim wrote: »
    What she said was "He also met this ex for drinks while I was away last week" and then went on to mention that he had also broken up with someone 18 months ago. In the context she mentioned those things, she referred to the girl he's going away with as "the ex" and gave a clear impression that they are one in the same and the ex from 18 months ago is a third girl. It hardly matters though, the key fact is that as soon as the OP's back was turned, out he went with another girl he'd previously had sex with.

As to the honesty....please. It's not honesty, it damage control, so if he's seen or lets something slip he can say "well I did tell you....". If he was truly honest it'd be honesty of effort and commitment to the now "official" relationship, ie he wouldn't be heading off with a girl he had a fling with and meeting her or another girl for drinks behind the OP's back, whether it's one or two girls.

It was clear as day that the OP was referring to his ex as his ex, and not the girl he went on one date and slept with once, to anyone reading it objectively and not falling over themselves in their rush to shove the guy in front of the firing line.

He hasn't done anything behind the OP's back. He's told her straight out. He could have said nothing about both things, the OP would be none the wiser, and he'd be completely above an suspicion. He chose to be honest, knowing it would be a possibility (look at this thread for evidence) that it would mean the OP would instantly be a bit suspicious. It'd be like hanging around outside a bank you were planning to rob in a balaclava and waving your shotgun around for three hours because "sure nobody could possibly suspect I'm a bank robber then, they wouldn't do that." When the alternative is you can stroll in the back door you know they don't lock while everyone's out for lunch and help yourself. It's more than a bit of a stretch.

Look OP, have you any other reasons to suspect your boyfriend is a devious, manipulative person that would hurt you, other than the sure fire definitive absolute reasons of him being able to be friends with girls he's previously slept with and him being open about who he spends time with and his past with them? People here don't know him. You do. What kind of person is he?

It was clear as day that the OP was referring to his ex as his ex, and not the girl he went on one date and slept with once, to anyone reading it objectively and not falling over themselves in their rush to shove the guy in front of the firing line.

He hasn't done anything behind the OP's back. He's told her straight out. He could have said nothing about both things, the OP would be none the wiser, and he'd be completely above an suspicion. He chose to be honest, knowing it would be a possibility (look at this thread for evidence) that it would mean the OP would instantly be a bit suspicious. It'd be like hanging around outside a bank you were planning to rob in a balaclava and waving your shotgun around for three hours because "sure nobody could possibly suspect I'm a bank robber then, they wouldn't do that." When the alternative is you can stroll in the back door you know they don't lock while everyone's out for lunch and help yourself. It's more than a bit of a stretch.

Do you not think it's odd though that he's sharing a room with the girl, when there are other people going so he doesn't have to share with her?

Would you be comfortable with your partner going away with someone they were sexually attracted to, had previously slept with and were sharing a room, just the 2 of them?

Do you not think it's odd though that he's sharing a room with the girl, when there are other people going so he doesn't have to share with her?

Would you be comfortable with your partner going away with someone they were sexually attracted to, had previously slept with and were sharing a room, just the 2 of them?

He booked it before he ever met the OP. Why would it be odd for him to book it to share with her? They're friends.

Yes. I would. Absolutely. That doesn't mean the OP or anyone else has to be. I can understand people being uncomfortable with it. And I think it would be perfectly fine for the OP to ask of him, if he'd mind swapping with someone else of its possible, to put her mind at ease a bit. But yes. I'd be 100% perfectly fine with it. I don't think my partner would automatically cheat on me if she is left alone in a room with someone she finds sexually attractive. If someone would, then they've probably cheated in other situations already tbh. I trust her. She's got a mind of her own, and the ability not to fvck people.

This kind of thinking is exactly why manipulators drip feed a limited, selective "truth".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

OP, do you know any of the other people going on this trip so that you could at least ask them about it and see if he's telling the truth that others are going. You could also say that you were surprised no-one offered to switch rooms with him.

Thanks OneOfThem, your take on it is pretty much what I think, but maybe that's just wishful thinking. I really don't think he told me all of this as some elaborate double bluff that absolves him of all accountability because "he was honest".

You're right, the girl he met for a drink was his proper ex, they went out for about 2 years I think. He's been forthcoming about her too and I don't think they meet often.

It's the combination of it all that has my head fried- I don't want to be thinking about all of this stuff to do with former flings/girlfriends/faux friends 3 months in FFS!

He was sweet on the phone, rang me straight away as soon as I sent the "not happy about this" message. He said he hasn't met anyone he's wanted a relationship with until me, and that I would obviously be the default person to take these trips with in future. He said he would feel sick at the thought of cheating. It made me feel better but even as I type this I think it all sounds like such a cliche.

I'm not sure how many others are going on the trip or what the exact circumstances are. It was midnight and I wanted to sleep. Head is wrecked enough, gonna wait til I see him next week and suss out how I feel properly.

Hmm. Bit rash but my gut tells me this fella is a well oiled womanizing machine and bailing might be in order. Just my thoughts on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Wright wrote: »
    Hmm. Bit rash but my gut tells me this fella is a well oiled womanizing machine and bailing might be in order. Just my thoughts on it.
    I totally agree with this.
    OP you are always going to have doubts about this weekend and what did or didnt happen,youve said it yourself that your head is fried as it is and he hasnt even gone yet.I know that feeling and it eats away at you,you might be able to put it to the back of your mind for a while but it will always come back to niggle you.
    Personally I would have no interest in being with someone like him,even reading your posts is difficult as hes playing the innocent party like a pro.
    Why didnt he invite you all along,he knows you wouldnt go at the last minute but he will always throw it back at you that he did invite you.
    I cant think of one woman I know who would put up with this so dont be doubting your reaction at all.
    Id be sending a text today to finish it and let him get on with his weekend,at least he wont have the satisfaction doing what Im nearly 100% he will do behind your back.Go with your gut on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 TizTaly2015

OP, your initial question - Is this weird? - tells me that you think and deep down know that it is. I think it is. Very much so. You are only 3 months in to this relationship and already this has stopped you in your tracks. How deep are your feelings for this guy at this stage? I think I would bail to be honest. It will be sore for the first few weeks but then you'll get your mojo back. If he is genuine and really sincere, he will make adjustments to his life that will enable you and him to have a future. Right now, though, I feel that he is having his cake and eating it...all the best and take care

I would bail too, he should not be going away with her, end of story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

I've been in your boyfriends position. One of my closest friends is a girl I slept with once. We went to a gig recently and we shared a room. We went to the gig and we enjoyed ourselves. That was it. Us having sex never even registered.

I think the posts painting your bf as some sort of manipulating womaniser are unfair. You say all of this was planned before he even met you. Maybe he just really wants to go to the festival and he's been looking forward to it.

Ineedaname wrote: »
    I've been in your boyfriends position. One of my closest friends is a girl I slept with once. We went to a gig recently and we shared a room. We went to the gig and we enjoyed ourselves. That was it. Us having sex never even registered.

I think the posts painting your bf as some sort of manipulating womaniser are unfair. You say all of this was planned before he even met you. Maybe he just really wants to go to the festival and he's been looking forward to it.

But how is that even possible!? You're trying to tell us you had sex before, and not only did you develop a friendship, but it doesn't mean one or both of you are determined to fvck again any time you are left alone together? Neither of you are just waiting for an opportunity to do so? You were in the room together, right? Alone? And you didn't immediately start riding when the door clicked closed and cheat on your respective partners? What are you? A eunuch Buddhist monk carved out of stone, rather than flesh and blood? Tell us another one why don't you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I think if it was me I'd ask him one question. "How would you feel if I invited around some guy I'd slept with while you were away and we ended up sleeping in the same room together? Would you be reassured by me telling you we're 'just friends'?"

I think when you're single you have a certain lifestyle that doesn't go hand-in-hand with proper relationship etiquette. When I was single I had lots of 'options' like this. Guys I'd hooked up with but we're mates now but you never know, blah blah blah...being single meant the lines were always blurred and there were no boundaries, I could do and hang out with whomever I pleased.

This sounds like such an example, his weekend away is just residual from his 'single lifestyle' and he's a bit bloody dim about the things he needs to let go of now that he's in a relationship, combined with not wanting to deal with an awkward social situation ("sorry I can't go, my girlfriend is pissed about it")

I think I'd let him off on his weekend away and when he's back, tell him there are certain things you expect in a relationship and respect is one of them. Your respect for him means you won't be hanging out with all these exes and former fcuk buddies all the time and you'd expect the same in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Mod Note
    Remember guys if you can't give constructive advice in a civil manner please don't post.
    I have also removed 2 posts that led on from the warned post as being off topic resulting directly from the post in question.

If anyone is unsure of the expectations here please read our charter, we have a low tolerance for muppetry and will action accordingly to protect potentially very vulnerable OPs / Posters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Ineedaname wrote: »

Agreed I've travelled with an ex and it would never even cross our minds. I think a lot of people in this country just see the opposite sex as men or women and because of this don't see then as friends. My ex's were friends and because they didn't **** on me, we are still friends.

I think if he had something to hide he would be blurting out a full story.

Op either accept it and move on or dump him but don't harbour it for months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

CaraMay wrote: »
    Agreed I've travelled with an ex and it would never even cross our minds. I think a lot of people in this country just see the opposite sex as men or women and because of this don't see then as friends. My ex's were friends and because they didn't **** on me, we are still friends.

I think if he had something to hide he would be blurting out a full story.

Op either accept it and move on or dump him but don't harbour it for months.

Exactly. I think people watch far too many soaps.

I say let him have his weekend and start looking into planning your own trip for the future.