Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 National Championships discussion thread

• 06-08-2015 9:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭

With 2 days to go, it's time to have a thread set up, solely dedicated to the biggest weekend of the year in the Irish athletics.

The entry list is here:

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/downloads/other/Entries_National_Seniors_040815_11.45am.pdf

There are some massive entries in certain events, particularly the Men's 400m, where there will be relay spots for the World Championships up for grabs. Brian Gregan, Mark English, and Thomas Barr are pre selected, but the other 3 spots could go to any of 5 athletes realistically.

The team fly out the next day, so it’s very much a last hurrah for athletes in all events to get on that plane. Kelly Proper will have one last shot at the World Standard which she has been so close to on about 4-5 occasions this year. However she looks likely to go to Beijing anyway through the quota system.

The numbers in some events are dreadfully low however. Only 8 athletes entered for the women’s 200m, 11 for the women’s 400m, 5 for the men’s 400m hurdles, and 5 for the women’s 400m hurdles. On the contrary, there are 23 entered for the women’s hammer, which is unbelievably impressive I have to say.

So, who is competing this weekend? Who is spectating? What are you most looking forward to? What are you not looking forward to? Has the event been promoted enough outside athletics circles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

You running? Its nearly a religion for me to go compete by now ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Timmaay wrote: »
    You running? Its nearly a religion for me to go compete by now ha.

I'm running the 400m on Saturday. It's a great event to just be part of given what's at stake for the leading guys. I also made a spur of the moment decision to enter the long jump on the Sunday. Regretting the loss of 15 euro now, as I probably won't do it, as Nationals probably isn't the place to be taking part in an event I haven't specifically trained for. We'll see.

Just the 15 for yourself, or doubling up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Gregan down for Flanders Cup this weekend apparently, maybe not running Nationals?

https://twitter.com/Jumping_The_Gun/status/629252605143842816

pconn062 wrote: »
    Gregan down for Flanders Cup this weekend apparently, maybe not running Nationals?

I thought to get selected it's a requirement to run Nationals? It sort of devalues the event too if the best isn't running, or is not running in their main event.

pconn062 wrote: »

He's got a bye into the final at Nationals. Can't say I agree with that. Everybody should be treated equally. Maybe if it was a DL meet. I guess he's after a qualifier for Beijing. Big ask to drop 0.4 off the SB though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

I'm entered for the 10000. It will be my first time at the nationals as a competitor or a spectator and I'm looking forward to it. What is the setup regarding number collection, I won't get to santry until 2fm. Is there pick up throughout the day or is there a certain time ?

ultrapercy wrote: »
    I'm entered for the 10000. It will be my first time at the nationals as a competitor or a spectator and I'm looking forward to it. What is the setup regarding number collection, I won't get to santry until 2fm. Is there pick up throughout the day or is there a certain time ?

I think, though not 100%, you can sign in any time until 1 hour before the race start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Gutted I won't be running this year but family commitments take the fore. Some great races lined up in the 4 and the 800, with of course the 1500 always being a highlight.

Best of luck to all the Boardsies running and I hope to see some big PBs on the weekend.

Would love to see Ciara, Mary and Kelly hitting the qualifying standards. Especially Mary. That woman deserves a break with all the injuries she's had through her career.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    I think, though not 100%, you can sign in any time until 1 hour before the race start.

Plus there are call rooms for every race, make sure your not late for that, it will mean having to do your warmup earlier and be sitting around abit before your race.

Gutted I won't be running this year but family commitments take the fore. Some great races lined up in the 4 and the 800, with of course the 1500 always being a highlight.

Best of luck to all the Boardsies running and I hope to see some big PBs on the weekend.

Would love to see Ciara, Mary and Kelly hitting the qualifying standards. Especially Mary. That woman deserves a break with all the injuries she's had through her career.

There's no chance Ciara will hit the standard in a National Final, but she looks likely to go to Beijing through the quota system. Others who look like they will make it through the quota system are Kelly Proper, Ben Reynolds, Ciara Everard and Sara Treacy.

Not even the most optimistic Mary Cullen fan could possibly see her front running a sub 15:20. Not going to happen lets be realistic. She's currently 6th fastest of the athletes who are not in through the quota system, so her only real hope is for a rake of people ahead of her to not get selected by their national federations.

http://toplist.leichtathletik-mehrkampf.de/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Looking forward to the men’s steeplechase, and 1500m. The heats in the 1500m and 800m should be good races too. I wonder if Tomas Cotter doesn’t fancy a shot at the 1500m - it’s certainly more open for medals than last year.

I noticed Ciara Mageean is down for both the 1500m and the 800 too. Power of 10 has her pb as 2:02.31 from 2011. Her mile at the Morton would suggest she’s in at least that shape - I presume she’ll just do the 15, but would definitely be interested to see her run the 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

There's no chance Ciara will hit the standard in a National Final, but she looks likely to go to Beijing through the quota system. Others who look like they will make it through the quota system are Kelly Proper, Ben Reynolds, Ciara Everard and Sara Treacy.

Not even the most optimistic Mary Cullen fan could possibly see her front running a sub 15:20. Not going to happen lets be realistic. She's currently 6th fastest of the athletes who are not in through the quota system, so her only real hope is for a rake of people ahead of her to not get selected by their national federations.

Is it a given that the AAI will bring athletes that are in the quota but haven't hit the QT?

happygoose wrote: »
    Is it a given that the AAI will bring athletes that are in the quota but haven't hit the QT?

Seems like it. AAI have been posting about the quota system a bit in the last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Mary Cullen won't be front running from what I hear.

To be honest for the 5000m I think its more about the conditions than quality of the field. It was a tough windy day in the Diamond League recently and she missed out. If it's decent weather I.e. little wind and there's good crowd support then I'd give her a shot providing she's actually in that type of shape.

Granted it would be easier if she had some company but it's not the be all and end all.

What's the inside info NE?

What were people's highlights today? I didn't see much of it today except for the 1500 heats. Was in the last of the 400 heats so didn't see any of the ones before me.

Very windy out there today. The readings in the 100 and 200 reached as high as -5.0. It certainly impacted my time. Felt I ran very well but you really are pissing into the wind (pardon the pun) when the weather is like that. 56.65 today. Judging by others in my heat, it was worth a mid 55.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

A little wrapup of today's action from AI for anyone interested.

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/news/cullens-triumphant-return

I saw a lot of good stuff today. The 10k was compelling to watch, with a really good contest up the front - Mark Christie's last 800 in 2:05/6 to finish was pretty amazing.

1500 heats were very tactical - and I think the guy who ran off from the start in the second heat actually managed to sneak through to the final in the end, which I was glad to see. A young Rathfarnham guy tried the same thing last year and got swallowed up on the last lap. 2nd heat was won by John Travers who looked very easy winding it up on the last two laps. Everard and Mooney were in the first heat, which was really slow until the burnup on the last lap - which was 57s. Presumably the final is between those three.

800 heats were interesting - didn't think Mark English would just front run his heat, but he looked really smooth. Ciara Mageean didn't seem to have too many problems winning her heat either but I'd imagine the 15 is her priority.

400 heats were of a very high standard for the qualifying places - the Kervick/Murphy last 100 particularly good, but also good battles between Griffin and Morrissey in Heat 3 and David McCarthy and Zak Curran in Heat 2.

And Mary Cullen, obviously! That was a complete solo run - really impressive, but the battle for bronze which was being fought over the whole race was the main focus of attention.

Disappointing to see that it's a straight final in the women's 200 and 400. Just 5 and 8 athletes respectively. Plenty of women run those distances throughout the year at graded meets etc, so where are they come nationals? Same in both men's and women's hurdle events.

Only 3 women in SC. I had the worst experience of my running life in the 10. Solidly last and lapped 3 times by leaders. Lapped by all but 1 other runner. Long lonely day with no bright side or moral victory. No hiding place out there.

Men's 5000m today could be a very interesting race. Looks like there's 20 in the 2nd race, which is essentially the final, including John Travers who appears to be doubling up in this and the 15! A slow, tactical race could suit him more than others, but I'd imagine Kevin Batt is still a clear favourite.

Only 3 women in SC. I had the worst experience of my running life in the 10. Solidly last and lapped 3 times by leaders. Lapped by all but 1 other runner. Long lonely day with no bright side or moral victory. No hiding place out there.

Looked difficult to judge pace, with the way the wind was. And there were only one or two who made progress through the field during the race and quite a few who dropped back, as well as the 4 who dropped out.

Great to watch though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 johnnyfox24

You finished ahead of the 4 that dropped out - fair play for getting out there and not giving up when it got tough. Roosevelts "Man in the Arena" speech is apt:

"It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Oiriallach

Not sure if it was a case of the officials being lenient, not knowing the rules or there not being any officials, but at least two of the teams (one men's and one women's) should have been disqualified in the 4x400m as outgoing runners started running from before the start of the changeover zone. There's no acceleration zone in the 4x4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Joe Travers lol.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Joe Travers lol.

Who is Joe Travers lol ? TV coverage wasn't very good, didn't even give the top 3 in the distance races and no field event coverage at all really.

Yea, George's commentary was a bit of joke. Kelly Proper coming from nowhere to win the 100m :D. It would be great if they got someone in that had some actual interest in Irish Athletics like one of the Jumping the Gun guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Highlights: Mary Cullen, Ciara Mageean, Tomás Cotter, Sara Treacy.

Lowlights: That bloody PA system in Santry that kept breaking! The 10k walk, sorry it's just too boring!

On the contrary. Check out the results of the B race in the 5000m. Plenty of people who you would have been ahead of. It all really depends on who shows up sometimes.

http://www.athleticsirelandenterprises.com/results_08082015/event019h01.html

Definitely plenty of positives to take from the experience once the dust settles. Fair play. So many people who should do Nationals don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,824 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yes, noticed that. George had me seriously confused. I thought that maybe there were two Travers' in the race. What happened Travers? Reckless or just sort of threw in the towel?

Such admiration for Kelly Proper. She must be Ireland's most decorated national champion?

Sara Treacy's final lap was brilliant.

Gillick new to the interviewing? Some of the post race interviews were a little odd/damp!

walshb wrote: »
    Yes, noticed that. George had me seriously confused. I thought that maybe there were two travers in the race. What happened Travers? Reckless or just sort of threw in the towel?

He ran the 5000m earlier that day and came 4th, so probably had little left for the 1500m. Doubling up was madness if you ask me.

55/56 3rd lap someone split him at ha. Total do or die by him, in fairness he makes for an entertaining race if nothing else!

Thanks. Didn't know that. That's bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Thanks. Didn't know that. That's bonkers.

Madness might be too strong a word. Plenty of collegiate athletes would do that double multiple times during the year. He should have been more than able to win both races if he was on top form!

At Nationals it seemed a bit much to me. Was he really ever going to beat Batt over 5000m? The 5K definitely cost him a proper shot at the 1500. It's different doubling up if your main event is first, but not when it is second. Can't understand the rationale behind the decision personally.

But in the same day it seems like a really tough ask to be competitive and strong come the second event. Put it this way, had he won or finished in the top 3 then what would that say about the other athletes in the 1500 who were a lot more rested having not run a 5 k that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

But in the same day it seems like a really tough ask to be competitive and strong come the second event. Put it this way, had he won or finished in the top 3 then what would that say about the other athletes in the 1500 who were a lot more rested having not run a 5 k that day!

Yep, a lot of athletes in NCAA would double up like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭hurdles1

Another disappointing championship, very poor turnout in a lot of events.
    Maybe holding these chmps earlier in the season would improve things, when youth/ junior athletes are still chasing times for major chmps.athletes back to school/college in a few weeks and they need time to unwind, catch-up with friends, attend festivals, go on hols etc.
    Apart from Barr,English,Heffernan, all athletes who can be competitive at world and Olympic level, the reality is the rest are looking at relays this level.
    European championship, making semis
    And maybe finals are what it's all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,868 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

hurdles1 wrote: »
    Maybe holding these chmps earlier in the season would improve things, when youth/ junior athletes are still chasing times for major chmps.athletes back to school/college in a few weeks and they need time to unwind, catch-up with friends, attend festivals, go on hols etc.
    Apart from Barr,English,Heffernan, all athletes who can be competitive at world and Olympic level, the reality is the rest are looking at relays this level.

When do other countries hold their champs?

Austria, Estonia, Hungary, Lithuania, Ireland, Sweden & Switzerland held their championships this weekend. Last weekend you had Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Slovakia, Spain & Ukraine.

UK Championships were on the first weekend in July, English Championships were last weekend, Scottish Championships are next weekend & Welsh Championships were on the last weekend in June.

hurdles1 wrote: »

I'd disagree here. The Championships were only this late because the Worlds are so late this year. It will be back to July next year, in line with when the Rio Olympics are on.

I don't like the idea of having Nationals on earlier in the season, June for example. Nationals for 95% of the athletes is the biggest meet of the season, so it stands to reason it should be towards the end of the season. It would be nice if there were a couple more weeks of races after Nationals in Ireland for athletes to wind down, but having it half way through the year, sort of makes the second half of the season, a long slow wind down until the end of the season. Not sure that would be great either.

Who else is in utter bits still after last night ha?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Who else is in utter bits still after last night ha?

I'm in absolute agony! 3 and a half hours sleep!

I don't remember seeing you there last night. Though there were so many people there, it was hard to catch everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Would you do it again?

Just watched the RTE highlights. George Hamilton is just shocking. The fact he keeps getting the athletics gig despite not having a breeze shows how little RTE are bothered.

No mention of the field events that took place on day 2. Adam McMullen jumped very well and got no mention.

They kept referring to the 1500m as the last event on the programme, despite the 4x400 relay actually being after. They just pretended that didn't happen, and gave it no mention.

And Jerry Kiernan really has some sort of mysterious issue with Mark English by the sounds of him.

On the plus side they showed every track race up to and including 1500. They didn't do that last year, and skipped a few events. And Ailis McSweeney is fairly decent. You can tell she does her homework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

Just watched the RTE highlights. George Hamilton is just shocking. The fact he keeps getting the athletics gig despite not having a breeze shows how little RTE are bothered.

No mention of the field events that took place on day 2. Adam McMullen jumped very well and got no mention.

They kept referring to the 1500m as the last event on the programme, despite the 4x400 relay actually being after. They just pretended that didn't happen, and gave it no mention.

And Jerry Kiernan really has some sort of mysterious issue with Mark English by the sounds of him.

On the plus side they showed every track race up to and including 1500. They didn't do that last year, and skipped a few events. And Ailis McSweeney is fairly decent. You can tell she does her homework.
    Kept on about "joe" Travers and was still talking about him on the home straight when he was after dropping back to about 6th in the 1500! Kiernan
    Seems to have issues with most athletes not in his stable. Always taking digs at Pollock also.

For anyone interested I've done a report here about my experience at Nationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,868 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Good stuff.

Are you also planning to do a "club points table" like you did last year? I thought that was quite interesting.