Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lotto Numbers come up: Didn't buy ticket.

• 05-08-2015 6:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭

OK, so your usual weekly lotto numbers come up but for just that one week, you didn't buy a ticket.

How do you mentally deal with the situation? Or what action would you take to cope with your misfortune?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Blame someone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Dont have numbers...just play the quick pick. Never give disappointment a chance to get a foothold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭One More Toy

I would in all seriousness probably not be able to live with myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'd certainly not check the winning numbers in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

I think this happened to at least one family member of most people I know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Buddy of mine calls the Lotto an Idiot tax.
    Well, my Lotto plus ticket won me €3 a few weeks ago. Now who is the Idiot?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Jotunheim

Non-stories are bad enough, but hypothetical non-stories? Do you want to know how I might feel about other non-existent issues that never happened? I'm outraged I could never find my adoptive parents. The fact that I was not adopted and grew up in a loving family is neither here nor there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

You can check your numbers online to see if you would have ever won. When my mam checked, the most she could have won was around 200 a couple of years ago.

Guaranteed the numbers will come up some weekend when she forgets to do it though.

Do you know what's fun though? Going on the lotto website and putting in the winning numbers for the last draw so it tells you you've just won millions.

It's nice to dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Jotunheim wrote: »
    Non-stories are bad enough, but hypothetical non-stories? Do you want to know how I might feel about other non-existent issues that never happened? I'm outraged I could never find my adoptive parents. The fact that I was not adopted and grew up in a loving family is neither here nor there.

I feel your pain right now. ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

LizT wrote: »
    Do you know what's fun though? Going on the lotto website and putting in the winning numbers for the last draw so it tells you you've just won millions.

It's nice to dream.

Hey, it's nice to have some real hobbies too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That's why I couldn't have weekly numbers, I'd feel obldiged to do it every draw just in case. When I do the lotto its always a quick pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

2 members of a local lotto syndicate were going on holidays a few years ago, so they did the lotto before they left, in case the other 2 members forgot to do the lotto while they were away.

As it happened the other 2 members didn't know the first 2 guys had done the lotto in advance, so they also did their usual numbers. Both tickets won the lotto plus draw, they won 250,000 twice.

2 members of a local lotto syndicate were going on holidays a few years ago, so they did the lotto before they left, in case the other 2 members forgot to do the lotto while they were away.

As it happened the other 2 members didn't know the first 2 guys had done the lotto in advance, so they also did their usual numbers. Both tickets won the lotto plus draw, they won 250,000 twice.

Can anybody else get that smell?

I would in all seriousness probably not be able to live with myself

Nor with those you had promised to share the cabbage with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Kettleson wrote: »
    OK, so your usual weekly lotto numbers come up but for just that one week, you didn't buy a ticket.

How do you mentally deal with the situation? Or what action would you take to cope with your misfortune?

You big feckin eejit, if that's any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Two Sheds

It's nice to dream.
    Or buying a ticket just after the draw and using the winning numbers - then going to the pub to show the lads.

I've never but money on the lottery in my life. I've only bet on a horse once, and that was as a child.

It's such an obvious waste of money, you'd wonder why it was ever made legal. The whole enterprise of betting has no place in a sensible society, but then I support horseracing, and have to accept the role of gambling in the sport.

Can anybody else get that smell?

here you go Jotunheim, especially for you..

http://oceanfm.ie/donegal-family-strikes-lotto-gold-twice/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

My mam and her sisters still do my grandads lotto numbers every week since he died 9 years ago, just in case :)

..and if you kept to your lucky Israeli lotto numbers you would be smiling twice...gotta be a fix surely?

http://www.haaretz.com/beta/israeli-lottery-draws-same-winning-numbers-twice-in-one-month-1.319671

So a few people speculated it might be the case based on guesswork. Still no story.

..and if you kept to your lucky Israeli lotto numbers you would be smiling twice...gotta be a fix surely?

http://www.haaretz.com/beta/israeli-lottery-draws-same-winning-numbers-twice-in-one-month-1.319671

friggin hell, what are the odds?!

So a few people speculated it might be the case based on guesswork. Still no story.

it was the case because I know the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Why do people buy lottery tickets every week instead of just buying a prize bond or 2? You'll build up an emergency fund, you'll never lose a cent, you'll be entered in one draw a week, 2 next week, 52 by the end of the year etc etc, its just mind boggling, you can set up a direct debit if you're worried about the hassle. The Lotto is just pissing money up the wall.

it was the case because I know the family.

Well if someone in the internet says so, then it must be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I get annoyed when I play the lotto and the person doing it for me doesn't listen and either fails to do it for 2 draws or fails to play lotto plus.I can't relax until I have played for both draws with the same numbers as if it did happen that the numbers came up for the second of the weeks draws and I didn't have a ticket for that draw I don't know how I could deal with it.

Well if someone in the internet says so, then it must be true.

here, you were the one accusing me of spinning yarns, and I proved you wrong. Case closed. No hard feelings.

and while we're on the subject of unusual lotto coincidences..

http://www.snopes.com/rumors/lottery.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I've never but money on the lottery in my life. I've only bet on a horse once, and that was as a child.

It's such an obvious waste of money, you'd wonder why it was ever made legal. The whole enterprise of betting has no place in a sensible society, but then I support horseracing, and have to accept the role of gambling in the sport.
    Plenty things are a waste of money, are you saving up to leave millions to you relatives?

I agree totally. I have seen quite a few folk recently walking the streets whilst scratching scratch cards either in vain or desperation, a few would appear to have mental health problems. Very sad IMO.

It seems a sad state of the nation that we have allowed this to happen. And then on-line bingo etc. How may credit cards have been maxed to the limit because of that? ...and the misery caused. The Lotto has in a way, legitimised other forms of 24-7 gambling to an unacceptable extent. At least the bookies used to close when the racing stopped.

The lotto must bring way way more disappointment than joy. Not good.

Do you realise how many charities, cultural projects and the like are funded or part funded by the lotto? There is no way it brings more joy than disappointment. I don't do the lotto often, but when I do it's because I've a few euro to spare and I decide to chance it.

The lotto is a bit different to maxing out your credit cards gambling.

Do you realise how many charities, cultural projects and the like are funded or part funded by the lotto? There is no way it brings more joy than disappointment. I don't do the lotto often, but when I do it's because I've a few euro to spare and I decide to chance it.

The lotto is a bit different to maxing out your credit cards gambling.

Thats a ruse. Are you a mug?

No, I'm a cup and saucer actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

As a glass-half-empty person, I never bother with it. The odds are outrageously against you winning, plus it's a fair bit of effort to keep it up regularly...if you stick to your numbers.

With other gambling there's (even if it's a bit of an illusion) a feeling that you have worked it out, done your homework etc, when you win. Not just dumb luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

It's nice to dream.

[URL="[img]http://i.imgur.com/t8lYc2k.png[/img]"][/URL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

shane9689 wrote: »

Match 2 numbers
    1 in 23 chance
    Winnings = €4.08

I like those odds!

No, I'm a cup and saucer actually.

You'll be well used to a hot Darjeeling then darlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

quickpick for this reason, always, +ev life choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Menas wrote: »
    Buddy of mine calls the Lotto an Idiot tax.
    Well, my Lotto plus ticket won me €3 a few weeks ago. Now who is the Idiot?!

he sounds a knob, you can tell him I said so too, will fight him too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Sure take in the filled out number sheet to lotto in town and tell them you buy the same numbers every week. That should be proof enough for them to give you the money. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Antarctica

KungPao wrote: »
    As a glass-half-empty person, I never bother with it. The odds are outrageously against you winning, plus it's a fair bit of effort to keep it up regularly...if you stick to your numbers.

With other gambling there's (even if it's a bit of an illusion) a feeling that you have worked it out, done your homework etc, when you win. Not just dumb luck.

Not that much effort if you do it online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Happened to my Grandmother years back, would have won 2mil had she played.

She didn't care all that much, she had no use for the money, what stung was when she said she would've just split it among her kids and grand-kids.
    When we did the math, I would've come out with 30k (she had 8 kids, and lot of grand-kids). As a 15/16 year old, that was a big loss for me to take.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

If i havent bought a ticket i would never check the winning numbers. what is the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

BizzyC wrote: »
    Happened to my Grandmother years back, would have won 2mil had she played.

She didn't care all that much, she had no use for the money, what stung was when she said she would've just split it among her kids and grand-kids.
    When we did the math, I would've come out with 30k (she had 8 kids, and lot of grand-kids). As a 15/16 year old, that was a big loss for me to take.....

Yeah my granny told me that one too. And the one with goldilocks and the three bears where the smallest bed has a load of cash under the mattress at the end . I think she made both up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

How I would deal with it: rebuke myself as if I was Jar Jar Binks from Star Wars - "Now now gugleguy"........or whatever. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

It happened in a syndicate in my Dads job during the early days of the lotto, they missed out on about IR£900,000 (€700million in todays money ;))

I couldnt deal with it if it happened, so I dont do syndicates and I only do a quick pick for myself occasionally, easy come easy go.

Although the money turns people bad, I know of a syndicate in a work department that won €100,000 between 11 of them. A new person had just started and was offered to join in, but because they hadnt yet selected numbers or paid the sub for that week, the rest voted to give them nothing, while they celebrated. It was pure mangey, a hundred euro each out their €9,090 to give the person a grand wouldn't have killed them.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Plenty things are a waste of money, are you saving up to leave millions to you relatives?
    Of course not, I just think the national lottery is an unjustified burden on poorer families who grasp at this misguided opportunity to escape their situation.

They are more likely to drop dead after doing the lottery than actually winning the lottery. In no way is the lottery a wise use of money.