Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calais 'migrants' - stop using that word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Could be worse, they could be called *shudder*... the "undocumented".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Could be worse, they could be called *shudder*... the "undocumented".

Or "Non-Nationals".

I hate that expression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

They also forget the word illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Every day, I see news websites use the word 'migrants' to refer to people from Syria, Sudan, Eritrea and Afghanistan who are waiting in Calais, France to board a train or ferry to the UK or other parts of Europe . . .

This blatantly incorrect language is used consistently, and no one seems to be calling them up on it.

A 'migrant' is a person who moves from one part a country to a different part of the same country e.g. the Oklahoma farmers who moved to California during the Great Depression.

If you move from one country to a different country, you are not a 'migrant'. You are an immigrant.

Which, by the way, is the perfectly reasonable thing to be. Almost every country in the world has dealt with immigrants, and benefited from it. It may well be the case that the immigrants in Calais will make a positive contribution to countries in Europe if and when they are allowed to settle.

But calling them 'migrants' is flat out incorrect, and what's worse, condescending. Dropping the first two letters of the word 'immigrant' doesn't transform it from some awful slur to a badge of honour. It isn't a slur, it's the correct nomenclature.

The Irish people who flooded into New York and Boston in the 1840s and 1850s were immigrants, and indeed, many of their descendants embrace the term 'immigrant' to describe their forebears. It shows that they are aware of their heritage, and that they came from somewhere else.

Political correctness is a good thing in that it prevents minorities from being attacked, whether they are gay, trans, people of colour and so on. But using the term 'migrant' to refer to immigrants isn't political correctness.

It's gutless, euphemistic bullshit.
    No. It's proper use of English.

A "migrant" is one who migrates - moves from one place and settles in another. The two places may be in the same country, or may be in different countries.

An "immigrant" is a person who has migrated into a particular place; an emigrant is one who has migrated from a particular place. From the perspective of the Bostonians, an Irish person migrating to Boston is an immigrant but, from the perspective of Irish people, the same person is an emigrant. If you are not speaking from any particular perspective, the person is just a migrant. Newspapers and broadcasters generally mantain at least a veneer of impartiality and objectivity, so "migrant" is the preferred, and entirely correct, term.

(You could even make the point that even though the people concerned are trying to immigrate to Britain, they won't actually be immigrants unless and until they succeed in doing so. While they're still in transit, and haven't settled anywhere, they can be emigrants from the perspective of their home country and migrants from a general non-specific perspective, but they can't correctly be called immigrants.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Every day, I see news websites use the word 'migrants' to refer to people from Syria, Sudan, Eritrea and Afghanistan who are waiting in Calais, France to board a train or ferry to the UK or other parts of Europe.

Look at the last 24 hours alone.

The Irish Times: EU offers France funds to help with Calais migrants

The Irish Examiner: EU pledges aid for France during Calais migrant Calais (sic)

TheJournal.ie: One dead as 1500 migrants try to storm Eurotunnel

The Telegraph: Calais crisis: Riot police officer in hospital as 1,700 migrants try to storm Channel Tunnel

TIME: Migrants Wait With Hope and Resignation at French Camp Called ‘the Jungle’

The Guardian: UK funds 100 extra Channel tunnel guards as migrant standoff continues

The Daily Mail: Calais under siege: Riot police battle 2,500 migrants desperate to reach Britain through Channel Tunnel during weekend of chaos

This blatantly incorrect language is used consistently, and no one seems to be calling them up on it.

A 'migrant' is a person who moves from one part a country to a different part of the same country e.g. the Oklahoma farmers who moved to California during the Great Depression.

If you move from one country to a different country, you are not a 'migrant'. You are an immigrant.

Which, by the way, is the perfectly reasonable thing to be. Almost every country in the world has dealt with immigrants, and benefited from it. It may well be the case that the immigrants in Calais will make a positive contribution to countries in Europe if and when they are allowed to settle.

But calling them 'migrants' is flat out incorrect, and what's worse, condescending. Dropping the first two letters of the word 'immigrant' doesn't transform it from some awful slur to a badge of honour. It isn't a slur, it's the correct nomenclature.

The Irish people who flooded into New York and Boston in the 1840s and 1850s were immigrants, and indeed, many of their descendants embrace the term 'immigrant' to describe their forebears. It shows that they are aware of their heritage, and that they came from somewhere else.

Political correctness is a good thing in that it prevents minorities from being attacked, whether they are gay, trans, people of colour and so on. But using the term 'migrant' to refer to immigrants isn't political correctness.

It's gutless, euphemistic bullshit.

Well this post didnt make me laugh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

racso1975 wrote: »
    They also forget the word illegal.

Some American journos set up a bot on Twitter that corrects anyone who uses the term 'illegal immigrant'.

Two American journalists have created a Twitter bot that "corrects" people who tweet the term "illegal immigrant", and offers alternatives. But not everyone appreciates the suggestion.

The "I" word has been called into question in recent years. Defining any human being as "illegal" is considered offensive by some, who think the term should be reconsidered.

That's why Patrick Hogan and Jorge Rivas, journalists at Fusion.net, created a Twitter bot - a computer programme to compose and publish tweets automatically - to "correct" people who use the term on the social network.

Twitter users who include the phrase in any context may receive a message from the bot reading: "People aren't illegal. Try saying "undocumented immigrant" or "unauthorized immigrant" instead."

http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-trending-33735177

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Some American journos set up a bot on Twitter that corrects anyone who uses the term 'illegal immigrant'.

Ah ya cant beat that smell of PC shite in the morning

What a time to be alive. I prefer the term 'criminal trespassers'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Did he forget his country created the lions share of these Illegal immigrates ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

That is nonsense, it is not the individual who is being described as illegal, its the act of migration.

Did he forget his country created the lions share of these Illegal immigrates ?

Some Native Americans estimate that there up to 320 million illegal immigrants in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Now there's a couple of fellas with too much time on their hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I agree that migrant works here. I corrected a guy who said there were 1-2M Irish immigrants to Britain in the 30 years after the famine on Twitter yesterday. They weren't immigrants says I. He was having none of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

gonna use it even more now to spite people

I agree that migrant works here. I corrected a guy who said there were 1-2M Irish immigrants to Britain in the 30 years after the famine on Twitter yesterday. They weren't immigrants says I. He was having none of it.

They were immigrants to Britain.

They were emigrants from Ireland.

We have a language, we should stick to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Cameron referred to them as 'a swarm'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Urine and cornflakes comes to mind..

They were internal British migrants and citizens. We have a language and we should stick to it.

That said I am open to correction on this, however not from someone who doesn't understand the political realities of the 19th C. Clearly nobody would talk about immigrants from Cornwall to London in the 19th C UK. Nor talk about immigrants from Bavaria to Prussia today (although that would have been accurate in the early 19th C). The question is did Ireland entirely disappear as a legal entity with the Act of Union. I'd say it did and the Irish were British citizens moving around the UK but legal minds would know more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

As a result of the second act of Union, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England were a single nation.

By that logic, if you are going to argue that they were immigrants to Great Britain or England, then you would have to apply the same term to Scots or Welsh moving to England, or vice versa.

Or the Cornish moving to Essex would also be immigrants.

Or a Culchie moving to Dublin would also be an immigrant.

Actually, it makes more sense now.

Cameron referred to them as 'a swarm'

I'd love to See Maggie's protégé Locked in a room with some of this ''swarm''

As a result of the second act of Union, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England were a single nation.

By that logic, if you are going to argue that they were immigrants to Great Britain or England, then you would have to apply the same term to Scots or Welch moving to England, or vice versa.

Or the Cornish moving to Essex would also be immigrants.

Or a Culchie moving to Dublin would also be an immigrant.

Actually, it makes more sense now.

I think if Essex or Dublin local authorities were discussing the matter, I'm sure they would legitimately use the term.

Clearly they're all far too busy to have their views informed by Boards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Ah no, you have it wrong. Humpty Dumpty rules. (Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll). Words mean what the individual wants them to mean.

This can be also decided by majority vote on the internet. If quite and quiet mean the same thing, then it is so. Language has to be allowed (or aloud) to evolve (revolve makes a certain amount of sense there too (to, two, etc)).

I think if Essex or Dublin local authorities were discussing the matter, I'm sure they would legitimately use the term.

Clearly they're all far too busy to have their views informed by Boards :D

Nobody uses immigration for citizens moving within a country. no citizen moving within a country has to register with immigration offices. So it's just you.

looksee wrote: »
    Ah no, you have it wrong. Humpty Dumpty rules. (Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll). Words mean what the individual wants them to mean.

This can be also decided by majority vote on the internet. If quite and quiet mean the same thing, then it is so. Language has to be allowed (or aloud) to evolve (revolve makes a certain amount of sense there too (to, two, etc)).

Apparantly an immigrant and somebody moving within a country can also be decided by the Internet as being the same.

Nobody uses immigration for citizens moving within a country. no citizen moving within a country has to register with immigration offices. So it's just you.

You've checked with both councils?

Nobody has mentioned having to register, with anything - I don't think we're allowed to just make stuff up.

So someone moved over here from Poland, is he an emigrant from Poland, an immigrant here? Whether or not he rehisters at a mythical bureau?

As tempting it might be to label them immigrants it would also be ridiculous.

One could argue that an immigrant is, by dictionary definition, "a person who migrates to another country, usually for permanent residence" and as the United Kingdom was technically a union of different countries, then arguably - and pedantically, a Scot or Irishman moving to England or vice versa would be an immigrant.

It would also be a completely anally retentive exercise in grammar.

And seeing how we're being grammar Nazis here, then the migrants at Calais are still only migrants, as they've not yet reached their final destination. They're not immigrating to France, after all.

Checkmate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

What's wrong with "aliens"? If it was good enough for me, it's good enough for them! :P

When I first came to Ireland, I was issued a little green booklet for identification purposes, it was called Alien ID or something to that effect. I just remember I kept having visions of the monster breaking out of John Hurt's belly, and feeling very sorry for myself! :D

seenitall wrote: »
    What's wrong with "aliens"? If it was good enough for me, it's good enough for them! :P
    Here I'm designated an Ausländer. The Germans I think use the slightly more politically correct term Gastarbeiter (or not, as it does imply you're just temporary labour).

Of course, I've been told that I'm "ein gut Ausländer", presumably because I'm educated, white and (non-Orthodox) Christian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

You should hear what I call them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Wouldn't a good term be "aspirant emigrants"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

beans wrote: »

How about "f**king emigrants"?

Do you kiss your mother with that mouth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

beans wrote: »

Welfare tourists would be more accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Having read the thread I think "illegal alien" is the most apt term for the gentle souls currently tearing Calais to the ground.

I don't believe the inherent illegality of these people's situation and continuing actions should be ignored- especially when so many have behaved violently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Here I'm designated an Ausländer. The Germans I think use the slightly more politically correct term Gastarbeiter (or not, as it does imply you're just temporary labour).

Of course, I've been told that I'm "ein gut Ausländer", presumably because I'm educated, white and (non-Orthodox) Christian.

That, and the map of your skull is within established norms.

DeadHand wrote: »
    I don't believe the inherent illegality of these people's situation and continuing actions should be ignored- especially when so many have behaved violently.
    I do think that despite a fair bit of xenophobic rhetoric out there, some of the criticism is not without merit.

People tend to forget that many such migrants seek to stay in another country on the basis that they are seeking asylum. Thing is that while many do come from war torn nations such as Syria and Afghanistan, a very large proportion are simply economic migrants from places such as Morocco, Tunisia, Senegal, Somalia, Cote d'Ivoire, Burkina Faso and Ghana; they're under no real threat of persecution or death back home.

There are good reasons why we don't open our doors to anyone to come and work, why we try to control the economic floodgates of finance, labour and so on, and try to limit it to only economically compatible nations.

The purpose of the asylum system is to give shelter to those seeking to flee persecution, not to enable economic migration and unfortunately much of the latter has cause untold damage to the former by abusing that system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Some Native Americans estimate that there up to 320 million illegal immigrants in the US.

The white man give those native Americans a fair deal. They bought those blankets infected with measles fair and square. For all the land in North America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Hate the term migrant. But hate the use of 'Ex pat' even more. If you go to the gulf to work you are an immigrant not an ex pat

Dob74 wrote: »
    If you go to the gulf to work you are an immigrant not an ex pat
    Don't you know anything? An expat is an immigrant with a professional qualification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

I wonder what the PC spambot does if you just call them "illegals" or if it flags these, does it tag other posts that contain the word "illegal" regardless of what it applies to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Patrick Hogan and Jorge Rivas are probably both illegal immigrants.

#UndocumentThis
    #PassportTossing
    #FlowerPower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

"Dem forgdien lads" is the best way to describe them. Covers all and nobody is offended.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

biko wrote: »
    Patrick Hogan and Jorge Rivas are probably both illegal immigrants.

#UndocumentThis
    #PassportTossing
    #FlowerPower
    who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

...yeah, if you have an ineffective or lax system to handle incoming, it will buckle. And next thing, you are done for.

Or we could learn from that mistake?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Don't you know anything? An expat is an immigrant with a professional qualification.
    And white and western!

I've also come across the good foreigner/ bad foreigner distinction but I'll happily refer to myself as an ausländer, don't even think anything of it anymore

SeanW wrote: »
    I wonder what the PC spambot does if you just call them "illegals" or if it flags these, does it tag other posts that contain the word "illegal" regardless of what it applies to?

No clue. I only use Twitter for sports updates and to see what my younger sisters are up to. In Rome the Red Cross were looking for donations from the public to help 'people in transit'. The lengths some people and organisations go to not offend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

A 'migrant' is a person who moves from one part a country to a different part of the same country e.g. the Oklahoma farmers who moved to California during the Great Depression.it.
    "a person who moves from one place to another so as to find work"; "an animal who migrates" - Oxford English Dictionary
    No mention of country

Ah sure isn't it all progress..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Surely back in those days (pre-1922) they were just moving from one part of Britain to another?...