Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any equine fans on the forum?

• 02-08-2015 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭

Just watching the 9 o'clock news and saw Bertram Allen on after winning a big grand prix in France. Got me wondering have we any equine enthusiasts on here.

Personally I think they are grassland vermin and wouldn't have them about the place but I can see the attraction of them from a sports point of view. I have never seen an equine related thread on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Grueller wrote: »
    Just watching the 9 o'clock news and saw Bertram Allen on after winning a big grand prix in France. Got me wondering have we any equine enthusiasts on here.

Personally I think they are grassland vermin and wouldn't have them about the place but I can see the attraction of them from a sports point of view. I have never seen an equine related thread on here.

They've a whole equine forum all to themselves. Not a fan of em either.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

NO

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

No really a fan, but middle girl loves them bought a pony got a horse box this year, must say really enjoy watching her doing her jumping, pony club etc very frendly and helpful people toward us amatures.
    Spent a full week at pony club while not easy and tiring, it was a week away from the farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

I have never seen an equine related thread on here.

Here's one
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057455481/1

What is the reason why horses destroy grassland?
    Is it Management or the horse itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Here's one

Management is a lot of it as they will always sh1t in the same place and this should be cjain harrowed regularly to break it up. They also eat the grass out of the scut an seem to spread docks on any patch they are on in my experience. All of this is management though I suppose. Maybe its horse farmers or keepers I don't like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Here's one

I've a pony that could live on 1.5 acres all year round :) Last winter I fed her haylage for 2 weeks during the winter :) I don't understand the hatred for them on here after all farming was built with horses. People have short memories :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I've a donkey here, don't like him but at this stage I'd miss it if it was gone.

Management is a lot of it as they will always sh1t in the same place and this should be cjain harrowed regularly to break it up. They also eat the grass out of the scut an seem to spread docks on any patch they are on in my experience. All of this is management though I suppose. Maybe its horse farmers or keepers I don't like
    What a load of nonsense. They sh1t in the same place, you obviously never kept horses. Spread docks :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

+1, it's a bit said that all the big stud farms and race courses use up some if the best land in the country.

Keep a passing interest in it ie the grand national and Cheltenham, but I do find it odd how all of them horsey folk have that funny odd accent no matter where in the country they come from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Don't know much about horses to be honest... But I'd be with Sam on why lads are against em...

I'm not a fan of dogs (we have sheep, and they don't mix very well)
    These days - most lads have about as much use for a dog as a horse, but yet people have dogs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

yellow50HX wrote: »
    but I do find it odd how all of them horsey folk have that funny odd accent no matter where in the country they come from.

The Gentry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Miname wrote: »
    I've a donkey here, don't like him but at this stage I'd miss it if it was gone.

Ya would miss a cat about the place also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What a load of nonsense. They sh1t in the same place, you obviously never kept horses. Spread docks :rolleyes:

Yea , they're very poor grazers, won't eat where they **** and graze the rest of the paddock too bare,
    I've a paddock rented to a neighbour and leave the sheep into a few times during the year and they love the grass where the horse dungs so they spread the nutrients back round the paddock and graze weeds as well.
    As for docks/nettles you have to control those in any farming...sheep spread nettles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Reared with horses. Breaking, hunting, pony racing. Just no money in them anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

One of my early memories is of an old neighbour ploughing our small field of spuds with a big black horse. The old work horse is all but gone now. Nowadays it only the old gentry, new wannabe gentry and the few horse lovers that seem to keep them.
    Give me a choice between a nice Simmental or limousine heifer and a fine thoroughbred and you know which I'd go for. No gra for them at all. I'm just not used to them I suppose. Always a little intrigued by them and what the stand for in Irish history.
    "Tis true you ride the finest horse.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

One of my early memories is of an old neighbour ploughing our small field of spuds with a big black horse. The old work horse is all but gone now. Nowadays it only the old gentry, new wannabe gentry and the few horse lovers that seem to keep them. Give me a choice between a nice Simmental or limousine heifer and a fine thoroughbred and you know which I'd go for. No gra for them at all. I'm just not used to them I suppose. Always a little intrigued by them and what the stand for in Irish history. "Tis true you ride the finest horse.."

Well this isn't true. Some of the most common horses about are cobs and Irish Draughts. Many people still prefer the hardy native breeds which would strip a field bare if left and leave only things like buttercup and ragwort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

One of my early memories is of an old neighbour ploughing our small field of spuds with a big black horse. The old work horse is all but gone now. Nowadays it only the old gentry, new wannabe gentry and the few horse lovers that seem to keep them.
    Give me a choice between a nice Simmental or limousine heifer and a fine thoroughbred and you know which I'd go for. No gra for them at all. I'm just not used to them I suppose. Always a little intrigued by them and what the stand for in Irish history.
    "Tis true you ride the finest horse.."

I guess we are all the same - I wouldn't have much gra for cattle, was very small when we got out of cattle at home, so just not used to em...

But at the same time - I don't think horses deserve the vermin title I think they got in the opening post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

I have a neighbour here who is mad into donkeys. Feckin things aren't worth more than a nice lamb. I think they made big money during the boom. Don't see the fascination. My wife loves them though, says they are very therapeutic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Not a fan but I wouldn't mind letting a few into a bit of rough grazing to eat it to the scut over the winter .
    Think is it worth buying few at the minute to sell on next year ? I see on agriland that they are going up in price lately , maybe this year they might be a better buy than cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Horses don't bother me. I can not stand the hunting people around here they look down on you like you're crap. They don't care what damage they do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I said wrote: »
    Ya would miss a cat about the place also

Has to be a cat. definitely not a tom cat.
    Had a tom here and took a long time before he would **** off. He'd be on top of milk tank shirting in meal in calf drinkers and in everything.
    Had Good Cats Here over the yrs and they alot got ran over on the road :(
    They can multiply very quick. 1 is enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I was brought up with horses. Family always kept thoroughbreds.
    Did the usual stuff hunting/breaking/riding work growing up. We got the choice of riding out a racehorse or milking cows before school...I always rode out.

I have to say that I adore horses. I find it a bit weird that so many see them as vermin, especially as the Irish are world leaders in the equine industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

Cattle, sheep, pigs etc are kept as a food source. You're used to sending them off to the factory. Horses are not used like this in Ireland and are mostly used for leisure and pleasure. Most horse owners love their animals and would go without themselves to make sure their horse has all it needs. The horse used to pull carts now it gets driven around in a horse box, says it all ðŸŽðŸ˜€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

A woman near me keeps a horse in a local livery. God, she loves that animal. Hail rain or snow, she is out walking it, picking sweet grass for him as she goes along. All apologies then when you have to slow down to pass her on the road. I wish all the horsey crowd were as decent. I'd have to agree with Whelan1 on that one.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Did the usual stuff hunting/breaking/riding work growing up. We got the choice of riding out a racehorse or milking cows before school...I always rode out.

I have to say that I adore horses. I find it a bit weird that so many see them as vermin, especially as the Irish are world leaders in the equine industry.

I love breaking them too.

We only broke the ones we were going to race for ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

There was a man near us used to run a gravel and concrete business and he used to say that if you are delivering stuff to a farmer and the first thing you see when you turn in the gate is a fine herd of cows , keep going because youll be paid, but if the first thing you see is a horse, "be backing away out the gate"

I grew up with horses as well, we had a couple of shires as work horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

keep going wrote: »
    There was a man near us used to run a gravel and concrete business and he used to say that if you are delivering stuff to a farmer and the first thing you see when you turn in the gate is a fine herd of cows , keep going because youll be paid, but if the first thing you see is a horse, "be backing away out the gate"

Heard the vet same something similar recently.
    I like horses alright, but don't keep any more here as no money what so ever in them. They are a lot of work too. Wouldn't mind owner a good racehorse though, if it would leave a small bit over costs.
    Don't think it's nice saying horsey people are up themselves etc. After all, most townies/non working people have that same opinion about farmers. Sure there is the few, like every walk of life

Any pics? Im fond of the heavy horses. Have a cob since i was 11 at home. Poor horse has done some work. Was ridden twice a day for years and hunted sonetimes 3 times a week. Im full sure she thought she was an irosh draft lol

Anyone going to the the Connemara pony sales in Cliftden? Or do ye show connemaras ?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Anyone going to the the Connemara pony sales in Cliftden? Or do ye show connemaras ?

Uncle kept a few a few years ago. Murphys rebel was the sire. One horse had a serious jump but hed a fair dirty streak in him. Cousin couldnt handle him as she wasnt strong enough so i got him for a winters hunting. He soon had a change of heart after a few months in our yard lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

For me horsey ppl are in the same catorgery as cyclists. In that most are grand until they get on their mounts

ganmo wrote: »
    For me horsey ppl are in the same catorgery as cyclists. In that most are grand until they get on their mounts

Youd be surprised how bad drivers are. Dad got hit by a bus a few years ago. As in it actually rear ended the horse. He was walking on verge side of road with vis vest on.

Uncle kept a few a few years ago. Murphys rebel was the sire. One horse had a serious jump but hed a fair dirty streak in him. Cousin couldnt handle him as she wasnt strong enough so i got him for a winters hunting. He soon had a change of heart after a few months in our yard lol.

That's the only thing I'd like to do with horses, break a difficult one ! It's definitely on the bucket list . But apart from that I wouldn't have much interest in them .
    I work with a lad that is quoting bloodlines half the day at me and then at lunch he pulls out his book for the sports mare and bores me with further information, any wonder I'm not keen on them

I'm promising myself since I came here to go to Clifden to buy oversize connies (15:2+hh). Big market for them here.

That's the only thing I'd like to do with horses, break a difficult one ! It's definitely on the bucket list . But apart from that I wouldn't have much interest in them .
    I work with a lad that is quoting bloodlines half the day at me and then at lunch he pulls out his book for the sports mare and bores me with further information, any wonder I'm not keen on them

I wouldnt go near a difficult one unless you know what your at. Myself & dad were a good team at it but hes stopped since i left home. I did the riding and he did the work on the ground. He said hes not taking the risk of someone else being hurt thats not related lol.

Fair dues Sam.
    Wouldn't be a fan of the heavy horse myself. I quite like a clean leg.

Wouldn't advise breaking an awkward one...especially if you want to complete your bucket list!

Oh I've worked with them before but never had time to do anything right .
    I've entertained alot of French people over here for ponies , a mate of mine sends a few ponies over there and alot of semen aswell . They're not afraid to spend money on what they like .
    Tell me what you want and I'll send over something fairly close if there's a pound in it !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Oh jeezus now there's going to be another sub forum up on top of the farming page:eek: I think we need more smilies on the rhs......

Thanks Grueller, look what you started.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

I've entertained alot of French people over here for ponies , a mate of mine sends a few ponies over there and alot of semen aswell . They're not afraid to spend money on what they like .
    Tell me what you want and I'll send over something fairly close if there's a pound in it !

Maybe the reason some people on this thread have no luck with horses ifs they have no feel for them. Leave the horses alone and get on With rest of your bucket list.

Full reg Connies, with a good step and straight. To make 15.2 to 16hh. Broken and riding quietly.
    There is a very good market for these ponies. Need to be good looking also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I'm promising myself since I came here to go to Clifden to buy oversize connies (15:2+hh). Big market for them here.

The last connemara I bought in Ireland came in from the French / Swiss border.

It was a bit like arriving in the Bernese Oberland and buying a pair of skis made in Ballyfermot.

kowtow wrote: »

It was a bit like arriving in the Bernese Oberland and buying a pair of skis made in Ballyfermot.

Lmao!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

keep going wrote: »

Ha! Know a woman who used to work for FRS in Thurles, she said the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Dawggone wrote:
    Full reg Connies, with a good step and straight. To make 15.2 to 16hh. Broken and riding quietly. There is a very good market for these ponies. Need to be good looking also.

Yes and no. If there's a Connie marked in at 16hh, I'd assume there's either something dodgy going on with the breeding or the owner wasn't very knowledgeable about horses. 14.2 is a far more preferable height or 15hh if someone is looking for something taller. Any bigger and I'd be asking questions about where they got a book and looking to see any Thoroughbred or sport horse thrown in somewhere along the lines.

kowtow wrote: »

The society made a video years ago to send to France to show them what to breed for . There was war after cos the stallion in the video was bought in from France years previously!

Full reg Connies, with a good step and straight. To make 15.2 to 16hh. Broken and riding quietly.
    There is a very good market for these ponies. Need to be good looking also.

Are they allowed go to 16 h and still pass as Conemaras ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

yellow50HX wrote: »
    but I do find it odd how all of them horsey folk have that funny odd accent no matter where in the country they come from.

Seriously?