Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaked IAAf report on doping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭straps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭clear thinking

Looks bad for kenyans, ruskies.

Mo Farah not on suspect list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

If this report is surprising to anyone , really it's time to see a psychiatrist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

kimmage giving away a name on newstalk was fairly funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

The timing of this just before the World Championships will hopefully make it all the more damaging. I do think professional athletics needs a massive fall before it can become perceived as a clean and fair sport again.

I wonder will having someone like Seb Coe at the head of the IAAF make a difference. It seems like the problem involves so many organisations it probably wont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

shels4ever wrote: »
    kimmage giving away a name on newstalk was fairly funny.

Who did he name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

micar wrote: »
    Who did he name?

If it's a high profile female athlete, I'd guess on a one lap championship peaker who has already missed tests allegedly.
    Otherwise could it really be a multi eventer???
    I hope they are a product of the UK system if it's true as that's the only way they will take ownership of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

BBC Sport wrote:
    A top UK athlete is among seven Britons with suspicious blood scores.

Seems strange that the UK media reports have been quick to exonerate Farah and Ennis-Hill but not their other athletes. If I was a 'top UK athlete' and I was clean I'd be unhappy that others were confirmed as not being involved but not me. After all, there's only two or three other athletes out there that would fit that billing.

Otherwise could it really be a multi eventer??? .

No...no.....Not the woman I love.

Got to see her in Hyde Park during the Olympics. Made my day. Sublime ass!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

token56 wrote: »
    The timing of this just before the World Championships will hopefully make it all the more damaging. I do think professional athletics needs a massive fall before it can become perceived as a clean and fair sport again.

I wonder will having someone like Seb Coe at the head of the IAAF make a difference. It seems like the problem involves so many organisations it probably wont.

Football, Rugby and Tennis are perceived as clean, despite the reality that they are as dirty, if not more dirty that athletics.

Quit the suspense. Just tell us who Kimmage named. It's not breaking the charter as it is not our speculation, just reporting what Kimmage said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Chivito550 wrote:
    Quit the suspense. Just tell us who Kimmage named. It's not breaking the charter as it is not our speculation, just reporting what Kimmage said.

Don't think he actually named the person. I can't really be confident. Was fighting the wind at that stage. He alluded to the fact that they take part in celebrity game shows etc. Something like that! Available on podcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

I'm sure gerry Kiernan or Chamney will construe this to be the GAAs fault....

I love the use of the .... at the end. It's always a dead giveaway that somebody is just trying to stir sh1t for no reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 Ultrapussy

Chivito550 wrote: »
    I love the use of the .... at the end. It's always a dead giveaway that somebody is just trying to stir sh1t for no reason.

The word you're looking for is ellipsis. Carry on...

Kimmage must not be great at the auld maths:
    The stats showed that Ireland had a 3% level of abnormal blood tests, and as Kimmage pointed out, Britain recorded a level of 4% of abnormal tests, which worked out at 12 athletes, "so we have maybe 8 or 9 athletes who have had abnormal tests".

4% of British athletes (Population 60m) = 12 athletes
    3% of Irish athletes (Population 5m) = No more than 1 athlete

Where is he pulling this 8 or 9 athletes from? Plucking them from the clouds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 Ultrapussy

No, think about it - carefully...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Wasn't it 3% of those tested ?

siochain wrote: »
    Wasn't it 3% of those tested ?

Yeh, but with their country being 12 times bigger, you'd imagine there would be significantly more tests taking place there than here, in an absolute sense.

Had a listen to kimmage.

All he says that a British female athlete was confronted at a London hotel.

Alluded that this athlete is due to be given a "hero" award in the next two weeks at some celebrity thing.

Only thing I can find is the pride of Britain award....but I could be way off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

A complete non story. 1/3 athletes, suspicious tests. Give it a rest and get back to us when something actually happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Life time bans for doping its the only deterrent that will work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

walshb wrote: »
    A complete non story. 1/3 athletes, suspicious tests. Give it a rest and get back to us when something actually happens.

Sure, let's pretend it never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Worth remembering that the IAAF spends 5% of it's overall budget on anti-doping, and this is the result. Imagine how bad other sports with weaker anti-doping systems such as tennis, rugby, football are. And GAA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

😄 legend

Ther seems to be a trend in athletics to say Sure look at x, y, z sport, they must be really bad. At least with cycling competitors and fans alike accept there's a problem rather than look over the fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

For me the the worst part of this story is that it was leaked from iaaf. And in there statement the they say they will do every thing to protect there privacy policy. Which on the face of it sounds fine but it's the same as what the cycling federation done in previous times. I'm not saying that all of these suspicious test should automatically be banned but there seems to be a lack of transparency that the iaaf need to take there head out if the sand and stand up and be counted.
    Yes of course there is a drug problem in athletics but brushing it under the carpet is not the answer.

In there defense for hiding the issue some of the biggest sports have been hiding it for years with a perceived it's not a problem in our sport and getting away with it.
    In a recent report Golf came out as the highest % of failed test per tested people and the media didn't or chose not to make to much of it. Last year the highest % was Rugby again there was nothing made of it in the media.
    Sorry can't link the report at the moment but a quick search will find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

The real non story is the idea that the lack of abnormal blood markers in the leaked samples "clear" Farrah and Bolt. But make no mistake sir, this leak is significant as a confirmation of what anyone not mired in naivety long suspected already.

Stop at nothing to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Ceepo wrote: »
    For me the the worst part of this story is that it was leaked from iaaf. And in there statement the they say they will do every thing to protect there privacy policy. Which on the face of it sounds fine but it's the same as what the cycling federation done in previous times. I'm not saying that all of these suspicious test should automatically be banned but there seems to be a lack of transparency that the iaaf need to take there head out if the sand and stand up and be counted.
    Yes of course there is a drug problem in athletics but brushing it under the carpet is not the answer.

In there defense for hiding the issue some of the biggest sports have been hiding it for years with a perceived it's not a problem in our sport and getting away with it.
    In a recent report Golf came out as the highest % of failed test per tested people and the media didn't or chose not to make to much of it. Last year the highest % was Rugby again there was nothing made of it in the media.
    Sorry can't link the report at the moment but a quick search will find it.

Golf came third, it wasn't based on drugs but abusive substances, ie pain killers can be counted there.

The fact that people keep mentioning other sports, tells me people aren't willing to believe that athletics is filthy. This kind of hiding drug results has happened for years especially in the USA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

I'm probably missing something here so I'll apologise in advance, but at what point does a result of a doping test stop been suspicious and become positive.
    Or is it simply a case of an abnormally high amount of a certain blood cell been present in a sample which may or may not be a result of the use of a banned substance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

I'm probably missing something here so I'll apologise in advance, but at what point does a result of a doping test stop been suspicious and become positive.
    Or is it simply a case of an abnormally high amount of a certain blood cell been present in a sample which may or may not be a result of the use of a banned substance?

Apparently other things can trigger the high readings, e.g. pregnancy ad probably certain illnesses etc.

Golf came third, it wasn't based on drugs but abusive substances, ie pain killers can be counted there.

The fact that people keep mentioning other sports, tells me people aren't willing to believe that athletics is filthy. This kind of hiding drug results has happened for years especially in the USA.

Don't know how you came to that conclusion? The problem is that Joe Soap things athletics is filthy and that "sure they're all it!". But this is mainly because, compared to other sports, athletics actually has a pretty good system in place for catching dopers and spends more money on it that a lot of other sports, meaning that a lot of the time the dopers actually get caught! It not that people (like me) are denying that there is a doping issue in athletics, there clearly is. But you have all the keyboard warriors saying "athletics is filthy, rabble rabble" before turning on the football or rugby (or tennis, golf etc) and thinking those sports are clean as a whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Maybe you missed where i said there is a drug problem in athletics !!!

pconn062 wrote: »
    Don't know how you came to that conclusion? The problem is that Joe Soap things athletics is filthy and that "sure they're all it!". But this is mainly because, compared to other sports, athletics actually has a pretty good system in place for catching dopers and spends more money on it that a lot of other sports, meaning that a lot of the time the dopers actually get caught! It not that people (like me) are denying that there is a doping issue in athletics, there clearly is. But you have all the keyboard warriors saying "athletics is filthy, rabble rabble" before turning on the football or rugby (or tennis, golf etc) and thinking those sports are clean as a whistle.

Lets see, Chinese won a load of medals and it was well known they cheated, no medal given back to Sonia.

We have men in their 30's running 100m quicker than the bionic man could.

The Americans have hidden positive results from their trials for the Olympics numerous times.

We have Feck all testing in countries that are power houses in athletics, ie Jamaica and Kenya.

We then let all the drug cheats back in and so we show youngsters if you cheat u can earn millions.

And even better, drug cheats are allowed to become coaches
    Forget about other sports, it's not the issue here.

Lets see, Chinese won a load of medals and it was well known they cheated, no medal given back to Sonia.

We have men in their 30's running 100m quicker than the bionic man could.

The Americans have hidden positive results from their trials for the Olympics numerous times.

We have Feck all testing in countries that are power houses in athletics, ie Jamaica and Kenya.

We then let all the drug cheats back in and so we show youngsters if you cheat u can earn millions.

And even better, drug cheats are allowed to become coaches
    Forget about other sports, it's not the issue here.

I'm not sure what is the point of listing known drug offenses in athletics is? You seem to be missing my point, it's a good thing that we know about all these doping violations, it means that the system for catching cheats in athletics is working. Are you really naive enough to think that athletics is worse than other professional sports? So rather than bash athletics constantly, why not ask ourselves why do we not hear of big scandals like this in other sports, where unlike athletics, the rewards for doping are much greater in terms of monetary value?! The more I hear about drug offenses in athletics makes me sad for the genuinely clean athletes in the sport, but it also makes me glad that more cheats are being caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

ThisRegard wrote: »

What happened ?

IAAF database was robbed and leaked to press, of course the establishment mouth of the British state the ST. Political pointscoring . Just in time to embarrass Chinese hosts of Beijing worlds, Russia as the bad guy in general, and of cours to aid Seb Coes IAAF presidency.

I have never read so many ifs, buts, and maybes and potentials re doping in an article as the Sunday Times yesterday , zero proof .
    Analysis done by paid lackeys who should have picked up any doping issues in their day jobs .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Its suspicious if the US or Brits dont win medals and the Russians and Chinese do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Paid lackeys? Should the independent scientists who looked at the data have done the analysis for free?

Bottom line is that large proportion of medal-winning athletes from past decade have "unusual" blood values. None of this may be enough to put the finger on an individual athlete per se but it gives a big picture view that is very damning indeed.

youngrun wrote: »
    What happened ?

IAAF database was robbed and leaked to press, of course the establishment mouth of the British state the ST. Political pointscoring . Just in time to embarrass Chinese hosts of Beijing worlds, Russia as the bad guy in general, and of cours to aid Seb Coes IAAF presidency.

I have never read so many ifs, buts, and maybes and potentials re doping in an article as the Sunday Times yesterday , zero proof .
    Analysis done by paid lackeys who should have picked up any doping issues in their day jobs .

Yes, it's all a conspiracy by a couple of "paid lackeys". Keep your head in the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I definitely believe there was a nationalistic bias to the presentation of the results. The finding shows that testing is hugely deficient, but it doesn't clear any individual athlete or national athletic program over any other. The attempts to purport it as such is nonsense.

pconn062 wrote: »
    I'm not sure what is the point of listing known drug offenses in athletics is? You seem to be missing my point, it's a good thing that we know about all these doping violations, it means that the system for catching cheats in athletics is working. Are you really naive enough to think that athletics is worse than other professional sports? So rather than bash athletics constantly, why not ask ourselves why do we not hear of big scandals like this in other sports, where unlike athletics, the rewards for doping are much greater in terms of monetary value?! The more I hear about drug offenses in athletics makes me sad for the genuinely clean athletes in the sport, but it also makes me glad that more cheats are being caught.

Did u read anything I typed. Chinese were never caught and the American results were wiped, so is that a good thing?

It's a good thing to have drug cheats as coaches?

Forget about other sports, lets sort out our own.
    Cycling used to use that line about other sports, and we all know what happened there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Life time bans for doping its the only deterrent that will work

100% agree.

Look at Justin Gatlin, back at the top of the game earning big money after only being caught doping twice before.

How are clean runners meant to compete with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Listening to Newstalk this morning Gillick was on the program, and reading between the lines, he pretty much feels that one, if not more of the people who beat him in the 2009 World Final were taking something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

On topic, but its about Justin Gatlin. Good read on a man faster at the age of 33 then he was at 24

http://www.si.com/more-sports/2015/06/27/us-track-and-field-national-champions-justin-gatlin-tyson-gay

ThisRegard wrote: »

Pretend what?

I turned on six one yesterday and this was actually the headline story. Holy fook, what are they actually telling us? That there is doping going on in sport? No way? Nonsense. There seems to be a group of people waiting ever so anxiously for something to actually happen, and they won't be happy until it does.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    The real non story is the idea that the lack of abnormal blood markers in the leaked samples "clear" Farrah and Bolt. But make no mistake sir, this leak is significant as a confirmation of what anyone not mired in naivety long suspected already.

Stop at nothing to win.

Who said Farrah and Bolt were clear? The report simply said that they are not under any suspicion? Who's naive? We all bloody know there are cheats in sport?

Listening to Newstalk this morning Gillick was on the program, and reading between the lines, he pretty much feels that one, if not more of the people who beat him in the 2009 World Final were taking something.

And how about the guys who finished behind him? Maybe they feel like he does.