Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you own or do that society sees as being somewhat age inappropriate?

• 30-07-2015 9:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭

I have a Tupac 'Me Against the World' poster in my bedroom.

I'm 41. Women think it's odd.. but I like Tupac.

Also, sometimes I like to slide down stair banisters / hand rails in friend's houses, certain establishments etc, always did.

Only, when I was caught doing it as a kid, I was treated as a scamp.. now it's an opened mouthed 'are you well' kinda stare.

How about your good selves?

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Bubble snot out my nose...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Lego. Lots of it. I loved Lego as a kid and as a 40 year old big kid I still love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

An alarming amount of children's books from the 1930s-50s. I was also turning cartwheels in a park a couple of months ago with my long skirts tied between my legs - that I had a six-year old with me that I was teaching to cartwheel was only somewhat mitigating circumstances :D

I will also climb a tree or go on a swing if the opportunity occurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

Winnie the Pooh stuff. Teddy near collection. Sonic Spyro and Crash games. Disney etc DVDs. I am sure there are more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I meet 11-year-old girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

A baluster— also called spindle or stair stick—is a moulded shaft, square or of lathe-turned form, a form cut from a rectangular or square plank, one of various forms of spindle in woodwork, made of stone or wood and sometimes of metal, standing on a unifying footing, and supporting the coping of a parapet or the handrail of a staircase.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baluster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

I own a trampoline that I regularly bounce on most nights for exercise. Don't give a ****, I enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Hopping over walls, climbing trees, playing keepie uppies with a football on my own for ages, penny sweet addict.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Computer game collection.

Don't care what she says,it ain't going anywhere!!!!!

Hammer89 wrote: »

Get a good night's sleep, you will need it for the garda interview tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

I have teddies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

brevity wrote: »
    A baluster—

Fixed :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Get a good night's sleep, you will need it for the garda interview tomorrow

Can't make it I'm helping my bird set up her new business - a lemonade stall in her estate.

Probably everything I do is not age appropriate. I'm not very good at being an adult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I collect football programmes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

A wreaked car for tearing around the field in.....but at my age I feel too old to do it/it's a bit hillbillyish :(:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Skate shoes, teenage leggings and college gear. Still think I'm about 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Lego. Lots of it. I loved Lego as a kid and as a 40 year old big kid I still love it.

I remember thinking as a kid – "When I grow up I'll stay up late, buy loads of sweets and lego."

Now, an early night is amazing, I try to avoid sugar, but buy oh so much Lego. Being an adult is the tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Chewing my boogers!!

Still as grossly satisfying as it always was!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I mitch mass.

Can't make it I'm helping my bird set up her new business - a lemonade stall in her estate.

Hahahaha. That's where the rapid response team Will be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

I have a Tupac 'Me Against the World' poster in my bedroom.

I'm 41. Women think it's odd.. but I like Tupac.

Also, sometimes I like to slide down stair banisters / hand rails in friend's houses, certain establishments etc, always did.

Only, when I was caught doing it as a kid, I was treated as a scamp.. now it's an opened mouthed 'are you well' kinda stare.

How about your good selves?

Tupac is class so class iv a tattoo of him covering pretty much all of my back :) Im 33 and i could not give a toss of what anyone thinks of it. I also have a Makaveli tatt on my arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

And you're only 8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm 40 and there's not a kid on my estate that can beat me in a scooter race.

I build and ride go karts every year with my mates in a big race. Ok so we build in weapons and it gets pretty serious and painful - but it is still go karts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I'm a 33 year old male i regularly run up the stairs in my house in beast mode (using my arms to help propel myself up the stairs like a gorilla)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Trying to think if I like doing childish things- no not really- but I didn't like childish things when I was younger either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

I still find words like bum-bum and poo-poo and pee-pee utter comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I don't do it but I still find a loud fart in somewhere like a library hilarious!

I absolutely adore children's toy shops and would gladly spend a day watching lights flash, all the blirps and bleeps, and things whirring around. I'm also that fecker that turns on a whole shelf of toys that make noises before running away, giggling.

Yup, I'm 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I read children's books more than adult books. I watch the Disney channel haha. Jump on the bed singing.

I'm a primary school teacher so a lot of the time I do childish things but I have an excuse :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Mod: just so everyone knows - joking about paedophillia is never funny or ok in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

I own boxsets of old cartoons I watched as a kid, Pink Panther, Tom and Jerry and some Looney Toons, got them as Christmas presents and was delighted.

I'm 26 by the way.

I watch them when I need a laugh or leave them on in the background when messing about on the laptop or even commenting here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Slightly older age inappropriate but still inappropriate but I love knacker drinking preferably with a 2 liter plastic bottle of cider, no worries no stress just a bunch of mates in a park being mildly anti-social
    If there's crisps or peanuts involved it has the very thin illusion of being a picnic :D

Also when I cycle I have to stop myself making go faster noises :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

ALL the Amiibos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

I still buy myself Kinder Eggs and make the toys and play with them at 23 years old ...

I also cant wait for the big ones every easter where i get a even bigger toy LoL

Stick a plastic bottle in that spot above the back wheel....(BRRRRRRRRUUUUUM!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

That's weird that people think that, OP, wouldn't 41 put you at around the perfect age to be a fan of Tupac?

ALL the Amiibos.

What is the big thing about amiibos? Do they do anything or are they just figurines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Slightly older age inappropriate but still inappropriate but I love knacker drinking preferably with a 2 liter plastic bottle of cider, no worries no stress just a bunch of mates in a park being mildly anti-social
    If there's crisps or peanuts involved it has the very thin illusion of being a picnic :D

Drinking outdoors is the fuccking best, nothing wrong with it at all! Not even technically illegal in a lot of the country-check you by-laws :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

What is the big thing about amiibos? Do they do anything or are they just figurines?

They have different, minor functions in different games. All I know is, I've waited my whole life for Nintendo figurines and thank feck they waited until I had the money.

Oh. Also those weird loopy things with round pegs at doctor's offices? Anytime I see one when I'm waiting for an appointment, its so hard to resist getting down on my knees and playing with one. There's something so ruddy satisfying about it!

?:eek:

These yolks.

https://www.babyaccessories.ie/uploadedfiles/sys_products/1366665352.jpg

Like I said, I suck at being an adult!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

I 'sometimes' get on the floor and play cars with my son on his car matt, I'd often distract him with something else so he doesn't mess it up while I motor the cars around the town and into the garage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭BehindTheScenes

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Danbo! wrote: »
    I remember thinking as a kid – "When I grow up I'll stay up late, buy loads of sweets and lego."

Now, an early night is amazing, I try to avoid sugar, but buy oh so much Lego. Being an adult is the tits.

Absolutely loved Lego when I was a kid! I actually ended up doing Civil Engineering as I see it as a bigger version of Lego. Gotta love a bit of job satisfaction.

Also love a packet of Jelly Tots once a week. Always get a look from the woman in the shop and then I add in "ah they're for the kids, ya know yourself", not one kid in sight yet.

I have a massive collection of cartoon t-shirts. Care Bears, My Little Pony, TellyTubbies, TMNT, He-Man and She-Ra, and more. I might also have a collection of CB and MLP underwear. It helps that I'm very small and can buy things from the kids department.

I also like to keep Panda, who is a stuffed..eh, Panda, nearby. Especially in times of stress. He has a companion, Mr Grey, who was called that long before the whole 50 Shades business, but has had to go into hiding from the paparazzi since.

ETA: I'm 28, just in case anyone thinks I'm actually 10. :)

Candie wrote: »
    I have a massive collection of cartoon t-shirts. Care Bears, My Little Pony, TellyTubbies, TMNT, He-Man and She-Ra, and more. I might also have a collection of CB and MLP underwear. It helps that I'm very small and can buy things from the kids department.

I also like to keep Panda, who is a stuffed..eh, Panda, nearby. Especially in times of stress. He has a companion, Mr Grey, who was called that long before the whole 50 Shades business, but has had to go into hiding from the paparazzi since.

Not a real Mr Grey then?

http://alien-dolls.com/dolls-banner55.jpg

Imagine giving one of them to a child as a present...they freak me out, never mind a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I used to watch Sky News in the morning before work, then I discovered The Amazing World of Gumball -

Sets me up for the day :D

Oh, and I still listen to popular chart music like... Taylor Swift :o