Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Review with Guest Presenters - TV3 (Mon - Thurs @ 11pm).

• 27-07-2015 10:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

While Vinny is on his holidays, Tom McGurk will present a news, arts and review show featuring analysis and debate concerning the day's big stories and a preview of the next day's newspapers.
    000684dd-560.jpg

Mod Note

The Late Review will have a different guest presenter each week.

For the week beginning 04/08/15 - Colette Fitzpatrick

For the week beginning 10/08/15 - Ger Colleran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

This interview with Rabbitte is nauseating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Pat Rabbitte never misses an opportunity to have a go at Joan :D

I'm not sure which would traumatise me more - having to listen to further extracts from George Hook's durty book or Pat Rabbitte presenting his own radio show on Newstalk :o

Rabbitte is such a hypocrite. A few years back, himself and the rest of his Labour/DL comrades would be marching in solidarity with their Greek counterparts.

Lest we forget...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

They're in government now and realise what may sound good on the doorstep is a far cry from the reality of running a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Oh goody, they brought in someone from Identity Ireland. I expect rational debate and reasonable views.

EDIT: and people rushing on here to say they think he's talking a lot of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Everyone pussyfooting around, avoiding calling a racist a racist. You'd miss Vincent.

Jaysus, this a load of self indulgent crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭strawdog

RayM wrote: »
    Everyone pussyfooting around, avoiding calling a racist a racist. You'd miss Vincent.

a pretty tame debate alright. You feel VB wouldn't have let him get a word in edge ways. Do wonder tho if it was better to let him talk his nonsense instead of fuelling his sense of being a persecuted voice and have people giving out that he wasn't allowed get his point across.

Shane Coleman has finally managed to leave Newstalk Towers for half an hour at least.

He has to be the safest, most politically correct journalist in the country :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭strawdog

They could use a desk. All havin a mare with the paper shuffling and flopping

PTSB crucified some of their customers, what's new in Ireland :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If someone is bankrupt they are not allowed work for most financial organisations, however if their decisions cause a customer to become bankrupt it looks like that's grand.

David Hall speaks a lot of sense, I hope the people who have lost their homes receive hefty compensation. Unfortunately, it's the taxpayer who will have to pick up the bill yet again.

Will we ever see the former directors of Irish Permanent being prosecuted for their role in colluding with Anglo Irish Bank to falsify Anglo Irish Bank's end of year financial statements? I won't hold my breath.

The whole adoption issue can be so painful for all parties. I've two friends who were adopted, one has never expressed any interest in tracing their parents, the other desperately wanted to locate their mother, when they found her she wasn't interested in having a relationship.

I want to see the Amy Winehouse film, I'll never forget the Dingle performance.

"Hothouse" Press? :confused:

Poor Tom is trying to be cool.....he is obviously more into the Hothouse Flowers than Hotpress lol :D

What a waste of a wonderful talent, it's very sad.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    What a waste of a wonderful talent, it's very sad.

Another member of The 27 Club :(

Fair play to the Irish Times press photographer who captured the handwritten note on Jeremy Masding's (CEO of PTSB) speech - advising him to be - 'serious, controlled, no smile'.

Good show tonight, goodnight all :)

I'd buy The Clarion if I had a few bob. Many's the sweet pint I've had in there.

It a nice hotel Harry, the company I work for hired out the Penthouse for a staff do once, we'd great craic there. I remember trying to distract the lads working in the nearby Examiner office, it's no wonder the Irish Examiner moved out to Blackpool :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Rabbitte is such a hypocrite. A few years back, himself and the rest of his Labour/DL comrades would be marching in solidarity with their Greek counterparts.

He's a fool with a smart turn of phrase and a liking of his own voice.
    He thinks he's this wise head being all pragmatic and sneering at idealism and principles when all he is as you say is a hypocrite (a hypocrite who looks beaten by the political world but a hypocrite nonetheless).
    The mask slips a fair bit though with the Joan Burton stuff etc.

M

George Hook fairly fired up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

George Hook fairly fired up.

He called her out big time on him being "controversal", and she had nothing to back it up. She's a very poor interviewer.

Next we're going to have Twink going on about how great Cilla Black was.

I don't get why she's being discussed in Irish media at all.

M

murpho999 wrote: »
    He called her out big time on him being "controversal", and she had nothing to back it up. She's a very poor interviewer.

Next we're going to have Twink going on about how great Cilla Black was.

I don't get why she's being discussed in Irish media at all.

Yes she should have had examples to back up what she was accusing him of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Twink met Cilla a couple times at a premier and now they were great friends.

Dave Fanning clearly never knew her at all.

Awful stuff. Why is she being discussed at all? Irrelevant to Irish news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Always hated the stupid TV shows, but fair play to her, Cilla was a great singer in her heyday (and I'm old enough to remember those days)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭secondattempt

Hook really made her look ridiculous, though she did a good job of it herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Yeah. She was way out of order. She had a panic attack when he half threatened to walk out. Cringey when she tried to talk about rugby then.

I missed the George Hook interview last night but I'm after watching it on the TV3 player.

http://www.tv3.ie/3player/show/801/97167/1/The-Late-Review

I don't think George or Colette came out of the interview looking particularly well. George seemed to be irritated/hostile from the very start. I like George, while he can be a grumpy old man at times, overall it's good to have a broadcaster who isn't trying to be PC. Like him or loathe him he is true to himself and he is colourful and interesting unlike some of his Newstalk colleagues. I can't bear to listen to Shane Coleman, the guy is so PC and as a result his reports/contributions are very dull at times. Chris Donohue can be over PC at times too but I do like the rapport he and Ivan have going.

I used to listen to George religiously up until the Catherine Murphy/Denis O'Brien story broke, for such an outspoken man, his silence was deafening at the time. Matt Cooper did his best to cover the story impartially so I've since switched to Matt!

Ger Colleran is presenting the show this week, while he is a bit of a smug fecker, he generally does a decent job.

Conor Lenihan. This should be fun.

Conor looks and sounds like Mammy O'Rourke lol :D

Oliver Callan did a very funny sketch of the two of them in conversation on his final show before the summer break.

Fairly one-sided conversation, seeing as all three guests are in favour of the artists' exemption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Ger colleran trying to get aengus o'snodaigh to agree that Patrick Pearse was a madman...!
    Some hope!!

Way too many clashing patterns - Gerald's suit, shirt, tie and handkerchief are all screaming at each other :eek:

I have a soft spot for Rich Boy Barrett.... there I said it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Mary o'Rourke again.....
    Does she have no bed to go to...?

Mary o'Rourke again.....
    Does she have no bed to go to...?
    For all her faults she got elected without gender quotas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

For all her faults she got elected without gender quotas.

No one will get elected due to gender quotas. It just gets more women on the ballot paper. The public will have the final say on whether they get elected or not.

And Mary did have help by being related to Brian Lenihan. A lot of the women politicians that get elected in Ireland often have familial connections with male politicians.

No one will get elected due to gender quotas. It just gets more women on the ballot paper. The public will have the final say on whether they get elected or not.

And Mary did have help by being related to Brian Lenihan. A lot of the women politicians that get elected in Ireland often have familial connections with male politicians.
    I feel people should get the party nomination on merit and they shouldn't be added to the ticket because of their gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I feel people should get the party nomination on merit and they shouldn't be added to the ticket because of their gender.

If this gets more women in the Dail, I'm all for it.

What family connections did Jan O'Sullivan, Frances Fitzgerald, Lucinda Creighton, Mary Lou McDonald, Joan Burton, Gemma Hussey, Mary Harney, Marcella Corcoran-Kennedy, Monica Barnes, Geraldine Kennedy, Maureen Quill, Joan Collins, Catherine Murphy and Róisin Shorthall have?

If this gets more women in the Dail, I'm all for it.
    I would love to see more women in the Dáil but I'm totally opposed to gender quotas. If I get a promotion in my workplace I want to earn it, I don't want any favours or gender quotas.