Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This fupping weather

• 27-07-2015 4:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭

Twud want to cop on now fierce lively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Anna I've rated this thread excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Honestly though. I remember when I was small my aunt from America sent me over those jelly sandals for my birthday in July. I got one wear out of them because the minute I stepped outside they melted into the ground from the heat! That was about 20 years ago. What the hell is happening? Not only is it raining but its actually cold, I've a fire on here like! Can't hack it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Absolutely lousy over here in Mayo. Being drizzling more or less for two days solid now, and nowhere near what you'd call warm, never mind hot. May was sh*t, June was less sh*t and July has been sh*t. And yet my old man always said that they had great summers when he was growing up. I find it hrd to believe, looking out the window at grey, leaden skies.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

At least the rain is warm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Not a bitta drying to be seeing anywhere around here today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Summers are like apple tarts your granny used to make. No one remembers the bad ones. Plenty of summers have been worse than this one in my lifetime, and I'm only a youngfella yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It's an awful shame there's no Weather forum on Boards to discuss this vital topic.

Ara now don't be like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

anna080 wrote: »
    Honestly though. I remember when I was small my aunt from America sent me over those jelly sandals for my birthday in July. I got one wear out of them because the minute I stepped outside they melted into the ground from the heat! That was about 20 years ago. What the hell is happening? Not only is it raining but its actually cold, I've a fire on here like! Can't hack it.

They call it global warming or something

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I'm wearing coats, have the heating on and my flowing summer dresses are very lonely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Fire and wind come from the sky, from the gods of the sky. But Crom is your god, Crom and he lives in the earth. Remain strong and steadfast, the darkest hour is always before dawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Looked out the back door awhile ago and it was windy with grey clouds.

The front of the house had a blue sky.

Have no idea how it happened.

Has anyone else a fire lit?

Looked out the back door awhile ago and it was windy with grey clouds.

The front of the house had a blue sky.

Have no idea how it happened.
    Two different dimensions and your house is on the boundary line.

People have very selective memory when it comes to weather. Today is not untypical of weather for 27th July. It reached 16° today and the average for this day is 18°. It has rained on 18 of the past 30 27ths of July.

Just an average summer really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Reiver wrote: »
    Has anyone else a fire lit?
    Me.

I'm no great guide though, I light a fire every day of the year.

I painted my garden furniture a month ago and haven't actually had the opportunity to sit out in it yet because it's been so pissy out. In fact my lovely red parasol is blowing around the garden right about now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

3 weeks ago, I brough the children to the beach every day with a picnic, they had a blast and I spent many an hour watching them and gazing at the sea, pure bliss. Now its lashing raining and my washing is building up as can't hang it out. Need some more sunshine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

It would be better than the rte / tv 3/ utv weather forecasts alright.

I painted my garden furniture a month ago and haven't actually had the opportunity to sit out in it yet because it's been so pissy out. In fact my lovely red parasol is blowing around the garden right about now

Oh come off it. They were several sitting-out-in-the-sun days in the past month. Granted it has been windier than usual at times but we sat out for coffee many mornings and have enjoyed a few sunny evening BBQs in July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Ah fupp off you moany grass hole.

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    It would be better than the rte / tv 3/ utv weather forecasts alright.

There's no "would be" about it. It is better. Some very accurate forecasts posted on that forum.

People have very selective memory when it comes to weather. Today is not untypical of weather for 27th July. It reached 16° today and the average for this day is 18°. It has rained on 18 of the past 30 27ths of July.

Just an average summer really.
    I doubt it got anywhere near that temperature today around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Maybe the Westboro Baptist Church are right and a ****ty Summer is Gods punishment for voting for marriage equality

Oh come off it. They were several sitting-out-in-the-sun days in the past month. Granted it has been windier than usual at times but we sat out for coffee many mornings and have enjoyed a few sunny evening BBQs in July.

Not over here in the wesht. We are fierce exposed so we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭Daith

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Maybe the Westboro Baptist Church are right and a ****ty Summer is Gods punishment for voting for marriage equality

Eh, the sun was splitting the stones when the gays won the referendum. Don't know who God is angry with but it doesn't seem to be us.

That's the kind of attitude goes down well on the "Trivial things that annoy..." thread. You should give it a go. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Theres always one.

Me.

We light them a lot too but today a bit earlier than usual. You'd swear it was Autumn by the carry on we're getting.

blueser wrote: »
    I doubt it got anywhere near that temperature today around here.

The high today in Castlebar was 16°.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,287 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Bubbaclaus wrote: »

"And he will strike down upon thee with grey skies and furious drizzle."

Well then we should all have gone there. Thanks for letting us know in advance.

eternal wrote: »
    Well then we should all have gone there. Thanks for letting us know in advance.

Reply was to a poster from Mayo.:rolleyes:

Where would you like today's temp for? And certainly not in advance. It may have escaped your notice that it wasn't a forecast. Past tense was a real giveaway.

Thanks for that, but I'm not in Castlebar. I'm on the Mayo/Roscommon border and, according to the weather app on my phone (data from weather.com), the "high" here today was 12 degrees. And it's late July.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

It was hovering around 13 or 14 degrees here in sligo.

We just need to get off this rain sodden island and leave it to the ducks.

blueser wrote: »
    Thanks for that, but I'm not in Castlebar. I'm on the Mayo/Roscommon border and, according to the weather app on my phone (data from weather.com), the "high" here today was 12 degrees. And it's late July.

Right now Roscommon town is showing at 15°. That app is telling porkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Maybe we need to build a weapon or something, some sort of neutraliser machine which can be pointed at the clouds and will dissolve them, said machine also has the most powerful vacuum cleaner which can suck up all the wind in the country, who is with me to help build this.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,854 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Twud want to cop on now fierce lively.

It's a nice evening here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Read somewhere 'tis the wettest July on records, (much colder than normal too).
    Now they're saying all the ice (and then some) is returning to the North Pole.

If you've paid any gobal-warming tax-levy-charges, sure maybe claim it all back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭cml387

The problem is that the hot countries all have desperate economic problems, whereas we countries in the colder north all have well run economies.

Erm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I wouldn't mind a bit of wintery weather in July, so long as it's going to be 26 degrees and blue skies all day in November to make up for it.

I reckon it probably will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

Me.

Ah, you're codding me. You do not. :D

Read my post again. Where did I say I was in Roscommon town? Go over to here, and you'll see a weather thread in there. A poster said he was in Achill today, and it was 12 degrees there. Is he "telling porkies" as well, because you say the weather in Castlbar was 16 degrees? You seem to want to contradict people who tell you what the weather was like where they live, not what your source for weather tells you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

This guy has built a small prototype of curved passive light/heat collection & reflection.

http://www.klinkmansolar.com/images/4footmodel.JPG
    http://www.klinkmansolar.com/images/4foottargetwindow.JPG

He say's it collects x8 of solar energy, so a cloudy autumn afternoon would be like midday on the beach in Santa Ponsa.
    Running cost? Zero. - As long as it's very well insulated.

Propose every garden gets one, along with the covering of moon, in silver foil.

This is what we've had today, and what we've got coming for this week;

http://i.imgur.com/EHP8xl1.png

Oh look; we can look forward to temperatures of 14 and 15 degrees by the end of the week. Goody gumdrops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭juneg

Ah I love the summer evenings toasting marshmallows over a roaring fire... in the sitting room

Sure the rain might get warmer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Oh yeah, forgot all about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

This weather is bullshit.

I drove home tonight with my lights on at 5.30, brought the dog out for a walk, got soaked, and then sat in front of the telly eating cottage pie with a heater going. Cottage Pie and the heaters on! It's f*cking July, not November.

I'm not just talking about rain, because who cares about summer showers, right? Ireland's rainfall is fairly evenly distributed throughout the year. But I'm talking overcast, gloomy evenings and temperatures below what we would expect for summertime. Load of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭ollaetta

I need Specsavers. Read that first as snowing.

Seriously though, just after half nine and it's almost dark out. Fup that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Welcome to our new and early autumn. Nicely fresh and cool, lovely weather I find it. Beats sweating all day with the clothes stuck to your body. Can't wait till it snows soon.