Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, how are you doing?

• 25-07-2015 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭

So, how is life going for the people of After hours? Is life going well, or is there anything on your mind?

Me? Well, I'm giving a presentation next Saturday and I'm having anxiety over it. I'll pull through in the end (I always do).
    Other than that, can't really complain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I'm on the top of the world , looking down on creation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

snubbleste wrote: »
    I'm on the top of the world looking down on creation
    Literally or figuratively? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Literally or figuratively? :rolleyes:
    Oh, just singing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Doing well thanks. Got top 100 REI shops in Ireland during the week that was bit of a surprise.

jimmii wrote: »
    Doing well thanks. Got top 100 REI shops in Ireland during the week that was bit of a surprise.
    Ah, well done. So you run your own shop (assuming here)?

What does REI stand for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

Thinking over stuff, Im struggling with family problems right now. Gets me down, Nothing that cant be fixed. On the brighter side, Ive got a good job, I enjoy it. Moving into a new house that I wanted for months and finally got. And looking forward to a holiday to new york in september. So I could be worse.

Not even in the mood for a whitty reaponse on AH. Im proud of meself. Now its almost Beer o'clock too wich is a bonus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Life is only made tolerable by the thoughts of toasted bacon sambos, scrambled eggs and hot tae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I literally look forward to w*nking. So, to answer the question, life could be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Mine is great. Opened the paper and my obituary wasn't in it, so I got up and had a fine day. No worries on the horizon. Family all well. Money in the bank. All the time in the world. Yes, great indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

As a 30 year, 2 more years of college is making me very anxious, also doubting my ability, I just want to be out there earning full time, feel like my decision to go back as a full time student is holding my life up somewhat. But short term pain for long term gain I guess....I hope.

Generally life is fine. Today isn't great, but it'll be over by tomorrow.

Practice that presentation over and over again, you'll be fine on the day. :)

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I literally look forward to w*nking. So, to answer the question, life could be better.
    Having a w**k won't fix your problems though. Anything serious going on in your life or are you just at a crossroads (figuring out what do do)?

As a 30 year, 2 more years of college is making me very anxious, also doubting my ability, I just want to be out there earning full time, feel like my decision to go back as a full time student is holding my life up somewhat. But short term pain for long term gain I guess....I hope.
    I agree with your last point. I'm doing work experience now and I can't wait to see the end of it, but it'll be worth it to have it on my CV - and its relevant to my course.

I'm in college myself now, going into third year. What are you studying?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Simultaneously looking forward to my holiday and worrying about getting as much work done as possible before it.

Looking forward to seeing my girlfriend for the first time in 3 months.

Mild nagging in the back of my head about whether I'll have enough work for my PhD, but result have been good lately.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Not well to be honest

somefeen wrote: »
    Not well to be honest
    Whats up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Learning Linux.
    In other news the ON button on my 4.5 year old Sony VAIO is fuked. But it can still be safely powered on another way without using it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Tired and hungover
    House a mess coz no time to clean for the last few weeks
    Started a new job and feel highly incompetent as I learn the ropes
    On the bright side, I have cupcakes. And a tan from a trip away.
    Could be worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

I agree with your last point. I'm doing work experience now and I can't wait to see the end of it, but it'll be worth it to have it on my CV - and its relevant to my course.

I'm in college myself now, going into third year. What are you studying?

Enviromental Engineering, interesting stuff, I just hope I hit the ground running when/if I finish, also, social circle dwindling, getting out there and meeting a women my own age is becoming bloody difficult but I have my health so I'm thankful for that. 'Per Aspera Ad Astra' as they say. good luck with the work experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Whats up?

Ah ****ing everything.

No money problems though s I'm sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

I would give one of my legs for a fcking sandwich!
    Been off work sick for two weeks and cant eat properly :(

Other than that life is alright I guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Well, compared to the previous couple of years of which were a real-life nightmare while living and sleeping in my car for weeks on end, I'm actually doing quite fine now. I have absolutely nothing to complain about thankfully.

Time to leave this dimension for the next one seeing that it is the weekend, nice chilled beer and a nice herbal joint, they coexist perfectly well together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

I have fúck all money, but I have happy healthy kids (5 of them) and I think that the less I have the less I want.
    Life is good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Its a bit crap but i have some raspberry ripple ice-cream so i'll pull through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Meh, I'm ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Very hungover... waiting for chinese to arrive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

You know that feeling where you feel you are about to burst you are so excited? Little ripples in your stomach.....can't sleep......every little thing just makes you smile so hard your face hurts......you feel like skipping and doing a little jump to click your heels.....singing out loud at the top of your voice!?..........

Yeah.......me neither....... :p
    : D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

This week I'm moving back home to Ireland after a year in Germany. Looking forward to coming home but the idea of saying goodbye to all the wonderful people I've met here just breaks my heart. But hey, one chapter ends, new one begins. Apart from that, all is grand. Except I'm broke. Anyone wanna send a few bob? Also fairly hungover right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Pullin' the Devil by the tail!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Whats the craic Clandestine, had a few tunes in Fox's in Galway whats about yerself?

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Doing ok here, work going well, planning a week away with the oh, and caught him checking out arosemantic break for next weekend this morning

Have to knuckle down and finish my masters though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

The hair on the top of my head is leaving and relocating to my nasal cavity and ears.

Bastard hairs, they have notions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Middling I'm thinking. I've gotten a few things and experiences I've wanted but on the negative side, I seem to have and be rubbing people up the wrong way more than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Good, get to see my sister tomorrow for the first time in over 7 months and then off on holidays on Tuesday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I'm the size of a house and another 8 weeks to go. We picked out our.new.floors today and our paint. That's getting done in the next week.

Went to ikea, got loads of stuff and I've just built our hall table and it looks great :)

Oh and our new car is ready in 2 weeks '

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Today was difficult but then improved a little. Overall things are pretty bad with little hope of being resolved. Just have to take things day by day.

Few pints with friends now, so picked up a lot ;) today was just meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Unfortunately we're all going to die.

somefeen wrote: »
    Ah ****ing everything.

No money problems though s I'm sorted
    Thats alright then? Hopefully nothing that can't be sorted soon.
    Well, compared to the previous couple of years of which were a real-life nightmare while living and sleeping in my car for weeks on end, I'm actually doing quite fine now. I have absolutely nothing to complain about thankfully.

Funny that. I was having trouble getting accommodation for college and was seriously considering buying a van and living in it. I sorted myself out though.
    Today was difficult but then improved a little. Overall things are pretty bad with little hope of being resolved. Just have to take things day by day.
    Life is best lived in the moment. Reminds me of a quote:
    “If you are depressed you are living in the past.
    If you are anxious you are living in the future.
    If you are at peace you are living in the present.”
    Links234 wrote: »
    Few pints with friends now, so picked up a lot ;) today was just meh
    That's good. I haven't been for a pint with friends since paddy's day. Hell, I haven't actually seen any friends since the end of May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

I'm not sure. An awful lot is right and good. A niggling sense that I have to stop solving other people's problems and dependencies and deal with the huge unlived part of my heart. Like I should just walk out of my life that has been created by dividing myself and just do what's left in me to do. Hmm. Long walks on the beach coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I can't complain.

Well, I could complain, but if I've learned anything from thirty-three years of never being very happy, it's that moaning and feeling sorry for yourself changes nothing.

Currently weaning myself off anti-depressants, so I'm looking forward to the withdrawal symptoms ending. I think I'm past the 'baby crawling across the ceiling' stage, but the 'brain-zaps' have yet to abate.

RayM wrote: »
    but the 'brain-zaps' have yet to abate.

Hang on, hang on... Need to do this right!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I must say fair play OP, asking how somebody is doing and taking the time to actually listen can make a huge difference.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

fanny privileges have been withdrawn.

I think my head could burst if I don't get the ride off her in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Kwiecien

I'm grand.

Husband downstairs. I'm in bed with my cat on my chest. He's asleep and i don't have the heart to wake him and put him out.

He weighs a ton though - the fat b@stard!

fanny privileges have been withdrawn.

I think my head could burst if I don't get the ride off her in the morning

You're always asking for too much, that's your problem.

Kwiecien wrote: »
    I'm grand.

Husband downstairs. I'm in bed with my cat on my chest. He's asleep and i don't have the heart to wake him and put him out.

He weighs a ton though - the fat b@stard!

Watch that. A few years ago while staying in my sisters for the weekend, I awoke and couldn't breath, and lo and behold, her furry cat was asleep on my face as I normally sleep on my back. They go for the heat, and the mouth seems to be a good place for these creatures.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

got about 10 xanax now within arms reach,so prettay prettay prettay good.

knocked 1 back tonight and can feel it now, got them yesterday - 1 went down the hatch, 1 up the schnoz, had exercised that day too after a break from exercise.

Slept like Ive never slept, I was involved in some mafia shenanigans too iirc, then woke up in a whole new world when my magic carpet landed ... some ****ty place called earth ... and it was like id had a few whiskeys.

so here goes again, take me home alprazolam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm part of the MTV generation, I feel neither highs nor lows.