Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your first Mobile Phone

• 25-07-2015 1:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭

My first 'sort of' mobile phone. Back in 1983, working on construction sites, used to be sent to start off new sites, maybe a hundred miles from the head office. Had to phone head office every day. First problem was to get change for the phone box, then to find one that wasn't broken, then to wait for some old dear to get off the phone. So used to make an arrangement with some local householder whereby I paid them cash and I had a mobile phone where people could ring me using their number.

My first real mobile phone.
    1988 working in England, company based in Ireland gave me a mobile, size of a brick, weighed about two pounds, nine inches long, two inches wide and two inches deep and had a long aerial. Often had to go to top of nearby hill to get reception. Company took it off me after one month when they got a bill of over €2000
    Do you remember your first mobile phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Mitsubishi trium with the flip down thingy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

3310 snake was great.

How times have changed.

Bought my mum a 5110 and anothe 3310 for 1 of the sisters if I recall was 1999 nearly sure and remember a call would cost over a pound a minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nokia 35.10i with gold colouring, I still have it in a drawer somewhere. Probably still has a bit of battery life in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Ericsson GF768 Red with a flip down microphone. Back then, Eircell Ready to Go customers could receive text messages but could not send them. I still have the same phone number today. But my dad has had his nearly 20 years, in fact his phone number used to have 6 digits after 087 but Eircell then made him add a 2 to his number.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

A Nokia 5110. Quite a durable beast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Nokia 9210. A brick. But it could be dropped and survive. And snake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

It was a Nokia 3210. I remember getting it for Christmas and spending the entire morning wasting all of my credit on ringtones. I think it was dial-a-tone or something. I can still remember your man's automated voice: "Amadeus".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

Can't remember the brand / make but it was shape of a home phone with cord attached hand piece.

I do remember the number 088 552086

Ah distance memories of being a yuppie - mobile, annabels and strings :) I have now grown up!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Panasonic GD90.

I used to have dreams about the Nokia 3210 because it had an internal aerial (the holy grail in '99).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

Found image of similar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

A Siemens C25. There's a 3310 and a 5110 still in daily use in this house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Motorola D160 attached.

Upgraded to a 3210 and was the boss of my estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

My girlfriend has a mobile phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

This Ericcsson GA318 . what a beast it was too real high tech :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Motorola d520. Complete brick of a phone but I felt like a boss pulling up the aerial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

It was this bad boy, and did I not think I was some big cheese with it clipped to the side of my belt like a right eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It was this bad boy, and did I not think I was some big cheese with it clipped to the side of my belt like a right eejit.

Yes the belt clip craze ha ha remeber the days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

The classic Nokia 3210

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

This Ericcsson GA318 . what a beast it was too real high tech :P

That was my dad's first phone. It's crazy looking back at that. Brings back memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭bikermartin

A Panasonic G350 in 1996. 180 pounds it cost and then also signed a contract with 087 eircell. Much better network than 088 he said !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭NorthStars

Yes the belt clip craze ha ha remeber the days

Was going through Faro airport last week and the guy in front of me had one....
    I'd say his phone was 20 years old too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

http://s7.computerhistory.org/is/image/CHM/102632966p-03-01?$re-zoomed$

I'm pretty sure this was it. It had internet and it was a snip at just €16 to check the premiership results of a saturday :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

It was a Siemens something I don't remember. I got it free when joining college banking. Those were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Mitsubishi trium with the flip down thingy

had a trium too, Aria, still have it, still works I think :D
    http://www.ixbt.com/mobile/images/trium/aria/trium-aria.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Sony CM-H333...the 'Mars Bar' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,102 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Philips Fizz on 088 bill pay in about 96 I think!

http://www.altehandys.de/images/phi-fizz312-2p-silber-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

A brick of a Motorola in 1998.

Features:

- Non rechargeable. Had to use four AA batteries
    - No caller ID. Just said "Call", same for missed call
    - No text messages
    - No games
    - Big aerial that you really needed

How good will phones be in 2038?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Nokia 5110, savage phone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

https://i.embed.ly/1/display/resize?key=1e6a1a1efdb011df84894040444cdc60&url=http%3A%2F%2Fpbs.twimg.com%2Fmedia%2FBG7mLfKCYAEmxOo.jpg

Ah, there's my baby. Motorola brick bought for £15 from my friend when I was about 15. It had probably gone through a couple of other people before her too! Then the Nokia 3210 and something in the 2600 line, those clear-plastic ones that you could put paper cut-out designs into to make them unique.

I actually only got my first smartphone this year, discounting a second-hand palm pro with a battery that died when you sneezed at it which never got used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Samaris wrote: »
    https://i.embed.ly/1/display/resize?key=1e6a1a1efdb011df84894040444cdc60&url=http%3A%2F%2Fpbs.twimg.com%2Fmedia%2FBG7mLfKCYAEmxOo.jpg

Ah, there's my baby. Motorola brick bought for £15 from my friend when I was about 15. It had probably gone through a couple of other people before her too!

Mine was a slightly ****ter version of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Nokia 3210 was classic though. It's a bit like Windows 98 these days. It was such a good system for its time that it took quite a long time for better phones to take over. Especially if you ended up on friggin' Windows ME.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

A big Motorola brick of a phone, Bank of Ireland were giving them away when you opened a student account back in 1998. Did the job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

PLL wrote: »
    That was my dad's first phone. It's crazy looking back at that. Brings back memories.

haha jaysus i feel old now and im only 31 :p

This is the full list of phones ive owned and how i felt about them

Ericcsson GA318 :pac:
    Nokia 3210 :cool:
    Nokia 3310 :)
    Nokia 3510 :)
    Motorola Razr V3:)
    Sony Ericsson K800 :cool::cool::D
    IPhone :pac:
    iPhone 3gs :)
    IPhone 4 :cool:
    Samsung S3 :)
    Samsung Note 3 :cool::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Back in the mid 90s a BT Pearl.

It was feckin huge and heavy. The battery would last 4 hours on standby.

Because "all the cool kids" did it, we got the firm to buy belt clips and then couldn't work why you had to keep hoiking your trousers up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

088 Motorola and a Nokia 1610

Nokia 5110 was always my favourite

hundreds of phones since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I got a 3210 in 2001, ah I cherished that phone, sweet memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭blackcard

Chris___ wrote: »
    088 Motorola and a Nokia 1610

Nokia 5110 was always my favourite

hundreds of phones since.

Hundreds? Seriously? I might have a phone for ten years

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,344 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

How I envy its battery life now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,188 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I have searched for a pic of my 1st phone and can't find it.

Things I know about it.

- Samsung
    - black
    - had a flip down piece to reveal the numbers
    - had a pull up aerial

Anyone remember the model number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Hammer89 wrote: »
    It was a Nokia 3210. I remember getting it for Christmas and spending the entire morning wasting all of my credit on ringtones. I think it was dial-a-tone or something. I can still remember your man's automated voice: "Amadeus".

I remember it had a 'notemaker' so you could make your own tunes for ringtone. Mine was 'popcorn' from some song. Sounded alright on the 3210.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭josip

I need an exit

The coolest way to hang up ever invented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Ericsson T10 .... Thought I was deadly... Was 18 and got it on bill , couldn't believe my luck
    Couldn't afford to pay for it as I was still in school.

http://mobile.softpedia.com/phones/Ericsson/Ericsson-T10s.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

An erricson t18, blue flipdown (the flip didn't do anything, was just for show)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,476 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Ericsson T10 .... Thought I was deadly... Was 18 and got it on bill , couldn't believe my luck
    Couldn't afford to pay for it as I was still in school.

I also had one of those phones in a black/grey colour. Had the flashing light at the top which was cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

June 2004- Nokia 3200 - parts broke at the top when the power button was when i was rolling down a hill 3 months after getting it! Got with saved communion money.
    Dec 2004 - motorola v550. Got for xmas. Stopped turning on.
    May 2005 -nokia 3220 - got for confirmation. - still works!
    Dec 2007 - motorola razr - got for xmas -  stopped turning on.
    2008 -motorola razr v3 - temp hand me down phone, and again, stopped turning on (seeing a pattern with motorola?)
    June 2008- nokia 6288 - sent back after 1 day after not being able to stay on, didnt last long on the market!  most expensive phone i owned!
    nov 2010- htc wildfire s - got for 18th - smashed screen and damaged parts.
    Oct 2013 - sony xperia M - spent nearly 300 just fixing the piece of $h1t after paying 180 for it!
    Jan 2015 - htc desire S . Current.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Nokia 5110