Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France 2015 stage 20: Modane - Alpe d'Huez

• 24-07-2015 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭

I am going to borrow this excellent stage OP from cyclingnews forum. A day that has alot more potential now than we may have thought even a day or so ago. Sky showing some frailties and Movistar looking very strong, it's a tall order for Nairo, but with Contador and Nibali supported by their teams willing to put it all on the line we may see another day like today with even more attacking and potential excitement.

Grab a couple of good Belgian beers, reserve a seat on the Sofa, and hopefully we will see the tour continue its resurrection as a spectacle and perhaps a epic final stage to remember.

http://forum.cyclingnews.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=29910
    The last Alpe stage awaits. The 4th and last day of Alpine hell. The sprinters has to survive this one last day, before the sprint stage to Paris. Some will see this stage as the last chance to redeem themselves. Some will see this as the day, where they will only try to hang on and defend their GC placing. Some will in a last, desperate attempt to get something from this Tour try to make a suicidal, “all or nothing” attack. This is the last day to turn the tides..

151225111-etape_20_2015_ny.png.jpg

The 110,5 kilometer long stage from Modane to Alpe d’Huez is a short stage, and close to being a copy to the Modane - Alpe d’Huez stage from 2011, where we really had some action with the 5th placed Alberto Contador trying to blow the race up by attacking on Telegraphe and later on the Alpe

120-RTR2P5QB.jpg

only to be surpassed by that years maillot blanc winner Pierre Rolland and fellow Spaniard Samuel Sanchez.

alpedhuez2011.jpg

The original stage design was the same as in 2011 with the Col du Galibier, where 2010 Tour winner Andy Schleck won from a long range attack, almost taking the maillot jaune from the French GC surprise Thomas Voeckler (finished 4th overall). But because of a landslide, the Galibier have been replaced by todays Col de la Croix de Fer. As it was mentioned in the race thread from the La Toussuire stage, this giant has been featured in the Tour since 1947, with cycling giants as Coppi and Bartali being the first to cross over.

PROFILCOLSCOTES_1.jpg

Half of the stage has been ridden, when the riders have to climb this incredibly long, 2067 meter high HC climb Col de la Croix de Fer (the Pass of the Iron Cross), 29 kilometers of pain, with an average gradient of 5,2%, some parts almost flat or going slightly downhill, but with some kilometers reaching 9-10% incline! The climb is steepest from the 6 to the 12 kilometer mark, and the last 6 kilometers are steep as well.
    After crossing the top (and the first to do so gets the 25 KOM points), the road’s going mostly downhill (with some flat kilometers) to Allemont, where there’s 25 kilometers to the finish. A points sprint in Bourg-D’Oisans is the last sprint to be contested, before the road’s going up to the top of the legendary Alpe d’Huez.

PROFILCOLSCOTES_2.jpg

Not the longest nor the steepest climb, but the many hairpin bends is easily recognizable. It is steepest in the beginning, and a section 4-5 kilometers from the finish, reaching a gradient of 11,5%, before the last kilometers incline is about 5-5,5%.

300px-Serpentinen_AdHn.jpg

The climb first featured in 1952, where Fausto Coppi won the stage featuring it, and the saying that “whoever wears the yellow jersey in the Alpe wears it in Paris” was fit to Coppi that year, and it is most certainly true this year, unless the maillot crashes on the Champs Élysees, since this is the last stage before the “ceremonial” stage to Paris.

Another notable stage winners on Alpe d’Huez are the 1979 Vuelta winner and 1980 Tour winner Joop Zoetemelk, winning twice there (1976 and 1979), 5 times Tour winner Bernard Hinault in 1986, the first South American GT winner, Luis Herrera, and Italian Gianni Bugno in 1990 and 1991.

In 1995 and 1997 none other than Il Pirata, Marco Pantani, and in 1995 he set a record time of 36’40 on the Alpe d’Huez, roughly a minute faster than Lance Armstrongs 2004 mountain time trial up the Alpe.

1997-Pantani-Virenque-e-Ull.jpg

2006 was Fränk Schlecks turn to succeed on the Alpe, but far from being a GC contender. When the Alpe d’Huez was climbed in 2008, Carlos Sastre riding away from everyone and everything, finishing 2 minutes in front of Schleck brothers, Valverde and took the yellow jersey from his team mate Fränk Schleck and minimizing the threat from Cadel Evans, being strong in TTs and therefore a threat to CSC - Saxo Banks maillot jaune. Sastre won the Tour with 58 seconds down to the Australian.

carlos-ataca-ahuez-tour-08.jpg

In 2011 it was close to be the same story. Thomas Voeckler had the maillot jaune, but after a heroic performance on Galibier, he couldn’t follow the favourites anymore. Cadel Evans hung on to the Schlecks, Andy taking the yellow jersey 57 seconds in front of the Australian, who could see an opportunity for taking the yellow on the time trial the next day.

Cadel_y_Andy_Alpe_d'Huez.jpg

and so he did with a lead of 1’34 in the GC down to Andy, while Fränk held the last podium spot, with a comfortable gap to Thomas Voeckler and Alberto Contador.
    2013 was taken by a break away as in 2011, but as in 2011 as well, we had some GC action with the superior Chris Froome showing weakness, and was dropped by Joaquim Rodriguez and Colombian maillot blanc Nairo Quintana.

CORVOS_00021678-018.jpg

Only losing 1 minute, but that could have been more, as Richie Porte illegally handed Froome some energy gels, and later they both received a 20-second penalty. The stage was contested by Tejay Van Garderen, Moreno Moser and Christophe Riblon. The Frenchman won, passing an ever-attacking American with roughly few kilometers to go.

4829876-3x2-940x627.jpg

So who is going to win this year? There shall be no doubt, that many have interests in winning the stage. Breakaway, especially those going for the KOM jersey (Rodriguez, Fuglsang, Bardet), and GC men as Chris Froome to take his first win on the Alpe, failing to do so last time. Nairo Quintana, and perhaps taking more time on Froome in the process? Will Vincenzo Nibali try to win another stage? Dutchies perhaps try to win on "the Dutch Mountain" ? Will the 3 musketeers Pinot, Bardet and Rolland show the French colours tomorrow? Or will Alberto Contador trying to repeat a 2011 scenario, but this time coming out as a stage winner?

There are many options, and as the Tour is coming to an end, we can only hope, that some fireworks are provided for us one last time, to have something to remember, to enjoy, until next year…

General classification before tomorrow:

1. Christopher FROOME
    2. Nairo QUINTANA +2' 38
    3. Alejandro VALVERDE +5' 25
    4. Vincenzo NIBALI +6' 44
    5. Alberto CONTADOR +7' 56
    6. Robert GESINK +8' 55
    7. Matthias FRANK +12' 39
    8. Bauke MOLLEMA +13' 22
    9. Romain BARDET +14' 08
    10. Pierre ROLLAND +17' 27

Polka-dot jersey competition before tomorrow:

1. Romain BARDET 90
    2. Christopher FROOME 87
    3. Joaquim RODRIGUEZ 78
    4. Jakob FUGLSANG 64
    5. Nairo QUINTANA 56

Green jersey competition before tomorrow:

1. Peter SAGAN 420
    2. André GREIPEL 316
    3. John DEGENKOLB 281
    4. Mark CAVENDISH 192
    5. Christopher FROOME 128

Weather:

Col de la Croix de Fer

10qi1i8.png

Alpe d'Huez

650x366_07241254_hd29-1.jpg

2hcdap1.png

Most likely it will rain on the Alpe in the early morning, so riders will probably be riding in dry conditions.

If you have anything to add, please share it :) May it be a great stage tomorrow!

Stage winner 22 votes

Froome
    0%
    Quintana
    13%
    Darkglassespaul0103gambeta_fc 3 votes
    Contador
    45%
    Brian?GoldFour4marvin80greedygoblinManOnFireArrow in the KneeQwertyIIITrev De revFrankly frankjonnbinn 10 votes
    Nibali
    4%
    retalivity 1 vote
    Pinot
    4%
    qwabercd 1 vote
    Bardet
    9%
    letaperosskeen 2 votes
    Rodriguez
    18%
    steclearystipes212thokerKavrocks 4 votes
    Rolland
    0%
    Martin
    4%
    pajor 1 vote
    Having the day off to watch the cycling
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Inquitus wrote: »
    ...Grab a couple of good Belgian beers, reserve a seat on the Sofa.....
    PH ...you should be in Wicklow tomorrow suffering with the rest of us on the Boards.ie Evil 200! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

PH ...you should be in Wicklow tomorrow suffering with the rest of us on the Boards.ie Evil 200! :D

If I were in any sort of shape I'd be there will bells on, sadly tis not the case :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Rodriguez
    I'd love to see Bardet take the polka dot jersey all the way to Paris above all else. I think he would be a very well deserving winner, not to take anything away from anybody else.

Realistically there are still at least 10 people in the running to take it depending on how things go tomorrow.

With the expected crowds on the Alpe tomorrow, and the prevailing mood, there is the potential for some ugly scenes that could influence the outcome, hopefully that's not the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Quintana could write himself into history here. Hopefully Nibali and Contador do something manic on the Croix Fer as well. Extremely short stage so hopefully magic throughout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Contador
    This stage will be a belter.

I'd love to know whether Sky were saving domestiques for this stage as Poels was doing all the work for Froome yesterday oh and also Lotto Jumbo.

If Quintana overtook Froome to take the Yellow Jersey I would be flabbergasted to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Similar thoughts as Inquitus....
    No matter who wins or loses in this stage, I just hope the people on the side of the road don't have an influence. And I hope there will be no disgusting incidents like spitting at riders, throwing urine etc. :(

Since most of the Sky domestiques got dropped so early on Stage 19, they might have been able to take it relatively easy for the rest of the stage and might be in reasonable shape today. On the other hand, the Movistar guys must be pretty knackered. So in that sense, it's advantage Froome IMO.

I know Quintana got the upper hand yesterday, but I think Froome was conservative when chasing Quintana. Froome has stated that he really wants to win this stage, so I think he will be the victor.

Thread needs poll:
    *Froome
    *Quintana
    *Some other bloke on a bike

Simples :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Can i just say thanks to everyone who put up stage reviews during the tour. They are a great resource and a pleasure to read. Great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Since most of the Sky domestiques got dropped so early on Stage 19, they might have been able to take it relatively easy for the rest of the stage and might be in reasonable shape today. On the other hand, the Movistar guys must be pretty knackered. So in that sense, it's advantage Froome IMO.

I know Quintana got the upper hand yesterday, but I think Froome was conservative when chasing Quintana. Froome has stated that he really wants to win this stage, so I think he will be the victor.

Don't think Froome was holding anything back yesterday. I also highly doubt that Sky domestiques were saving themselves for today-I think they were all just knackered. I wouldn't be surprised to see Froome on his own again today, similar scenario maybe to yesterday. Quintana to take time out of Froome but fall short by about 30-40 seconds.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Contador

You organised the Evil 200 for the same day as a stage up Alpe d'Huez? Blasphemy.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Contador
    Quintana could write himself into history here. Hopefully Nibali and Contador do something manic on the Croix Fer as well. Extremely short stage so hopefully magic throughout

Contador is 100% guaranteed to do something "manic" after about 40km. Sky won't chase him, he's way too far down on GC to be a threat. Contador may even make a deal with Rodriguez to help him towards the Polka dot and go for the stage.

If Quintana doesn't attack on the first turn into the Alpe, it's game over and Froome wins.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Doc07

If Quintana doesn't attack on the first turn into the Alpe, it's game over and Froome wins.[/quote]

I agree, so let's hope he attacks and we get an exciting 40 minutes.

If you took away the timetrials and the crosswind stage where would Quintana be? Maybe a minute behind. Hardly 'unbelievable' for Froome, a Tour the France champion to be leading by a minute. But you won't find that printed in any mainstream article this weekend. The standard of journalism this year is appalling.
    I'd love to see Quintana pull it off as I'm not a huge Sky fan by any means but if Froome wins I hope he gets the credit he deserves. Powerful climbing when he needs to, competent on the cobbles, race savvy in the crosswinds for a change and descending with the best of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Martin
    UW0thavm.jpg

Rodriguez
    Brian? wrote: »
    Contador is 100% guaranteed to do something "manic" after about 40km. Sky won't chase him, he's way too far down on GC to be a threat.

If Quintana doesn't attack on the first turn into the Alpe, it's game over and Froome wins.
    No but Valverde might, he really wants that podium place. I can't see Quintana acting long, he seems way too conservative to me to be a Tour de France winner.

The people I can see attacking are Froome, Nibali, Contador, Bardet and Pinot. The rest of the top 10 just seem to be clinging on and everybody else seems drained completely. I think Contador is very tired but for pride and to get Oleg off his back he'll aim for that podium spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭omri

Inquitus wrote: »
    With the expected crowds on the Alpe tomorrow, and the prevailing mood, there is the potential for some ugly scenes that could influence the outcome, hopefully that's not the case.

what do you mean by that - people throwing cups full of piss at Froome?

I think the crowds are part of any race or GT and its just amazing to see them climbing literally in a crowd of people. I wouldnt bother to camp on a side of a mountain just to see the cyclists for 5 sec passing by after many hours of waiting. So these fans deserve some credit. For last few years that Im following cycling I didnt see anyone loosing stage or the race due to "evil spectator" sabotaging a particular rider. Obviously you get an odd incident like the crash at the Giro stage when one guy hit a camera lense. Throwing urine at Froome if indeed happened was disgraceful but you cant police everyone unless you move racing to formula 1 tracks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Quintana
    pajor wrote: »
    UW0thavm.jpg

Oh Milton, poll added :D

Martin
    Dutch TV showing pictures of Dutch corner. Mad craic all together. Weather was shíte last night though. Thunder, rain and hail.

Would today be this year's Queen stage..?

Have chosen Rolland cos I'd like to see him win as opposed to thinking he will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭JK.BMC

omri wrote: »
    what do you mean by that - people throwing cups full of piss at Froome?

I think the crowds are part of any race or GT and its just amazing to see them climbing literally in a crowd of people. I wouldnt bother to camp on a side of a mountain just to see the cyclists for 5 sec passing by after many hours of waiting. So these fans deserve some credit. For last few years that Im following cycling I didnt see anyone loosing stage or the race due to "evil spectator" sabotaging a particular rider. Obviously you get an odd incident like the crash at the Giro stage when one guy hit a camera lense. Throwing urine at Froome if indeed happened was disgraceful but you cant police everyone unless you move racing to formula 1 tracks...

The original post is not criticising 'fans' per se, rather pointing to the (strong) possibility that in this stage of all stages one or two utter morons might indeed make international fame for themselves by fcuking it up for the leaders
    Fair play to Froome (best rider) and SKY (best team) for getting this far; but its every man for himself now as it will surely be a hammerfest from the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Nibali
    If only you could bet on a contador suicidal attack...its nailed on.

Dutch TV showing pictures of Dutch corner. Mad craic all together. Weather was shíte last night though. Thunder, rain and hail.

Would today be this year's Queen stage..?

Have chosen Rolland cos I'd like to see him win as opposed to thinking he will.

AFAIK yesterday was the Queen stage.

I think there is a lot of people at Irish Corner also.

Does anyone have the profile for this stage, before it was changed due to the landslide.

Martin
    Does anyone have the profile for this stage, before it was changed due to the landslide.

stage202015.jpg

Rodriguez
    omri wrote: »
    For last few years that Im following cycling I didnt see anyone loosing stage or the race due to "evil spectator" sabotaging a particular rider.
    "Evil" maybe not but I've seen it happen where a spectator interferes and somebody's chance is completely lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Its on the first post...

Is it??

Really like the Eurosport lady when she mentions the "Jello Jersey"
    Could we just get her to say that a few more times please....

And Brailsford just said "for sure" twice to her in that interview - very euro-savvy for an englishman

Contador
    JK.BMC wrote: »

She's great. I wish she'd swap jobs with Carlton Kirby.

they/them/theirs

JK.BMC wrote: »

And Brailsford just said "for sure" twice to her in that interview - very euro-savvy for an englishman

Shame he can't pronounce Valverde's name though....or even know what it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭shutup

Unfortunately I have to go to a wedding today. I'm hoping to catch some of the action. Any idea what time the GC guys will be battling up the Alpe?

Ah yeah - yer man "Alexander" Valveudee

Does anyone else find the dude in the Wiggle TV ad a bit weird....

She's great. I wish she'd swap jobs with Carlton Kirby.

Herself and Sean Kelly would make some duo - a real good one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Have to say I love Juan Anto Flecha. he is simply brilliant.
    Also Lemond has come on a lot, last year he sucked. But he seems much more comfortable this year.

Martin
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Have to say I love Juan Anto Flecha. he is simply brilliant.
    Also Lemond has come on a lot, last year he sucked. But he seems much more comfortable this year.

The fact they have got rid of that really annoying French guy with the Allo Allo accent has helped a lot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭stipes212

Rodriguez
    :confused::confused:

Can anyone remember the French guy that was with LeMond for the shows last year? I can't remember his name. He was so bad that he was funny. Himself and Greg got on well. I'm not a fan of Ashley.

The fact they have got rid of that really annoying French guy with the Allo Allo accent has helped a lot too.

I was writing my post before I saw yours :pac:

Rodriguez
    Throughout the Pyrnees and the Alps so far all the talk has been about Froome and Quintana. Most of the commentary about Quintana has gone like "well I don't think that climb really suited Quintana. He needs a really steep climb to be able to make a difference". What are peoples thoughts on this?

Personally to me it sounds like a bit of an excuse. Surely if you are aiming to win the Tour you should be able to attack and take time back on anything from 7% up?

ITV Cycling ‏@itvcycling 5s5 seconds ago
    Reports that spectators near Alpe d'Huez already being very aggressive towards Team Sky, trying to board their support vehicle #TDF2015

Contador
    Contador hasn't attacked yet. What a bleedin waster.

they/them/theirs

You'd think Movistar need to try and jettison as many Sky Doms as possible before the top of the Croix de Fer, otherwise they'll have a full compliment to defend with up Alpe D'Huez, which would be alot better for Froome than yesterday.

Sky done a deal with AG2R to leave the Mountains classifcation alone except if it ends up in a GC shootout up the Alpe?

Contador hasn't attacked yet. What a bleedin waster.

Read on CN that he's feeling drained and Majka has a free role to go for it himself. Disappointing to say the least. Movistar will never make the first move. Even if Contador is irrelevant, they need some guy to get things going it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Nibali
    retalivity wrote: »
    If only you could bet on a contador suicidal attack...its nailed on.

Well.....good thing you cant!

Boom all the Sky Doms dropped bar one, game on.

Read on CN that he's feeling drained and Majka has a free role to go for it himself. Disappointing to say the least. Movistar will never make the first move. Even if Contador is irrelevant, they need some guy to get things going it seems

I take it back, fair f*cks Piti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Quintana
    Nico and Porte with Froome, good group to have :)