Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad bad neighbour! NOTE MOD WARNING IN POST#60

• 23-07-2015 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22

Hi all first time poster, but long time lurker!
    sorry in advance for the long post, but im dying for info on a long pain in the ass problem...
    Basically we've a s..m bag of a neighbour leaving and farming beside us, we've had our differences over the years between him and my dad, but this guy is no odinary dose.. Hes stolen sheep (and actually put his name on there sides) but we got them back and lifted cattle that broke broke out and left 20 miles away ( not one animal has strayed on to his property or land) and then a couple of years ago our bull was in a garden beside his yard and he took him in to his yard, were my dad was alerted by another neighbour, he went down to get and the coward smacked him with an iron bar! Cops called all and all to no avail ... next morning the bull was lying out because he actually squeezed him... vet called , he said it was the worst case of crulety he ever witnessed! Again charges pressed cops said not enough evidence! Anyways i of course coming home from college to this bulls..t every weekend comforted the coward he ran in behind his gates of his house and shouted abuse and threw stones il admit i could kill him, he calls the cops and low and behold they land at my house saying i cant make death threats etc! Look it theres nurmeous **** hes done i could spend all day here, but he has a good job and as far as im concerned hes well in with the local cops, and everyone knows him for being to brainy and planning his next move, has his house and farmyard wrapped in cameras and i no anytime i conforted him hes being recording! A bit about us well d oul lad farmed all his life, this guy bought the land beside us and built his house ten years ago on it and has a wife and young family, my dad was never the best of farmers poor fencing etc but he never provoked any of his **** , we've fenced all the land and have the place looking good and are making few bob of it now, hes 20 odd years younger then dad .. ive been doing a bit of farming myself, and i bought ten ewes last week and they were in a fenced paddock and one dissappeared over night no were to be got no way she broke out either!
    Im so sorry for the long post guys and look forward to all help as im desperate to **** this out one way or another
    thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Jays is, I thought my neighbour was a pr**k.

Have you cameras on your yard?

Also re the place you have animals,would a wildlife camera catch him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Firstly some of your spelling could be better for a lad that left college.

Comforted (you mean) Confronted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Tyson23

Jays is, I thought my neighbour was a pr**k.

Have you cameras on your yard?

Also re the place you have animals,would a wildlife camera catch him?

No cameras in our yard because its in a lane with our house, this c..t would nearly smell them but its a good idea especially beside gateways

Sorry the old prediction text is s pain.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

That's really helpful :rolleyes:

OP, I would definitely go the cameras route if you can at all, may be expensive but if it gives you peace of mind it will be worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Flatzie_poo

Try being constructive with the issue at hand next time. You were so helpful in this thread. :rolleyes:

OP, to put it short, could motion sensor floodlights and infrared cameras be installed/feasible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It hurt my eyes reading it so much that I stopped half way through. There's more than just bad spelling going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭patjack

Sounds like a right so and so....I know the kind. Very difficult to get the upper hand in these situations especially if your not as bad minded as they are. Sounds like this lad can't help himself.

Pretty sure your right re: the camera as in "he'd smell them".

I think you might just have to play the waiting game with this fella, his turn will come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

first thing don't do stupid things like threatening him, if he's in with the local station you'll need a solid case for them to do anything.

about the cameras, stick up a sign or two before you put up the cameras just in case he goes looking for them and get a dashcam handy yolks

If you're getting more sheep, maybe look at pedigree's with tattoos, easier to identify.

If you do ever have to call the guards on him, make sure they record it(even the minor ****) in the station book(may need to be done in person to watch them write it down)

ganmo wrote: »
    first thing don't do stupid things like threatening him, if he's in with the local station you'll need a solid case for them to do anything.

about the cameras, stick up a sign or two before you put up the cameras just in case he goes looking for them and get a dashcam handy yolks

If you're getting more sheep, maybe look at pedigree's with tattoos, easier to identify.

If you do ever have to call the guards on him, make sure they record it(even the minor ****) in the station book(may need to be done in person to watch them write it down)

& get an incident no. from the Gardai. Better still download a phonecall recording app for your phone, record calls to the gardai with you complaints and ask for an incident number over the phone.

That way you'll have the record the Guards should have and you can prove you gave them the information.

I don't trust the Guards :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

patjack wrote: »
    & get an incident no. from the Gardai. Better still download a phonecall recording app for your phone, record calls to the gardai with you complaints and ask for an incident number over the phone.

That way you'll have the record the Guards should have and you can prove you gave them the information.

I don't trust the Guards :)

Voice recording phone calls is illegal if you dont have the other parties consent. So you need to make them aware of recording before the conversation starts. Good luck in getting a garda to agree with that.

Cheers folks for the great feed back, ive kind of come up with a smart idea for a sign that would include his second name but wouldn't look to bad if you get me, are wildlife cameras dear to install?
    I have recorded alot of the incidents in a notebook. RE: garda , thats a very valid point and i will be doing this from now on, because they are the worst cops around to turn a blind eye to this carry on!
    The neighbour is now trying to feck around with me, like we've a hedge between both our lands and its on our side and in the space of 2 hours, while we were away from home he cut down half of it!!! Me and dad approached him that day , he started saying he had hay to give away that dad could have it and grass to rent for the sheep and tried abusing me because he knows I've no fear of him.
    The man is BONKERS !

Voice recording phone calls is illegal if you dont have the other parties consent. So you need to make them aware of recording before the conversation starts. Good luck in getting a garda to agree with that.

Voice recording of calls is not illegal.

Tyson23 wrote: »
    Cheers folks for the great feed back, ive kind of come up with a smart idea for a sign that would include his second name but wouldn't look to bad if you get me, are wildlife cameras dear to install?
    I have recorded alot of the incidents in a notebook. RE: garda , thats a very valid point and i will be doing this from now on, because they are the worst cops around to turn a blind eye to this carry on!
    The neighbour is now trying to feck around with me, like we've a hedge between both our lands and its on our side and in the space of 2 hours, while we were away from home he cut down half of it!!! Me and dad approached him that day , he started saying he had hay to give away that dad could have it and grass to rent for the sheep and tried abusing me because he knows I've no fear of him.
    The man is BONKERS !

That's destruction of property...guards should of been called

Don't put his name anywhere! don't try and aggravate him, yes defend yourself but don't go looking for trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

The man is BONKERS !

on the hedge issue, report him to department for knocking hedge outside of the legal hedgecutting time and do him for trespassing also

play him at his own game. then get him to replant the hedge with mature trees and hit him in the pocket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

What a nightmare, obviously log every incident with the gardai and solicitors, have your solicitor build a file on him. I am sure the solicitor will have some advice re the hedge incident, if its on your land how has he a right to cut it, there must be grounds here surely.

Personally I would try to set out to trap him, if you put up a shed load of cameras he will figure a way around it by more than likely using hood or mask which effectively means no evidence.

Put something very small surveillance wise out near the most likely area that you feel he will target. If possible I would again set up something very small surveillance wise that covers the exit from his own home (front and back if possible), that way even if hiding his face you will have him on the times etc. You would have to install these while he is away so it would take some time for you to do this properly.

Once you have your surveillance in place its a matter of waiting or forcing the issue, if he dislikes you as much as you think the more you are in his face the more likely that he will act quicker. If you can goad him into another stupid act then hopefully this time you will have him on camera

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I'm not sure goading into a stupid act is a good thing to do to a fellow that will attack with an iron bar.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It hurt my eyes reading it so much that I stopped half way through. There's more than just bad spelling going on there.

[mod] Enough!![/mod]

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

As regards cameras and hoodies put a camera facing his gate/house as well as in around your yard. That way he will be caught going back into his house after the act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

on the hedge issue, report him to department for knocking hedge outside of the legal hedgecutting time and do him for trespassing also

play him at his own game. then get him to replant the hedge with mature trees and hit him in the pocket

AFAIK Hedging is a also cross compliance breach (gives two routes of attach on this one), and will cost dearly on single farm payment. Cheap Sign / laminated notice screwed into gate in lane "restricted entry, trespass will be prosecuted" will make any unwanted visitors think twice. Other Neighbours will also see it, and will notice anyone going into the lane who shouldn't. Buy a can of marking spray for the sheep. I even did my cattle with Blue spray when in shed incase of rustlers. Big blue "X" down both sides of the cattle and down their backs. Makes them stand out. Hope things improve for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

What's he like with the rest of the neighbours around your area?

Because your getting it from all angles from this fcuker.

Why the hell did he squeeze your bull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

This man doesn't sound like he's well in the head at all. Seriously, he must have some mental disorder or something. How the bull didn't buck lash him square in the face for doing that I'll never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ciaranmul123

You should watch what he does on his farm and then when you see him do something illegal report him to the department.. Only way to hurt a lad like him is through his pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

patjack wrote: »
    Voice recording of calls is not illegal.

As far as i know it is, if you intend on giving it to another person/company/organisation. If for personal use then no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

How old was the bull? Did you lose him after?

This guy sounds like a nutter.

Remember to breathe deeply. And don't get drawn into stooping to his level of lunacy. Easier said than done I know!

As far as i know it is, if you intend on giving it to another person/company/organisation. If for personal use then no.

depends on how you do it too, a phonecall to a voicemail(or another person) that happens to take place while talking to him is a recording of the phonecall, if it happens to catch what another person says its hardly illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

ganmo wrote: »
    depends on how you do it too, a phonecall to a voicemail(or another person) that happens to take place while talking to him is a recording of the phonecall, if it happens to catch what another person says its hardly illegal.

Think it is seen as entrapment and inadmissible in court not illegal but do you no good no solicitor here so could be wrong but that's what I heard before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

1st things 1st sort out ye,re fencing to stop ye,re cattle breaking out, put up a few strands of barb wire on the bounds ditch. That would help bulls from been squeezed and maybe cattle disappearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

The man is BONKERS !

Isn't that interfering with ditches?

Have a similar problem with a local lunatic. bide your time collect data, things like action cameras are getting cheaper so you should be able to pick one up fairy cheaply

http://www.amazon.com/SJCAM-Original-SJ4000-Waterproof-Camcorder/dp/B00KH7VZJQ

Something like this is ok, can be set up to take a photograph every 5-10 seconds but will also take video if movement is detected its small enough, even in its waterproof housing, to be hidden.

What's he like with the rest of the neighbours around your area?

Because your getting it from all angles from this fcuker.

Why the hell did he squeeze your bull?

He caused trouble with neighbours from round his home place (not to far away from here) caused him a few bob...
    the bull was on the road grass verge at ours , not bothering him , he took him of the road into his yard and squeezed him,,, disgust of an act

Mayo_Boy wrote: »
    This man doesn't sound like he's well in the head at all. Seriously, he must have some mental disorder or something. How the bull didn't buck lash him square in the face for doing that I'll never know.

He is crazy and everyone knows it, and as another neighbour said to educated, hes planning his next step whike covering his ass.... i swear he was the quietest bull i ever seen

Willfarman wrote: »
    How old was the bull? Did you lose him after?

This guy sounds like a nutter.

Remember to breathe deeply. And don't get drawn into stooping to his level of lunacy. Easier said than done I know!
    The bull was four year old home reared and a pet! Yea he went to the factory two days after, local vet wrote up a report for gardai and said he never seen anything like it!! Oh god i know it is :-o

farmerjj wrote: »
    1st things 1st sort out ye,re fencing to stop ye,re cattle breaking out, put up a few strands of barb wire on the bounds ditch. That would help bulls from been squeezed and maybe cattle disappearing.

Been doing that as i felt before this we never had a foot to stand on even as they never once stood on his land!

Thanks so much for the help folks, means alot... RE department he use to ring them every week reporting us for this that and the other till they actually realised he was fibbing half the time and the department told me that in the office...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Do the garda know he hit your dad with an iron bar.
    I would be inclined to call to garda station ask for Sargent and give them list of offences he has done.
    Then tell them that if they don't deal with him you will and they will have to deal with the aftermath.
    Tell them that someone will end up hurt or in prison if he is caught on your property again.
    They might give you a stern warning but might also tell your man to keep away from you.

If it's left as it is it will only get worse.
    I'm not saying to do anything to this guy but garda need to be more pro active to control the ongoing feud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Comerman

As other people have said, when you report anything to the garda station get the officers name & number. I'm involved in a residents Assoc. and the Sargent told us we need to do that every time we report anti-social behaviour etc. basically because the cops aint bothered with the paperwork etc. He sounds like a really sneaky boll.x so I'd play him at his own game but do it all "officially" and you and your Da will win out in the end. These are cheap and maybe worth a try
    https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/hurry-while-stocks-last/hurry-while-stocks-last/ps/p/security-light-with-camera/
    http://www.lidl.ie/en/Offers.htm?action=showDetail&id=27616

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

No it's not. No you don't. Nothing to do with a Guard.

http://www.vei.ie/law-on-recording-and-monitoring-telephone-calls/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Bagenal

The only advice I can offer to the OP has been already offered by others i.e keep your cool with this man and don't antagonise him, keep notes, preferably in a diary, of everything that happens/ is said along with all reports to the Gardai with times/dates.

As for the issue of the legality/illegality of recording telephone calls a bit of Googleing would seem to show it is legal so long as it is a party to the conversation that is doing the recording, if it is a third party doing the recording without consent then it would be illegal unless it was a member of the Gardai or Defence Forces. Links below to substantiate

http://www.dolores-maxwell.com/audio_recording_comments.php

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1993/en/act/pub/0010/sec0013.html#sec13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

He sounds like a real nasty so and so. Just be careful how you proceed with him. Guys like him spend their time thinking of how to

upset and make life extremely difficult for people.

I agree with dgmc ......things will escalate if you don't do something, by that I mean document and record everything.

Try to keep a cool head, I know that's difficult when the situation is intolerable, but try.

My best wishes to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

You can get Trail Cameras that can take pictures day or night, triggered by motion sensor. They can also record the photos to an SD card and can send a low resolution copy of the photo to your phone via text message. You can also get metal security boxes for some models to make them harder to damage/steal.

http://suntekcam.com/e_products/

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Trail-camera-for-hunting-scouting-12MP-IR-day-night-solar-panel-MMS-GPRS-GSM-/291434828291?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item43dade9203

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Shoot, Shovel & Shut Up!

[mod]I'm going to assume this comment is tongue-in-cheek.

This is a serious thread so let's keep the answers level-headed and real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Mourinho

Being from a farming background myself I'm sorry for all the trouble your having, theres nothing like this kind **** to stress you to the max.

The lads have good advice, cameras can be got cheap and make sure to set up in a way you leave no blind spots the hoor could get around.

It's an awful pity sheep cant be chipped or something as you could land right to his door (lets face it, we all know our own even if they look the same) and land him in it.

Were your sheep marked at all that you couldnt spot it?

I'm nearly in a bad mind myself now trying to think of ways to get him, but you can find yourself planning all sorts once you get into that frame of mind after you've been pushed by someone like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Mourinho

Is there a certain road of lane way he HAS to go through if he was to steal another animal? You could set-up a motion sensor that wont give itself away to him but start an alarm for you in the house, maybe catch him in the act?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

can camera footage be used in court anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

That link is UK law.

AFAIK recordings here cannot be used in court unless the other party is made aware of the recording and consents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

I have a different way of handling fellas like these, big salut and a smile every time I see them, what was the trigger that started this fued.iam I right in th7nking the bull was in your own garden by the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

I have a different way of handling fellas like these, big salut and a smile every time I see them, what was the trigger that started this fued.iam I right in th7nking the bull was in your own garden by the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

He sounds like my neighbour to be honest. Deal with it as best you can without doing something you'll regret and your chance will come. I know from personal experience it will eat you up and you can spend too long dwelling on different forms of retribution but your better off getting that out of your cause it will only turn you into a bitter old f::k like him. Smile every time you see him and do whatever you can to limit the opportunities he has to cause issue.

djmc wrote: »
    Do the garda know he hit your dad with an iron bar.
    I would be inclined to call to garda station ask for Sargent and give them list of offences he has done.
    Then tell them that if they don't deal with him you will and they will have to deal with the aftermath.
    Tell them that someone will end up hurt or in prison if he is caught on your property again.
    They might give you a stern warning but might also tell your man to keep away from you.

If it's left as it is it will only get worse.
    I'm not saying to do anything to this guy but garda need to be more pro active to control the ongoing feud.
    Yup they know he give a statement the following day, dad would be old fashioned in the way things can be sorted without law but he knows now its the only way! Yes you are right there, the evening they called to me i listed all he had done and asked them was i ever in trouble to which the replied no,,, i tpld them if something isnt done id do time for him ... which some days you'd feel like you'd like to!

Aineoil wrote: »
    He sounds like a real nasty so and so. Just be careful how you proceed with him. Guys like him spend their time thinking of how to

upset and make life extremely difficult for people.

I agree with dgmc ......things will escalate if you don't do something, by that I mean document and record everything.

Try to keep a cool head, I know that's difficult when the situation is intolerable, but try.

My best wishes to you.

Thanks ah stop il admit I'vefelt down and depressed about it some days and wanted to do harm