Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volunteer work

Options
  • 13-07-2015 11:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

Hi everyone

The TLDR: I'm looking to do some volunteer work in the environmental field and need advice about options.

---Some background info:
    I have a BSc in Geography and Environment, and currently I'm doing an MSc in Sustainable Development (while working full time and having a 5-months old in the house, so it's slow going...).
    I currently work in an unrelated field. I'm studying out of interest, and with a view to maybe one day work full-time in a related role.

---The problem:
    I'm having a small crisis of confidence. Basically my interest in the topic is waning, probably because I am not actively doing anything related to the subject, other than study for exams. My job has recently become more demanding, and the diaper-changing and night-feeding duties add to the pile... basically studying has become a chore - and since it is voluntary (i.e. I already have a good career and don't "need" this) it's tempting to cut it from my life.

---The plan:
    I've decided to take this year off (studying, not work or being a dad :)). I can defer all my exams to next year, and the way the course is structured it won't cost me any money, and actually not even delay my graduation - I'll need two more years, if I do exams this year or not.

---Where I need help:
    Instead of stressing about how far behind I am, and killing myself with countless late night study sessions before the exams in autumn, I want to try and find something to do that will hopefully motivate me again.