Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stay There! with Miriam - 11 July 2015 9:45pm

• 11-07-2015 7:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭

Again, there has to be a thread for tonight's episode, because it's the norm. :o:o:o:D;)
    Joining Miriam on the couch this week are three of Ireland’s favourite footballers. Twenty-five years on from Italia ’90 Packie Bonner, David O’Leary & Ray Houghton will look back at our finest soccer moment.
    Minister for the Environment Alan Kelly will speak to Miriam about being the minister responsible for introducing water charges and the death threats he and his family have faced.
    Panti Bliss discusses being the face of the referendum result.
    Former Miss Irelands Amanda Brunker, Pamela Flood & Sarah Morrissey will chat about beauty contests and what the win did for their careers.
    And there will be a performance from The Voice winner Patrick James with his new single ‘Redemption Days.’
    Saturday Night with Miriam airs on RTÉ One Saturday 11 July at 9.45pm.

Now why has the word "clique" come to mind quicker than usual...? :o:o:o;)

Anyway, since Panti and soccer are more or less top of the bill, here's a kitteh wearing a wig, and a puppeh thinking about becoming the next Messi... :o:D;)

tumblr_logu3eI0Ap1qkctx2o1_500.jpg

061214_lab_puppy_soccer_iStock_600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Minister Alan 'The Ego' Kelly is a guest this evening.

Politicians should not appear on weekend chat shows, particularly during the Summer. Instead of an entertaining chat show it just feels like Primetime Lite with Miriam :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Minister Alan 'The Ego' Kelly is a guest this evening.

Politicians should not appear on weekend chat shows, particularly during the Summer. Instead of an entertaining chat show it just feels like Primetime Lite with Miriam :mad:

True, and it also undermines Miriam's authority when she interviews him again on Primetime. If she must do a Talkshow then it should be with people she would never interview in her day job.

There should be a healthy distance between Politicians and their Interrogators.

I feel it's really wrong that a politician like Mr. Kelly gets a nice soft focus interview so close to a General Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I wonder is Alan Kelly pre recorded, strange for them to announce he is on and risk a protest outside RTÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Alan "I know what it's like to be homeless" Kelly.

The family home was burned when he was a baby but he remembers it well.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Alan "I know what it's like to be homeless" Kelly.

The family home was burned when he was a baby but he remembers it well.
    Alan Kelly is ensuring that plenty housing grants go to his own constituency - Tipperary. Kelly is another Lowry, he is looking after his own patch to ensure he is re-elected.

"Mr Kelly's Tipperary constituency, which has a population of 158,000, received €4,152,899 in housing grants since the start of the year"......

The Taoiseach's home county of Mayo, which according to the last census has a population of around 130,000, received €4,014,507 so far this year. Meanwhile, counties with similar populations such as Wicklow, with a population of 136,000, received €2,779,603. And Louth, which has a population of almost 123,000, received €2,990,686 in grants this year".

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/kennys-constituency-flooded-with-housing-grants-31300709.html

If I was a young lad I would getting royally bored with all this Italia 90 nostalgia. If you don't remember it, it must be getting very repetitive hearing the same stories about great it was.

Maybe it's time to move on and make new memories.

Nah, nuts to that. I'm as old as the hills, so I love any mention of it -

Greatest Summer of all time. I remember it like it was yesterday!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ah, Summer 1990.

Greatest dance record of all time? :)

Ah, Summer 1990.

Greatest dance record of all time? :)

Gets a Turntable thumbs up from me anyway!

Should have been a UK Number One! I demand a recount.
    For the week ending 15 Sep 1990, two records tied for number one - "The Joker" by Steve Miller Band and Dee-lite's "Groove Is In The Heart". Based on sales in the shops which contributed to the chart there was absolutely no difference between the two; it was a dead heat. But a rule introduced in the '80s was invoked; "The Joker" was given the number one as its sales had increased more from the previous week.

Though they had sold sufficient copies to be a joint number one, Deee-lite were relegated to number two. Eager to deflect the flack which flew when this came to light, the chart compilers subsequently announced that "The Joker" had, in fact, on review of the figures, sold eight more copies than "Groove Is In The Heart."

http://www.everyhit.com/number1quirks.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Put Em Under Pressure is the greatest football song of all time. End of story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

monkey9 wrote: »
    Put Em Under Pressure is the greatest football song of all time. End of story.

Baddiel, Skinner and the Lightning Seeds will more than likely record "Three Lions" again next year, when it will be "fifty years of hurt".

Leave it in 1996, I say. :o;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Tired of hearing about death threats "him and his family have received", it's almost become fashionable to receive one. Such a thing is very serious and shouldn't be thrown into the public debate like a football.

SATURDAY NIGHT! WHOOP!

''I'll be talking to Minister Alan Kelly about water charges, and the death threats he has received.''

*record scratches*

:(

Warm-up guy clearly telling the audience to sing "Ole, ole ole ole" there... :o:D;)

Sweet jaysus...one penalty shootout win, and you think you're the kings of the footballing world!

*runs for cover*

The lads have aged well. I've always loved Pakie and his Donegal accent. Met him once and he was a great guy.

Sweet jaysus...one penalty shootout win, and you think you're the kings of the footballing world!

*runs for cover*

Yep, the truth is that Ireland won more matches at USA '94 than they did at Italia '90... :o:o:o:o:D:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

MrsD007 wrote: »
    The lads have aged well. I've always loved Pakie and his Donegal accent. Met him once and he was a great guy.

Pakie has grown into his chin and looks great!

*runs for cover*

If Paul Bodin had scored his penalty, Wales would have quaified instead of Romania ;) Sliding doors ...

Edit: Ah, that was 1994.

Slightly off topic but..... if you haven't heard the recent Matt Cooper/Roy Keane interview, it's well worth a listen. Love him or Hate him Roy is absolutely fascinating. The podcast is available on the Today FM website or on iTunes.

Kevin Sheedy was one of the best set piece footballers ever, but most of his goals for Everton weren't recorded on camera.

Jamie Carragher reckons he was better than Beckham at Free Kicks.

Ah, Summer 1994.

Greatest rant of all time? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

*runs for cover*

Ah yeah, Wales are good at football for once and suddenly WMM becomes Billy Big Balls!! :p

Ah, Summer 1994.

Greatest rant of all time? :)

Worth pointing out that both of Ireland's good matches were in the Giants Stadium, and both of their bad matches were in Orlando... :o:D;)

The pope, ah stop, my toes are curling now. :rolleyes:

Ah yes, Karol Wojtyla in goal. :o:D;)

monkey9 wrote: »
    Ah yeah, Wales are good at football for once and suddenly WMM becomes Billy Big Balls!! :p

Football...is that the game with the round ball? :pac: :D

Miriam's not really all that interested, is she? :o:o:D:D;)

I still have my World Cup Milk Bottle :)

ZGQ3NGIyNWQyMmYzOTM4ZDliOTc1MDJiN2I3NzIwZjcmF5OmldeT75kbXxNj-DfzaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vYWFjMDM3ODk1OWZkMDVjZTg4MTAwMzBjNDZlOGRjNWVhYTNmMzVkNDYwMDMxNjUyMjZkMGYwYTc4YTc1M2IyZC5qcGd8fHx8fHwyMTl4MjkyfGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS93YXRlcm1hcmsucG5nfHx8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Miriam's not really all that interested, is she? :o:o:D:D;)

To be fair, it's hard to muster much enthusiasm when this story has been told sooo many times!

Evening all. Bit chilly this evening. I'm giving serious thought to retiring to bed with my hot water bottle.

I can't help but wonder how the producers managed to get those Ireland scarves for just about everyone in the audience... :o:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Skid X wrote: »
    I still have my World Cup Milk Bottle :)

ZGQ3NGIyNWQyMmYzOTM4ZDliOTc1MDJiN2I3NzIwZjcmF5OmldeT75kbXxNj-DfzaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vYWFjMDM3ODk1OWZkMDVjZTg4MTAwMzBjNDZlOGRjNWVhYTNmMzVkNDYwMDMxNjUyMjZkMGYwYTc4YTc1M2IyZC5qcGd8fHx8fHwyMTl4MjkyfGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS93YXRlcm1hcmsucG5nfHx8.jpg

We still have our 'jacks World Cuppa' tea caddy.

http://a1.amlimg.com/YWMyMDA3ZTAwMWI4Yjk0YzRlOGZkMDgxY2IyNmQwZjLfVVnQVu6SfI84erRq9Bn6aHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vNjU0ZTdkZmU0OWZjOWM4ZWUxOTZlZTc1M2IwMzQyYmYwYTYzYTgxNjczMzllMDE5OTViZWIxOWJhNDc0MmYwMC5qcGd8fHx8fHwzOTZ4MjkyfGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS93YXRlcm1hcmsucG5nfHx8.jpg

The one shown is from adverts.ie. Our one has specs of rust and is probably poisoning us, but its part of the house now:D

What happens if Greece goes berzerk tonight?

Does Mir have a Red Button that will revolve the stage, and bring out the Primetime set so she can be serious Mir?

What happens if Greece goes berzerk tonight?

Does Mir have a Red Button that will revolve the stage, and bring out the Primetime set so she can be serious Mir?

And does she have a suit ready? :D;)

Please pass the tissues, this is soooooooooooooo emotional :rolleyes:

Let's get this party started!

*beachball self-deflates*

"What will you do after the Election when you will have lots of spare time?"

Already I hear the tumbleweed blowing... :o:o:o;)

zzzzzZZZZZzzzzzZZZZZ.

M

Is this not the most dumbass idea ever if you were getting death threats to go on a chat show with your family and reveal them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

"What will you do after the Election when you will have lots of spare time?"

Miaow!!

:):)

M

Philip Hogan got off lightly.

Is this not the most dumbass idea ever if you were getting death threats to go on a chat show with your family and reveal them?

At least he didn't say their names.

Oh.

He is dull. He just said sexy. He has made sexy dull............ :(

omnishambles.jpg.jpg?1404215041

M

When they setup ESB the workers might have been able to "acquire" some cabling to put power in the families shed, that was the extent of the bonus and entitlement culture that was there then.

He sounds like a well-meaning fool. A "useful idiot".

Lots of people receive death threats during the course of their employment - Gardai, Journalists, Prison Staff, Lawyers etc. but they choose to maintain a dignified silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

He is spewing forth a script. Miriam should really ask some questions about the electioneering that is going on at the moment.

Can anyone read body language competently? he keeps looking down as he does the big speech. Would love Vincent Browne on this

fat-tony-air-violin-o.gif