Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What you think embodies Ireland

• 10-07-2015 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

My girlfriend and I were chatting the other day what you think embodies Ireland from an Irish point of view. Now, we all know the stereotypical and usual associations that will quickly come to peoples mind,, i.e. leprechauns, harps, Irish dancing, Bono (oh dear god) yadda yadda yadda.

But I mean, we are in the 21st century, and we have surely moved on from clichéd point of view of the Irish. Now interestingly enough, what do the Irish think of what best symbolises us in one unique figure/image?

I suppose I'll get the ball rolling and my suggestion to herself was Mr. Tayto. Come on, the man embodies Irishness (is that a word? Im going with it). No where else you can get delicious cheese & onion flavoured crisps or the good aul reliable smoky bacon or salt & vinegar.

What you guys think? What best embodies Ireland from an Irish point of view?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I would much prefer it if every visiting dignitary was taken for a tour of Newgrange rather then the photo op in the Guinness storehouse...help stop that alcohol symbol that many associate with Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good thing you posted a pic of Mr Tayto in case I was thinking of the other one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭x00065954

Menas wrote: »
    I would much prefer it if every visiting dignitary was taken for a tour of Newgrange rather then the photo op in the Guinness storehouse...help stop that alcohol symbol that many associate with Ireland.

Interestingly enough, never been to Newgrange. Must pop down some day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Are you one of Mr Taytos hired goons?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

x00065954 wrote: »

What you guys think? What best embodies Ireland from an Irish point of view?

Hate to say it... but begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Mr.Goodman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Apologising to people who bump into you on the footpath.

Nothing more irish than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Culchies - knitted jumpers
    Jackeens - corduroy blazers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Umbrellas that have been turned inside out by the wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭lakesider

How well we take it up the ass from a bunch of gombeen politicians feathering their own nests:mad::mad:..we are famous now for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Our generosity as a nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

Nepotism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

(Northern Ireland - flegs).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Drinking....we're some country for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭fed up sick and tired

Akrasia wrote: »
    Apologising to people who bump into you on the footpath.

Nothing more irish than that.

A quintessentially British trait actually.

Come to think of it - what better to define the Irish zeitgeist than the passive consumption of popular British cultural norms... mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Michael D for me.

Small in stature but Passionate, Articulate and Scholarly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

What embodies Ireland.

I think Yeats poem September 1913 pretty much encapsulates Ireland, craven, money grubbing and lacking in any kind of pride or self respect.

He did ammend his view post 1916 (in his poem Easter 1916) when he declared 'a terrible beauty is born', but that was just a blip, we squandered our nascient national and cultural self-determination so that we could (as in September 1913) return to 'fumbling in the greasy till and selling ourselves like the cheap whores we are for another shot at a bubble economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Whin bushes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

I've always thought the tag line "The fighting Irish" was a bit of a joke. When you look at what our supposed betters have hoist upon us the last few years and the way we have taken it lying down I think " The cowardly Irish" would be a more fitting slogan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I've always thought the tag line "The fighting Irish" was a bit of a joke. When you look at what our supposed betters have hoist upon us the last few years and the way we have taken it lying down I think " The cowardly Irish" would be a more fitting slogan.

Awful nation of spineless wonders nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

Alcoholism
    Moaning cnuts
    Great mammies (for boys anyway)
    Giving out about the weather
    The weather
    Desperate political leaders
    The RA
    Hang sangwidges
    Antisocial behaviour and last but least de bleedin faa chung wans in der pajamasis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

x00065954 wrote: »
    What you think embodies Ireland

Rain, lots and lots of rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

lakesider wrote: »
    How well we take it up the ass from a bunch of gombeen politicians feathering their own nests:mad::mad:..we are famous now for that!

17th best out of 250 countries for corruption in the world

Whinge whinge whinge.

Because people know deep down they have it quite handy compared to other countries.

I think moaning is up there. Moaning about how hard done by we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭lakesider

17th best out of 250 countries for corruption in the world

Whinge whinge whinge

Daddy a TD then?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Cheese'n'onion crisps and incest, often contemporaneously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

This weekend - Conor McGregor:D

lakesider wrote: »
    Daddy a TD then?:pac:

Good one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Petty hate and begrudgery is Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Having to be dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century in terms of social policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Some lad passed out face first into his garlic cheese chips in supermacs at 2am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

A complete absence of responsibility when things go wrong/bandwagon jumping when they go right.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Petty hate and begrudgery is Ireland.
    You're right - plenty of it visible on this thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Would you go way with your Tayto.

In most western countries, especially boring ones like most northern or central European ones like Switzerland, people often mention physical things - cities, architecture, mountaintop vistas. But not the people. In Ireland it's definitely the people that you remember.

Ireland's people embody the place. We have strong personalities and a penchant for melodrama and turns of phrase. I'd say foreigners find us memorable when they meet us, I've met many memorable Irish myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Ireland:

Leprechauns, Father Ted, and Guiness pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

There was that young fella with the samurai sword... think we were all supposed to follow him into the Dáil but it just didn't happen somehow!:D

Yeah there won't be a guillotene at College Green in my lifetime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

awful horrible kip full of self important minger pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Woop woop
    Bad ass alert

Sounds like someone got blanked in Coppers last Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

OP if you seriously think Mr Tayto embodies irishness then you need to see more of your own country. As for Tayto crisps - you need to try more brands.

For me Irishness is welcoming, green, countryside, heritage, history, and so much more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Muddy bad weather outdoor gigs of mediocre performance whose tickets have ripoff prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Ubiquitous Synergy Seeker

Loads of people who don't understand what "embodies" means or how to use it correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

donegal. wrote: »
    water.

And sex. People are willing to pay for sex though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TomBtheGoat

Taking it up the ass for the bankers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Following Man United or Liverpool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Taking it up the ass for the bankers.

Whatever you're into yourself, mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson