Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charity Collectors outside shops

• 09-07-2015 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭

It seems to me every Tuesday and Friday when I'm in the town there's always charity collectors outside the Post Office or SuperValu collecting for one charity or another.

Does anybody get fed up every time your going into or leaving a shop their looking for money.

I know I can just ignore them or say No.

Also those Amnesty International collectors are right pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Chuggers, beggars...pain in the hole with the lot of them :mad:

Always seems to be someone with their hand out trying to relieve you of €'s or smokes...FOOK OFF :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

In before someone uses good ole "roll-eyes" to make themselves look good and you look bad OP :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Or collecting at traffic lights. That infuriates me,,, Grrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The same guy does it outside my local Supervalue and he asks me over and over again to donate anytime I pass his table. I feel like saying look I gave you something last week, I'm not going to be shaken down on a regular basis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Give them a 1 cent coin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

Shopkeepers hate them but can't move them on as they stand on public paths. They get permission form the courts to collect, most of the charities I see are nothing more than sham charities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The same guy does it outside my local Supervalue and he asks me over and over again to donate anytime I pass his table. I feel like saying look I gave you something last week, I'm not going to be shaken down on a regular basis.

Supervalue is a misnomer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

The worst are the ones inside the shops behind the tills. Usually some sports or dancing club too rather than a decent charity.

My local Dunnes has about 20 tills, if it's busy there are huge queues at the three bag packer free tills only as people try to avoid the shakedown merchants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

mailforkev wrote: »
    The worst are the ones inside the shops behind the tills. Usually some sports or dancing club too rather than a decent charity.

My local Dunnes has about 20 tills, if it's busy there are huge queues at the three bag packer free tills only as people try to avoid the shakedown merchants.

Pet hate of mine and probably everyone else's. No problem with genuine CHARITIES collecting like this, such as say Down Syndrome ireland, but I'm fcuked if I'm paying for some kids leisure activity or trip. Biggest joke I seen in the centre of Kilkenny last week was some R Catholic youth group scabbing money for a trip to Medujorje...
    Thats taking the piss to a whole new level...think I'll go down into town with a bucket for my own holiday fund!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

road_high wrote: »
    Pet hate of mine and probably everyone else's. No problem with genuine CHARITIES collecting like this, such as say Down Syndrome ireland, but I'm fcuked if I'm paying for some kids leisure activity or trip. Biggest joke I seen in the centre of Kilkenny last week was some R Catholic youth group scabbing money for a trip to Medujorje...
    Thats taking the piss to a whole new level...think I'll go down into town with a bucket for my own holiday fund!

They arent going on holiday though in fairness, they're going for......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Supposedly Homeless charity collecting outside the Post Office again today.

Is Tuesday,Friday and Saturday the peak days for street charity collectors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would throw a few quid if it was a local organisation trying to raise money

but the big charity businesses not a hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭ceannair06

Chuggers deserve a very hard smack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Shopkeepers hate them but can't move them on as they stand on public paths. They get permission form the courts to collect, most of the charities I see are nothing more than sham charities
    Shops don't as such hate them. Most the charities or groups that set up in your local supermarket are local groups, at least that's the case around here. The shop allow local groups like the GAA groups, soccer groups, OAP groups to collect at their door one day, maybe twice in a year, they don't tend to allow just any group to use their premises but local interest groups that they're probably giving money to themselves or in some way involved.

I think it's fair enough, people in small towns up and down the country want the services these groups provide but give out when they're asked to support these services with one or two euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Organisations such as Animal Ark do my head in.

They collect money for mistreated animals were???

I dont trust charities anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

At a meeting not so long ago a lady was complaining about them being outside her shop and the Guards said if people will ring up about them they will move them on.

I don't mind them too much but when they form a chain across the street its infuriating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It should be illegal, most are getting commision in which case it should fall under the begging laws.

If the roma people who get moved on from sitting beside cash machines said to the gardai "but 0.015% of this money is going to charity, honest" I doubt they would accept it.

That figure is not a pisstake, rehab made €468 profit from £3.4m in scratch card sales. http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rehab-made-468-profit-from-34m-scratch-card-sales-30088548.html

Outside a lidl near me a guy sells fake bus tickets, with a full table openly advertising it. I contacted dublin bus to see if they were genuine as it was a good price and they said no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

They get paid.

I don't think they do. Maybe it depends on the place and the charity but any I've seen (small towns) has all been local interest groups. They don't get paid, I've had to do collections and deal with the shops and the shop is fairly strict and organised about the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

One guy is always outside the local Penny's.....all he says is ' support Irish Lung Cancer'.....seriously no way.... I will never support Lung Cancer !!!!!!

I assume he is working for the Lung Cancer Charity...but that's not what he says....

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't think they do. Maybe it depends on the place and the charity but any I've seen (small towns) has all been local interest groups. They don't get paid, I've had to do collections and deal with the shops and the shop is fairly strict and organised about the whole thing.

Collecting for local school don't but any big charity do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

most of the charities I see are nothing more than sham charities

Do you know this first hand? My dad runs a charity so I have some understanding as to where the money goes and my biggest peeve is when people say "oh but the people in need don't get the money" or "its a sham" or whatever the case may be.

I would NEVER put money into something I don't know where its going, so I understand what you are trying to say. But to say that MOST of the charities are shams is just a plain out lie! Unless you do your research and know exactly where the donations are going, you cant really comment.

Collecting for local school don't but any big charity do.
    I've never seen a big charity at my local shop. There are national charities that have local members in the town that are allowed to collect at the shop but in general they don't open the door to big charities.

Ashbx wrote: »
    Do you know this first hand? My dad runs a charity so I have some understanding as to where the money goes and my biggest peeve is when people say "oh but the people in need don't get the money" or "its a sham" or whatever the case may be.

I would NEVER put money into something I don't know where its going, so I understand what you are trying to say. But to say that MOST of the charities are shams is just a plain out lie! Unless you do your research and know exactly where the donations are going, you cant really comment.

Any idea how easy it is to create a charity in Ireland ?

The people collecting for Amnesty International get paid 350 Euro plus commission.

They're at the entrances of my local shopping centre and usual both sides of Talbot street in Dublin city centre and O'Connell street.

Any idea how easy it is to create a charity in Ireland ?

No idea to be honest! If you are speaking about my dads, its actually an American charity which he brought over to Ireland.

Just on the getting paid issue, it might be different for each charity. I do volunteer work for an animal charity and its all volunteer. I don't get paid for cash collections.

The people collecting for Amnesty International get paid 350 Euro plus commission.

They're at the entrances of my local shopping centre and usual both sides of Talbot street in Dublin city centre and O'Connell street.

Commission???? On what? How much they earn? That's ridiculous!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

If they selling scratch cards they keep up to 60% for themselves and hand back 40% to the charity

Ashbx wrote: »
    Commission???? On what? How much they earn? That's ridiculous!!!
    It is a bit ridiculous, having done the collection bucket thing I would seriously doubt they can expect each person they pay €350 to too make that money back and collect extra. 5 people collecting would be lucky to get half that between them all over the course of a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

I don't mind handing over money to local schools or clubs but not to the bigger charities. Through my line of work, I deal with a few of the bigger charities and the amount of money they waste is a bit sickening sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

The ones outside shops don't bother as long as they are not hassling me. But the door to door chuggers can shove their direct debits up their hole, another one of my pet hates are the lads in restaurants selling roses. A big nuisance when I go on holidays.

ScumLord wrote: »
    It is a bit ridiculous, having done the collection bucket thing I would seriously doubt they can expect each person they pay €350 to too make that money back and collect extra. 5 people collecting would be lucky to get half that between them all over the course of a day.

I seen it a while back on FAS website. I'll see if there is any charity job adverts that will back up what I'm saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Charity/club bag packers in the supermarket piss me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭daveville30

Another big charity had jobs advertised last week door to door fundraisers 10ph plus over night stays in hotels paid for. Forget which one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Doesn't mention collectors, just gives salaries of office staff/directors. Whered'ya get the €350 from? Not doubting, just wondering.

Was just linking the wages in general pretty good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I came across a young one the other day that wanted to know if I would donate for Alzheimer's she was calling it allzheimers :rolleyes:

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I came across a young one the other day that wanted to know if I would donate for Alzheimer's she was calling it allzheimers :rolleyes:

Maybe she forgot how to pronounce it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

In my town Tuesday= main dole day/children's allowance. Friday= old age pension day. They do be out in force them days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Supposedly Homeless charity collecting outside the Post Office again today.

Is Tuesday,Friday and Saturday the peak days for street charity collectors?

Outside our PO today
    Homeless Ex Servcemen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

We had sight savers call to the door last week after me spending €2,500 on laser eye surgery. U told him I had already used the Eye budget for the next 50 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Outside our PO today
    Homeless Ex Servcemen
    Do they not get a pension?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

That big fúck of wave they give when they're trying to get your attention. Twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

As I walk past them I check if they're looking for a fixed amount, such as €2 for a raffle ticket, or if they're asking for any spare change at all.

Then I check what they're actually raising money for. If the charity concept pulls at my heart strings enough I will consider donating. First I have to look them up online to see if they are valued at less then 100k.

If they satisfy my tests, then and only then will I give them my 22c change from the shop.

Yesterday charity collectors outside my local shopping centre, two charities inside and another at the tills in Tesco.
    All within 100 yards of each other.

I need to go to another shopping centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I help charity by giving time instead of money. Lots of time. Hours and hours.
    Then I see all these collectors and feel like a right stingy wagon for walking by them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Polka_Dot

The Amnesty people do get paid. They're the ones that ask you to sign up to direct debit, not people out collecting with buckets. They get commission based on how many sign ups they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

What annoys me about charities is that they exist at all. If govt. and by extension society was functioning properly, people wouldn't need to resort to fundraising by waving buckets or sponsored coffee mornings etc. We pay tax, it vanishes into the black hole of 'general taxation.'

The question shouldn't be about how 'annoying' collectors for charities are or the frequency of their bucket rattling but why they have to exist at all?

It never ceases to piss me off when I hear that the govt. has cut funding to a given essential service and yet have the money for new warships etc.

SD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks