Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this judge a racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Made a statement based on facts, not sure what's racist about that.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

The individuals were found to be conducting scams. They also happen to be Gypsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

More of a realist!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Hitchens wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/judge-claims-roma-working-with-travellers-in-insurance-scams-1.2277545

President of the Circuit Court says Roma & Travellers are carrying out insurance scams!

Will he be sanctioned for stating this? :eek:

Why should it be if its true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Where the hell is the racism here ?
    A group of mainly Galway-based Romanians is working with Irish Travellers in a scam of staging car crashes to mount fraudulent personal injury claims, a judge has stated
    Judge Groarke said from the evidence it was an inescapable conclusion there was liaison between members of the Irish Traveller and Roma communities to set up staged crashes s and claims to defraud insurance companies.

He said "members of" and "a group of". He never said all travellers or Roma were involved.

Jesus Christ OP, find something else to be outraged about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Why should it be if its true!

But if you said that in public would it be ok with everybody?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I dont see an issue with his comments TBH. But the sad thing is that any honest members of the Roma or travelling community who now try to make a genuine claim will find it much harder to realise that claim due to these fradulant claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

I'm sure this isn't unique. It's most likely being replicated across the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Get yourselves a dashcam or two. Problem (hopefully!) solved.

shedweller wrote: »
    Get yourselves a dashcam or two. Problem (hopefully!) solved.

The scam is that they are crashing in to eachother!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Menas wrote: »
    The scam is that they are crashing in to eachother!
    Aaah! Watch out for that massive penny dropping!
    Well in that case something like massively loading their insurance might work.

Oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

"from the evidence it was an inescapable conclusion"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

there are scammers. should be put in jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Aviva have produced "utterly compelling" evidence. The Gardaí should now proceed to prosecute to the utter limits of the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

travellers and roma working together.:eek::eek:
    ...we're fcuked now.
    They breed a new form of super gypsy within a few months.
    Fcuk the terminator - that will be the T-800 that will destroy mankind.

Upsetting consider I had harbored a thought they'd wipe each other out in a battle - to be televised weekly on channel 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/judge-claims-roma-working-with-travellers-in-insurance-scams-1.2277545

President of the Circuit Court says Roma & Travellers are carrying out insurance scams!

I've read the article twice now and I still don't know what you've based this thread on. Could you please quote the exact parts that made you arrive at the word racist? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Yes unless I was in a halting site or wherever Roma gypsies congregate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 ErogenousJones

"Based on evidence and research a group of Roma appear to be working with a group of Travellers and conducting insurance scams" = not racist.

"All Roma are thieving, scamming scum" = racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

This kind of intercultural cooperation warms the cockles of your heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Bloody crimist judge discriminating against crims. Ever notice that it is only the crims he sends down for a stretch? He singles them out deliberately. Sorry I have to go - my heart is bleeding all over the carpet again and I have run out of soda crystals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

He didn't say something so generalised. You'd know that, if you read the article you linked to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

They are indeed at it, the bastards, and costing respectable ratepayers like myself a sodding fortune in car insurance. :mad:

arayess wrote: »
    travellers and roma working together.:eek::eek:
    ...we're fcuked now.
    They breed a new form of super gypsy within a few months.
    Fcuk the terminator - that will be the T-800 that will destroy mankind.

Upsetting consider I had harbored a thought they'd wipe each other out in a battle - to be televised weekly on channel 4.

There'd have to be an organised translation service for the threats on the youtube videos though. A machine like literal translation of "the big moon head on ye, like an innocent" for instance, may require extra work to get the intent across in Romanian/Serb.

Nodin wrote: »
    There'd have to be an organised translation service for the threats on the youtube videos though. A machine like literal translation of "the big moon head on ye, like an innocent" for instance, may require extra work to get the intent across in Romanian/Serb.

Google Translate provides "Rahat-in-a-bucket bastard drogat lui" as Romanian for "Shíte in a bucket junkie's bastard", if that helps! :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    Google Translate provides "Rahat-in-a-bucket bastard drogat lui" as Romanian for "Shíte in a bucket junkie's bastard", if that helps! :pac:

No rats in your caravan.

Aside from the ones hanging from the rafters for mate bass, no! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

He didn't say something so generalised. You'd know that, if you read the article you linked to.

Jaysus lad even Nodin has said it's not racist-time to close your account. You have faux outraged to much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

A few months ago a car cut across me on a side road near Naas, then braked sharply. I saw him out of the corner of my eye, swung left onto the hard shoulder, and braked. There was some contact to my driver side front wing.
    I gave five colour photos of the incident to the local Gardai, and showed them film of the incident from my dashcam. I told the gardai I thought it was deliberate, and possibly a scam. The card driver's surname ended in "o" - not an Irish name.
    The judge can call them what he likes and I will agree with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I have posted on this topic before, a retired Garda whom I used to have occasional pints with told me of theses scams- a traveller woman being hit by some sinti and then has a miscarraige is another cash cow for these kind,gentle folk.

Regardless of where your feelings lie on the issue of Irish Travellers, I think we can all agree that those YouTube videos are quite sublime. I think there's more to it than meets the eye. There's a raw elegance to it. Perhaps it's a type of performance art, or slam poetry?

"The swellness never left your head. You've a head that size and it's all swelled and innocent. Ya dirty good for nothin' rat poison bastard ya."

Seriously, I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

More of a realist!

What? Like, prejudiced against reality?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Are you offended OP?

Is you SJW bump tingling?

It does amaze me that people don't report insurance fraud...the 'its a big company- sure they can well afford the pay out' attitude.
    I would shop my own mother if I thought she was creating an accident or making a false claim!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Menas wrote: »
    It does amaze me that people don't report insurance fraud...the 'its a big company- sure they can well afford the pay out' attitude.
    I would shop my own mother if I thought she was creating an accident or making a false claim!

That's their laws boss not our laws! don't be a rat, snitches get stitches and all that crap stems from the paramilitary/provo past and also the whole thing of 800 years fighting British rule and British laws, Irish people today or at least one large segment of settled Irish society see all authority as something they must fight because they want to do whatever suits them and get away with crimes.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    don't be a rat, snitches get stitches and all that crap stems from the paramilitary/provo past

The Mafia and the Yakuza hate snitching as well. I never knew they were all Irish Republicans. It makes sense though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

It's their compo culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

As a proud member of the bleeding-heart liberal club, even I have to say that this entire thread is a load of bollocks. It's a scam by a few lowlifes who also happen to be Travellers/Roma and that's all that's been stated. It sucks for the decent people who will find insurance harder to get now, and it sucks for everyone whose premiums go up thanks to this sort of selfish carry-on.

Throw the book at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Probably graduates of the Slip and Fall school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

no, he won't be. there are no grounds to sanction him

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Oh yes.

I also want my gate back.

And my parents getting the copper piping back from the house they bought recently would be wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

Racism would be claiming that the group of Japanese people eating noodles over there is going to cut you up if you dont pay protection money.

Racism is not showing evidence that there was a Japanese gang affiliated with yakuza breaking people peoples legs for not paying protection money.

The difference is assumption and actually knowing. In this case they knew they did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

diomed wrote: »
    A few months ago a car cut across me on a side road near Naas, then braked sharply. I saw him out of the corner of my eye, swung left onto the hard shoulder, and braked. There was some contact to my driver side front wing.
    I gave five colour photos of the incident to the local Gardai, and showed them film of the incident from my dashcam. I told the gardai I thought it was deliberate, and possibly a scam. The card driver's surname ended in "o" - not an Irish name.
    The judge can call them what he likes and I will agree with him.

Did he look like this guy here ?

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/03053/cristiano_ronaldo_3053936b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

biko wrote: »

I wonder why,after comprehensively reporting upon the pair of native gobaloons who were convicted,the Irish Times goes all shy and retiring as to who these co-defendants are....
    Eight other defendants also pleaded guilty to similar charges arising out the Rochestown incident and two other staged traffic collisions in Mallow and Mitchelstown. All eight have been remanded on bail for sentence later in the month.

Oh well I'm hopeful the Irish Times will give FULL coverage to that hearing as well....;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

as reported in the article:

"Judge Groarke said that from the evidence it was an inescapable conclusion there was liaison between members of the Irish traveller and Roma communities to set up staged accidents and claims to defraud insurance companies"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

the downfall of all these crooked politicians, sports athletes and crooks is that they get greedy. do it once or twice and you get away with. do it 60 odd times in one city and people start to see a pattern. greed is not good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Judges can't be racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

The same happens in England- two drivers will set off and one will suddenly go across the path of the other and then brake suddenly- cue whiplash claims all the way home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

I wish I could comment but I'd be banned...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

It would be fine with me. Thankfully I have a shotgun ready to deal with any scum that come near me