Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brendan O' Connor

• 08-07-2015 8:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭

I used to avoid his shows but he has really grown on me (TV & Radio). He was funny this morning talking about dragging his kids to Brittas Bay to relive old childhood memories-how is it I can listen to him talking about home stuff but hate it when Ray (every day) talks about Kate and Tom...the fact I even know their names says it all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

honeybear wrote: »
    I used to avoid his shows but he has really grown on me (TV & Radio). He was funny this morning talking about dragging his kids to Brittas Bay to relive old childhood memories-how is it I can listen to him talking about home stuff but hate it when Ray (every day) talks about Kate and Tom...the fact I even know their names says it all!

He is a nicer guy as far as I can see. Far more likeable, intelligent and informed than D'Arcy. BOC is able to interview someone without dominating the conversation with his personal opinions.

I don't think Ray working with Jenny ever helped him either. ****eing on about her having a pony when she was a child etc. Is there anyone he doesn't judge? And that's his wife? A personal dig about something like that is one thing, telling the nation is another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That nasal Cork accent really does him no favours on the radio.

That said, he is a pretty good interviewer who is getting the best out of his guests, perfect radio for a summer's morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,973 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

padd b1975 wrote: »
    That nasal Cork accent really does him no favours on the radio.

That said, he is a pretty good interviewer who is getting the best out of his guests, perfect radio for a summer's morning.

Agree totally with the first sentence, could grate on one after a while.

Also agree with the second sentence, looks like he read a few posts in here, ditched the John Murray excruciating intros, got down to business early and moves the show on at a good brisk pace with in my opinion, good range of content and guest for the time of day.

Wonder was there a complete change of back room team as well?

Listened for the last few days and have to say the show is streets ahead of what poor John had to offer,none of the auld fluffy tosh and vacuous reality competitions.
    Jury out on whether one could take him on a permanent basis(I know he is only there for four weeks) but whoever takes over needs to have a bit of an edge and not try to please everybody Aonghus McAnally style with 'disclaimers' in every second sentence almost.
    There is an audience for that slot but not any auld chaff and 'Heat' style issues beloved of Kathryn Thomas.
    Interesting choice for Rte, let's see how they handle it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Loved Brendan's reference this morning to Liveline's "Funny Friday so called"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

what was the web site that was mentioned about top rating stories of the week ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

There was a very awkward moment this morning when Brendan asked Cait O'Riordan if she had read Donal Ryan's books (The Spinning Heart & The Thing about December). Cait came straight out and said no. I felt sorry for Donal as he had been going on about how much of fan he was of hers :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Can't stand him. His accent is extremely off putting. It's the sort of accent the English put on when they are trying to make fun of 'thick' Irish people. What's worse is this up lift in his sentences. Ending each sentence in a question tone even when it's not a question. Maybe he is watching too much American teenage programmes.

I don't really watch much of him on the tv either but he does start his shows with a series of eh ... jokes. 'Jokes' which are about as funny as a dead fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

MrsD007 wrote: »
    There was a very awkward moment this morning when Brendan asked Cait O'Riordan if she had read Donal Ryan's books (The Spinning Heart & The Thing about December). Cait came straight out and said no. I felt sorry for Donal as he had been going on about how much of fan he was of hers :(
    Maybe she'll read them now.

I think it has been a great success so far. Be great if they left him in this slot long term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Dreadful rubbish - first and last listen in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Dreadful rubbish - first and last listen in.

Found myself with it on again after the news this morning and nearly threw the radio out the window when the first item was Bagatelle...followed by 'tell us about the car accident'.....Is it not possible to listen to the radio anymore without multiple misery/medical slots. Anyway, no radio is better than tripe so I'm now working in silence. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

Maybe it's just me but I don't think his heart is in it. RTE are scraping the arse of the barrel,again. Drivel Time?

Found myself with it on again after the news this morning and nearly threw the radio out the window when the first item was Bagatelle...followed by 'tell us about the car accident'.....Is it not possible to listen to the radio anymore without multiple misery/medical slots. Anyway, no radio is better than tripe so I'm now working in silence. :)

I thought the interview was excellent, only downside is Brendan starting sentences with 'So' way too much.

It's not stellar but pure gold in comparison to Poor John.

No RTE interview is complete anymore without a recently dead relative, cancer or depression, no matter what the guest is on to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I loved Bagatelle this morning!

The interview afterwards was awful though. Between Brendan's drawling nasal voice (which I'm not a fan of in any circumstance, but it just made this interview even more downbeat) and the interviewee's depressed tone, it made for an exceptionally depressing start to the day.

So much so that, since I can't take any more of Chris and Ivan sniping at each other (do they keep that up for the whole three hours of the show? I only ever tuned in after 9am) I risked Hugo/Daphne/Nevin/whatever other joys Marty might be having this morning, and am on Lyric - and find that Lorcan is on - hurray!

Phew.

Not a fan of BO'C in this slot, I'm afraid.

The senator David Norris interview was predictably enjoyable this morning. Turned off before the soap guy, no interest in that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Sarah Carey this morning......................."Herbaceous borders",

I was lucky I didn't vomit in me porridge :D

There is the odd OK interview, but its not great overall, is it?

Maybe Tubs....whoever takes it over permanent will do better.

.................................probably not

Shane McGowan and Victoria were great this morning. The spark of genius is still there in him even after all the alcohol and drug addiction.

Not a fan of Oliver Callan at all but his Pat Rabbitte this morning was gas.

Deedsie wrote: »
    The senator David Norris interview was predictably enjoyable this morning. Turned off before the soap guy, no interest in that kind of thing.

Good decision dee, soap guy was a total disaster, in fairness Ballsy did his best but this lad didn't interview well, seemed well 'off the pace' to quote a euphemism .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

There is something awfully disconcerting about Brendan O'C discussing makeup & fashion tips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Callan57 wrote: »
    There is something awfully disconcerting about Brendan O'C discussing makeup & fashion tips

He had plenty of practice editing Life magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,245 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Twink Alert!!!

Blame game will be on overdrive.

Zip up ye're mickeys lads

Blame game will be on overdrive.

"She has turned her back on celebrity" Get off the radio then and focus on your pastries etc

For her own sake people should stop interviewing her. I'm out, podcasts this morning so.

Pretentious... Moi?

There's a lot of struggling businesses and start ups who'd give their right arm for a free ad like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

So she's giving up acting?

*party poppers*

Naomi namedrop. Chloe in 3....2.....1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Dear God.

She is such a parody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

God, Twink is the most insincere person on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Fish wife alert !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Dear God, is there enough airspace anywhere to accomodate Twink's ego? The half of that interview that I heard was puke-inducing stuff. And as someone else said, there's businesses that would kill for exposure like that.

What did she say about the house? She's hanging onto that by her well-painted fingernails for a long time now if half the press reports are to be believed..... (mind you I wouldn't necessarily believe a word she said about it either!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That Twink interview made for very uncomfortable listening.

To be honest, it came across as sad in lots of ways.
    This woman has a daughter who is bound to be a millionaire due to her career in Celtic Women, why the hell hasn't she stepped in to help her mother???

There has always been rumours around Dublin as to what really goes on behind that georgian front door...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

I'm enjoying Brendan's stint in the slot. The accent might grate if I was listening after a tray of pints the night before, but the show moves along at a good pace; he asks interesting questions; he can quage the flow of the interview.

The Twink interview this morning was hard work though. She's been throwing out this sob story about the gaff for the past 5 years in the Sindo. A spent docket. Living the diva lifestyle while no one wants to hire the diva - figures just don't add up.

Dr. Eva Orsmond Alert!!! (apparently with something to get off her chest).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

I had the misfortune of hearing the "show" yesterday morning.

The interviewing technique grates on ones nerves and is embarrassing. Some guy originally from Wexford was on about his writing/movie career and how he ditched the pros or something. Anyway, BO'C says something about how sh1te
    things can get and yer man says he agrees and Bo'c then says on morning radio during school break season that they should have a sh1te fest......

And then we had that Ms. King. All Crocodile tears and self indulgent pity. Also self praise is no praise Ms. King.

If we have to have Mr. O' Connor then he'd be better off just asking interviewees questions about themselves.
    Bring back the Who, What, Where, Why,How and Whens because you're not funny and this may fill the hour in a more productive fashion.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Dr. Eva Orsmond Alert!!! (apparently with something to get off her chest).
    My mental filters kicked in, and I have little idea of what she said. But did I hear her say that health prevention was a target?

I had the misfortune of hearing the "show" yesterday morning.

The interviewing technique grates on ones nerves and is embarrassing. Some guy originally from Wexford was on about his writing/movie career and how he ditched the pros or something. Anyway, BO'C says something about how sh1te
    things can get and yer man says he agrees and Bo'c then says on morning radio during school break season that they should have a sh1te fest......

And then we had that Ms. King. All Crocodile tears and self indulgent pity. Also self praise is no praise Ms. King.

If we have to have Mr. O' Connor then he'd be better off just asking interviewees questions about themselves.
    Bring back the Who, What, Where, Why,How and Whens because you're not funny and this may fill the hour in a more productive fashion.:(

Don't agree, this may not be great, but is streets ahead of the dull, anodyne lifeless pointless rubbish churned out by John Murray over the last Few years.
    At least the guy has a bit of spark about him, bit of unpredictability, bit of natural interest rather than the dull predictable ullage of heretofore.

Not perfect, far from it ,far far from it, but light years ahead of what went before.

Don't agree, this may not be great, but is streets ahead of the dull, anodyne lifeless pointless rubbish churned out by John Murray over the last Few years.
    At least the guy has a bit of spark about him, bit of unpredictability, bit of natural interest rather than the dull predictable ullage of heretofore.

Not perfect, far from it ,far far from it, but light years ahead of what went before.

I agree, no one could get an interesting interview out of twink. She is in no way interesting and people should stop interviewing her full stop.

So far it's been an enjoyable show apart from some poor summer guests.

It ain't getting any better.

Dave Mc Savage alert!!!

Deedsie wrote: »
    I agree, no one could get an interesting interview out of twink. She is in no way interesting and people should stop interviewing her full stop.

So far it's been an enjoyable show apart from some poor summer guests.

I don't get it I'm afraid.

Luckily I'm back in work and don't have to hear any more of the cringefest that is 9 to 10 am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Ah the poor 49 year old women that McSavage doesn't want to shag.

Why do I think that they probably don't think they're missing anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Ah the poor 49 year old women that McSavage doesn't want to shag.

Why do I think that they probably don't think they're missing anything?

:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I don't get it I'm afraid.

Luckily I'm back in work and don't have to hear any more of the cringefest that is 9 to 10 am.

you do know you can switch radio stations ?

2smiggy wrote: »

Can you? Tell us more....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

2smiggy wrote: »

I always have this image of a rump of boards.ie posters flagellating themselves as they continue to listen to radio shows they hate.

RomanKnows wrote: »
    I always have this image of a rump of boards.ie posters flagellating themselves as they continue to listen to radio shows they hate.

Only for critical reasons, I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

You'll all have Dave Fanning taking over the slot from August, so everything will be better from then.................:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭rameire

I unfortunately just heard about 10 seconds of Brendan after the news,
    god he is an annoying Knob.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞